IMDb > The Possession (2012/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Possession
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Possession More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 161 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Not Another Possession Movie

7/10
Author: Frank Rambro Ray
16 September 2012

What can be said about this movie that hasn't been said about just about every possession movie. The scares seem more like a "make you jump for two seconds scared" than they do a "scare that stays with you for a week or so". The acting is not the most memorable but the plot its self is generally simple and easy to follow. Everything is explained to you and there is no real motivation to look any further into the topic of Dibicks and Demons. The movie takes some twist and turns but never strays to far From the actual plot. The special effects and makeup are great. Overall this movie Gets a 7/10. Its a good movie but its content source has been over done by movies such as the Last Exorcism and the Exorcist. Its not really worth going to see in theaters but its worth giving a look at if it is ever on demand or HBO.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Not a movie, but an ideological brainwash

1/10
Author: hairofthedog-22195 from Canada
12 October 2015

I'm surfing TV channels. Get to MUCH TV and a movie starts right away. Had it not been for the announcement "THE FOLLOWING IS BASED ON A TRUE STORY", I'd have never wasted my time watching this crap. But I am glad I did! It was quite a revelation to witness a sign of the times. The movie is made, and passed off as a true story, for no other purpose than to further strengthen religion, i.e., superstition, by the dent of Hollywood across the world, in general, and in an already religious-ridden country, that is, the USA, in particular. It is made by the same hands that, for example, for the eight years during the rein of George W. Bush, the American Dark Ages, put a ban on stem cell research, the future hope of medical science and therefore humanity,(an executive order Obama had to cancel within ours of coming into the White House)just to gain the votes of the religious right; the same hands that are bringing religion back in a myriad of ways and putting it smack in the middle of our educational, scientific, judicial, etc., institutions; by the same hands that are passing "freedom of religion" ("freedom", as true as this story,indeed!)bills in state after state; by the same hands that are robbing us of our secular system of government, i.e., the separation of church and state; by the same hands that, in nut shell, are bent on, and, unfortunately, succeeding in, dragging the world to the brink of barbarism and eventual destruction. With globalization no more classical world-wars are possible. But religion, hand in glove with barbarism throughout history,is even a more efficacious weapon to do just that. Within the said context, "THE FOLLOWING IS BASED ON A TRUE STORY", indeed!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Boring and clichéd

1/10
Author: Lyle Chip Chipperson from Japan
10 October 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Where to start with this s**t?!

Firstly, one thing that screams at you every time she's on the screen: Kyra Sedgwick looks like she's about 65. Jeffrey Dean Morgan isn't any spring chicken, but she looks like she could be his mother.

The acting is awful at times. Some of the lines are delivered like the take was just a run-through. The demon isn't even remotely scary, and neither is the film.

The only interesting thing is the whole Jewish aspect of it. It was new to have a possession story that wasn't based in Catholicism. Matisyahu was good in his roll, and acted better than I expected.

The kids were annoying, especially the ugly little main kid, who just seemed like a bad rip-off of the kid in the Exorcist, even down to appearance.

The ending was your typical clichéd crap. Hopefully there will be no sequel.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

The best Exorcism film of the decade!!!

9/10
Author: Nitzan Havoc from Israel
5 March 2013

Just to be honest, I would like to confess that I'm writing this review while being very annoyed and frustrated, by the oblivious critics, the seemingly blind raters and just how unfair they are. I've always been a Horror freak, and had a special liking to sub-genres such as Ghost Stories and Exorcism flicks. I've seen all the classics, including the more recent ones of both sub-genres, so I can tell you in all certainty - The Possession is an excellent film.

The story and screen writing are as original as can be in this slightly overdone sub-genre. Unlike 99% of Exorcism films, The Possession related to Judaism rather than Christianity, and presented a slightly different approach (still, with all the ceremonial classics). The possessed little girl was scary and convincing, and made me think of Japanese films The Ring and The Grudge (two of the scariest films ever, that's how good The Possession is). As for portraying the actual possession - some of the classic features have indeed been used (creepy voice, moths) and some were innovative and original in a delightfully horrifying way (the body of the demon actually being inside the victim).

As for cinematography, acting and soundtrack - all are excellent. I really feel like dropping all objectivity in order to salvage some of due respect this film has been robbed of by the uppity people on this site, but still I can't say this film is perfect... Being a Jewish Israeli myself (don't lower your intelligence by thinking that's the only reason I love this film) I've noticed the graving on the box didn't exactly make sense, unless you read it backwards and change the words' orders (then it doesn't say "danger, do not open!", it says "Thou shalt seeth the punishment of evil", or something of the sort. I don't really get it... if you're gonna use Hebrew, how hard could it be to find someone who speaks the language? I also think the "demon" should have spoken in Hebrew, or Aramaic, or any other ancient language rather than gibberish. And of course - the lack of a good plot twist, which could have made a great film spectacular.

