IMDb > Boy Culture (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Boy Culture
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Boy Culture More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 39 reviews in total 

21 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

perfect movie!

10/10
Author: christian (mstrbtrbgdck@hotmail.com) from Belgium
22 May 2006

Have seen yesterday-night this movie at the Brussels Pinkscreens gay and lesbian film-festival. It is noon now and the movie is still in my head. Can't let it go. For me this is a thé sign of a good movie...

As my English is not that good, it is rather difficult to give a very good and complete description of the movie but i do wanna say that it is an amazing movie! It is drama and comedy at the same time. Relaxing but at the same time asking all of your attention. Interesting story together with perfect looking actors. I had never heard of this movie before and when i started searching on the internet for some extra information, there is none to find... Except IMDb.com gives some...

For those who get the chance to see it, please do!!!! I am hoping that one day i will have the possibility to buy this movie cause it is a pearl that may not be lacking of my collection! Enjoy the movies!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Flashes of wit, economical style

7/10
Author: buff-29 from New York City
23 March 2007

X, as we are told to think of the narrator of this gay love story, is a hustler. He has only a few clients, but they each pay him well. He lives in luxurious digs in Seattle. He has a couple of roommates and they give us most of the plot. X is cynical and clever, his friends are more romantic and maybe not so sophisticated. It all turns out more or less as you will probably suspect from very early on, but you just might have a good time watching it. I did.

The performances are spotty but all are at least adequate. There are a few sex scenes, but much more is hinted at than shown. I didn't notice a rating, but in a sane world this one could be PG.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Sexy AND talented cast deliver

10/10
Author: l-phelan from United States
25 June 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The acting in most gay movies is TERRIBLE, so I was pleased to stumble across Derek Magyar's performance in "Boy Culture". The character he plays is extremely sexy (mostly because he is guarded almost to the point of being completely unavailable). The character "X" is a high priced male hustler with a very select client roster. "X" appears to the outside world to be a hardened, almost heartless, shell of a human being, but the audience is privy to his innermost thoughts. Through this internal dialog, we learn that "X" is "saving himself" for someone who loves him, and has convinced himself that he is secretly in love with his roommate played by the talented young actor Darryl Stephens of LOGO's Noah's ARC. If Derek wasn't a gifted actor, the character "X" would not have been likable (and the audience wouldn't have cared what ultimately happened to him). But, because Derek IS a talented actor, with above average material that borrows from a classic play, the audience is given the opportunity to invest in what happens to "X".

The story unfolds through sexy dialog that is believable enough if the audience is willing enough to suspend belief long enough to buy into a more serious, and sexier, gay version of "Pretty Woman." If you let out a little groan at the comparison, be aware that both of these films owe a debt to George Bernard Shaw's "Pygmalion". While "Pretty Woman" follows a more predictable, and commercial path with the prerequisite Hollywood happy ending which owes more to "My Fair Lady" than Shaw's original play, "Boy Culture" is actually closer to the spirit of "Pygmalion". Gifted character actor Patrick Bauchau, best known for playing the character of "Sydney" for four years on the television series "The Pretender" plays Gregory Talbot, the rich "sculpture" who is intent on molding "X" into his creation. The story appears to follow predictable paths at times, but is actually more complex than what the jaded viewer may expect. Thankfully, the characters in this story often display traits of nobility that elevate them above what they appear to be if only given a cursory inspection. While this film borrows from "Pygmalion," it doesn't steal; it veers away from the known story arc to find its own path.

With sexy dialog, the conveyance of raw emotion through his eyes, and a male beauty that rivals the sexiest Titan porn stars, Derek Magyar delivers a performance that is more than worth the average ticket price (a rarity these days to be sure). He emotes a type of vulnerability without giving up his pseudo-macho hustler persona. His character establishes early on, that he is unavailable (symbolically placing his jacket on the empty seat next to him, showing that he will allow no-one to get too close). He is very acid tongued to anyone who tries to remove that "barrier" and get too close, but it is obvious he is doing this in order to protect himself from harm. He pushes people away with "humor" based in a need for self preservation. He prays often (humorously enough he owns a religious Madonna icon –the Catholic version, not the pop-star) asking for forgiveness. It is easy for the viewer to grant this forgiveness since "X" is actually a very passionate, albeit damaged, character.

If this movie were a wide release Hollywood drama with heterosexual characters, Derek's performance would be a star making role. Although this film is unlikely to become a blockbuster, hopefully it WILL eventually find the audience it deserves. It has the potential to become a gay cult classic, and audiences that discover this small film may well begin to follow this talented cast to other projects. Without spoiling the ending, I found this film to be both unapologetic and hopeful. Considering the lack of gay cinema that offers either of these outcomes, I am delighted to recommend this film. I go to movies to escape and be entertained, and I found this film to be very entertaining escape on multiple levels.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Bore Culture

3/10
Author: Niels Buus from Denmark
10 July 2008

From Boy Culture, I have learned that there are some things a scriptwriter should know when throwing a script together.

