IMDb > Confetti (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Confetti
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Confetti More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 49 reviews in total 

45 out of 70 people found the following review useful:

Absolutely brilliant - a must see!

10/10
Author: imdb-6438 from Birmingham, England
11 July 2005

I saw a test screener of this tonight in Birmingham and I have to say it is just superb! I don't know when the release date will be, the film was not in an entirely finished state so I guess we were the focus group who got to see it this evening! To answer people's queries... yes, it is entirely improvised - very much in the style of the excellent Christopher Guest films (Best In Show, Waiting For Guffman, A Mighty Wind - all of which I would highly recommend, especially if you like Confetti!) The basic plot line is: Confetti magazine is running a competition for the most out-there wedding, the prize being a house. Various entrants apply and the film follows the three selected finalists during their preparations for the big day. Shot so as to appear in the style of a fly-on-the-wall documentary, the film never left me feeling like it was contrived and the characterisations were just superbly believable throughout.

The casting couldn't really have been any better; some truly fantastic performances from Martin Freeman, Justin Webb (from BBC 2's "The Smoking Room" and Channel 4's "Peep Show") and Olivia Colman (also from "Peep Show" and also BBC2's "Look Around You") - to name but a few. This really was an ensemble cast and the whole thing gelled perfectly.

I would highly recommend anyone to go and see this - a fantastic and imaginative piece of British cinema, with some truly side-splitting moments!

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Touching, romantic and greatly hilarious - Richard Curtis is dead!

10/10
Author: incredulous_nedulous from United Kingdom
6 May 2006

Saw Confetti today and was not sure what to expect, I knew it had a great cast from all over British comedy TV - Green Wing, Peep Show, Spaced, The Office and it had also been written by the brilliant Debbie Isitt but I'd heard mixed reviews so I went in with an open mind; I LOVED IT!!! I'm not a sucker for romantic comedies, or comedies in general, I don't tend to laugh out loud in them so I knew I was in for a good time when I'd laughed a great deal in the first five minutes. I won't over elaborate but basically its about a wedding magazine offering a prize of a new home to the most original wedding. It gets down to three; a sweet couple who want to do a musical-themed wedding, an egoistical, victory-obsessed couple who want to have a tennis-themed wedding and a naturist couple determined to have their wedding in the buff. Needless to say the cast are brilliant and the film is not only hilarious but also very touching at times. Go and see it! the PERFECT romantic comedy, another nail in Richard "One-trick-pony" Curtis' coffin.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious

8/10
Author: flash-139 from United Kingdom
29 May 2006

A highly entertaining and original comedy using the cream of British comedy acting talent, who spent weeks improvising before arriving at the final script.

At times the writer/director Debbie Isitt doesn't seem sure whether to make her characters comic or endearing, but usually succeeds in doing both.

The 'Tennis Match' wedding is very funny, while the cast of non-dancers failing to achieve perfect symmetry in the Busby Berkeley sequence adds to the general hilarity.

Martin Freeman gets better with each role, Alison Steadman turns in her usual immaculate performance, with Jimmy Carr making the most of his first big screen role. Look out for the spectacularly camp wedding planners, who nearly steal the show from bigger names.

If you liked 'The Office' and 'Shaun of the Dead' you'll love this.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

If it matches your sense of humour, you will love it

8/10
Author: jayhouserock from United Kingdom
9 May 2006

I personally found the film hilarious, it was cringe worthy, but in a good way. Well acted and very funny.

The highlights of the film are The mother and sister of Jessica Stevenson's character and The Wedding Planners. The funniest scenes contain interaction between these four.

i'd say its not going to be to everyone's taste, thats a given. I seemed to find it funnier than most of the people I was in the cinema with, i think its one of those cult things. Some people think Freddie got fingered is the funniest film they have ever seen, others think its stupid.

its not as good as Spinal Tap, but i saw American Dreamz the other week and its a million times funnier than that.

I think as with any comedy its a sense of humour thing, this would appeal more to fans of Shaun of the Dead than Four Weddings, but my honest opinion is that this film was the funniest thing i have seen since the 40 year old Virgin.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Cult British Comedy Classic

10/10
Author: jane-eden-1 from United Kingdom
8 May 2006

A brilliant film that will undoubtedly become a cult British comedy classic. A must see for anyone inspired by innovative cinema.