The Possession is definitely the best exorcism film of the decade (even better than Emily Rose and far better than The Last Exorcism), and one of the best of all times. I was going to rate it 8, then saw the other ratings and reviews and though "to hell with you, I'll rate it 10 just to balance out your wrongful judgement". So I'll settle for a 9, The Possession has earned it. You would do yourselves fine service if you ignore the embarrassingly biased and unfair reviews this film has been given here on IMDb. Whatever you do - don't miss out on this one!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

How was this only a 5????

9/10
Author: jade_skyler from United States
24 February 2013

A few months ago the scariest movie on my list of favorites was Insidious. Last week the scariest became Sinister, though it disturbed me so it wasn't my favorite. Today we watched Possession. I Loved It! I don't see how people say this was just a rip of every other movie, the scene when the girl was in the hospital made me want to cry it creeped me out so much. Never before have I seen it involve the religion this movie did, as I have only ever seen Catholics in possession movies. and oh my gosh when they saw the demon! My fiancé and his best friend jumped!Not only that but they really built up the characters, they had a story to them, didn't just jump into the scares. I loved this movie, it is at the top of my scary movie list. My only complaint was it hit its climax rather soon, but it continued to be scary right up until the end.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Nice box...

2/10
Author: FlashCallahan from Leicester, United Kingdom
24 February 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Clyde and his wife Stephanie are divorced and their daughters live with their mother and spend the weekends with their father.

One day, Clyde stops his car in a yard sale and his youngest, Emily buys an antique carved box and becomes obsessed with it.

She finds the hidden lock and releases an evil spirit that possesses her.

Clyde seeks out a specialist and when he sees the box, he explains that it is a Dibbuk Box, where a demon is trapped inside....

Its basically The Exorcist for the PG-13 generation, and is that sounds the pits, wait until you see the finished product. It's one of those movies where you end up shouting at the movie because of the sheer stupidity of the characters.

Morgan, the cut price Clooney/Javier Bardem hybrid, plays the basketball coach who is the only person who lives in his suburb, but has access to a hoop. Things start going strange when his youngest turns into a goth and starts acting strange.

He hasn't got to worry about his other daughter, because she is just some freaky Lindsay Lohan doppelgänger, so he concentrates on her.

Now what really vexed me the most about this was the fact that he didn't just get rid of it, the moment she started to act a little odd, and when he did, he just threw it away in the nearest dumpster, not burn it, or bury it in the north sea.

But the film states at the beginning, if you try and destroy it, you will get bells palsy, and the only way to get rid of the spirit is to hire a Rabbi who just bounces up and down.

It's not well acted, the makers go for the shock factor of loud strings, and the fact that Raimi assisted somewhat on the production, just makes it that little more depressing.

Do yourself a favour, watch the exorcist instead...

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

This Movie is a Life-Sucking Dibbuk Box

1/10
Author: Joshua N from United States
16 February 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Without even getting into the fact that the entire premise of this movie revolved around a 10 year old girl's "box," which is reprehensible AT BEST, there were wayyyy too many plot holes. First of all, Kyra Sedgwick is the oldest-looking 47-year old woman I have ever seen (born in '65--I had to check because she looks 60). So, her Stephanie character looking like she's in her 50s (generously) and having a pre-teen child (pregnant as a 40-something?) seems a little off. Maybe she could have played those kids' grandma? This isn't to mention that Kyra Sedgwick really can't act a lick either. Maybe on a soap opera, but that's not saying much (dramatic stare!!! and, commercial break).

Alright, and as for Jeffrey Dean Morgan's character, Clyde. Did he REALLY have to be a basketball coach of all things? Yeah, that was really believable how they had to bring in a body double to shoot some simple hoops!! Anything but a basketball coach! Lawyer, doctor, construction worker, garbageman...anything. And, c'mon saying I think there MAY be something wrong with my daughter and then backing off after his daughter psychotically tried to put a fork through his hand and was just chillin' in a room with exactly 1,785 giant moths buzzing around. Yeah, all kids go through this phase when their parents divorce, it's actually pretty common.........

And there were some dumb little poor attention to detail things too like the older daughter brushing her teeth without having put any toothpaste on her toothbrush first. A DIY Jewish Exorcism on your daughter? Yeah, that's the kind of thing you just wing after watching a handful of YouTube clips. Totally believable. And where can one find the classified ads for Jewish Exorcisms? I guess I just go to Brooklyn and look for a guy randomly singing along with his iPod? That narrows it down. Well, at least he's wearing religious clothes.

