5.7/10
1,511
39 user 12 critic

Johnny Was (2006)

Trailer
1:49 | Trailer

Watch Now

From $2.99 (SD) on Amazon Video

ON DISC
Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few ... See full summary »

Director:

Writer:

Reviews

IMDb at Comic-Con 2016

Visit our Comic-Con section to see what's trending, watch celebrity interviews, follow event coverage, browse cosplay photos, take our Fan IQ quizzes, and more.

Browse IMDb's Guide to Comic-Con

2 wins. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

The Riddle (2007)
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

A journalist investigates a series of murders that follows the discovery of an unpublished novel by Charles Dickens in the cellar of an old Thames-side-pub. Gradually he becomes obsessed with unraveling a century-old murder in the pages of the manuscript. Only when he has done so, with the help of a mysterious beach-combing tramp who stalks the Thames foreshore, is he able to solve the modern ... See full summary »

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Vinnie Jones, Derek Jacobi, Julie Cox
Action | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.9/10 X  

A highly skilled bodyguard avenging his brother's untimely death uncovers a ring of corruption extending to the highest levels of society and government.

Director: Akan Satayev
Stars: Aitzhanov Berik, Vinnie Jones, Aziz Beyshenaliev
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.4/10 X  

When a 'bog body' a 2000 year old murder victim preserved in a peat bog is disturbed by developers in rural Ireland, an archaeologist, a hunter and their helpers face the task of sending him back where he came from.

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Vinnie Jones, Jason Barry, Nora-Jane Noone
Action | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

A single father decides to break his dying wife's last wish to not box again in order to save his young son from certain death.

Director: Mark Mahon
Stars: Michael Madsen, Vinnie Jones, Patrick Bergin
Played (2006)
Crime | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

An examination of the malevolent London underworld with its despicable criminal underground. Ray (Mick Rossi) just finished an eight-year prison sentence after getting set up. Now he is back on the streets to settle the score.

Director: Sean Stanek
Stars: Val Kilmer, Gabriel Byrne, Vinnie Jones
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6/10 X  

An ex-convict's plans to turn legit go awry.

Director: Adam Rifkin
Stars: Vinny Argiro, James Caan, Donnie Montemarano
Inversion II (2010)
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.4/10 X  
Director: Allie Dvorin
Stars: Steve Crest, Andy Davoli, Kaitlin Doubleday
Biography | Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.2/10 X  

The true story of Danny Greene, a tough Irish thug working for mobsters in Cleveland during the 1970's.

Director: Jonathan Hensleigh
Stars: Ray Stevenson, Christopher Walken, Vincent D'Onofrio
Slipstream (2005)
Action | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.6/10 X  

A scientist plots a bank robbery based around his newest invention -- a time travel gadget that will send its user 10 minutes into the past. Everything goes according to plan, until he ... See full summary »

Director: David van Eyssen
Stars: Sean Astin, Vinnie Jones, Ivana Milicevic
Magic Boys (2012)
Adventure | Comedy | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3/10 X  

After witnessing a murder, a hapless pair of misfits escape their own near death experience by posing as male strippers - only to find themselves neck deep in even bigger trouble.

Directors: Róbert Koltai, Éva Gárdos
Stars: Michael Madsen, Vinnie Jones, Tamer Hassan
Drama | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.9/10 X  

A group of people in a post-apocalyptic world fight to survive against a band of vicious cannibals.

Director: Mark Young
Stars: Michael Madsen, Vinnie Jones, Rachel Miner
Action | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.3/10 X  

The violent story of Jay and Jonnie Linski, two Polish-Irish brothers who try to come to terms with the brutal murder of their youngest sibling, Danny. The story follows the terrible ... See full summary »

Director: Jason Figgis
Stars: Emmett J Scanlan, Eoin Macken, Bill Fellows
Edit

Cast

Complete credited cast:
...
...
...
...
...
Ras
...
...
...
...
...
...
Colin Stewart ...
John Fashanu ...
...
Heather Greenleese ...
Painter
Edit

Storyline

Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few well-placed bombs. Unable to escape Brixton, they are trapped together in Johnny's anything-but-safe safe house, sandwiched between a Rastafarian reggae pirate radio station upstairs and a West Indian 'Yardie' crack-dealing gangster, Julius, downstairs. As the charismatic Flynn finds common ground with the Yardies, Johnny fights to realize a peace process of his own, but makes the mistake of falling for Julius's girlfriend Rita, causing all-out war. A thriller in the vein of Lock Stock and The Long Good Friday, in which questions of race, morality, identity and loyalty play out against a great sound-track of reggae, rock, new wave and soul. Written by Anon

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis

Taglines:

Stop running. Face the future.


Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for violence, pervasive language, drug use and brief nudity | See all certifications »
Edit

Details

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

19 July 2006 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Johnny Was - The last Days of a Good Guy  »

Box Office

Budget:

$4,300,000 (estimated)
 »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Sound Mix:

Color:

See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Lennox Lewis spent his honeymoon in Belfast filming the movie less than a week after the wedding in Jamaica. See more »

Goofs

In the shootout scene with the police in chapter 10, the white police Vauxhall Vectra has the registration number ATM 874L, this is a 1972 registration and the car is clearly post 2000. See more »

Connections

References The Godfather (1972) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
cleaning house
24 September 2006 | by (United States) – See all my reviews

Johnny Was is a great Irish movie about criminals doing the right thing. Jones plays an ex-IRA operative trying to lay low after a bombing gone wrong until he can make a new life. Two of his old buddies (Bergin, Daltrey, Kinlin) who escape from prison and track him down to get revenge. They meet up with La Salle who is a drug dealer and Lewis the Rasta radio jock with a huge local following and Mumba who plays the drug dealers girl. They make try and scam each other until it all catches up with them in a very well thought out climax that left me with a smirk on my face. Not particularly fast paced, but the end is worth the wait.


11 of 16 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
soundtrack release?? dubadas
Good Movie angescud-1
Johnny Was wins audience award Rebelfest Toronto Film Fest strummerfan20
release date? condemned84oi
help with a song rodney_tx
Johnny Was Music andyb2525
Discuss Johnny Was (2006) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?