It's improvised like "Best in Show" and "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and like them it has moments of inspired genius in every scene. Could be a look or a line, but there's comic gold running through the film.

Taking talent from all the current cult British comedy shows, there's a brilliant fusion of subtle, gentle performances counterbalanced by some great big, crude, cartoon-like characters. There's a touch of "art imitates life imitating art", a sense of Nick Parks' "Creature Comforts"coming to life outside of the zoo.

The reviewers that get the film really get it. The few who have been tempted to talk of cliché and stereotypes have missed the mark. Ironically it's their reviews that I had a feeling I've seen before. Are these characters larger than life? Emphatically not. Reality TV has exposed most dramatic characters as being quite tame concoctions. "Confetti" presents characters that may seem familiar at first sight, but then reveals their truth, often in very moving moments.

Loved it. A serious coup de comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Fantastic MOCUMENTARY ! -much like Christopher Guest films .

10/10
Author: TequilaMockingbird63 from Hollywood, CA.
3 April 2007

Can I just say that I love this film, in the same way that I love Waiting For Guffman and Best In Show. It made me laugh out loud and it made me wince with embarrassment for the characters. A BRILLIANT cast of British comedy actors deliver deadpan dialogue in this highly amusing mockumentary.

Now, I noticed some posts said "Americans won't get the "Brittish humor", that couldn't be farther from the truth! Im an American and a big fan of "good mocumentarys" and this film certainly ranked right up there at the cream of the crop of comedy.

There's Matt and Sam who want a Hollywood musical wedding in the style of Busby Berkley.

Josef and Isabelle who are highly competitive tennis players who want a Wimbledon-style wedding.

Michael and Joanne who want to get married in the buff because they're naturists.

The fourth and funniest couple are wedding planners Heron & Hough, Excessively camp who describe themselves as "mad as cheese". They have the most difficult job of trying to make each couple's dream become reality. Each character was more twisted than the next including the competition organizer Vivien and Antoni who were duly concerned about the size of Isabelle's nostrils, and the cat fighting sister and mother of Sam.

Political correctness should take a back seat and say "I DO" to this highly exaggerated comedy of errors. 10 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

The cream of British comedy do it again!

9/10
Author: Laura (SmileyPies) from Southampton, England
26 April 2006

I saw this movie this evening at a preview screening in Southampton knowing only 3 things: It was about weddings, all the scripts were improvised, and it contained one of my most hated people: Jimmy Carr. Fortunately though, I was pleasantly surprised. The film contained the cream of the British comedy crop - actors from Spaced, The Office, Peep Show, Green Wing etc etc, and was suitably hilarious. It follows three couples who are chosen to compete for the title of 'most original wedding' for Confetti magazine. The winner gets a half million pound house. Jessica Stevenson and Martin Freeman make for the nicest and most realistic couple in the film, and their wedding contains the most colourful characters.. notably Jessica's character Sam's sister, a dancer who tries to take over the wedding's choreography (their theme is old MGM musicals) to the couple's obvious annoyance. It was odd seeing the pairing of peep show's Jez and Sophie in the film, and i didn't know if i'd be able to shrug off the feeling that Mark would be getting jealous...the feeling passed. These two were brilliant playing the couple who had chosen a naturist wedding. The Green Wing's Stephen Mangan and Man Stroke Woman's Meredith MacNeill were also hilarious as the couple having a tennis themed wedding - along with a host of marital issues. The show-stealers in the film though had to be the wedding planners. Both gave mesmerising performances and were utterly fabulous. The film's dialogue was apparently improvised, and it shows in the realistic reactions of the characters, particularly these two. They alone were worth going to see the film for. Even if the rest had been terrible. Which it wasn't.

And finally...the true test of the film's greatness... I actually didn't hate Jimmy Carr in it. Wonderful. And also some kind of miracle...

