IMDb > "Krypto the Superdog" (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
"Krypto the Superdog" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Nice for preschooler and up...

Author: pipers10 from United States
20 October 2005

My preschooler loves this cartoon... It keeps him entertained and encourages his creativity when playing - he wants to play "flying" and "superdog"... I don't know if its good or bad, but he recognizes the "s" symbol now and yells, "superdog!" when he sees it. Its a great little cartoon with no violence, bad language (for children) and its kinda fun to watch! I just wish that there was some way to buy a VHS or DVD... Right now, we watch it on the Cartoon Network and tape episodes for him. I would rather have him watch this type of cartoon than some of those other ones out there, clearly not made for children under 12 - even though they promote them to a younger audience.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Looks fun! Nice to see other parts of the Superman/super girl

10/10
Author: ppamjo2 from Columbus Ohio
5 April 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

family get the spotlight for a change. I caught one of the episodes on TV today and actually loved it.. I think this is one of the best cartoons to come on that channel in many years. If this show is a hit, I might consider going back to CN for my daily dose of Krypto the Superdog! The only problem I have with it really is the fact that he looks a lot like Scooby Doo? Other then that, I intend to watch this show more often... It looks really cool...

i hope to see more shows done as one story rather then 2 cartoons in a single 1/2 hour. I love the animation as it is crisp and the color is bright... The animators really need to work on the cape action as he is flying. Sometimes Krypto looks like he is wearing a red blob on his back.

All in all... The show looks fun... This K9 now has a new fan!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

No Superman the Animated Series but still fun .

Author: Funky_Ceili_23 from United States
28 March 2005

Before watching this show , I reminded myself no matter how much its going to suck it cant be worse than the first episode of Teen Titans or the entire new Batman show , which , I was right it didn't suck as much as the first episode of Teen Titans or the nonsense called The Batman in fact it didn't suck at all , I became aware of it a few months ago and made it a point to watch it , I was surprised by the first two episodes , it was a kids show yes , but it want dumbed down like Dora the Explorer but more like Pinky and The Brain , with out the famous faces , actually there was one famous face that showed up in a big red cape , Superman which made the entire thing worth watching , still it had some minor flaws , but still how can anything with PAul Dini on board be horrible , not something to set the alarm clock for but don't pass it by or mock it , again this is not The Batman ,but a rather intelligent little cartoon

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Really not that bad...

Author: Jshwa_82 from United States
28 May 2005

OK, I tried to fight the urge to watch this cartoon. I'm 22, I don't need to watch this show. I had assumed it was for kids. After all, it was on Cartoon Network, it was a kid friendly superman 'toon. So, on a bored early morning, I caught the episode, and like watching a train wreck, couldn't resist.

That was the first time. I've since watched about four or five episodes, and I have to finally come to a conclusion, the series really isn't that bad.

First, the good: The animation is crisp and colorful, and while it isn't on par with old "Looney Tunes" (good example 'What's Opera Doc?'), it stands head over tails with "Pokemon". The characters are fun and colorful. I know that I've used colorful twice, but to be fair, there is a slew of characters that really attempt to breath life into the mythos of Superman's best animal friend. It's been too long since kids have had a friendly, non-competitive, and overall good cartoon character. Too often the violence and sensuality in cartoons geared for kids has become more and more present. If you want examples see: Spongebob Squarepants, Fairly Oddparents, Jimmy Neutron Boy Genius, Grim Adventures of Billy and Mandy, Ed, Edd and Eddy to name a few. Krypto isn't a dark and mysterious hero, he's a dog. He has a cat sidekick. He has an owner who loves him. And he's SUPERMAN'S DOG! It's every kid's dream come true, and is actually fun to watch. The antics are harmless, full of real slapstick not the borderline uber-violent slapstick, and full of vibrancy and life. The creators really seem to care about the product, and it shows through and through. Finally, the cartoon honestly pays tribute to the Superfriends of days gone by with various sound effects included on Krypto will make nostalgic viewers reminisce about the good old days of Black Vulcan and Bizzarro Superman.

Now, in the interest of fairness The Bad: The episodes are short, sweet, and basically kid friendly. If you've seen "Baby Looney Tunes", you've got an idea of what you might be in for. This is KID FRIENDLY, in the truest since of the word, which means, unless you're in the age made for it, or you're bored, or you're a die hard Supes fan this show will probably be boring, and not worth watching, unless you spend time to get into it. It will take a few episodes to get into the series, most likely. The dialogue is sometimes cheezy, and sometimes just makes you laugh at the ridiculousness of it all.

Overall I'd give Krypto an 8 out of 10. It's worth watching, and fun for the Kids.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

One of the better cartoons on now.

