IMDb > "Green Wing" (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Green Wing"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Green Wing" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 34 reviews in total 

91 out of 112 people found the following review useful:

A totally new level of comedy

Author: davidgiles from Leeds, England
1 October 2004

There is sit-com comedy...

...and then, once in a while, something comes along which is so

utterly, completely different to anything which you've seen before it

is strange, compelling and funny beyond belief.

Green Wing is not to everyone's taste - that much is obvious.

However...

The first episode was an hour long - I thought this would be a

scene-setting pilot. Not so. Every episode is one hour long, and the

comedy is rich and consistent throughout.

The characters are very well observed...

The incidental music is superb...

The post-production is excellent...

Speaking of which, the techniques of speed-up-slow-down have been

criticized in some quarters... They only serve to work the comedy to

its fullest. This is a technique which may be used again in other

comedy programs, but was used first (and to incredible comedy effect)

on Green Wing.

Utterly unmissable. Comedy of the highest, ground-breaking order.

Fabulous cast, impeccable writing, superb production.

There is nothing - nothing - to match Green Wing.

Was the above review useful to you?

49 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

comedy of the year so far

Author: (matrixmad444@hotmail.com) from London, England
2 November 2004

Green Wing. What is there to say? Brilliant gags, wonderful characters, no sick "spurting blood" jokes and absolutely, wonderfully dysfunctional. Sue White is one of the best comedy characters I have ever seen, just as good as Bernard Black of Black Books and that is something. The best thing about this series (now sadly departed) is that it is completely mad! This is definitely the funniest thing this year and if it is not nominated for comedy awards, I will be quite upset and may have to throw the T.V out the window. Anyone know when the DVD is out?Please? =D

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

Funniest British comedy in years

Author: buckiequeen from N Ireland
14 January 2005

Love it love it love it!!

I can understand why some of its more outlandish sketches has received criticism from one-off viewers, but following through the series, characters and plots develop to hilarious consequence. Michelle Gomez (Scottish nymphomaniac) is a comedy genius - fans should check her out in the similarly underrated 'Book Group'.

My bet is that by series 2 the rest of the country will have woken up to just how good this show is - lets hope we see less of over-hyped Little Britain (does ANYONE out there find the Dennis Waterman sketch remotely funny?!). Green Wing deserves the comedy crown!! *****

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant Show--NOT just another hospital show.

Author: BetterInBlackAndWhite from Texas
13 July 2005

This show is so utterly brilliant. The other day my husband came home while I was watching it and said he could hear me laughing halfway down the sidewalk. May take one or two episodes to acquire a taste for this show, as it is so different from what you're used to watching, but there is so much richness and depth to Green Wing. The characters, while extremely quirky, are still real. While you may be screaming with laughter at some outlandish physical comedy moment or gag one moment, the next they will surprise you with a relatively sober, very dark scene (Joanna and her flip-book of Polaroids of herself as she ages).

In the US, this airs on BBC America. I would recommend it to people who love "Arrested Development." Of course, some of the most quirky and original shows can't last through very many seasons without losing some of their sting. I just hope "Green Wing" doesn't flare out soon, or disappear as its actors become stars in high demand in Britain and the US, as I'm sure many of them will.

By the way, for those of you who are sick of "hospital" shows, don't be fooled. This show couldn't care less about the patients! You almost never even see one, unless used as a meaningless prop beneath a sheet in the operating room. Definitely no "ER," this, thank God.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

"Set them free! Let them fight!"

Author: metronit from UK
27 October 2004

Rude, offensive, outrageous and hilarious. I now find it hard to imagine a time before Green Wing. This and "Garth Merenghi's Darkplace" are my comedy high-points of the past year. Definitely not wholesome *family* entertainment, and thank goodness for that! Lots of swearing, sexual references, and silliness. At first I feared it might be some kind of British take on "Scrubs" but thankfully it's nothing of the sort. Each episode has me laughing outloud, and few comedy's actually make me crack up. It's full of comedy talent, and each episode can be watched again and again with new gags and nuances revealing themselves. Fantastic stuff! Oh, and unlike "Little Britain", no horrible canned laughter. Thankyou...

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Bizarre, sick and absolutely hilarious!

10/10
Author: iwerewolf_werewolf from United Kingdom
23 March 2005

I don't know whats wrong with Britain but recently we've been producing some fantastic comedies. The best comedies are, of course the bizarre and surreal ones, like Green Wing. Its just as good as Scrubs, if not better. The time for Britain's great comedies has come. This show makes up for all the crap we've been putting onto our screens, coupling, anyone? This is a comedy up there with The League of gentlemen, and is totally underrated. This is a comedy that everyone who is a fan of strange and sick humour should watch. This is a comedy that will make you cringe and laugh until some accidental pee will come out.

10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

An acquired taste, but easy to acquire

Author: ssih from Marshfield, MA
22 September 2004

It took me most of the first episode to come to grips with this show, but now that I've become accustomed to the characters and the constant speed-up/slow-down video methods used, I find that I really like it.

As someone who sees way too much US comedy that is utterly predicateble and done to death, it's nice to see something that surprises me, and I'm shocked about once a minute with Green Wing. The woman staff administrator (sorry - I don't know most of the actors' names) is an absolute howl. They should have 15 minutes of each show with her talking with Dr. Todd.

I truly hope this show sticks around.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Fascinating physical & mental comedy

Author: misstest123 from Windsor, England
10 October 2004

An instant addiction, the big cast of characters are bizarre but complex enough to be believably human (unlike, say, the support roles in Will and Grace). The way they all *move* is brilliant just on its own - especially the sickeningly smooth Dr Guy (did you see him sucking Dr Martin's shirt at the party?)and Joanna the Manager, a marionette on speed. The dialogue is sharp and very funny (huge team of writers) and on top of all this, there are enough plot lines to make you really care about these hyped-up weirdos, even the radiologist nerd, played by Mark Heap, who in contrast to all geek mythology ever, gets LOADS of sex. Even if the sex is funny enough to make you wince.

So much more witty than the "let's muck about dressed up in women's clothes, har har" style of recent "Little Britain" and "League of Gentlemen".

This is a great direction for British comedy/sit-coms to veer off on. More more!

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Comedy at it's best

Author: 1of7 from New Zealand
10 September 2005

As a fan on good humour that stretches back to the Goons, Hancock, Monty Python, and includes The Young Ones and Fawlty Towers it is always an event when you discover something that is not only very funny, but also funny in a completely new style. Green Wing is excellent. The characters larger than life and unlikely yet are totally believable. You find yourself liking even the most obnoxious characters and wishing you could be in a position to use some of their retorts. The devise of speeding up the film is more than just a gimmick, it's like a vehicle for flying you straight to the next funny situation before you've had time to recover from the previous one. Just sitting here thinking about the series brings back a familiar ache to my ribs. Do yourself a favour and see it.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

green wing, great

Author: caer smyth from Ireland
5 January 2005

I really enjoyed green wing. i like the fact that it's kind of surreal and doesn't follow any set type of comedy. The laughs aren't clear lines, quips but a mix of things. So many comedies feel very forced but this doesn't, it's more relaxed. The characters are really accessible too, and Sue White and Guy Secretan are Really funny. But then even the 'straight' characters are much funnier than the regular stuff. and no 'learning' or 'growing', thank god. the comedy is quite soft, yet it's still enjoyable. Defo one of the top British comedies of recent years, with 'The Office' and 'Alan Partridge'. I really hope it has a second series, but it has to, right? eh?

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history