IMDb > Live Free or Die (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Live Free or Die
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Live Free or Die More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 19 reviews in total 

23 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Excellent

9/10
Author: wangchungvslopan from United States
28 June 2006

I had the pleasure of watching this film in Austin at the SouthbySouth West Film Festival and it was hilarious. It was simple in humor yet that was the funny thing about it. Their wasn't a dry seat in the house. And no they weren't crying out of laughter but for pissing their pants while laughing. Especially with the lines from Paul Schnieder's character Lagrand. I do remember one of the questions that a lot of people wanted to know and that was where could they get a copy of the film. Hopefully they will bring it soon if not release for theaters nationwide. It would totally be a hit. After the film we must of clapped for like a few minutes unfortunately we couldn't ask the director or the cast that many questions because the schedule was very tight and we wanted to go catch another film. Aaron Standford also brings great desperation to his character Rugged who desperately wants to be a notorious gansta. And thankfully not in the ways of a Wigga. Any fans of slacker humor would definitely love this film. "Yep, They Stole My Porn And That was Vintage S"#@ Man"

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

I Really Enjoyed it. It was Cool.

Author: tonymurphylee from USA
27 September 2007

*** out of ****

Aaron Stanford plays a guy named John Ruddgate. He's a wannabe gangster who just can't seem to pull it off no matter how hard he tries. Enter Lagrand(Paul Schneider), a mentally handicapped man who really enjoys John's company. In reality though, John needs Lagrand a lot more than Lagrand needs him. John tries to impress Lagrand, but somehow, everything goes wrong in all the right ways. Both of them are completely oblivious of their situation, and all they want is to put an end to it. Meanwhile, two cops investigate a situation that seems to involve John, but Officer Putney(Michael Rapaport) has more going on in his personal life than it appears, and it looks like it might cause some distress. The film takes place in New Hampshire, but it appears to be filmed in Rutland, Vermont. Since both places look similar, I guess it doesn't matter.

The film is great. What makes it great is it's originality, it's ever twisting plot, and the fact that the characters refuse to be stereotypes. I love it when a refreshing movie like this comes out that is just enjoyable and uncomplicated. This is basically just the kind of film that I can easily get into because of how much it draws you in. It's just a breath of fresh air. It's an even bigger breath of fresh air than TRANSAMERICA or A MIDNIGHT CLEAR. There is just so much to enjoy about it.

Aaron Stanford has proved in the past that he can be very dopey(TADPOLE)and very rugged(HILLS HAVE EYES remake), and now he shows a side of himself that manages to be realistic but true to life at the same time. He has a really believable performance as a guy who just wants to be remembered for something bad and has absolutely nothing to lose, but gets very irritated when things are ruined for him. And Paul Schneider... WOW. He somehow pulls off a very low key performance that has exactly the same effect as if it were over the top He is just fascinating to watch. He has such a unique screen presence in this film. I swear, you could pause the movie and he would still look awkward no matter how he's standing or what he's doing. Even when he holds still, he pulls off being a person who has a mental disability. It's just really subtle, and yet so hypnotic. I was impressed.

So overall, if you're looking for something light and easy to get into, I'd highly recommend LIVE FREE OR DIE. It may not be life changing, but damn. It is damn fine independent cinema. It's really wonderful. Check it out.

Rated R for pervasive language including sex references.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

you can safely skip this one

4/10
Author: ssto from New York, USA
14 July 2007

I didn't like this movie much. It is not a total disaster, but a comedy that didn't make me laugh once, probably doesn't work. Its looks good, but the dialog is so poor. The actors are pretty wooden and mediocre, the only exception is Paul Schneider who's part requires him to be wooden and mediocre and he does it well.

Basically this is the story of somebody who wants to be someone, namely a gangster, but although he thinks he tries so hard he can't fool anyone in small town with people who just don't buy it.

Don't want to reveal more from the story, but wouldn't recommend you to find out for your self - you can safely skip it

4/10

peace

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

a novel setting and a sweet tone make for a fun offbeat comedy

7/10
Author: Roland E. Zwick (magneteach@aol.com) from United States
22 September 2007

Scenic New Hampshire serves as the novel setting for "Live Free or Die" (not to be confused with the later Bruce Willis film, "Live Free or Die HARD"), an entertaining indie comedy that takes its title from the state's time-honored motto of in-your-face defiance.

John Rudgate - who goes by the nickname "Rugged" - is an inept wannabe tough guy who fancies himself a notorious outlaw. He spends most of his days riding around in a dilapidated van trying to convince others - as well as himself - that he is, indeed, the most feared lawbreaker in the county. In reality, the "stolen" merchandise he is moving is actually his own stuff, and the gun he keeps in a drawer in the kitchen is nothing more than a water pistol. The folks in town shrug him off as little more than an irritating pest with delusions of criminal grandeur. Like any villain worth his salt, Rudgate needs to find himself a sycophantic henchman who will do a substantial amount of his dirty work for him. He alights on Lagrand, a simpleminded, but sweet-natured acquaintance who co-owns a storage facility with his sister, a clear-eyed pragmatist who, unlike her brother, knows a BS-ing con artist when she sees one.