10/10
Author: (ElsaStormborn) from United States
14 August 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Besides being the only enjoyable cartoon I can think of that sports a mostly-animal cast of super heroes, Krypto is a highly colorful and fun-to-watch show with eye-catching animation and the premise that Superman's dog, Krypto, lives with a young boy named Kevin and fights crime with the partnership of several other characters that make the show far more interesting. Of course, the roughly 10-minute story lines are fairly simple and lighthearted, leaving plenty of room for speculation about the intriguing characters that aren't gone into great depth about. Krypto himself is a friendly and heroic-looking, solid white dog, with a lab-like face that kids would recognize as a "good guy," and a body chock full of powers from incredible physical strength to super-senses. His comrade, the accidental super-cat Streaky, is a more effective and useful partner than he might seem, and is as likable an orange cartoon kitty as Oliver, Heathcliff, or Garfield. The problems Krypto and his buddies have to face range from large-scale plots concocted by troublemakers and crimes committed by villains, to smaller issues that play out in Krypto's own backyard, and strained relationships among characters. The main villains Krypto needs to commonly thwart include Mechanikat, a devious feline with big plans that can affect not just Earth but other galaxies, and who employs various minions from the sneaky little kitten Snooky Wookums to the ravishing catwoman Delilah. Speaking of Catwoman, her Siamese cat Isis is also one to give Krypto trouble, often with her cohorts, the Joker's two red hyenas Bud and Lou. Ace, the bathound, is arguably the funniest character and completely unintentionally on his part--he's always attempting to be over-serious and his voice can render many of his statements quite amusing. Ignatius, Lex Luther's pet iguana, is another frequent cause of problems, though not really due to a villainous nature; it's more that he's a total self-server with access to lots of high-tech machinery that can help him get what he wants for a time, while disregarding what happens to everyone else in the process. There's a colorful cast of characters that reappear from time to time, such as the pack of three ruffian Downtown Dogs and the furry green rat Jimmy. Every so often, an episode will stand out from others for whatever reason, such as the one in which Muttsie (the bulldog leader of the Downtown Dogs) picks up a little spaniel mix named Rosie. Despite Muttsie's promise that using the temporarily amnesiac Krypto will turn her stray life around, Rosie becomes more impressed with the super dog than with Muttsie's scheming. To the statement that she could be living like a show dog, Rosie says, "Not if it means hurting him."

My personal favorite episode of this show, however, is simply any one featuring the Dog Star Patrol--a mish-moshed gang of dogs with super powers who sail the universe in their hydrant-shaped ship fighting crime. They're like X-Men, Pokémon, & the Incredibles in one. There are seven Dog Stars; the English gentleman with the bull horns sprouting from his head, Bull Dog; the tiny pink Chihuahua who actually does not have a Mexican accent and can inflate herself like a balloon, Mammoth Mutt; the ultra psychic short-coated lavender/violet Afghan hound (actually Saluki) with a myriad of mental powers including telepathy, telekinetics & thought-projection, Brainy Baker; the the spunky lime green Scottie with the elastic tail and the western accent, Tail Terrier; the bright red, pyrokinetic Dachshund who can 'Fireblast' the way Pikachu Thundershocks, Hot Dog; the extra-legged, speedy hound dog, Paw Pooch; & the French Canadian spitz dog with the walrus-like super-tooth that can drill (and who says "eh?" a lot), Tusky Husky. My favorite three characters from Krypto, period, are Brainy Barker (female leader who looks an awful lot like Sasha LaFleur, woo-hoo!), Hot Dog, & Tail Terrier.

I think that, while the show might not entertain everyone (and what show does?), it deserves more popularity than a great majority of other cartoons that are on TV at this time, and viewers should anticipate a good second season.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

neat kids toon

Author: sketchyninja from az
11 April 2005

This was done fairly well as a kids cartoon that is fun to watch for the kids and family. It sure beats Pokémon. the animation is average and not very detailed, yet the stories are more entertaining than most toons for kids like the first episode of Krypto which had some cool little twists and a guest star.The kid that owns him is funny and gets in his own scrapes along with Krypto, watch for Freaky Friday episode. Krypto is not alone either in his fight against evil as he has a sidekick cat that follows him around sometimes and other superhero pets sometimes show up to help him out. It made me laugh a couple of times because the story was so well done, sometimes within 15 minutes. the villains are good too with Mechanakitty being one of my favorites. Recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Krypto the Superdog is a FUN show!

Author: gildavis-1 from Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
23 October 2005

I'm an animation fan from the "Old School." This is just a fun show. A "waste of time" is only because that person likes a darker type show. I like those, plus the ones with lighter humor. Krypto is usually a happy dog, and his sidekick, Streaky is pretty funny most of the time with his mind on two things...food and sleep, just like my cats. The character Kevin is Krypto's friend, and in fact, his "owner" if you will, and he would be more or less a typical boy with a super pet. Streaky,incidentally, is my favorite character in the show. My only complaint...they didn't make enough of these and they're in about 5x repeats or better on Cartoon Network. Watch it if you're a fan of the lighter side of anime, and you shouldn't be disappointed. If you're looking for darker animation ONLY, Batman, Justice League, and similar would be a better choice.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

cartoons don't need to be perfect but....

