IMDb > A Buddha (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
A Buddha More at IMDbPro »Un Buda (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 14 reviews in total 

24 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Very good movie!

10/10
Author: dasianudasa from United States
12 August 2005

Very good movie, excellent acting of the two brothers, I like the story of the movie and the rhythm it has. Congratulations to Diego Rafecas, it is the first Argentine movie that touched me. Apart from this, the music is amazing. The photography is out of this world.It shows you what is the real meaning of life. I think that this kind of movies is needed in this days because is not wasting of time, is special for that person who are searching about spiritual paths...this is the beginning of it. I like it a lot. The message it conveys leads you to reflect about many things. Thanks for giving us a different kind of film. This movie makes you to think, cry, laugh and enjoy...

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant!!

10/10
Author: robert duvall from Australia
10 August 2005

Brilliant!!! Very well played, very well. Tha music, the photo. Very smart script. Congratulations. Tha movie will be a great success. I went out to the cinema with a estrange feeling. Something is changing. Something is getting better. I think that this movie can represent Latinoamerica in the Oscars. The end is a ¨gran finale¨, the history goes guiding you into the life of the characters with simplicity and beauty. Is difficult to define the genre of the film... could be a dramatic comedy or just a drama. The history has tree dramatics lines. 1- The search of the father, or the great father, god or wherever. 2-Two brothers living in the same city, they don't know each other, and 3- a real history of a disciple who find a true master. The film is made in Argentina, but the topics are universal. the film talks about spirituality, but not in a stupid, boring way... is not a new age film... is not an advertising of Buddhism, is the real life. How to find spirituality in the middle of the city. Sorry I'm very happy, i I want to express it. Hundred percent recommendable. Thanx Robert.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

The best movie!

10/10
Author: anabellalopezmendez from Argentina
17 August 2005

After coming and going things are becoming clear in my life and in that context is when the film UN BUDA emerges. For those that are in permanent search for something it makes us remember how fragile and how wonderful the path is. On the other hand I am a photographer , and this profession allows me to see things in a different way. Without making comments that might increment the ego, I congratulate the director for transforming the universe into little things and vice versa. Thank you very much for this movie. Diego this film is wonderful. I haven't seeing such a great Argentinian movie in a long time. Really it is a pleasure. I cannot stop thinking about it.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Excellent Movie with lots of zen teachings

9/10
Author: diegoviolin from Argentina
27 September 2005

The first movie from a young director, with a low budget but plenty of art and style, filled with poetry, sincere emotions and simple but true zen teachings. I takes place in Argentina, a country where eastern culture has a small place on its culture and it's often not understood. It shows us the simple things in life, the things that really matter in a simple but not naive way. The two cultures (eastern and western) "comfront" each other in the main characters which happen to be brothers. And each of them learn things from the other. It's great that there are people that care about these things enough to make a movie. See it, you won't regret it.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Preaty movie!

Author: moonazul_707 from United States
12 September 2005

Hello, I feel inspired to writhe here because it is good to tell every one that it is that kind of movies that you will love, cry and change your life...so, for me was a wonderful time I went with my friends and every body likes it because of the picture, music and acting...the history is a drop of love! I want to thanks for this film, is what my heart needs. I want to look after Zen and spirituality. This movie shows to me one connection between this world and the spiritual sky. It is for every one, not matter of each you will like it. Please make more this kind of film I believed it is needed in this times when every one is running after material possessions. Thanks!

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

A wonderful piece of art!

10/10
Author: esmeralda_74xxx from Argentina
18 August 2005

Hi Diego Rafecas, I Want to tell you that I liked the movie a lot and that it made me find my own way,congratulations!.I am 17 years old and while I was watching the movie I could find many things in common with the main character.I was moved during the whole movie and I cried.Maybe young people finds it difficult to express their experiences and their spiritual ideologies, that's why I consider this movie to be a starting point to show the world how I am and what I want to be tomorrow.Thank you very much for this excellent movie . It brings us many positive things to our life,especially it gives us hope for the future.I must say that this film stands out from the rest!.

Kind regards

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

a great movie!

10/10
Author: devotos22 from Argentina
12 September 2005

Hi, I would like to said thanks very much for this movie. Personally I like the most...this kind of movie is a really good realization...the pictures...the music...the messages....I think is a great movie. Personally I'm practicing yoga and believed in Indian philosophy and trying to be a God devotee, so this kind of movies is a good way to open the minds of the people in general. It is nice for the heart also! I hope this kind of cinema will be all over the world... I would like to said thanks to Diego Rafecas...you are daring! please keep doing this cinema...because all the sincere people is searching for it!!!!!!!!!!! thanks a lot! Marta

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

nice movie!

9/10
Author: gaiasakthi from Argentina
12 September 2005

Hello, I really like the movie. When I see it I start to cry..I like Argentina the most! this pictures at the movie are amazing!!! The music is so good! I would like to see more movies like it. It is the kind of movie that the people in general will love, it is sweet and deep. I personally think that it is for all the people who are searching for spiritual paths. It is interesting how the director presents the Zen philosophy and at the same time the real life! I feel motivated to spread the spiritual paths, I would like to thank the director for this movie. Thanks again! I hope this movie can touch your heart! I'm grateful to all of you who make this movie...

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

beautiful !

10/10
Author: sripagalbaba from Argentina
12 September 2005

I was surprise with this movie. I did't expect so much...but I have to say that is a very good movie. Made in a nice simple way to understand one of the spiritual way of life. Personally I don't believed that any of as is God...but it is nice and a different point of view. I respect it.The point is that the movie is the best movie what I saw in the last years. I believed that this kind of movie is needed. The pictures are too nice. The humor is really funny. I enjoy this movie a lot. I was feeling very sensitive with the beautiful music, sincerely thanks for this movie. I hope I can always go to the Cinema to see this kind of films...thanks!

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

The true lies within the self

9/10
Author: Pablo González from Argentina
31 July 2005

To be honest, I went to the cinema with doubts. The previews weren't well combined and didn't provide much info about the movie. However, my surprise when I saw it was more than pleasant, because the idea is more than original and it shows not a big truth, but THE truth. It's the story of a young Buddhist who is searching for something beyond this reality, beyond this coexistence system, and he challenges even death itself only for pursuing his goal. A total opposite to his brother, who is a philosopher and very rational, which makes a little difficult the life together between them. After some comings and goings, our main character learns something "beyond" what it is to live intensely and his skeptical brother learns something more about what it is to live intensely.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history