IMDb > Resident Evil: Extinction (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Resident Evil: Extinction
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Resident Evil: Extinction More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 34: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 337 reviews in total 

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Wow they somehow made a movie worse then the second

1/10
Author: ttdoggie5 from United States
4 August 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is the worst movie I have seen in a long time. The story is like something a 8th grader would come up with, and there are many things that don't add up in the plot. For one how does a Chopper carry all those people and still have gas to make it to Alaska and where do these people get water? Or why do they keep cloneing Alice when the 1st one just broke out and now wants to destroy umbrella? Or how does that fence hold off over a 1000 zombies? There's more then that

The action isn't even that good just over the top stunts that suck like Alice making a fire shield or that stupid tyrant that looks just as bad, possible worse then nemmy looked in the second and then there's that fact that this movie has almost nothing to do with that game.

I would not hate this movie so much if it had'nt destroyed the chance of a good resident evil based movie.

And the way the movie ended the climax fight between tyrant and Alice was ended by a clone waking up knowing how to use an umbrella computer and turn on lazes that kill off tyrant.

I could go on and on about how bad this movie was but there is a good chance this will never be read so I will end it here

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Another Full of Action Sequel

7/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
4 April 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After the outbreak of the T-virus initiated in Raccoon City, the whole world is destroyed and crowded of flesh-eating zombies, and the humans keep moving fighting to survive. Alice (Milla Jovovich) travels alone in her motorcycle through the Nevada Desert, where she meets a convoy of survivors leaded by Claire Redfield (Ali Larter) with Carlos Olivera (Oded Fehr) and helps them to fight against a bunch of zombie-crows. The group decides to travel to Las Vegas first to get fuel and supplies and then head to the decontaminated Alaska. Meanwhile, in an underground facility of the Umbrella Corporation, the evil Dr. Isaacs (Iain Glen) is researching an anti-virus to domesticate the zombies and cure people using clones of Alice. When Dr. Isaacs locates Alice through the satellite, he forges an order from the president and the troops chase Alice, while the group of survivors fights against a horde of zombies in Las Vegas.

The full of action "Resident Evil: Extinction" is another great sequel of "Resident Evil". The story is a sort of "Mad Max" with George Romero's trilogy, but never disappoints. The acting is great, highlighting the gorgeous Milla Jovovich and Ali Larter (from "Heroes"), and top-notch special effects. The end of the movie is a great hook for another sequel. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "Resident Evil 3: Extinção" ("Resident Evil 3: Extinction")

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

resident evil extinction MAY HAVE SPOILERS

3/10
Author: josh from United States
22 September 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Holy crap this movie was a total piece of crap compared to the other two movies. If you are a fan to the movies, games, and books such as I am then you will most likely hate this movie in my mind this movie could have been over when alices clone was killed that was about the only good thing in the movie along with one or two other fights in the movie because this movie had no real plot to it at first the movie starting to go somewhere and after the first 20 min it turns into a huge crap fest ahhh i know I'm going in circles with this but i mean this movie could have been so much more it was just a disappointment to me and my friends when we saw it but hey they still have a chance to come back if they have SPOILER ALERT DO NOT READ ON IF YOU DO NOT WANT THE MOVIE RUINED!!!!! another movie but I'm not sure how they are going to work in about 300 alices and some type of super zombie that cold have been so much more in this movie but yeah over all this movie just made me upset with it.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Third spectacular and stirring installment of the ¨Resident Evil trilogy¨

6/10
Author: ma-cortes
20 January 2009

The deadly virus has decimated the world, exception a little zone in Alaska where live people no-infected . Years later , one time Racoon was destroyed , the Umbrella corporation led by ambitious Dr. Isaacs(Iain Glen) continues his weird experiments with the deadly T-virus. But the Zombies spread the epidemic and those exposed to cruel bite suffer a complete transformation turning into meat-eating sickos. Alice(Milla Jovovich)is attempting to survive , and she finds new survivors(Ali Larter, Ashanti along with Oded Fehr and Mike Epps who repeat characters) traveling throughout Nevada desert . They must confront carnivorous crows, hordes of zombies starving of human flesh and an evil corporation chief who creates the most horrifying creatures ever made .The survivor group are surrounded , facing the world destruction by deadly epidemic.

This exciting picture contains thrills, chills, action-filled with fierce combats and lots of gore and guts.The horror and action moments are fast moving and compactly realized. The film turns out to be a crossover between 'the nuclear apocalypse of Mad Max 2', the 'George A Romero's Zombies' and genetic experiments from 'Sigourney Wever-Ripley in Alien saga '. Of course, the film takes ideas from former parts as 'Resident evil'(2002, Paul W. Anderson, here also producer and screenwriter) and 'Resident Evil: Apocalypse'(2004,Alexander Witt)resulting to be a nice following. The creepy images of wide range from the genuinely fantastic to the bizarre along with an eerie and amazing frames. It's predictable but we have seen the previous chapters but also its predictability is redeemed in part by the charismatic acting from the action-women, Milla Jovovich and Ali Larter. The flesh-eating mutants appearance deliver the goods, plenty of screams, shocks and tension. The make-up assistants create a truly horrible zombie cannibals. Horrifying and astonishing images about apocalyptic events with deserted and destroyed cities, such as the creepy scenarios in Las Vegas without people, totally uninhabited and covered of sand. Cool,luminous cinematography using steadicam by David Johnson and haunting musical score by Charles Clouser.The motion picture is surprisingly directed with startling visual style by Russell Mulcahy(Razorback,Highlander, Resurrection).

