IMDb > Doing Hard Time (2004) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Doing Hard Time
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Doing Hard Time (V) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 11 reviews in total 

12 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Good Movie, But It Has Flaws.

7/10
Author: Comeuppance Reviews from United States Minor Outlying Islands
7 December 2004

I thought "Doing Hard Time" was a decent movie. All the performances are good especially Michael Williams as Craig and Sticky Fingaz as Eddie. The plot is about Mike (Boris Kodjoe) who purposely gets himself thrown in prison because the killers of his child are in the same jail, and he wants revenge. It does have all the clichés you expect in a prison movie (The corrupt guards, every prisoner has a cool nickname\disability). It tries to be different by showing the killer to have a heart and be remorseful and in the long run, it does work. The script is a little weak at points because it sometimes tries too hard to be "the outside the box prison movie".

In The End: It's worth seeing for the odd plot line and gritty performances.

For more insanity, please visit: comeuppancereviews.com

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

great movie

10/10
Author: (shorterimhotrod@aol.com) from United States
20 December 2004

i think dong hard time was an excellent movie, Michael K Williams a.k.a Omar from The Wire was great i have seen a lot of prison movies and this one was the most believable definitely a classic with a great cast and great story line. Every father can relate to the pain he was going threw and would probably do the same thing he did The character of razor was a very important character to the story line and deserved recognition at the end of the movie, the fight scenes were very intense between dirty curt and Boris , i hadn't seen a fight scene that good in a movie in a long time

a must see movie

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

pretty good

8/10
Author: msmeechie2005 from United States
22 September 2005

I saw the movie recently and I was pleasantly surprised. Yes the movie has a common plot line and the characters were somewhat believable. The thing I liked about it most was that for some people, it took them out of their box.

Boris Kodjoe is always playing a basketball player or some type of athlete. This role was something different. I applaud him for trying to come out of his comfort zone and trying something else. I also noticed that Regan Gomez-Preston can truly play the girl next door. I am used to her being a goody two shoes, but she reminded me of a few people that I know on the streets. Hats off to her too.

The whole theory of an eye for an eye is not relatively new. It is something that we can all identify with. I did feel that the writers and directors tried to put a little twist on it. There was symbolism and a little bit of artistic creativity thrown in. The ending was not what I expected. It was actually the best part of the movie. I recommend this as something to watch on a Saturday night when someone is in the mood for a little action, but something that is not too violent.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Sins of the father

Author: orclord from United States
15 March 2005

I was amazed at how great this movie was. Recently I've been renting a lot of these types of movies (typicaly "black violence") due to the fact that i enjoy violence in movies. But this one surprised me quite a bit.. The storyline seemed a bit silly at first.. Son gets shot in a crossfire of a sour drug deal and the father gets himself arrested so he can get revenge on the guys who killed him.. While it sounded to me like the father was going to be the main character, it turns out to focus more on one of the 2 people who were arrested for the murder/drug deal.

That turned out to be a very good thing. the father (played by Boris Kodje, who's apparently famous... i never heard of him) was a single minded robot bent on revenge. I didn't care too much about his character. However, the convict has to deal with life in prison and learn the rules of the big house if he wants to get out alive.

There is quite a bit of violence in this movie, but its nothing you haven't seen on Oz, or just about any other R rated movie. There is nudity in here, but its just the backside of the guys in prison, nothing sexual or anything.

I strongly recommend this movie to those that like these types. very well done and the ending is certainly not what i had expected.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Garbage movie

1/10
Author: mdswing from Australia
12 April 2005

When my sister brought home this movie to watch my first thoughts were - "black action movie, never heard of the title, can't recall any of the actors names.. must be rubbish".

After deciding to give it a try.. it turned from a bad drama to a comedy. The acting was horrible, the plot was stupid and to top it off the prison had 1 prison guard.. she was hot though.

I ended up laughing the whole way through this movie. Laughing not because it was funny, but the acting and some of the scenes were just stupid.

Overall i give it a 1/10 only because i couldn't vote any lower. Rent this movie if you want to see how NOT to make a movie

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Standard story with nice overthought end

6/10
Author: F Gregoire (info-3657) from Netherlands
14 December 2004

The movie starts really sad and the story tells itself along the way. You expect everything that happens in the movie. A man revenging the death of his 7-year old son, but he has to get himself into prison where the dudes are that caused this trauma. Along the way no spectaculare things happen, because the most parts are already told in 100 other movies. Don't be throwing it directly to the bin, cause the character of Michael is played more then reasonable. No real good conversations, but some nice action scenes. Finishing in a "never-thought-it-could-be-in-this-kind-of-movie" end...but maybe one of the better ends I've seen in this genre.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

awful movie

1/10
Author: kianp from Australia
28 December 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie was awful in my opinion, yet funnily enough i stayed glued to the screen till the end. I guess it wasn't because the movie was interesting rather i wanted to see what other things the director decided to pull out of the bag. It was hilarious at times with things that just came up (gun made of paper mache), and i don't usually expect to be laughing in such a drama. This movie seemed like it didn't have a style of it's own, rather incorporating whatever the director wanted to throw into the movie, and when you try and throw everything and anything into a movie, it makes it a stupid movie. The scene where one of the inmates (Clever) starts dancing while mopping the floor? Sorry, but i REALLY thought the movie was awful.

Was the above review useful to you?

Disgraceful.

1/10
Author: RedSouls from Sydney, Australia
5 December 2015

I think constantly writing scripts based on the violence behind prison doors has finally clogged the mind of Preston A. Whitmore, frying his membrane into two pieces. The first piece only responds to violence, and the second to homosexuality.

Seriously, ninety percent of footage showed the actors, naked as the sun, showing their asses like a soft porn snuff film. The other ten percent involves your usual jail house rock film - blood, fists, disputes, and corrupt prison guards. I don't know what is more disturbing, the actual constant showing of asses, or the poor writing and directing abilities of Preston A. Whitmore.

Do not watch the movie if you suffer from suicidal tendencies - watching this movie might push a person off the edge. I guarantee this appalling attempt to be creative will give you the strength to go all the way and pull the trigger.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

The one that worked

7/10
Author: jmbwithcats from United States
13 January 2005

DHT, to me is a movie about losing sight, and finding it again. I just saw Doing Hard Time, and it's hard to express how this movie effected me, as I'm still processing what I experienced.

DHT, is a honest, raw, and bonifide look at reality, and what our choices bring with it's consequences. Cause and Effect, in effect.

I thought this movie had superb acting, great dialog, and cohesion, all movies have flaws, but those aside, this movie hit home, and did so masterfully.

The gritty acting was never overplayed, always on target, and straight from the heart.

I give this movie 9 of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Boring

3/10
Author: NemoAB from Germany
2 March 2005

I just saw this movie and was bored beyond believe.

The story is without any depth. A boy gets accidentally shot, even the involved drug dealers do not know how that happened. They get some years in prison for the drugs.

The father of the dead boy is left behind, his wife has died too some time ago. All he got is his revenge. So he beats up a cop to get into jail to say hello to the two "muderers" of his son.

The movie did not show the motivation of the characters. You see the father drinking alcohol, but you do not feel his pain. The idea of following the guys into jail is so absurd, that it leads to my low rating. To build a complicated weapon like a pistol out of paper instead of a simple one like a knife out of a piece of metal doesn't make any more sense to me.

The situation in the jail is shown as it is like a normal average us-American jail, but I can only hope that it isn't.

In the end I was left with the question what this was all about. I don't know.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history