1) Making the lead character speak in a monotonous semi deep and semi quiet tone, does not make him a deep, interesting or insightful character. It just makes him a character speaking with a monotonous semi deep and semi quiet tone.

2) If you want to make bible references think it through. References alone does not make it thoughtful.

3) If you need an amusing sidekick, the audience will surely appreciate if you actually create an amusing character with amusing lines, instead of throwing in a gay stereotype. He's helpless and shallow, we get it, ha-ha-ha.

4) If you want your lead character to be a luxury prostitute, you should pick an actor who's got looks and personality that men would actually shell out money to nail. A bitter guy with a monotonous semi deep and semi quiet tone is not really a courtesan.

5) If you want your movie to come across as insightful and deep, don't plaster the every scene with clichés.

6) If you don't know how to write believable dialog just admit it and find someone who knows.

7) If you want to include a "wise old man character", make him wise and not just old.

Okay, this listing is getting as pretentious as the actual movie, so I'll just shut my mouth now and let any potential watchers out there know the following two words: SKIP IT!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

One of the very few Gay themed films with a 10 rating from me

10/10
Author: Jay Harris (sirbossman6969@yahoo.com) from United States
25 August 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Normally most gay themed films are not good movies,MOST have second rate acting & production values & the plots ^ story lines are usually pretty bad. In fact I did not even like the last film by this director EATINGOUT.

The above being said, BOY CULTURE is one first rate film, The script is actually believable.

We have a very high priced male hustler, who is so fussy he has only 12 clients.. We concentrate here on his latest client, an older , very virile Senior Citizen, who seems to be more of a mentor to our Hustler.

In order to please the IRS tax-man, our Hustler has 2 roommates. One a very engaging Black,who while not a hustler is quite promiscuous,

He & our hustler hero seem to like each other & that seems to be all? The other lad is just an 18 year cutie. who cares for both of them

The dialog between these 3 & the Senior, is just first rate & we learn much about the lives & how they live & love. They may not always agree with one another, BUT they do care & that sure helps make this film a worthwhile rental. I will buy it when the price is affordable.This is a movie to be seen over & over.

They are all likable people that we the audience can care about.

The film may not be for everyone, BUT for those that like well made & acted light comedy/dramas, this is a must see,'

Why this charmer played in only a hand full of theatres, ( according to IMDb 7 ) is beyond all comprehension.

There is a minimum of foul language,no frontal nudity, & very brief sex scenes (well handled) .this was not rated by the the rating board. I would give it a PG-13

Ratings **** (out of 4) 98 points(out of 100) IMDb 10 (out of 10)

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Tear Jerker

10/10
Author: tvman8570 from Tucson, AZ
5 September 2007

Hello,

My partner of more than thirty years was taken from me a few years ago by cancer. I loved him more than 'X' loved Andrew. I have not had anyone in my bed since. This movie brings back so many memories of him that I watch it many times. We had many, many good times together including road trips to California and Wyoming. Derek Magyar (beautiful) and Darryl Stephens (very sexy) were perfect together. I would trade places with either of them. The original story was about two white men. I was happy to see a mixed culture especially with Cheyenne. Joey (Jonathon Trent) was too much. I was greatly surprised that Patrick Bauchau played a part in this. I admired him in 'The Prentender' series. BUY THIS, you will not be disappointed.

I just wish that I could see a biography on Derek to include his date of birth and future movies, not TV series.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Crazy but cool

8/10
Author: lee_wood from United Kingdom
8 April 2008

OK I have to admit I thought I was going to hate this film. After reading the synopsis I was dreading it and thought...ah some cheap gay crap full of crap actors getting their kit off to fuel other gays' sexual fantasies. But I was wrong.

OK the film has clichés, clumsiness, and pretentiousness. But these flaws are mild when taken in the overall context of the film. Essentially it's a romantic film with gay interest, but the "gay interest" part can really be ignored. The story, cast, screenplay and progress of the movie works...overall! It's charming and endearing. It's never going to be your favourite film or anything wonderful... but you'll like it. It might become one of your faves! Finally, my respect to the actors. Again, not Oscar-winning performances, but certainly commendable and enjoyable.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

It was just okay.

