IMDb > Viruddh... Family Comes First (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Viruddh... Family Comes First
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 21 reviews in total 

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Punch-packed!! Extremely Good!!

9/10
Author: Vishal Kumar from Sydney, Australia
24 July 2005

Well-made! Well-Shot!! Mahesh Manjerekar redeems himself as a director.

Story of a couple above sixty and their strife "versus" the system is told with much reality and grit. Though compared to "Saaraansh", Viruddh differs in the story and treatment. A retired couple with life revolving their only son, their daily routine and their daily interaction with neighbors and surroundings are penned with zeal. Their tragedy and their fight for what is the truth is touching and brings many a heart-rendering moments.

The couple, played with an ease and truthfulness by Amitabh Bachchan and Sharmila Tagore, is heart-warming and touching. Watch out for them bantering between themselves over tea, the way they handle the "new" nuisance in their locality, the way they come to terms with tragedy and the system. Amitabh proves again that he is truly an actor to be reckoned with still. Sharmila gives able support.

The end was too swift!! But thats very minor!!

Watch it and have a warm experience!!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Powerpacked Drama

10/10
Author: venkat2cool from India
24 July 2005

A movie that is full with power packed performances from Amitabh Bachchan, Sharmila Tagore, Sanjay Dutt and John Abraham. It shows how the political power in India can ruin the life of a simple "common man". It shows how the entire system is inside a corrupted vicious cycle. It shows how the police, witnesses, and even law succumbs to political pressure.

And Mahesh Manjrekar (as usual) gives an excellent output. Another good thing about the movie is that it contains no unnecessary songs/dance. Its kept to the point. The first half seemed a bit too long, and could have been shortened. However, it was compensated by a fast-paced second half.

The film basically revolves around Amitabh and Sharmila Tagore, and all other characters including Sanjay Dutt, John Abraham, and Anusha Dandekar seemed to be doing a side role.

All said and done, it is one of the best movies I have seen in 2005. Great performances, great story, and an overall good movie!!!

Rating: 10/10

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

linear story line with great acting by Bachan and Tagore

6/10
Author: venkat1926 from India
25 February 2006

I am coming from Tamilnadu. In Tamil picture circuit rarely two post retirement/post menopausal couple are the chief protagonists. The last such film, I remember was "Vietnam Veedu". The Tamil filmdom thinks that old people can only be character actors. In our films even old male actors with fading faces have to act as lovers of heroines of their daughters' age. It is sometimes pathetic to see the old heavy actors making some dance sequences. So it is refreshing to see the old couple both in their mild and mature flirting with care for each other and the poignancy of their tragedy of the murder of their son and subsequent legal shenanigans. It is the younger men are the character actors in this film.

Amitab Bachan and Sharmila Tagore act brilliantly bringing the gamut of emotions. The final meeting with the murderer was excellent. Of course the story line is linear and some excellent pieces of dialogue crop up.

Yet there are a few rather typical cinematic scenes which are rather incongruous The old lady who is a retired teacher goes out with her teacher's cane and beats up the roguish Ali and others to bring some sense of decency in them which is rather too dramatic. Similarly the last verdict of NOT GUILTY on the old man is rather surprising. I am not a lawyer and am not aware of judicial nuances. But after all the old man is a murderer however justifiable his actions are and some token punishment (at least the time spent in the prison so far) would have been more judicial. Besides during the first trial the Home Minister and the Police went far out of the way in harassing Patwrdhan and his family but after his son's death the Home Minister seem to have been paralyzed. Nobody even tried to confiscate the tape recorder which ultimately reaches the presiding Judge of the second trial -"a shocking piece of evidence". The police officer who foisted the Drugs in the son's bedroom seemed to have gone scot-free.

But for these loose ends, deliberately left for dramatic purposes, Viruddh is a very good and interesting film.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Needs editing but beautiful moments!

10/10
Author: mrdee-1 from United Kingdom
27 July 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

OK i was expecting something different but still i was happy overall with this movie. The starting is brilliant with the amit sitting in a cell cross legged saying nothing at all. As the first half draws together the family life of amit it does kind of drag on where you think when the hell is his son going to die and him fighting back? Although its got some gr8 comedy moments and sanjay dutt is brilliant as a mechanic called Ali. The movie takes a turn for the better once the son dies...the scene where amit is starring back at his son and his son narrates how he was wishing his dad would save him but both were helpless. I loved the way the son appears as the dead son narrating the film and offering us a glimpse into his life and his parents. I was expecting amit to start fighting in the courts for justice..i expected great speech's but thats not what happens. We actually get a more true to life account of amits fall into despair and the attempt to gain courage to take some action. there are lots of moments where you truly feel the pain of loss....the scene where amit is onthe bench and attempts to cheer himself by trying some laughter therapy just ends him breaking down into tears and i looking around i saw quite a few tears in the cinema audience..i too had to hold back. I thought the ending was rather sudden as if there as no time left to draw out some issues...instead the final court scene is so short i was expecting a nice long speech...or other high drama but no. Still you know i was actually perfectly happy with how things turned out..maybe the scriptwriter needed lessons in editing.

One thing that really peeved me about the film was the in your face product placement...i felt like i was in some kind of commercial ad...it was just too blatant and it just made me angry...there was no need to such blatant advertising..ill def NOT be using damned sandoz calcium tablets!

All in all a moving film..a film that proves once again the great acting capabilities of Amit...he just seems to be getting better and better with age...i think he was born to act no wonder he could never stay away from acting for long.

