IMDb > Miami Vice (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Miami Vice
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Miami Vice More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 94: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 932 reviews in total 

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Authenticity that systematically undoes what the original series did

8/10
Author: fuzzy_wunz from New York, NY
8 November 2006

A far cry from cop thrillers that overemphasize the inner workings of the protagonists' minds and draw the viewer in through intimate observation, Miami Vice is a detached and surgical ride through a near-predictable plot line. Gone are Crockett's loud turquoise shirts and Tubbs' ability to topple criminal schemes with sheer will and stoic cool. The characters that were once romanticized on the small screen for prime-time audiences are replaced with steely professionals who rarely mince words or deliver delightful quips that amuse. Where the television show employed charm and flash to boost ratings, the movie employs 21st century sophistication, ambiguity, and precision to give audiences an unapologetic glimpse at undercover work. Far from glamorous, the plot plays out with the calculated severity of a police report. Romance is reserved primarily for deception; and neither Sonny nor Rico are ever propelled to the admirably mythic heights enjoyed by their small screen counterparts. All in all, the movie is Miami Vice in name alone, yet the added dose of grit and realism cures the franchise of its 'cheese' and 80s pop culture malaise. In the end, Miami Vice is an ambitious effort that was easily undercut by its small screen ties and audience expectations of nostalgic escapism.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Not actually that bad

7/10
Author: spamspaz-1 from Canada
30 July 2006

I am one of the many people who are seeing this film and have not even heard of the source material, I am too young to know what it is yet I am old enough to see the new and enjoy it. This film is not as good as the other Micheal Mann film with Jamie Foxx (Collateral for those in the know), but it still has its moments even though they are way to bloody for their own good. The acting is fairly nice in some parts, but is over acted with silly accents here or under acted with little emotion in some parts. The middle part of the film that with little reason skips out for an arguably more romantic half hour between Colin and Gong could be cut out or left in, but the action scenes are enjoyable and the plot progresses at a nice pace. This movie will most likely be enjoyed by action film people who aren't slow at following plots, but I found that even my mother enjoyed this movie. It may be graphic and a little on the long side, but it is a fairly good film that can be enjoyed by many.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Miami Vice emerges as a very good grown-up thriller despite it's flaws.

7/10
Author: gav_mcf from Aberdeen, Scotland
26 September 2008

I'm a huge fan of Michael Mann, Collateral and Heat are brilliant and this unfortunately doesn't live up to those two. Having said that it's a tense and scarily realistic film. I mean, there's no way cop life is like how it's portrayed in films like Bad Boys and the Rush Hour series.

Foxx and Farrell are solid as the focused partners, although it would have better to see more interaction between the two, they barely say two words to each other the whole film. The acting overall is very good, with Gong Li and Naomie Harris being the stand-outs.

There's no doubt the main feature of Mann's movies is his visual style. The night time atmosphere of Collateral is brilliant and he makes no exception here, providing plenty of great cityscapes and night shots. The soundtrack is also brilliant and bonds with the movie well, the highlight being the excellent "Auto Rock" by Mogwai thumping in the emotional finale.

I think the storyline is a weak point in Miami Vice and could have been stronger. I didn't have too much of an idea of what was going on half the time, but this again is part of the realistic cop scenario and avoids having an elaborate plot. I like the opening sequence when you're thrown straight into a heavy-hitting club scene, not sure whats happening and given no clues.

I admit Mann's thriller will not be for everyone and like most of his films, it may take multiple viewings to take everything in. It is clear though if you are looking for a non-stop action movie definitely avoid this. However, if you want a grown-up, intelligent, realistic thriller I would be happy to recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

This is a great film - spoilers

10/10
Author: Opie-6 from Richmond, Virginia
3 August 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I don't know if I've seen a movie in my life that has more mixed opinions than Miami Vice. I know people who believe it is a classic film, and I know people who think it is downright terrible. I think the difference in these opinions come from expectations.

I saw this movie the second week it came out and had read the divisive reviews, so I expected a slower, more lengthy film. If you want a nostalgic film based on the TV series, you won't be satisfied. If you want a Bad Boys/Lethal Weapon type action comedy, you won't be satisfied (two series that I do love). If you want a gritty action movie full of drama, then you have to see this film.

There are many complaints about this film, the two biggest being the dialogue is bad, and there is no chemistry between Jamie foxx and Colin Farrel or Colin Farrel and Gong Li.

I think there is a very clear reason for these 'flaws' in the film. This is meant to be a gritty, realistic film. The characters stare death in the face everyday, and this type of work doesn't lead to well rounded, normal relationships. In other words, Crockett and Tubbs are not partners because they like each other - they are partners because they are very talented at what they do and they trust each other to do the right thing.