Although the movie can't entirely shake free of the "oddball quirkiness" factor that seems to afflict so much of regional film-making these days, movie makers Gregg Kavet and Andy Robin evince a genuine affection for their characters and a sly way with storytelling that go a long way towards mitigating that weakness. They are aided immeasurably by wonderfully self-effacing performances by Paul Schneider, Michael Rapaport, Zooey Deschanel, and, above all, Aaron Stanford, who, as Rudgate, turns a potentially one-note caricature into an endearingly original and surprisingly memorable comic figure. And, besides, the colorful New England setting is alone worth the price of a rental.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Funny Movie, hopefully headed for the big time.

8/10
Author: Callie from United States
31 July 2006

Last night I decided to go to a movie at the Woods Hole Film Festival. Live Free or Die grabbed my attention, so I blindly went in, hoping for a mediocre movie. The Film Festival is good, but my expectations are never that high. Boy how I was wrong. Written and directed by two former writers from Seinfeld, this movie was wonderfully funny and of a professional quality. It was impossible to believe that they only had one camera and less than $2 million! It was like watching a big name Hollywood picture, except without all the crap product placements. If you have a chance to see this movie, do it. They hope to at least do a New England or a college release, but I sincerely hope that it gets a wider distribution.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Deadpan humor is funny.

7/10
Author: sado_masochist_666 from United States
18 August 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I actually liked this movie.

It's funny but in a different way.

Not the whole slap stick comedy that is of today but more deadpan funny.

It's different and interesting.

I found Stanford's and Schneider's performances amazing.

The commentary will have you in tears if you decide to watch it.

If you like off beat humor and dumb wanna be criminals then you'll probably like this movie.

This officially holds a special place in my heart for Stanford's movies.

"The c*nts took the porno. Vintage sh*t. Gone"

Surprisingly funny and original.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Very funny movie that may not appeal to everyone

8/10
Author: herkykilla from United States
9 February 2008

I rented this movie on accident and turned out to be a very good movie. i agree with what "scoochie9" commented about the movie. Different people have different tastes and this movie happens to fit just what i like. the comedy is pretty dry and also subtle, but at the same time there are so many minor details in the movie that are just straight up hilarious (when rugged first talks to the character of Ebon moss and he says "yeah right"). I do agree that the film had a lot of potential that it didn't capitalize on. I thought the characters could have been developed a bit more. i really liked the way they ended the movie. i recommend this movie to anyone who is a fan of dry, clever comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

What if dumb and dumber wasn't funny?? It would be this movie.

3/10
Author: dilbertsuperman from Baghdad
13 September 2007

This movie has two great characters and a cool little story. However- those two characters and their story is enough to take up 20 minutes of film- after we breeze through that we still have an 1:40+ that is unaccounted for in the planning of this movie...

I like these characters A lot but what the hell was this idiot thinking stretching their material so thin?? They are only two guys- and not THAT interesting- they would make very cool supporting characters in a REAL movie, but this is more like a pilot for these characters than anything else- the actual movie totally, and utterly sucks from start to finish.

This is one of those, I'll keep watching this because it has to get better and it never does kind of movies... It never ever gets better- it's stuck in a rut of idiocy.

There are some good scenes so if you don't mind wasting your life and pissing yourself off- watch this, it's almost worth it to watch the 17 and a half minutes of good footage.

PLOT: a lowlife criminal in a small town is looking for street cred, he concocts a plan to impress a friend that owns a storage facility in the hopes of landing a security job with them, -that he is one bad mo fo that doesn't take any crap from anyone- but the plan kind of goes everywhere but where it's supposed to...

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Quirky and Amusing

7/10
Author: tweetypez-1 from United States
25 September 2007

Small town quirky characters and absurd situations. Aaron Stanford's performance, "Rugged", reminds me somewhat of Steve Buscemi, sort of nervous, hot-tempered, puny, and swaggering.

I agree with a previous comment that Paul Schneider's character does remind me of Will Ferrell.

Not a lot happens in parts of this little movie, but that seems to reflect several independent films.

I loved seeing the setting of New Hampshire, since I lived there for a year. The only thing that was missing was the authentic New Hampshire accents.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Fans of Deadpan--Boon! Non-Fans of Deadpan--Bomb.

8/10
Author: scoochie9 from United States
13 December 2007

Taste is a funny thing. What one person considers hilarious may well leave another person desperately wishing for something else...anything else. I've seen a lot of indie movies claiming to be "hilarious", and left them depressed, wondering where the comedy actually was.

This movie actually tickled my funny-bone on more than one occasion. I don't think the "mass of men" would have the necessary twist-of-sensibility to appreciate the often subtle comedic aspects of it, and that's just a fact of life. It doesn't mean the detractors are lacking in intelligence...it just means that everybody has his/her own unique taste.

That said, I found this movie to be quite a fun ride. Paul Schneider, I admit, was the great big selling point for me. Every scene he was in made me giggle, and, on occasion, roll upon the floor grasping my sides. Low humor? Maybe, but not entirely.

The rest of it was funny for me in a somewhat cerebral way, possibly. I'm a fan of good, clever, sly, ironic writing, and "Live Free or Die" was certainly chock full of that. Anyway, if your sense of humor tends towards the off-beat, you might want to give this little fire-cracker of a movie a try. You won't regret it.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history