IMDb > Demon Hunter (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Demon Hunter
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Demon Hunter More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 21 reviews in total 

16 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Hmm...

2/10
Author: Netrod from Denmark
2 February 2006

I am normally quite easy to please when it comes to Sci-Fi and paranormal movies, if the story is good. The acting in this move is really poor, and the story very thin, perhaps I have seen too many of this kind of movies.

The beginning of the movie is actually good, and has a new approach, but after those 5-10 minutes it is down hill. The devils makeup and costumes are, well the best word is funny, there is some gore and that part is all right, but the few animated effect really is out of place, there is some feeble attempts on fighting. But that part too gets weird, and I do not mean the exciting way weird.

If you like exorcist movies you get very disappointed, but if you have absolutely nothing to do and want to see Demons possessing people, some bare skin, and the church's weird way of dealing with Demons then go for it.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Blade meets Spawn? This was actually not bad.

7/10
Author: siderite from Romania
25 December 2006

As low budget horror movies with demons and hunters, this one was pretty good. Sean Patrick Flannery is a half breed and Billy Drago is evil (wow, what a surprise :) ). Evil is as evil does, but Mr Drago, at his 57 years and 86 appearances, still gets to be surrounded by lustful naked women and to lick the skin of helpless girls.

The basic story is pretty cliché, with things added up from different stories of the genre: half-demon demon hunter works for the Church. But Sean Patrick Flannery makes a good role and carries the entire movie on his back.

Bottom line: this was not a good movie, but as the movies in this category go, this was one of the best. Beats Blade on story and acting, but it is low budget, so no special effects.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Engaging and entertaining, albeit a lower budget Constantine.

8/10
Author: yatri25 from United States
20 March 2006

Demon Hunter is a lower budget film that its brother Constantine. And so there is less gloss in its special effects. The scenes are captured more rawly than picturesquely. However, the rawness adds a feel of realism that draws the objective viewer into the story. Reminiscent to the feel of Terminator (staring Arnold Schwarzenegger).

Demon Hunter's story line works. The characters are well casted and rendered convincingly. The gore and shock punctuates defining and pivotal story elements. Admirably, horror is not excessively used to compensate for the movies' lower budget. Demon Hunter has a good pace and never drags. If you like this type of flick, watching Demon Hunter is good time well spent.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Happy To Say It Was Better Than I Expected

5/10
Author: hoppz from United Kingdom
15 March 2006

This is a low budget movie and the lack of locations etc... does show that, however it was a lot better than i expected and i'm happy about that because I like Shaun Patrick Flannery.

The dialogue at points in the movie was a little hammy and the director used the same stock shot several times (although this may have been to save money) but in general the story line was pretty good and the acting was OK.

This may not be for everyone and draws a lot of comparisons with Constantine (which i also enjoyed) so if you liked that you may like this.

I suppose my final comments would be that its a very average movie but it did entertain me for an hour and a half and for a movie based on a video game it was a lot better than any other i have seen lately especially any Uwe Boll movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

I liked this movie. Damned entertaining!

7/10
Author: Homer Simpson from New Paltz, NY
24 February 2006

Tries to be original and moves along at a brisk pace so you won't be bored. Amongst pretty good performances by the entire cast, Billy Drago is convincingly sleazy as the head demon.

There's plenty of T&A and a decent amount of violence. This film is hardly challenging, but what did you expect from a movie named "Demon Hunter"?

The production values are way above your average low-budget crap horror movie and there was an attempt to craft an interesting plot. What can I say, I liked it! I wish there was a sequel.

Definitely worth an afternoon diversion. Give it a try!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Worth watching for Billy Drago's performance alone

6/10
Author: Gafke from United States
26 March 2006

Jake Greyman is a demon hunter, a sort of supernatural cleaner, the guy who takes over when the exorcism fails. The film starts out with Jake cleaning up after yet another exorcism gone wrong, the third within a matter of weeks. All of the victims have been young and attractive girls and both Jake and the church are suspicious. There seems to be a new demon at work, one with a definite schedule. Jake teams up with the unorthodox sister Sara and the two learn that the Demon of Lust, Asmodeus, is doing his horny best to impregnate as many hot young girls as he can in order to produce a race of half breed beings who will destroy us all.

This is a blatant and watered down rip off of Constantine, but hey, at least Keanu Reeves isn't in it. Sean Patrick Flannery, quite a good actor, does his best here with a corny script and a limp storyline. Angelina Jolie lookalike Colleen Porch isn't too shabby either as the sister with a secret. Tania Deighton as the Succubus is really hot and slinky and she expertly manages not to look embarrassed by her phony looking horns. Billy Drago as Asmodeus really steals the film though. Drago, a great but seriously underrated actor who almost always plays scummy bad guys, is excellent as the fanged and sleazy demon, surrounded by half naked girls and smiling like an alligator. His scenes are the best and most fun, particularly one in which he enthusiastically nails a lovely Asian lady in a crypt. Wow! Seriously sexy hot stuff! The fight scene between Drago and Flannery is well choreographed and is a lot of fun to watch.