There are several incredibly powerful scenes in this movie - the truck on 95, the first meeting with Nicholas, the scene where Trudy Joplin - Jamie Foxx's girl - is kidnapped/the trailer park scene, and finally the final gunfight/end credits are all incredible.

Many people have complained about the ending, and apparently issues between Foxx and Mann kept them from filming the ending Mann intended. Nevertheless, the final scene in the hospital with Crockett returning is very powerful. The end credits with the final song, "Auto Rock" by Magwai is simply amazing.

You have to know what you're getting in this film or you may not enjoy it. Highly recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

You forgot to write a plot? Well we'll just have to wing it.

4/10
Author: RhysHayes from United Kingdom
5 May 2007

I wouldn't call it the worst film I've ever seen but it seems like it is the very definition of the term "all flash". There seemed to be very little to it. There's action, just not very much of it. Most of the film is Farrell riding around in fast boats and super cars with particularly good-looking Western newcomer Li Gong. Though she's not the only good looking actress, as a matter of fact nobody in this film seems to be ugly at all.

My biggest problem with this film is that it was directed by Michael Mann, a great director and has no lack of great films under his belt but what happened with this film is beyond me. Style is not the problem with this film, much like Mann's other films it has style in lethal doses but un-like his other films there's no plot.

All in all, if you've seen the trailer and you think this looks good then go watch it again and don't waste your time with this film. .

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Horrible, disappointed badly.

1/10
Author: NYYfanlife90 from United States
12 January 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Boy oh boy this movie disappointed me a lot. Let me go over the cons which are a lot. The movie and the story is way to slow with barely any action involved and this is under the action section? The acting IMO wasn't that good at all and i like Colin Farrell. Pretty much the main stuff that makes this a bad movie is that it's too slow and the story is as well and doesn't make sense at all. It's it jumped from another area to the area with no detail explanation on the drugs other than the ending which is probably my favorite part but still that is not enough. So if i were you i would avoid this movie at all costs, even on free rental day. The only pro is the ending but that's it.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Sub-plots and emotions prevail....

9/10
Author: Owen Diemert from Canada
8 December 2006

In no way, shape, or fashion does this marvelous film merit a 6.1 rating, no way. I am so tired of people depicting films as horrible simply because they have no understanding of their conventions. Too long have I screamed in agony over all the ranting idiots out there who want to know where "Miami was?", or "Where's the boat, Where's Elvis, Where's Sonny's wife and kids, Where are those characters?" They're back in the 80's where they belong!! This is "change" folks, get with it. Stop consuming yourself with the conventions of the past and how good something was, and start thinking about how good something could be! God forbid that there is such an inventive filmmaker out there that understands this, and realizes that modern conventions must change in order to prevent the end of something. I mean, come on people. Gee, a serious action film with heart, that would just be too wrong. No one-liners right before someone gets blown away at the end of a climactic gun-battle? Really? That's too bad. Or characters actually deciding things based on emotions instead of some two-bit idea that was concocted over the weekend on Microsoft Word? This is real folks, real-life, where our lives and fate are determined through our emotions, not answers. Did you ever wonder why you were engulfed in such a passionate sub-plot than a main-plot? It's because that's what's real. Our lives are nothing more than one gargantuan sub-plot, to an ever... growing... story, where Emotion plays the character. "There's no character in this film." There's so much character it's bursting. The entire time I watched the Unrated Director's Version, I sat in awe with a humongous smile on my face of understanding. In one scene I almost shed a tear; I know that's probably hard to believe, but I was consumed. And I have never felt the kind of love one has for another in this film since Titanic. But, having said that, I find that I'm at the point now where I understand this film so much that it's hard to describe it since no one would understand me.... Look, maybe it's so hard to describe the understanding of film because it's so much like philosophy: it's individual, and it happens differently for everyone, that's why you can't teach it in school... too many questions with so few answers. But I would like to say something to those of you reading this: please, please... watch films for what they are, not for what you want them to be. Let go of past loves and desires, and concentrate on the new and exciting. Believe me, you will be rewarded. Alas, I must bid you farewell. Michael Mann, you have made a masterpiece, and you have put magic back into movies for me, and I thank you. Bravo sir, Bravo.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

The Ultimate Existentialist Action Film?

7/10
Author: Rooster9 from Los Angeles, California
12 November 2006

"Miami Vice" is a dark, raw, shoot-em-up flick that serves as a love letter to and a scathing commentary on the world of crime dramas -- a world Michael Mann helped define in the original "Vice" TV series.

Yes, the film is so steeped in jargon and verite-style film-making that the plot is hard to follow, but that's sort of the point. These vice cops are treading territory that's so familiar to the average film-goer (how many crime dramas have you seen in your lifetime?) that director Michael Mann refuses to waste time with familiar setups. And that's the film's greatest asset and its biggest flaw.

