5.7/10
1,515
39 user 12 critic

Johnny Was (2006)

Trailer
1:49 | Trailer

Watch Now

From $2.99 (SD) on Amazon Video

ON DISC
Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few ... See full summary »

Director:

Writer:

Reviews
2 wins. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Action | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

A single father decides to break his dying wife's last wish to not box again in order to save his young son from certain death.

Director: Mark Mahon
Stars: Michael Madsen, Vinnie Jones, Patrick Bergin
The Riddle (2007)
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

A journalist investigates a series of murders that follows the discovery of an unpublished novel by Charles Dickens in the cellar of an old Thames-side-pub. Gradually he becomes obsessed with unraveling a century-old murder in the pages of the manuscript. Only when he has done so, with the help of a mysterious beach-combing tramp who stalks the Thames foreshore, is he able to solve the modern ... See full summary »

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Vinnie Jones, Derek Jacobi, Julie Cox
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.4/10 X  

When a 'bog body' a 2000 year old murder victim preserved in a peat bog is disturbed by developers in rural Ireland, an archaeologist, a hunter and their helpers face the task of sending him back where he came from.

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Vinnie Jones, Jason Barry, Nora-Jane Noone
Action | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.9/10 X  

A highly skilled bodyguard avenging his brother's untimely death uncovers a ring of corruption extending to the highest levels of society and government.

Director: Akan Satayev
Stars: Berik Aitzhanov, Vinnie Jones, Aziz Beyshenaliev
Biography | Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.2/10 X  

The true story of Danny Greene, a tough Irish thug working for mobsters in Cleveland during the 1970's.

Director: Jonathan Hensleigh
Stars: Ray Stevenson, Christopher Walken, Vincent D'Onofrio
Played (2006)
Crime | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

An examination of the malevolent London underworld with its despicable criminal underground. Ray (Mick Rossi) just finished an eight-year prison sentence after getting set up. Now he is back on the streets to settle the score.

Director: Sean Stanek
Stars: Val Kilmer, Gabriel Byrne, Vinnie Jones
Inversion II (2010)
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.4/10 X  
Director: Allie Dvorin
Stars: Steve Crest, Andy Davoli, Kaitlin Doubleday
Nailed (2006)
Crime | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.3/10 X  

"Nailed" is a thriller about two men who break into a house in attempt to escape arrest by police, and find instead a man lying on a bed, covered in bandages, whose caretaker may have ... See full summary »

Director: Adrian O'Connell
Stars: Charles Porter, Wilson Jermaine Heredia, Sam Sarpong
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6/10 X  

An ex-convict's plans to turn legit go awry.

Director: Adam Rifkin
Stars: Vinny Argiro, James Caan, Donnie Montemarano
The Other Half II (2006)
Comedy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5/10 X  

When English Mark surprises his American bride Holly with her dream honeymoon to Portugal she cant believe her luck. Mark goes to great trouble to organise everything for her. They arrive ... See full summary »

Directors: Richard Nockles, Marlowe Fawcett
Stars: Danny Dyer, Gillian Kearney, Jonathan Broke
Action | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.4/10 X  

The violent story of Jay and Jonnie Linski, two Polish-Irish brothers who try to come to terms with the brutal murder of their youngest sibling, Danny. The story follows the terrible ... See full summary »

Director: Jason Figgis
Stars: Emmett J Scanlan, Eoin Macken, Bill Fellows
Comedy
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.3/10 X  

Rats is released from prison and needs to make some money; fast. To his dismay, things have changed dramatically during his absence; his mother no longer has time for him and his ... See full summary »

Director: Ian Fitzgibbon
Stars: Michael McElhatton, Liam Carney, Simon Delaney
Edit

Cast

Complete credited cast:
...
...
...
...
...
Ras
...
...
...
...
...
...
Colin Stewart ...
John Fashanu ...
...
Heather Greenleese ...
Painter
Edit

Storyline

Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few well-placed bombs. Unable to escape Brixton, they are trapped together in Johnny's anything-but-safe safe house, sandwiched between a Rastafarian reggae pirate radio station upstairs and a West Indian 'Yardie' crack-dealing gangster, Julius, downstairs. As the charismatic Flynn finds common ground with the Yardies, Johnny fights to realize a peace process of his own, but makes the mistake of falling for Julius's girlfriend Rita, causing all-out war. A thriller in the vein of Lock Stock and The Long Good Friday, in which questions of race, morality, identity and loyalty play out against a great sound-track of reggae, rock, new wave and soul. Written by Anon

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis

Taglines:

Stop running. Face the future.


Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for violence, pervasive language, drug use and brief nudity | See all certifications »
Edit

Details

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

19 July 2006 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Johnny Was - The last Days of a Good Guy  »

Box Office

Budget:

$4,300,000 (estimated)
 »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Sound Mix:

Color:

See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Lennox Lewis spent his honeymoon in Belfast filming the movie less than a week after the wedding in Jamaica. See more »

Goofs

In the shootout scene with the police in chapter 10, the white police Vauxhall Vectra has the registration number ATM 874L, this is a 1972 registration and the car is clearly post 2000. See more »

Connections

References Fantasia (1940) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Great!
13 May 2010 | by (United States Minor Outlying Islands) – See all my reviews

"Johnny Was" is an excellent thriller with a twist.

Johnny Doyle (Jones) is trying to live the straight and narrow. He lives in a flat between a Rasta DJ named Ras (Lennox Lewis) and Julius (Eriq La Salle), a psycho drug dealer. Then out of nowhere, Johnny's old partner in crime Flynn (Bergin) shows up. The cops are after Flynn, and Johnny lets him stay in his house. But there are tensions between Flynn and Julius.

What's really good about this movie is the acting. Vinnie Jones is perfect as the title character. Eriq La Salle almost steals the movie... In a good way. The title makes sense, and the ending is very different. The movie has a mixture of styles that work.

"Johnny Was" is one of the most entertaining movies of the year, and I highly recommend it.

For more insanity, please visit: comeuppancereviews.com


0 of 0 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
soundtrack release?? dubadas
Good Movie angescud-1
Johnny Was wins audience award Rebelfest Toronto Film Fest strummerfan20
release date? condemned84oi
help with a song rodney_tx
Johnny Was Music andyb2525
Discuss Johnny Was (2006) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?