MOVIEmeter
SEE RANK
Down 7,027 this week

Johnny Was (2006)

 -  Action | Crime | Drama  -  19 July 2006 (USA)
5.6
Your rating:
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 -/10 X  
Ratings: 5.6/10 from 1,460 users  
Reviews: 39 user | 13 critic

Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few ... See full summary »

Director:

Writer:

Watch Trailer
0Check in
0Share...

User Lists

Related lists from IMDb users

a list of 46 titles
created 11 Nov 2011
 
a list of 28 titles
created 23 Nov 2011
 
a list of 24 titles
created 05 Jan 2012
 
a list of 33 titles
created 11 months ago
 
a list of 49 titles
created 9 months ago
 

Related Items

Search for "Johnny Was" on Amazon.com

Connect with IMDb


Share this Rating

Title: Johnny Was (2006)

Johnny Was (2006) on IMDb 5.6/10

Want to share IMDb's rating on your own site? Use the HTML below.

Take The Quiz!

Test your knowledge of Johnny Was.
1 win. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

The Riddle (2007)
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

A journalist investigates a series of murders that follows the discovery of an unpublished novel by Charles Dickens in the cellar of an old Thames-side-pub. Gradually he becomes obsessed with unraveling a century-old murder in the pages of the manuscript. Only when he has done so, with the help of a mysterious beach-combing tramp who stalks the Thames foreshore, is he able to solve the modern ... See full summary »

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Vinnie Jones, Derek Jacobi, Julie Cox
Nailed (2006)
Crime | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

"Nailed" is a thriller about two men who break into a house in attempt to escape arrest by police, and find instead a man lying on a bed, covered in bandages, whose caretaker may have ... See full summary »

Director: Adrian O'Connell
Stars: Charles Porter, Wilson Jermaine Heredia, Sam Sarpong
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.9/10 X  

An ex-convict's plans to turn legit go awry.

Director: Adam Rifkin
Stars: Vinny Argiro, James Caan, Donnie Montemarano
Action | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.8/10 X  

A highly skilled bodyguard avenging his brother's untimely death uncovers a ring of corruption extending to the highest levels of society and government.

Director: Akan Satayev
Stars: Aitzhanov Berik, Vinnie Jones, Aziz Beyshenaliev
The Other Half II (2006)
Comedy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.2/10 X  

When English Mark surprises his American bride Holly with her dream honeymoon to Portugal she cant believe her luck. Mark goes to great trouble to organise everything for her. They arrive ... See full summary »

Directors: Richard Nockles, Marlowe Fawcett
Stars: Danny Dyer, Gillian Kearney, Jonathan Broke
Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.5/10 X  
Director: Fabio Segatori
Stars: Antonio Cupo, Bianca Guaccero, Caprice Bourret
Played (2006)
Crime | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

An examination of the malevolent London underworld with its despicable criminal underground. Ray (Mick Rossi) just finished an eight-year prison sentence after getting set up. Now he is back on the streets to settle the score.

Director: Sean Stanek
Stars: Val Kilmer, Gabriel Byrne, Vinnie Jones
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.4/10 X  

When a 'bog body' a 2000 year old murder victim preserved in a peat bog is disturbed by developers in rural Ireland, an archaeologist, a hunter and their helpers face the task of sending him back where he came from.

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Vinnie Jones, Jason Barry, Nora-Jane Noone
Action | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.2/10 X  

A single father decides to break his dying wife's last wish to not box again in order to save his young son from certain death.

Director: Mark Mahon
Stars: Michael Madsen, Vinnie Jones, Patrick Bergin
Blast (2004)
Action | Comedy | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.8/10 X  

A terrorist posing as environmentalist hijacks an oil rig off the coast of California with the intent of detonating an electromagnetic bomb over the US.

Director: Anthony Hickox
Stars: Eddie Griffin, Vinnie Jones, Breckin Meyer
Drama | Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.9/10 X  

A group of people in a post-apocalyptic world fight to survive against a band of vicious cannibals.

Director: Mark Young
Stars: Michael Madsen, Vinnie Jones, Rachel Miner
Lurid (2013)
Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.4/10 X  
Director: Allie Dvorin
Stars: Steve Crest, Andy Davoli, Kaitlin Doubleday
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
...
...
...
...
Ras
...
...
...
...
...
...
John Fashanu ...
Colin Stewart ...
Emma Little ...
Cafe Waitress (as Emma Lyttle)
Gerard Carlin ...
Edit

Storyline

Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few well-placed bombs. Unable to escape Brixton, they are trapped together in Johnny's anything-but-safe safe house, sandwiched between a Rastafarian reggae pirate radio station upstairs and a West Indian 'Yardie' crack-dealing gangster, Julius, downstairs. As the charismatic Flynn finds common ground with the Yardies, Johnny fights to realize a peace process of his own, but makes the mistake of falling for Julius's girlfriend Rita, causing all-out war. A thriller in the vein of Lock Stock and The Long Good Friday, in which questions of race, morality, identity and loyalty play out against a great sound-track of reggae, rock, new wave and soul. Written by Anon

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis

Taglines:

Stop running. Face the future.


Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for violence, pervasive language, drug use and brief nudity | See all certifications »
Edit

Details

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

19 July 2006 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Johnny Was - The last Days of a Good Guy  »

Box Office

Budget:

$4,300,000 (estimated)
 »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Sound Mix:

Color:

See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Lennox Lewis spent his honeymoon in Belfast filming the movie less than a week after the wedding in Jamaica. See more »

Goofs

In the shootout scene with the police in chapter 10, the white police Vauxhall Vectra has the registration number ATM 874L, this is a 1972 registration and the car is clearly post 2000. See more »

Connections

References The Godfather: Part II (1974) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
congrats from Canada for Rebelfest award
17 September 2006 | by (Canada) – See all my reviews

Attended Rebelfest in Toronto where this won the Sony Audience Award and as a fellow filmmaker enjoyed meeting some of the guys involved in making it.

The mix of voices in the movie was really different - Jamaican, Irish, English and a lot of people have commented on the soundtrack of reggae, which was well used.

Some aspects were not so great - technical production left a bit to be desired, but I suppose this is low budget indie problems always.

Acting wise I think Vinnie Jones was good and while I read some comment about him not doing a good Irish accent, unless I've completely missed the point I thought he was supposed to be a Londoner whose family came from Ireland, which would mean he spoke like a Londoner - which to my ears he did.

Another small grumble is that Roger Daltrey is very good but should have had a bigger role. He has an interesting character, but it just comes and goes.

I agree with the comments on Samantha Mumba - a bit too healthy looking for a junkie. On the other hand, Lennox Lewis, who I was expecting to be just a celeb cameo did really well in an interesting role as a DJ running an illegal music station.

Anyway - we enjoyed it, so congrats to cast and crew from someone who knows how hard it is to get indie movies made.


7 of 12 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
Good Movie angescud-1
soundtrack release?? dubadas
Johnny Was wins audience award Rebelfest Toronto Film Fest strummerfan20
release date? condemned84oi
help with a song rodney_tx
Johnny Was Music andyb2525
Discuss Johnny Was (2006) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page