IMDb > The Oh in Ohio (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Oh in Ohio
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Oh in Ohio More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 56 reviews in total 

55 out of 70 people found the following review useful:

A surprisingly sincere and refreshing sex comedy

7/10
Author: kcnorris from United States
10 November 2005

When I first heard about this film, I have to admit I was a bit skeptical. Sex and the movies have always had a bit of a rocky history, with some good results (Last Tango in Paris springs to mind) and quite a few bad ones (Anybody remember Casual Sex?). To be honest, I wasn't expecting the Oh in Ohio to be anything other than more of the same Hollywood piffle, featuring low-brow penis jokes (or, in this case I guess, vagina jokes) that predictably avoid any real thought into what fascinates us as a society about sex: The joys, the painful vulnerability, the almost magical awkwardness of it.

Well, I was pleasantly surprised. The Oh in Ohio has its share of both penis and vagina jokes, but they're all offered with a refreshingly non-puerile frankness. Very rarely has a film dealt with such a touchy subject with such aplomb, all the while avoiding the pitfalls that would make a film like this preachy, or exploitive, or boring. This is a film that's not afraid to say a lot of "dirty" words and put forth a lot of ideas that may make people uncomfortable. But the nice part is, it doesn't seem to care that it's doing it. It doesn't wave sex in the audience's face, saying "look how shocking this is," it just says what it has to say and leaves the audience to laugh, or squirm, or whatever.

The performances are probably the best thing about this film. Parker Posey, who we're used to seeing as the over-the-top characters in films like Best in Show, works well as the tentative "woman on a journey of self discovery". Paul Rudd plays his character lightly and likably, avoiding a lot of the pitfalls that plague men in this kind of film. Miranda Bailey's screechy, fun loving gal pal offers some of the funnier moments in the film, and Mischa Barton is sexily unassuming in her role (which could have, in my opinion, done with a little more meat).

But it's the chemistry between Posey and Danny Devito that really gets this film going. An unlikely pairing on the surface, they really do well together, with Devito offering a performance that is somewhat low-key, but utterly charming. There's a sincerity that comes through that made me want to smile, and frankly, to see more of him on screen.

There were a few moments where the comedy falls flat (at least for me), and some wondering where the characters are going during the course of the film. The direction seemed a little detached at times, particularly when dealing with a subject as intimate as it does.

All in all, The Oh in Ohio is what it is. It's not going to change the world of cinema... but then again, maybe it could: if more films were able to be as un-self conscious this one seems to be, maybe we could all start having fun with sex again, rather than layering it in fart jokes or squirreling it away in soulless pornography.

Was the above review useful to you?

53 out of 69 people found the following review useful:

Hot, Funny and definitely something new

9/10
Author: (brucetheflyer) from United States
20 June 2006

The Oh in Ohio zigs where others zag. It knows the value of not giving the audience what they have come to expect. I saw it at the Provincetown film Festival in their largest venue filled to the brim and steaming like a Bombay sweatshop. But even with all the heat the audience did not twitch. They laughed heartily and some were brought to cackling applause. I was surprised to find myself and my date, my wife of 61 years laughing at a subject that we would dare talk about even in our own bedroom. Without giving anything away by the end we were holding hands a subconscious act brought on by the strong and meaningful romantic quality of the films finale. I am not someone accustomed to the internet, or public commenting on films, but I felt this film deserved to have the support of an old timer like myself. I hope people from all walks of life will find 90 minutes to leave their lives and laugh at the performances of these fine actors. -- My god Liza Minnelli's in it! I can remember when her mother was a child. Go see the Oh in Ohio you won't regret it. It's great.

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 62 people found the following review useful:

A Charming Funny Movie with a Great Cast

9/10
Author: FilmNews4 from United States
18 November 2005

I recently saw a screening of "The Oh In Ohio" - it is a charming, original, well crafted film. The humor is dished up in the right amounts and in all the right places.

This movie artfully deals with sexuality in a light and refreshing way. It is easy to see why such great talent was attracted to this project. Paul Rudd, Danny Devito, and Parker Posey each gave fantastic and thoughtful performances. Mischa Barton brings a certain ease and freshness to her role that may hint at even greater things to come. The cameo by Liza Minelli was icing on the cake.

There were many funny moments but the scene that still makes me laugh days later features Parker Posey in the boardroom - it was brilliantly acted and directed. All in all this is a very refreshing and original film.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 50 people found the following review useful:

I enjoyed the film

7/10
Author: gsm1224-1 from London, England
16 November 2005

I too saw the film at an AFM screening in Santa Monica, and quite enjoyed it, being a female. I thought the performances were charming, found myself chuckling at several points throughout - and found the "plot twist" at the end spectacular.

Parker Posey was darling, although the woman who played her assistant (Miranda Bailey) received the most laughs overall. And Danny DeVito is always great. Paul Rudd and Mischa Barton round out the cast quite well.