The film's not out yet but i recommend anyone who gets the wonderful quirky British comedies of the last few years to seriously give this one a go when it's released. It's worth it.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

An enjoyable film, refreshingly free of cynicism

7/10
Author: tonyhu from Edinburgh, United Kingdom
25 October 2007

Three young couples vie to win a magazine contest by holding their 'themed' weddings in public, with the winners being awarded a first prize of a brand new home. Step forward the three couples: nudists Michael and Joanna; tennis-mad Josef and Meredith, and Hollywood musical fans Matt and Samantha.

The fun comes for us as as viewers as we join the fly-on the wall documentary team that follows all three couples as the wedding organisers and their respective families try to get the weddings together in time for the contest.

This is a showcase of modern British comedy talent. Jimmy Carr, Felicity Montagu, Stephen Mangan, Martin Freeman, Jessica Stevenson and Alison Steadman all do their bit. But the real stars are the lesser known Vincent Franklin and Jason Watkins as the camp wedding organisers who won't let anything get in the way of the couples' dream day.

This is an enjoyable little film, with a nice basic idea, littered with lots of good performances. It is 'smile' humour, rather than 'laugh out loud' stuff. But the smiles are here a-plenty. It is also surprisingly moving at times as well, and refreshingly free of cynicism. If at times you doubt the sincerity of some of those involved, the ending leaves you on a high.

'Confetti' is not brilliant or ground-breaking, but it will make you smile. And that's not such a bad recommendation, is it?

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

If you like Christopher Guest...

8/10
Author: Mike White from Riverview, MI
8 September 2006

There are few things so stressful in life as planning and executing a wedding. When that morass of charged emotions runs headlong into a contest held by Confetti Magazine for the "most original wedding," things are bound to get messy.

Three couples are chosen for their unique wedding ideas: Matt (Martin Freeman) and Sam (Jessica Stevenson) want a Hollywood musical style, Josef (Stephen Mangan) and Isabelle (Meredith MacNeill) vie for a tennis theme, while Michael (Robert Webb) and Joanna (Olivia Colman) are "naturalists" and want their nuptials to be done in the nude. Trying to wrangle these three disparate couples into some kind of order are wedding planners Archie Heron (Vincent Franklin) and Gregory Hough (Jason Watkins) who seem to be channeling Corky St. Clair...

In fact, shot as a documentary, this British ensemble piece is sure to be (justly) compared to Christopher Guest's mockumentaries (WAITING FOR GUFFMAN, A MIGHTY WIND, et cetera). Director Debbie Isitt does a fair job of aping Guest though she doesn't know when to go from documentary hand-held to a smoother choreographed camera and relies too much on non-diegetic music.

Clearly, too, Isitt is aware of the weaknesses to the storyline. Two of the three couples are off screen for long stretches and our "villainous" couple (think Parker Posey and Michael Hitchcock from BEST IN SHOW) is mishandled in the finale. Even when they're not working with the best material (how many jokes about a nudist wedding can there be?) the cast does a terrific job keeping the film afloat. Besotted with faces familiar to anglophile TV/film viewers, CONFETTI is an amusing farce.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Green Wing's love child

6/10
Author: pexxxy1 from United Kingdom
3 May 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

*Mild Spoilers*

Confetti was like an extended episode of Green Wing. With less laughs. Its about 3 couples competing for a dream wedding & mag cover shoot. (Oh, and a house) One couple want a musical wedding (musical ball number - some bloke out of The Office) One couple want a tennis-theme for their nuptials ( tennis balls everywhere - some bloke out of Green Wing) and the last couple want a naturist event (balls everywhere! - some bloke out of Peep Show)

It plays a bit like The Office as a fly-on-the-wall docu-soap & its all improv; it has its moments, but these are few... Jimmy Carr is wasted but Steve Mangan is amazing as a has-been tennis star jealous of his soon-to-be's Spanish (lothario in his mind)tennis coach. There's a great scene where they have a fight on a tennis court - Steve runs off apparently to 'run it off' then he charges back in and piles into the coach once more. (Very Guy-like but much more physical!) Great supporting cast including Mark Heap and Olivia Colman giving it some Green Wing polish! I REALLY wanted to love this film; guess the wedding's off...

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history