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 70 people found the following review useful:

Great Zombie film, Yes - Resident Evil film, No

7/10
Author: dachande07 from United Kingdom
12 October 2007

While this RE3 was a cracking zombie movie, it strayed to far from the original concept and excepted storyline. In my opinion this has rendered the movie pointless in the RE franchise.

Let's not forget that Resident Evil owes it popularity to the game series, so I think it's only right that they try and stick to it, even if it's just a little bit. It seems very much like the director wanted to make an updated version of Day of the Dead, if you've seen DOTD you'll see what I mean in the first 5 minutes of RE3.

If this were a stand alone movie I would have given it 10/10, but it isn't, they've tried to be too creative and the director has tried to make a different movie. By doing this he's make a cracking zombie film. but a Resident Evil film, I think not.

I only hope this isn't the last one, it would be a terrible waste.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Definitely Worth a Watch

7/10
Author: Uriah43 from Amarillo, Texas
7 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Having escaped from the Umbrella Corporation in the last picture, "Alice" (Milla Jovovich) is now on her own and is riding a motorcycle in the middle of a desert wasteland somewhere in the vicinity of Nevada. On a separate journey is "Carlos Olivera" (Oded Fehr) and "L.J." (Mike Epps) who have joined a caravan of survivors led by a person named "Claire" (Ali Larter). The problem that both Alice and the caravan face is that the zombie population has grown on such a large scale that the zombies now inhabit the entire planet. There doesn't seem to be any safe place and so the only solution is to keep on moving. Because of this, and the desolate desert environment, this movie probably captures an apocalyptic scenario better than its predecessor, "Resident Evil-Apocalypse". The action is fast-paced and the plot is a slight improvement over the last film. And while Milla Jovovich displays good acting abilities, the addition of attractive newcomers, Spencer Locke ("K-Mart"), Ashanti ("Betty") and the previously mentioned Ali Larter certainly doesn't hurt this film. All things considered then, I believe this film is slightly better than its predecessor and as good as the original ("Resident Evil"). Definitely worth a watch if you enjoy this series.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Here it comes....

7/10
Author: Brian T. Whitlock (GOWBTW) from WILMINGTON, NC
13 September 2012

After the second Resident Evil movie, I would figure a next one is up. Looks like the Umbrella Corporation is up to its old tricks again. This time thy are trying to make an army by using the undead to their advantage. But what do they use? Blood from Alice( Milla Jovovich) since she has immunity from the dreaded T-Virus that makes the dead be less than dead. Now there are some survivors from the last battle who are in a convoy trying to avoid not only the undead, but the Umbrella as well. When they meet Alice from the infected crow attack, they are more than ready to take down the Umbrella and the undead. When one of the Umbrella members tried to use Alice's blood to his advantage, his arrogance really showed. He wears Alice down temporary, he forgets her allies. Especially when he was in that lethal trap from the first Resident Evil movie. Saying that "I'm Invincible" is one thing, but in that room, you're just a cut up for laughs. I mean literally. Plenty of horror and gore to say the least, Milla puts the "A" in action. Enjoyed it very well. 2.5 out of 5 stars

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

4 out of 5 action rating

6/10
Author: Jeff (actionrating.com) from United States
24 July 2012

It's rare to find a sequel that puts an original to shame. So you can imagine that it would be almost impossible to find a fourth installment that is better than the first. Well the search is over. Not only does "Extinction" beat out the other Resident Evil's in scale of action, it edges them in overall quality as well...not that it matters. If you're watching a zombie movie based on a video game, you probably don't care how deep the plot is. In this installment, Alice continues her search for the mythical, virus-free "Arcadia." While flying her plane over a desolate, post-apocalyptic Los Angeles, she decides to land on the roof of a maximum security prison to come to the aid of some survivors. It's hard enough to escape from prison, but how do you pull it off when the prison is surrounded by a zombie army? Loading your shotgun shells with metal coins is a good first step. "Extinction" would fit nicely in a list of the Top 20 zombie movies of all. It would also not be out of place on a list of the top 3 video game films of all time.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Another Entertaining RE Flick

7/10
Author: Charles Herold (cherold) from United States
24 May 2012

At its best, this movie has great style. Watch the first scenes, as the director poses Milla as a piece of angry candy in beautifully framed shots and lovely moments like a sliver of a dress sliced in slow motion, and you can't help but be impressed. The movie doesn't consistently maintain that supermodel-of-the-apocalypse quality, but when it hits it, as in another scene with Milla and a wall of flame, it's stupendous.

While the scenes without Milla are never quite as visually striking, it is all pretty exciting, including a transparent rip off of Hitchcock's The Birds.

For me, the Resident Evil series represents the best of movies pulled from video games, offering pure escapist fun that is fast paced and never tries to either mock nor run away from the game's sillier aspects. At the same time, the movies all kind of run together for me; they're all good, but they are all pretty forgettable. If you're looking for pure popcorn entertainment you can't go wrong with this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

resident evil 3

7/10
Author: kai ringler from United States
28 April 2008

Well i waited a long time for this one to come out,, it was pretty good,, but not as good as the first,, but then again when are movies as good as the first,, i think the first half of this movie kicks ass and takes names,, and Milla Jovovich is as sexy as ever,, even Mike Epps is fun,, and the dogs are back for a little bit too,, in the second half of the movie,, the story loses some of the original punch,, it slows down a little too much for me,, but it does manage to pick it up a notch again,, for a decent ending i thought,, i just think this movie like most,, in this genre that are a sequel,, is it was disjointed ,, meaning the pieces just don't seem to fit,, i mean all the action was there,, and Milla was great as usual,, and the Umbrella Corporation is mentioned quite frequently,, and the return of Alice not to mention,, so it's a good movie,, but can't top the original.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 34: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history