5.7/10
1,532
39 user 12 critic

Johnny Was (2006)

Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few ... See full summary »

Director:

Writer:

Reviews

Watch Now

From $2.99 (SD) on Amazon Video

ON DISC
2 wins. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

The Riddle (2007)
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

A journalist investigates a series of murders that follows the discovery of an unpublished novel by Charles Dickens in the cellar of an old Thames-side-pub. Gradually he becomes obsessed with unraveling a century-old murder in the pages of the manuscript. Only when he has done so, with the help of a mysterious beach-combing tramp who stalks the Thames foreshore, is he able to solve the modern ... See full summary »

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Mark Asante, Julie Cox, Vera Day
Nailed (2006)
Crime | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.3/10 X  

"Nailed" is a thriller about two men who break into a house in attempt to escape arrest by police, and find instead a man lying on a bed, covered in bandages, whose caretaker may have ... See full summary »

Director: Adrian O'Connell
Stars: Charles Porter, Wilson Jermaine Heredia, Sam Sarpong
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.4/10 X  

When a 'bog body' a 2000 year old murder victim preserved in a peat bog is disturbed by developers in rural Ireland, an archaeologist, a hunter and their helpers face the task of sending him back where he came from.

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Vinnie Jones, Jason Barry, Nora-Jane Noone
Boy Eats Girl (2005)
Comedy | Fantasy | Horror
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.1/10 X  

A boy declares his love for his girlfriend, only to die the same night. He is brought back to life by his mother as a flesh-craving zombie, who sires more teen undead while trying to control his, er, appetite for his beloved.

Director: Stephen Bradley
Stars: Samantha Mumba, David Leon, Tadhg Murphy
Played (2006)
Crime | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

An examination of the malevolent London underworld with its despicable criminal underground. Ray (Mick Rossi) just finished an eight-year prison sentence after getting set up. Now he is back on the streets to settle the score.

Director: Sean Stanek
Stars: Val Kilmer, Gabriel Byrne, Vinnie Jones
Action | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

A single father decides to break his dying wife's last wish to not box again in order to save his young son from certain death.

Director: Mark Mahon
Stars: Michael Madsen, Vinnie Jones, Patrick Bergin
Blast (2004)
Action | Comedy | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.8/10 X  

A terrorist posing as environmentalist hijacks an oil rig off the coast of California with the intent of detonating an electromagnetic bomb over the US.

Director: Anthony Hickox
Stars: Eddie Griffin, Vinnie Jones, Breckin Meyer
Action | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

The violent story of Jay and Jonnie Linski, two Polish-Irish brothers who try to come to terms with the brutal murder of their youngest sibling, Danny. The story follows the terrible ... See full summary »

Director: Jason Figgis
Stars: Emmett J Scanlan, Eoin Macken, Bill Fellows
The Other Half II (2006)
Comedy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5/10 X  

When English Mark surprises his American bride Holly with her dream honeymoon to Portugal she cant believe her luck. Mark goes to great trouble to organise everything for her. They arrive ... See full summary »

Directors: Richard Nockles, Marlowe Fawcett
Stars: Danny Dyer, Gillian Kearney, Jonathan Broke
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.9/10 X  

An ex-convict's plans to turn legit go awry.

Director: Adam Rifkin
Stars: Vinny Argiro, James Caan, Donnie Montemarano
Slipstream (2005)
Action | Sci-Fi | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.6/10 X  

A scientist plots a bank robbery based around his newest invention -- a time travel gadget that will send its user 10 minutes into the past. Everything goes according to plan, until he ... See full summary »

Director: David van Eyssen
Stars: Sean Astin, Vinnie Jones, Ivana Milicevic
Inversion II (2010)
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.2/10 X  
Director: Allie Dvorin
Stars: Steve Crest, Andy Davoli, Kaitlin Doubleday
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
...
...
...
...
Ras
...
...
...
...
...
...
Colin Stewart ...
...
...
Cafe Waitress (as Emma Lyttle)
Heather Greenleese ...
Painter
Edit

Storyline

Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few well-placed bombs. Unable to escape Brixton, they are trapped together in Johnny's anything-but-safe safe house, sandwiched between a Rastafarian reggae pirate radio station upstairs and a West Indian 'Yardie' crack-dealing gangster, Julius, downstairs. As the charismatic Flynn finds common ground with the Yardies, Johnny fights to realize a peace process of his own, but makes the mistake of falling for Julius's girlfriend Rita, causing all-out war. A thriller in the vein of Lock Stock and The Long Good Friday, in which questions of race, morality, identity and loyalty play out against a great sound-track of reggae, rock, new wave and soul. Written by Anon

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis

Taglines:

Stop running. Face the future.


Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for violence, pervasive language, drug use and brief nudity | See all certifications »
Edit

Details

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

19 July 2006 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Johnny Was - The last Days of a Good Guy  »

Box Office

Budget:

$4,300,000 (estimated)
 »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Sound Mix:

Color:

See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Vinnie Jones and John Fashanu were former professional footballers who played together at Wimbledon. See more »

Goofs

In the shootout scene with the police in chapter 10, the white police Vauxhall Vectra has the registration number ATM 874L, this is a 1972 registration and the car is clearly post 2000. See more »

Connections

References Fantasia (1940) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Johnny IS
9 April 2006 | by (Dublin) – See all my reviews

Go see this movie. Good story. Not boring. Good actors. Liked the Brixton setting - liked multi-racial story and music -- and love story. Vinnie and Samantha very hot together.

Music was a big thing - I like rap and rock but reggae is totally different. Lennox's mixes were great.

Even though it obviously wasn't shot in London, I liked that it was about Irish people and Multi-racial people in London. Wasn't just a boring bunch of Brits.

Eriq LaSalle gave the movie a lot of tension and excitement. Loved the scenes with him and Patrick Bergin. Very unique seeing the two cultures go at it and play cat and mouse.

Recommend a lot.


20 of 36 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?