The special effects are rather lame and the soundtrack is bloody awful, sounding like a bad 80s hair band reunion, but there are enough good and energetic performances in this film to make it halfway decent and raise it slightly above the level of most other direct-to-video crap. Worth seeing at least once, especially if you're a fan of either Flannery or Drago.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

TV Series

10/10
Author: ashcam83 from United States
19 August 2006

I thought the movie was good, but I really think that it would be a good TV series like Angel, Buffy, and Charmed. It could be on network TV or the sci-fi network, but to me it would have made a better TV show than it did a movie. And less sex scenes, those are so overrated. But I liked it overall, but to me it felt like I was watching an episode of a TV show and I wanted to know what would happen next with the character Jacob. But it's not as bad as everyone here says it is. I recommend seeing it. You should be your own critic. After watching it, tell me it shouldn't be a TV show. I would most definitely watch it and think others would too.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Simple yet entertaining

7/10
Author: anitguy from United States
3 September 2006

Jake (Sean Patrick Flanery), a half-breed demon hunter, struggling with the side he has chosen with the war between heaven and hell. Finds himself facing off against an 'unbound' fallen angel, played by Billy Drago, who seeks to spread his "demon seed" upon the Earth.

After watching this movie, I cannot see why others are comparing it to Constantine. Doing so would be like comparing Vampire Hunter D and Van Helsing, they have similar roots but take things from different perspectives.

I took this movie at face value and went from there; it is a low budget film with cheesy effects, some gaping holes in the plot, and almost funny fight scenes. But when you look at how many other movies out there have similar story lines, you can see why it would be so hard to stand out in this genre.

All in all, it's not a bad "rainy day" type flick; ranks up there with a series pilot that never took off...or like someone posted before, a B-level movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly Entertaining

7/10
Author: film_nut2005 from United States
4 April 2006

I rented this move at Blockbuster on a whim, and actually thought it was pretty good. The characters had depth, the dialog was interesting, and I loved the action. The fact that the lead character had an internal conflict that actually played out in the overall story gives it more depth than just about everything else being cranked out in the horror genre nowadays. Its not perfect, but its pretty well put together for a low budget film.

The one thing about it is, it's more like a supernatural thriller than a horror movie. If your looking for a good scare then this film won't do it for you, but if your looking for a good story then you might want to check it out.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Decent entry, if not overtly spectacular

Author: slayrrr666 (slayrrr666@yahoo.com) from Los Angeles, Ca
28 October 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Demon Hunter" is a mildly interesting but overall weak effort.

**SPOILERS**

Battling demon possessions, Jacob Greyman, (Sean Patrick Flanery) is often sent out to battle the demons who have become more stressful to handle. When an outbreak occurs, he is sent out to stop them. Sent along with Sister Sarah Ryan, (Colleen Porch) they go out to try to find the source of the demonic happenings. After several battles, they realize that Asmodeus, (Billy Drago) has sent an army of demons to impregnate others in an attempt to unleash a race of demon spawns to take over the world, and are soon in a deadly battle to stop their plans from coming to fruition.

The Good News: This here is a below-average film overall. One of the few entertaining ideas is that there's some interesting changes around the possession angle. Here, rather than getting a traditional version where one is possessed throughout the film only to get it exorcized at the end, this one decides instead to give several demonic figures in the film, and that gives it a little extra that might be otherwise ignored. It also decides to exclude the tired exorcism scene. The beginning is the only one to feature that, and it is abbreviated, doesn't even show the start and never finishes, which is quite nice since those scenes are really played out and don't really offer anything new. This here also has some pretty good action scenes, most notably it's martial arts scenes. There's two really big fight scenes in this one, and they are both above-average for the style. The main one against the enemy is it's big scene, which is long, interestingly taken between shots and is exciting as well, a nice plus. Some of the gore scenes aren't that bad, as a shot of one with their stomach clawed open and one with the face bitten off provide it's main gory thrills. Otherwise, these are the big pluses in the film.

The Bad News: This one here was decent enough with a few nagging problems. One of the main ones is that there's not a whole lot of action going on. The middle segment is largely devoted to it's investigation, and that leaves little happening. The investigation is boring, with the film having absolutely nothing interesting going on since it consists of little more than bringing up wild theories only to be immediately shot down and is soon steered towards talking about him. This is done for everything in that segment, and doesn't do much to keep it interesting. The fact that this one is so short time-wise is another particular stab at the film. This one really could've used more time, since there's a continuous need to press forward, yet the continuous scenes that produce nothing but boredom due to it's predicable and really dull investigation segment. These here are the film's flaws that keep it down.

The Final Verdict: Even though it doesn't have a whole lot of flaws, there's still enough wrong with the film that it becomes hardly watchable. Those who enjoy these kinds of films will probably find something worthwhile with this one, while those who really despise them will nothing worthwhile with it.

Rated R: Graphic Violence, Graphic Language and Full Nudity

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history