Out of the Woods (TV Movie 2005) Poster

(2005 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Boot Camp With Grampa!!!
lavatch28 May 2005
How often do we have the opportunity to watch a film about a 30-year-old-man bonding with his grandfather? That is precisely the premise of this skillfully crafted made-for-television film.

Edward Asner is outstanding as the crusty curmudgeon who provides a life lesson to his grandson, a hotshot attorney played by Jason London. When the old man buys a cabin in the forest and appears on verge of squandering his fortune on the neighboring land and deeding it to Native Americans, Asner's character Jack Green is visited by his grandson who is ready to serve him legal papers that declare Jack to be legally incompetent. But the young attorney is unprepared for the wisdom to be imparted to him from his stay in the woods with his grandfather. The relationship unfolded with both humor and tenderness. Both actors should be applauded for performances that hit all the right notes. Stephen Bridgewater also needs to be credited for a deft directorial touch in a number of effective montages and the beautiful photography.

The writer Henry David Thoreau described his living experiment on Walden Pond with the words "Simplicity, simplicity, simplicity." For the young yuppie attorney who paid a visit to his grandfather's cabin, the lesson that he learned was that of simplicity and a lot more as well. There was great feeling in this film and a profound message—one that we all may learn by taking a walk in the woods.
25 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Kind, Corny and Pretty Film
NASAfannc8 January 2006
I know ten is a little high for this one, but I have to admit, I really liked Asner's work, and in this piece he portrays an elderly student/teacher of life. The twinkle in his eye throughout the film reveals that he's having a ball with the role. Admittedly, there are corny moments that go along with the particularly corny music at the film's beginning. Also, there is a bit of irritating Hollywood politics, as they feel their viewers are too stupid to be politically aware, themselves. There are also those occasionally glaring questions, such as...Don't these attorneys actually WORK? But in all, it was a kind and restful movie--Perfect for just sitting down and getting away from reality for a little while.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Nice entertainment for a quiet weekend afternoon
Gert Jan vantland4 February 2006
Es Asner is the grandfather who returns for his quiet place in the woods after a life of looking for happiness in vain, he is visited by his grandson who has a mission of talking him out of acquiring a large piece of land and jeopardizing the family fortune in the process. The story gives Ed Asner the opportunity to put the thumbscrews on his grandson, and you can see he really enjoys doing so. Although the film results in a black and white choice between two ways of life and real life is much more complicated (and subtle!) the movie is entertaining (mainly thank's to Ed Asners convincing performance). The film is a potential eye-opener for those who feel their lives and the rat race have escaped their control. It's refreshing to see that the movie advocates making your own choices. Just for this I was able to put up with the fact that he is reading eastern philosophy in his log cabin.....
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Jolly good fun
sideshowsuzy-866-824249 October 2014
I'd say this film started off a little predictable, but then what isn't if you've watched as many films as we all have. But it's far from predictable as it gets going. The premise may be but I love the way it diversifies with the Native Americans stealing the show as well as Ed Asner. I have a question for my fellow film buffs, has anyone noticed that Ed Asner is the absolute double of the strawberry smelling bear Lotso in Toy Story 3? He just reminds me of him. It's very weird.I digress. The film rocks, it's good fun, has a great moral message, shows Native Americans in a great way, and has a happy ending. Any film that says screw greedy yuppies no matter what decade is good for me. I lived through the 80s as a teen. Horrible time, especially in UK and USA. But by GOD the music. Anyway great film watch it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Exceptional for Hallmark
vincentlynch-moonoi22 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I always give extra points for movies (even TV-movies) that are different. And this one is different. First, it elevates itself well beyond what we often see on the Hallmark TV channel. But every once in a while, Hallmark scores, and here it did.

I think we always knew that Ed Asner was a fine actor, almost most of us remember him primarily from The Mary Tyler Moore Show. Here we are reminded once again of just how good he really is. He plays an old man who was sought out a different life for himself, which has estranged him from his family. Through some plotting by his daughter, he is reunited with his grandson, who comes to learn that he (Asner) is dying, and has chosen a unique way to do so. Asner helps teach the grandson that city life isn't everything...although he does so through some tough lessons. No, it isn't a happy ending, but it is a real ending...though unique to non-Native Americans.

Jason London does a fine job as the grandson, although I'll wait to decide on just how good an actor he is. The other parts are handled well. The script is good. This is a winner for Hallmark.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Out of the Woods and Into Oblivion We Go **1/2
edwagreen2 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Does Larry Levenson of Hallmark just enjoy creating the same theme where people visit older folks and redeem themselves before the latter pass on? We see this theme over and over in many of Levenson's productions and "Out of the Woods" is no different.

When a grandson, an attorney, is sent to deliver legal papers to his grandfather, who has moved to the woods, the former gets much more than he ever bargained for.

This is basically a story of getting away from the rat race and a return to nature. While a good movie, it is cliché.

The movie goes downhill when Asner is revealed to be suffering from a terminal illness. He does go gently into that good night by going off into the forests.

Of course, the film brings out the grandson's redeeming qualities and that he can do better than the girlfriend he has been seeing within the L.A. scene.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Jason London has really matured!
susiesneds5 April 2005
What an entertaining movie! I have always loved Ed Asner, especially as "Mr. Grant" from, "The Mary Tyler Moore Show". But Jason London has really matured into a fine actor. I loved his performance in "The Man In The Moon" with a very young Reese Witherspoon. He was awesome in "Dazed And Confused" (Not to mention very cute!!) But he has really come into his own as an actor. He physically carried himself well and is more confident than ever! He's turned into a handsome and talented young actor! I hope to see more of him in these types of roles! How about a romantic lead? He has the looks and quite a "boyish" charm about him! I have to admit, seeing him in his "skivvies" was a plus in this movie! Jason, you rock my world!
9 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The woods were lonely dark and deep and there were promises to keep..
Xjayhawker24 February 2013
The premise is not that unusual. A lot of ungrateful sons and/or daughters try to have parents put away. I have lived on a farm with an outhouse so I know it's not a pleasant place to spend time. We had propane gas for cooking and pump water for drinking or bathing..cold water like in this film..I have had kerosene lamps for light. No overnight delivery.I know that feeling,too. Whatever Ed Asner has going for himself in the woods I do understand and appreciate.Not everyone can understand that kind of life. Los Angeles is not mainstream America. Ed Asner seems to get better with age. His grandson, Jason London is becoming a pretty good actor and does well in this turn both playing off each other. Forget all these people trying to portray this as life lessons. It's not overly sentimental and it has a pretty good flow in the story telling. This is a pretty good walk in the woods.It gets a ten for the acting and a ten for the natural beauty of the location filming.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews