5.7/10
1,505
39 user 13 critic

Johnny Was (2006)

Trailer
1:49 | Trailer

Watch Now

From $2.99 on Amazon Video

ON DISC
Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few ... See full summary »

Director:

Writer:

Reviews
2 wins. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

The Riddle (2007)
Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 5.3/10 X  

A journalist investigates a series of murders that follows the discovery of an unpublished novel by Charles Dickens in the cellar of an old Thames-side-pub. Gradually he becomes obsessed with unraveling a century-old murder in the pages of the manuscript. Only when he has done so, with the help of a mysterious beach-combing tramp who stalks the Thames foreshore, is he able to solve the modern ... See full summary »

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Vinnie Jones, Derek Jacobi, Julie Cox
Action | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.9/10 X  

A highly skilled bodyguard avenging his brother's untimely death uncovers a ring of corruption extending to the highest levels of society and government.

Director: Akan Satayev
Stars: Aitzhanov Berik, Vinnie Jones, Aziz Beyshenaliev
Horror | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 3.4/10 X  

When a 'bog body' a 2000 year old murder victim preserved in a peat bog is disturbed by developers in rural Ireland, an archaeologist, a hunter and their helpers face the task of sending him back where he came from.

Director: Brendan Foley
Stars: Vinnie Jones, Jason Barry, Nora-Jane Noone
Played (2006)
Crime | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.4/10 X  

An examination of the malevolent London underworld with its despicable criminal underground. Ray (Mick Rossi) just finished an eight-year prison sentence after getting set up. Now he is back on the streets to settle the score.

Director: Sean Stanek
Stars: Val Kilmer, Gabriel Byrne, Vinnie Jones
Biography | Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.2/10 X  

The true story of Danny Greene, a tough Irish thug working for mobsters in Cleveland during the 1970's.

Director: Jonathan Hensleigh
Stars: Ray Stevenson, Christopher Walken, Vincent D'Onofrio
Mean Machine (2001)
Comedy | Drama | Sport
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.5/10 X  

A soccer star jailed for assault leads a group of inmates in a match against prison guards.

Director: Barry Skolnick
Stars: Vinnie Jones, David Kelly, David Hemmings
Locked Down (2010)
Action | Crime | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.3/10 X  

Danny, a respected cop, is setup after an investigation goes wrong. While laying low in his new jail cell, Danny is forced to get involved in the inmates underground cage fighting circuit. ... See full summary »

Director: Daniel Zirilli
Stars: Tony Schiena, Rashad Evans, Vinnie Jones
Blast (2004)
Action | Comedy | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.8/10 X  

A terrorist posing as environmentalist hijacks an oil rig off the coast of California with the intent of detonating an electromagnetic bomb over the US.

Director: Anthony Hickox
Stars: Eddie Griffin, Vinnie Jones, Breckin Meyer
Crime | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 4.6/10 X  

Brothers Martina and Luca travel from Las Vegas to Hollywood. Along the way they meet two convicts and Cherie a showgirl who flees his representative. The convicts kidnap Martina and force Luca to carry a 3 million bag.

Director: Fabio Segatori
Stars: Antonio Cupo, Bianca Guaccero, Caprice Bourret
Action | Drama | Thriller
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.3/10 X  

The violent story of Jay and Jonnie Linski, two Polish-Irish brothers who try to come to terms with the brutal murder of their youngest sibling, Danny. The story follows the terrible ... See full summary »

Director: Jason Figgis
Stars: Emmett J Scanlan, Eoin Macken, Bill Fellows
Action | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.1/10 X  

A single father decides to break his dying wife's last wish to not box again in order to save his young son from certain death.

Director: Mark Mahon
Stars: Michael Madsen, Vinnie Jones, Patrick Bergin
Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6/10 X  

An ex-convict's plans to turn legit go awry.

Director: Adam Rifkin
Stars: Vinny Argiro, James Caan, Donnie Montemarano
Edit

Cast

Complete credited cast:
...
...
...
...
...
Ras
...
...
...
...
...
...
Colin Stewart ...
John Fashanu ...
...
Heather Greenleese ...
Painter
Edit

Storyline

Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few well-placed bombs. Unable to escape Brixton, they are trapped together in Johnny's anything-but-safe safe house, sandwiched between a Rastafarian reggae pirate radio station upstairs and a West Indian 'Yardie' crack-dealing gangster, Julius, downstairs. As the charismatic Flynn finds common ground with the Yardies, Johnny fights to realize a peace process of his own, but makes the mistake of falling for Julius's girlfriend Rita, causing all-out war. A thriller in the vein of Lock Stock and The Long Good Friday, in which questions of race, morality, identity and loyalty play out against a great sound-track of reggae, rock, new wave and soul. Written by Anon

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis

Taglines:

Stop running. Face the future.


Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated R for violence, pervasive language, drug use and brief nudity | See all certifications »
Edit

Details

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

19 July 2006 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Johnny Was - The last Days of a Good Guy  »

Box Office

Budget:

$4,300,000 (estimated)
 »

Company Credits

Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Sound Mix:

Color:

See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Lennox Lewis spent his honeymoon in Belfast filming the movie less than a week after the wedding in Jamaica. See more »

Goofs

In the shootout scene with the police in chapter 10, the white police Vauxhall Vectra has the registration number ATM 874L, this is a 1972 registration and the car is clearly post 2000. See more »

Connections

References The Godfather: Part II (1974) See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.

User Reviews

 
Enjoyable
17 April 2006 | by (United States) – See all my reviews

Only saw review DVD, but enjoyed it. Actually watched it twice, partly due to a really great reggae soundtrack, and liked it better second time.

While it is a bit rough at the edges, it has some great performances and a sort of quirky appeal. The idea of an unsafe safe house works well, and there is an interesting dynamic between Vinny Jones, Patrick Bergin and Eriq LaSalle. While it is a thriller, it does not take itself too seriously and I agree with the 'spagetti western' comments elsewhere. Nice twist in the ending and some good one-liners.

Jones gives a very solid performance a long way from his usual tough guy, Bergin is theatrical, but entertaining and Eriq LaSalle is powerful as a gangster who wants to be a businessman.

It zips along and the wall-to-wall reggae is first rate - must be about 30 or 40 tracks


17 of 25 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Message Boards

Recent Posts
soundtrack release?? dubadas
Good Movie angescud-1
Johnny Was wins audience award Rebelfest Toronto Film Fest strummerfan20
release date? condemned84oi
help with a song rodney_tx
Johnny Was Music andyb2525
Discuss Johnny Was (2006) on the IMDb message boards »

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?