7/10
Author: doris964 from United States
17 November 2010

as mention one of the reviews above this show can be hard to watch because of bad aspects having to do with kids like patronizing them an other stuff like that and adding plot twist like the one episode where the the boy who gets to keep krypto as a pet Kevin gets into situations having to do with his cousin,and other things like that.,but other than that this show does have qualities that make up for it but I won't spoil it you just have to watch it yourself and find out. but its just so odd that kid friendly DC shows have to end up like this most of the time. I love children cartoons without a care in the world what anyone thinks(I'm 21) but the plot lately with kid shows seems bad. if not brutal.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Lighty-Hearted Toon, Some Good Fun and the worst jokes history!

5/10
Author: ian-1211 from West Hove, England
15 December 2008

I don't mind this cartoon. I came across it a few times on Children's BBC on Saturday mornings. It all-right, I guess. There are some interesting characters and it is kind of fun if you're a 6-year-old. But really? some jokes on this show are pretty god-awful! I mean a lot of the jokes they have are just burned-out, overused puns! And the villains, they suck! Not much of a threat and they are pretty boring. And the supercat sidekick is annoying. Overall, not a bad cartoon. Younger Kids will like but they will be the only ones. Since I have to do ten lines on here. I will say a few more things. Like. Watch Deal or No Deal Christmas Star. It's meant to be good!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Half-Hearted Toon, Riddled With Stagnant Story lines, Bad Puns, and an Abysmal Theme Song.

Author: MovieMarauder (BuddyRey@gmail.com) from North Carolina
20 April 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's really sad to see Cartoon Network and the Superman legacy stoop so low. For years, I read Superman and Superboy comics, delighting in the exploits of Krypto, the dynamo dog from Krypton. He was always one of the coolest comic book characters ever, and it's astounding that it took this long for him to get his own TV show. What a shame that the folks who produced this COMPLETELY butchered the idea, and sold out the character's integrity, preferring to create a lame, watered-down kiddie toon.

Please understand that I'm not against children's' cartoons in general. In fact, I absolutely adore Cartoon Network shows like "Billy & Mandy", "Ed, Edd, & Eddie", and "Codename: Kids Next Door". These shows stand out because, even though they're targeted at a much younger audience than myself (I'm twenty years old), they don't talk down to children, patronize them, or offer them bland, inoffensive, and unchallenging humor. Unfortunately, "Krypto the Superdog" does all of these things, and does them with outrageously shameless excesses. What little *intentional* humor that the show attempts is, well...not humorous! (Unless your idea of humor is stale, contrived one-liners and painfully...no, make that embarrassingly bad puns.)

Believe it or not, the story lines here have a lot of potential in and of themselves, but often times, they just never seem to GO anywhere. For instance, in one episode, Krypto and a bunch of shallow, poorly drawn canine ethnic stereotypes unintentionally unearth a hunk of red Kryptonite (which of course, does unpredictable things to Krypto, as opposed to killing him like it would in the comics.) Krypto's tail becomes separated from his backside, takes on an annoying, one-liner-spewing personality of its own, and bounces off. The entire episode consists of the gang trying to help Krypto capture and re-attach his tail. On it's own, this is a pretty good premise for a cartoon. The trouble is, that's the entire episode. That's it! They get his tail, re-attach it, and live happily ever after. WHAT?! No super-villains, no ray-guns, no anything?!

Some stories are more powerful than this one, but still have flaws. For example, in another episode, a flamboyantly gay iguana (yes, you heard me) sneaks into Lexcorp and alters the position of several satellites, causing them to reflect sunlight and heat up Metropolis so that he can work on his tan. Pretty good story, even if it has been done to death in similar forms. But with this story, the much-needed villain that I spoke of earlier is completely inept, poorly conceived, and utterly lame. Basically, he captures himself by getting his tongue tied to a pole. I was hoping that Krypto would open a Royal Can of Whupp-A on him, but in the end, he didn't even get to open a small beaker or vile of some sort.

Oh goodness, I almost forgot. That theme song. That horrible, horrible theme song. Okay, here's what you should do to get an idea of how awful this theme song is. Put the themes from "Full House", "Family Matters", and "Who's the Boss?" together, add a dash of hard rock, and take away ALL catchy hooks, coherent lyrics, and camp value. Then you get the theme from "Krypto the Superdog".

In the end, this cartoon does have some redeeming qualities. There's a distinctly interesting visual style to it, strangely reminiscent of Hanna-Barbera's heyday in the 60's, which could be a good or bad thing depending on your preferences. Some of the characters are pretty unique and may leave you wondering who thought them up. Needless to say, this is a show that's *safe* for your kids to watch, but if they're over seven or eight years of age, it'll probably be too juvenile for them, and it'll be time to bump them up to something more mentally stimulating, and of course far more entertaining. I'm always quick to recommend some of the classics, like Looney Tunes or Popeye. These cartoons prove that you don't have to be bland and unfunny to be kid-friendly.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history