While the film is primarily going to find its following with women, this is a flick that men will enjoy as well. I'll go see it again with my friends once it hits cinemas in the UK.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

A Flop (With a Few Laughs)

3/10
Author: b-gaist from Cyprus
27 December 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I may sound a bit harsh, but this flop of a movie doesn't really deserve a comment. It was like a series of unrelated scenes created from a joke compendium. Admittedly, I did laugh, and if that was the film's only purpose, then it was reasonably successful in achieving it. However, the actors in it are obviously more talented than the weak script warrants, and the issue of sexual dysfunction could indeed have been treated in a way that is both humorous and at the same time enlightening - something the film failed completely at. Instead, the motivations of the characters were initially presented and then left unexplored. I am still wondering why the husband left so abruptly, and then why Priscilla didn't give it a second shot. Danny De Vito was possibly in his worst role ever as "Wayne the Pool Guy", and what was really mysterious, and in my opinion the weakest point of the movie: why did Priscilla fall in love with him (or did she, or was she just using him, like all the other men in her recent escapades?), what did Wayne the Pool Guy have that her husband didn't? A comedy doesn't have to answer all our questions, but it should at least cohere a bit. If I hadn't seen this film, my life would not be any the poorer for it. As to a vibrator addiction, I would advise prospective consumers to tell this movie to "buzz off". But of course now I've aroused their curiosity instead...

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Nice Surprise!

9/10
Author: cinestory from United States
18 March 2006

I saw this film last night at the SXSW Film Fest, where the film played to a roaring, sold out crowd who laughed from the moment the movie started (and before I thought it was actually funny) to the last frame...

The offbeat comedy has both edge and levity to it, Parker Posey and Paul Rudd give their best performances to date (the film is smart enough to present both sides of the orgasm issue), and the dialogue/ delivery/ timing set the tone and kept it going throughout the movie.

Cameos from actors other than Liza Minelli keep the audience on their toes...and Parker Posey fuses her usual angst with a sweetness that we've never seen...

The film makes Cleveland look great and offers a dynamic and observant debut for Billy Kent. Funny, smart, refreshing film! I'll see it when it's released theatrically!

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious

9/10
Author: brookwriter from United States
27 January 2006

A movie about orgasms. Well, why not? This flick is very, very funny. With the right marketing, I think it could quite a sleeper.

Cast is tops, particularly Posey, Bailey and DeVito. Paul Rudd is one hot guy.

Liza Minnelli's cameo is every bit as hysterical her antics on "Arrested Development." It's great to see her on a big screen again. (And you will never hear the word "vagina" the same way after Liza's delivery of it in this movie.)

There haven't been very many intelligent, truly witty Hollywood sex comedies of late. "The Oh in Ohio" is a welcome addition to the genre.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

disappointing (warning: contains spoiler)

2/10
Author: vixenviewer from United States
29 December 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I waited for the DVD to rent it, and am glad I did! The storyline was interesting but there were too many holes in the plot.

For example, why did this couple stay married for ten years without going to a couples therapist? Then, once Priscilla was able to experience orgasm with the vibrator, why didn't she try having sex with her husband again? Also, why didn't the husband ever have any regrets about his affair? Why didn't he get into trouble for having an affair with his student? And so on....

Anyway, the most difficult part to believe was that Parker Posey would EVER end up with Danny DeVito!!! Yeeessshhh! If the studio HAD to have her fooling around with an older man, why didn't they use one of the Quaids? Or Robin Williams? Or someone attractive? Danny wasn't even convincing as the pool salesman, in fact!!

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Headed for Oblivion

2/10
Author: strain6 from United States
3 September 2006

The nice thing about this movie is that I will forget that I ever saw it in about a month. It is so dull that it sent me to the concession stand once and to the bathroom once. I really had to go to the bathroom badly. I am glad that I was overpowered by gastrointestinal exigency during this movie, which was another little Indy waste of time. I keep thinking of that producer who explained that if it is not in the script it isn't there. Parker Posey, Heather Graham, and Danny DeVito were all good in this movie;in fact, Heather Graham was better than she has ever been. I felt that if you jettisoned the rest of the characters and started over with these three, you'd might be able work out a plot that would not send you to the lobby to check out the posters of what is coming to the theater next week.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A dramatic sex comedy doesn't work

4/10
Author: napierslogs from Ontario, Canada
27 June 2010

I would have assumed that "The Oh! in Ohio" was trying to be the Judd Apatow sex comedies for females, but this was released in 2006 just before the Apatow craze began. So now I'm not sure what they were trying to go for.

It's marketed as a comedy but it's more of a drama. The plot line is that Priscilla Chase (Parker Posey) and her husband (Paul Rudd) are in an unhappy marriage because she isn't able to climax. Along with "50 million other women who suffer from orgasmic dysfunction" as the film tells us.

The film moves forward with Posey trying to have an orgasm. I'm assuming these scenes were supposed to provide us laughs but they weren't very funny. The other half of the movie is Rudd living his depressed life as a biology teacher. Finally the film industry has figured out that occasionally there are teachers for subjects other than English, but unfortunately it's in this movie just so we can have him spout the names of some sex organ muscles. Paul Rudd is one of my favourite actors, but the story for his character is extremely poorly done. The humour is so low-key, that I view it more as a drama, so there is no pay-off for his poor character. I might even have to blame this film for Rudd being relegated to buddy comedies now.

There is a lot to not like in this film, but Posey does shine, and some of the "50 million women who suffer from orgasmic dysfunction" might enjoy "The Oh! in Ohio" but probably not many other people will.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history