IMDb > Pieces of a Dream (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Pieces of a Dream More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 9 reviews in total 

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

"Pieces of a Dream": A Compelling, Well-Written Film

10/10
Author: gbw509-1 from United States
2 March 2006

The writers of "Pieces of a Dream" did an excellent job of connecting story lines. I thought the characters were dynamic and real. Everyone in the film was someone you know or have seen. As a viewer, I could sympathize with some characters, and empathize with others. I found myself at times laughing and crying. Most of all, this film has ignited some thought-provoking discussion and debate. Everyone who I know has seen this film has walked away questioning the happenings in our communities and the world.I sat next to my teenage son who was captivated by the events. He enjoyed the film so much, he purchased two tickets for the next day's showing. He invited a friend to accompany him the second day. This is strong evidence that "Pieces of a Dream" has wide appeal. There were teenagers, as well as adults and seniors in the audience. I also noticed quite a racially diverse audience on opening night. I believe that this film should be shown to a wider audience across the country. This is a must-see film.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Awesome film

10/10
Author: got2bdj@aol.com from United States
10 April 2007

The actors in Pieces of a Dream deliver dynamic performances. Skee Skinner pulled it off. This film has a great deal of symbolism, which hopefully will jump start the movement of conscious films being produced again. The ending was totally unexpected and still stays with me. The artist seemed to be a simple character that many can identify with. Coop is the real deal! This guy reminds me of the Nino Brown character in New Jack City from the 90's. Golden had a troubled past which I thought she had gotten over when she became an adult and mother. But like many issues we face in the world today the problems of society came knocking at her door. All in all, this is a film that is a must see. Way 2 go!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Pieces of a Dream

10/10
Author: Anita Cartagena from Chicago, IL
15 March 2006

Hello Everyone, This is Anita Showalter I played Natasha Toussaint in this film. I would like to thank everyone who came out to see this film. I myself was blown away!!! Getting to see it for the first time on the big screen with a room full of people was incredible. My favorite thing was seeing and hearing the reactions the audience gave, this film is so powerful it speaks to everyone even those who didn't particularly liked it they still talked about it with me to try and understand it. All i know is that this movie needs to be seen by everyone please continue your support by voting on this site and telling us your comments. Thank you again and i hope to see you all at the movies.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A great story about the everyday choices all of us make.

10/10
Author: from United States
1 March 2006

This is an extremely interesting story and the actor who plays Coop is about as good as anybody I've ever seen. The way the different stories were told and how they are separate, and yet coincide, was also interesting. To see this movie is to like it a lot. The story flows to the point that you don't feel you're watching a film. I recommend it.

You'll see some very good performances and some thought-provoking ideas. I'm still thinking about what the film had to say, and I was completely entertained. All of us must choose sides in the battle between good and evil; there's no middle road. We are shown a good illustration of this fact. Worth seeing.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Rich storytelling

10/10
Author: hardisterg from United States
15 May 2007

An engrossing film that touches several peoples lives and weaves them together in a compelling tale of drama and morality. Skee's One way productions creates and movie full of character and weight that sticks to you and takes you along for an incredible ride. Having the opportunity to meet an watch the movie with the team that created it makes you understand how hard they worked to bring their labors to fruition. Skee should be commended for the casting and the great group he assembled to bring his story to life. The dedication and artistry of their writing and the ability for rich storytelling makes this film shine. Great Story Great Film. I highly recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This a great Movie for all people to watch

Author: sabrinahines from United States
21 March 2006

I met the crew @ ABFF Film Festival and enjoyed their reason behind this thoughtful film. Makes you question yourself, your own motives and how we as people will be judged on no bases no matter how evil we think one sin is over the other. I was shouting out through the whole film that sin has weight but when you finish you too will get their point! All in all the story line of each actor is real and the direction of the film is great. I'm just waiting to see what is next in store for these awesome men and women of God!May God bless and keep you is my prayer. Plese keep up the great work the sound track in this movie was great as well as the art work that was done by the painter.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

This Film is excellent. Please Support.

10/10
Author: Osiris Khepera (khemeticazzure@yahoo.com) from United States
2 March 2006

This is a film about the true Nature of all People. Though it focuses through an African American lens, showcasing some of the struggles that many of us contend with on a daily basis, Skee Skinner has directed a truly unique, universally understandable work. The difference between this and so many other countless "urban" dramas lies in the central question that this film poses: 'Does sin have weight?' Not only does this cryptic question anchor the film, it manages to plant seeds in the minds of the audience members about the states of their own lives. People from all walks of life will find some way to relate to at least one character in this film, and be completely understanding of their actions. On a technical note, some of the cinematographic choices made little sense to me initially, however, the overall through line of the film is quite non-linear, and as such, those initial 'hmmm's' begin to dissipate like "his use of the color red." This is an intelligent film that underscores the lives of not only the Hip-Hop generation, towards whom so much ignorant media is targeted lately, but also to our parents, and grandparents who have survived decades only to watch the deterioration of a people. This Film strives to speak against all of that negativity by offering positive alternatives. How, when, and what they are is left for you to decide.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A consciousness raising movie intertwining four lives

10/10
Author: LJohnsonHRD from United States
28 February 2006

This is a powerful drama that is expertly written, masterfully directed and impeccably acted. I felt this movie emotionally, spiritually as well as physically (there are moments of gripping images). This is definitely not a movie to see if you are looking for humor, although some dialogue is so "real"you have to laugh. It is encouraging to see a consciousness raising movie. This is a movie for those tired of making light of our lives. It deals with issues faced by an urban community in a hard hitting manner yet written with such a subtlety of layers that it leaves you thinking days later. A must see for mature, or maturing, maybe especially maturing, thinking audiences. Indeed "does sin have weight?"

Was the above review useful to you?

Great Film

9/10
Author: Ms Teeda from United States
19 December 2007

Pieces of a Dream is a film that makes you think. It put some things into perspective for me personally. There were questions in my mind that I thought only I thought about and Pieces of a Dream attempted to answer some of those questions. I cared about each character and related to them in one way or another. I am a single mother so the character I related to the most was the single mother raising her two boys. Some of the issues that the young mother had are some of the same issues that I deal with myself (in one way or another). I really enjoyed this film and would recommend it to everyone. In my opinion, adults and teens alike will benefit from watching this film. Kudos to everyone involved with bringing this very important piece of art to life.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history