Would it really kill a Hollywood director to show people in movies using PCs? I mean according to Hollywood, EVERYONE uses a Mac, but in real life Mac is still a minority.

And why, pray tell, do some people get the bleeding eye treatment/hurricane force winds, but some suffer no such fate? I did enjoy how they introduced the counselor just to knock her off in the next scene! They must've realized the didn't have enough characters in the script and had to ad lib to maintain all the main roles! When Clyde decided to put the box in the dumpster, it didn't try and stop him? Hmmm....And his 10 y/o daughter just happens to run like Usain Bolt leaving the ostensibly athletic "basketball coach" in the dust? And she knew exactly where to go....and the father dumped it so close to the house? If he was starting to think that thing was evil, why not drive it FAR FAR FAR away, or throw it in a lake? I mean his daughter just admitted she was talking to her invisible friend that lived in the box. That would be a red flag I'd have to think.

By the way, was that a statement for vegetarianism? In the midst of a B-horror movie? Well, I didn't see that coming.

Moving the little girl from her private hospital room looking for privacy? Isn't that one of the better places to find privacy? Oh, that's right, but the "basketball coach" knew of a training room in the hospital that is empty after 6. Convenient.

The only shreds of this movie that were OK were the 2 daughters who actually were the best actress/actors in the entire movie. And the scene with the younger daughter beating her classmate down was pretty funny. But I suppose funny is not the effect that they were going for.

TL;DR: This movie was an unmitigated, smoldering pile of rubbish. I'd only suggest watching this if you hate yourself very much.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Great Scary Movie.

8/10
Author: Leema Raven from United States
10 January 2013

As a fan of truly scary movies, (not Torture Porn or gore.), this one met all expectations. With the exception of a few "Bump Scares", this film delivered. It had the back of my neck tingling all the way through. The screenplay allowed you to actually believe in the characters and each of their stories, The climax was astounding.

Nothing gratuitous or cliché at all, just sleek, inherent fear. Something I haven't seen in a long time. The story was believable and felt genuine. Sinister had some elements of fear, but lacked in storytelling and believable characters, thus making that movie a waste of time. Possession is a very scary movie, I give it 8 out of 10 and look forward more.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Disney does the Exorcist

3/10
Author: sixbells99
31 December 2012

Despite a good cast and a strong performance form the leading man, this is the 0% alcohol version of the exorcist.If you want to see a Exorcist film go and see the exorcist, if you have already seen it, see it again, it will be more entertaining than seeing this.

Despite the director showing he is a deft hand at suspense, he ruins it with some strange editing and some truly laughable exorcism scenes, that really seem if they were out of a comedy sketch.

One wonders when someone will come up a with a horror film that does not have Zombies vampires or exorcisms.

Surely there must me some original horror ideas out there and with this director and cast a good film might have been pulled off, if only they had a fresh idea.

I think we exorcised all the demons in the world now, Hollywood needs to come up with another way to try an scare us..

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

It had it's moments, but it just failed to make it to the finish line...

4/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
30 December 2012

Based on a true story? Mmm-hmmm, sure...

This movie was somewhat of an anti-climatic experience. The movie did quite well in building up suspense and leading up to something. However, that something just never came, and the movie ended abruptly and in a way that just left the audience hanging with a sense of 'was that really it?' and disappointment.

The story, in itself, was actually interesting enough, and director Ole Bornedal actually did a great enough job with the story and the execution of it, but the movie just suffered from a lack of proper peaking and from not having an ending that was satisfactory in any way.

What worked best in "The Possession" was the mood of the story and the acting performances put on by Natasha Calis (playing Em) and Jeffrey Dean Morgan (playing Clyde). There were a good number of interesting moments in the movie that were nicely shot and even better planned. Great moments in shock value and thrills.

However, what made me laugh the most was ironically enough the best scene in the movie. It was the scene with the scanning in the hospital. It was a really beautiful and interesting scene, and the CGI on the scanned images was really good. However, the way that the doctor's didn't behave or respond to the power surges that caused moments of power outage and the disturbing image of a demonic face on the scan, that was just priceless. Never seen that much disinterest and lack of attention by doctors ever.

"The Possession" ends just right when the story starts to get to the good stuff, and it just seems like they had to quickly wrap it up and call it quits. The ending was laughable and predictable to the point where it was starting to be physically painful. And the dybbuk itself was nowhere near being scary when you finally got to see it.

All in all, the movie does have its moments, unfortunately, it just didn't fully deliver the impact that it had the potential to. "The Possession" is a movie experience just under average, and there are far better demonic possession movies out there, both of older and more recent date.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history