There's no pandering. We're thrown right into the mix -- a confusing whirlwind of bullets, intrigue and neon lights. But that also means there's no background, no explanations and no stopping for breath. We hear whispered and hurried conversations about drug smuggling and sting operations. Someone's cover's been blown. Drop the ammo. Crockett's going deep. Run the load after dark. It's all so quick and mind-boggling, we're fascinated... even if we don't know exactly what's happening. But when you start to care for these characters (as I did during an amazingly touching sequence in which Crockett seduces the crime boss' moll, played by Gong Li), you also wish you knew more about them.

Once you start feeling for Crockett, you realize that you have no idea what his character has invested in the story. And, truth be told, the film's been so intriguing up until that point that you didn't care (or understand) what the story was about anyway. And just when the film seems to make sense, it picks up Crocket and whisks him away. The story gets darker and thicker, like quicksand, and eventually swallows Crockett and Tubbs whole. And then they're lost. But maybe that's the point.

Crockett, in the end, is a type, not a character. He is THE cop -- the one who lives for his job, goes undercover and loses his identity, then returns home to nothing... except his job. He's that American icon, the shoot-em-up cop. He has a duty but no identity. And when the film is over, Michael Mann has pulled off an intriguing magic trick. He's taken the cold, unknowable Crockett and convinced us that he's NOT the flat and undeveloped action hero we thought we were watching. He's empty and pitiable. He's the sad result of years and years of recycled and rerun action characters bleeding themselves dry on the big and small screen. He's no longer just a caricature. He's a tragic caricature. And unlike Gong Li's character, who seized the opportunity to save herself, Crockett turned it away. Why? Well, that's what he does. It was in the script. It's always been in the script.

Could Michael Mann have made the ultimate existentialist action film?

If such a genre exists, there's no wonder "Miami Vice" would be deemed too convoluted to win over casual viewers and too muddled to be truly successful. But, you have to admit, it's still an intriguing and exciting ride.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Superficially very fine but very hollow on a more meaningful level

5/10
Author: davideo-2 from United Kingdom
2 September 2006

STAR RATING: ***** Jodie Marsh **** Michelle Marsh *** Kym Marsh ** Rodney Marsh * Hackney Marsh

In this modern, re-vamped film adaptation of the hit 1980s TV series, Detectives Tubbs (Jamie Foxx) and Crockett (Colin Farrell) are forced to go undercover when a glitch in the system leads to an informant and his family being killed. They infiltrate the drug lords and try to gather as much information as they can to bring them down- but along the way, personal relations and tested loyalties threaten to jeopardize everything they're working on.

Not quite before my time but first around when I was very young, the original TV show of Miami Vice was apparently renowned for it's daft story lines and ropey acting. Nevertheless it still gained a huge cult following that kept it widely remembered years after the last series was shown and lead to this flashy but empty adaptation being made. Aiming to put a totally different slant on the original show's light-hearted tone, the film instead projects a grainy, grittier image that sticks with it to the end.

I'll have to get used to Michael Mann and his 'high-definition' style of filming, which shouldn't be too difficult. The film has a very slick and stylish presentation, with a cool use of soundtrack that gives it that accomplished music video look through-out. But it's all very hollow. On a more artistic level, the film is sorely lacking. The plot drags on and on. I didn't quite fall asleep but I started to doze and lose concentration during the middle part. And although he has strong co-star appeal with Jamie Foxx, Farrell delivers one of his worst performances ever, showing strained emotion and you can hear his American accent drifting back into Irish at some points.

Superficially, then, the film's very enjoyable. But on a more meaningful level, it leaves a fair bit to be desired. **

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Miami Vice busted

5/10
Author: mm-39 from Winnipeg
8 August 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Miami Vice busted! The bust of the summer! A huge disappointment! Miami Vice, the movie, just like the drug dealers who got caught on the TV show got busted, and this dog is a bust. The film makers dropped every plot outline which made the TV show successful. Miami Vice had no plot outline, just one continuous character development with the character connecting very little with the story. The two protagonists had very little material to work with. What did the Aryian brotherhood have to do with any of the story? How did the leak happen? What did the FBI or the Vice department do? Instead, the viewer sees a very anti-climatic shoot out, with a few gory spots, unless one is used to horror gore. The lack of story has an elongated, and boring sex scene, which tries to compensate as filler. The sex scenes do little for character development, there is no relationship between the characters. One would not even know that Tubes' girlfriend was a hostage at the end. Why would the brotherhood take her as a hostage? The producers miss the point if the viewer wants an elongated sex movie one would rent a more graphic porno. (ie sex whatever part 3) Miami Vice is not even a good rental. My wife thinks they just used the name to promote the movie, and regrettably I was sucked in with the marketing. 5 out of 10. Where did the city of Miami actually appear in the film?

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 94: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history