4/10
Author: imdbguru from United States
14 January 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie was okay, but not all that. It was mildly interesting. If you wanted to see Daryl Stephens in another role besides Noah, or if you're just feeling really gay, then it could be somewhat satisfying. I thought the four actors were good and played their characters well (considering what they had to work with), but the script wasn't very good and the plot was lacking. It tried to have a point but just didn't quite make it.

And boy did everything work out so conveniently for Andrew (Daryl's character) when he took X to see his family and go to his ex-girlfriend's wedding! They weren't sure how they'd go: as roommates, as friends, or as a new item, because Andrew had not officially come out to his family. The parents welcomed them in as a couple, the mother told them to share Andrew's bed in his old room, the mother told Andrew she'd known all along, the father questioned X like a fiancé just to confirm that he had financial security (X told him he was an investor, which he was, but he left out that he initially made the cash from hustling). The girlfriend was happy to see Andrew, and her newly out gay brother was thrilled to see him (this is the brother Andrew had thought was straight and wanted to get to during the time he dated her). That whole sequence was a fantasy-dream-come-true coming out.

The plot movements and the character relationships had a lot of false starts. In many instances the story would move in a direction, but the writer didn't follow through all the way with what he'd started. So I was left feeling disappointed or let down with a lot of the small sub-plots within the movie, and with the general plot.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The inner turmoil of an escort

6/10
Author: Laakbaar from The Netherlands
27 July 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I think the theme is fascinating: How on earth can gay escorts do what they do? And how does it affect them? Apparently many escorts have intimacy and trust issues that stem from the superficial nature of their relationships with their clients.

In this movie, our handsome hero is an escort struggling with such interpersonal and relationship issues. His two roommates are both in love with him, but he pushes them away. Not surprisingly, he finds it difficult to open up and have a "real" (i.e. non-pecuniary) relationship with someone appropriate. X had come to think of sex and emotions as having great value, I suppose. Not something to be given away for free.

I didn't really get this movie. There were problems with the dialogue, character development and plot. Some aspects of the movie just didn't ring true.

Even though he's a highly paid escort, X seemed to be living like a waiter.

We're not really shown why X is such a great escort. This movie needed an elegiac sex scene that made clear why X is good at what he does. Why did he love it so much?

X falling for Gregory didn't seem right to me. I get it that opening up emotionally to an older man could lead to feelings of intimacy (especially since Gregory was acting like a therapist), but why should that lead to desire? Intimacy and desire are two different things. The sex scenes between them were problematic for me.

When Joey offered himself to X both emotionally and physically, it seemed inexplicable to me that X felt nothing. If these scenes were meant to show us X's dysfunction, they worked. X lacks the easy sexuality of most gay men.

The movie hinged around X's emotional life, which was in turmoil. Sure, escorts can be prone to self-image problems and depression. Perhaps it's too difficult to show this on film, but we don't really find out why he has such intimacy problems and why he's such an as*hole. Near the end he sobs "I'm a freak", but I didn't really understand why he was feeling this way.

By the end of the movie, I was annoyed by X.

We were told repeatedly that X was in love with Andrew, and vice versa, but I didn't feel that at all. It didn't seem like real love at all. Maybe lust on Andrew's part. But what was it on X's part? X's emotional turmoil would have been difficult for the most difficult actor to convey on film, especially if the lines weren't right.

Perhaps I've not really understood this movie properly, even though I've seen it twice. Maybe this is actually a profound movie with much to say about the emotional life of gay escorts.

However, it left me with a disengaged, flat and down feeling afterwards. I wasn't moved at all. I can't say I really enjoyed the film. Worth about 5 or 6 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not at all what I expected

Author: emmagbg from Sweden
25 November 2007

Just saw this movie and felt the need to post my first review ever, for the record English isn't my first language. This movie wasn't at all what I expected it to be, it was more...interesting. The story is about a well payed hustler called "X" who lives with his two roommates; 18-year old Joey whom he has a sort of father-son relationship with and Andrew that he has feelings for but never have acted on. X's career provides him with a very comfortable material lifestyle at the expense of his emotional. A new client, an elderly gentleman, stir up emotions for X and things can no longer stay in status Q. The movie is narrated with X's thoughts, which describes situations in a sarcastic and humorist precise way. The narration is such a smart touch to bring the story forward and makes the otherwise poker-faced X so likable, what he says in his mind isn't always what he speaks out loud. I didn't expect this movie to be clever in the way it was and sweet, the character of young Joey added a touch of "feel good movie" without being too much. The trailer depicted it very differently; hustler with promiscuous roommates was the selling angle. I really want to give the director credit for the lack of uncalled for sex scenes, movies about hustlers/prostitutes tend to use the excuse to add more sex. This is one of those movies that's not exactly gonna make my top-ten list but will stay with me longer than most!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history