I must say the film does haunt you once you have left the cinema..you recount little parts in the film..especially the bench scene which will stay with me forever.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Viruddh---A struggle of a man

8/10
Author: samrat19 from United States
10 September 2005

Its truly a Big B and Sharmila film.Mahesh Manjrekar is back with his good stocks after Astitva...The movie shows the struggle of an old man to justify his sons innocence to the society.Bachchan was superb.His expressions were splendid in each of the sequences.Sharmila is equally powerful,and both have shared a terrific on screen chemistry.Sanjay Dutt excels,though he got very less on screen time..Jhon was OK.. The only minus point of the movie is the climax..It could have been more twisted and realistic. One person is worth mentioning here is Amitabh Dayal..He was terrific.

Some of the scenes which were well executed,

1) Amitabh Sharmila's conversations 2) Amitabh,Sharmila, Jhon and his wife together chatting at the bedroom. 3) Sanjay Dutt bashing the advocate. 4) Big B's conversation with Amitabh Dayal at the climax. 5) Big B pretending laughing at the park and bursts into tear.

Go for the movie. You will like it.

Sam

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Comfort, loss and struggle

7/10
Author: Peter Young from Earth
21 March 2011

Viruddh starts as a very nice and light family movie which presents an elderly middle-class couple played by Amitabh Bachchan and Sharmila Tagore living an ordinary and happy life while their only son is settled in London. Soon he comes back with a young non-Indian girlfriend and following his parents' approval, the two get married. While everything seems to be perfect, a tragedy strikes the family when their son is killed in a party. There starts a hard double-struggle for the family, as they have to live with the pain of losing their only son and at the same time prove the murder and his innocence as it was covered up by false reports of him being a smuggler.

At first, Viruddh is a watchable yet strikingly ordinary movie and it looks like nothing special is coming. When the son came back with a new foreign bride, I thought this would be the film's main conflict and was prepared to be disappointed by an old-fashioned melodrama. But a rather unexpected twist changed the picture and slowly the story started taking shape. Mahesh Manjrekar is a prolific director and some of his films are excellent. Viruddh is not at all his best, but it is an appreciable effort. After watching Baghban, a good but melodramatic movie, somehow I thought this one would be similar in execution and I was wrong. Manjrekar pays attention to small details and portrays the movie realistically.

The second half is interesting, although the concept itself does tend to remind of those horrible masala movies dealing with injustice and corruptness. The movie does falter there a bit, but Manjrekar tries to do everything differently by giving the narrative a rather subtle feel, and he partly succeeds. The film has absolutely no songs, it is devoid of overdone melodrama, the characters look authentic and genuine, and the dialogues are simple. More than anything, what marks the film is the portrayal of the elderly couple, their love, their care for each other, and their common pain and struggle. Again, unlike the exaggerated romance in Baghban, here their relationship looks believable and real.

The film's main lead is played by Amitabh Bachchan and Sharmila Tagore, and both are excellent. They were not paired together that much in their heydays, but their chemistry here is very good. Just look at the scenes portraying their struggle post their son's death. There isn't much overdone sentimentality, just quiet suffering. This phase of the film is very convincing, and due credit goes to them. Bachchan efficiently plays his character's grief and determination. Tagore delivers one of her finest performances. The first half is entirely dominated by her wonderful presence, while the second presents her brilliantly understated portrait of anguish and strength.

Among the supporting actors, Sanjay Dutt is very likable as the neighbour. Anusha Dhandekar is pretty good as the daughter in-law. John Abraham is okay, nothing impressive, and well, his is not that demanding a role to begin with. This brings me to one of the film's aspects which I quite disliked, and it's the narration. I cannot understand why Abraham's character had to appear on-screen while narrating the story. It took away a lot from the credibility and did not contribute much. The ending is very sugarcoated, and reminded me in a way of B.R Chopra's Insaaf Ka Tarazu. Having said that, this one is definitely better than Chopra's son Ravi's Baghban, and is quite a nice movie overall.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Sharmila is back and oh so good!

Author: doughboy401 from Minneapolis, USA
24 July 2005

Wow did I like this movie. I might even buy it. First of all, to see Sharmila Tagore acting after SO long (24 years, I think) is like watching a beautiful butterfly light on a nearby flower. She really hasn't lost it. She's amazing. And she and Amitabh still do the couple thing well. I can't really decide if he's better with Jaya or Sharmila. He's such a great actor, he can turn it on and off whenever the director says "action".

The story is about an Indian boy who goes to a party, sees a woman shot, and decides to intervene. Huge mistake. The shooter is the son of the Home Minister, and before the struggle is over the, boy (Amar, son of Vidhya) has been fatally shot himself. He had JUST been properly married by his parents to Jenny, his love who is English. Of course the whole family and all its friends is totally convulsed, including Jenny who has seen her husband snatched away by death on the wedding day itself.

Well, the whole rest of the movie is about the struggle of Vidhya to get justice for his dead son. It is narrated by the ghost of Amar (more ghosts, ghosts seem all over the place in Bollywood). The theme of the movie is that when powerful people commit heinous crimes, Justice becomes not only blind but deaf and cold-hearted.

There are so many nice performances in this movie, its impossible to remember them all. Sanjay Dutt plays a mechanic who buys the building next to Vidhya's house and does noisy repair work when Vidhya and Sumi are taking an afternoon nap. There is a lot of conflict at first, but eventually they all become best friends. It becomes important to the plot.

John Abraham. Man he is GREAT as the faithful and respectful son. I know this won't make him give up his "bad boy" persona, but now fans know he has two (or more) dimensions. Jenny is played by Anusha Dhandekar who did an item number in the Rahul Bose-Perizaad Zorabian movie Mumbai Matinée. Her English accent (assuming someone didn't dub the movie) gives me to believe she is NRI. In any case, she is bahut bahut cute! She reminds me of a more familiar actress but I can't think of whom.

It is not a very musical movie, so don't expect that. It is a family drama and masala in the sense of laughter and tears all mixed together.

Anyway, for Amitji, Sharmilaji, and John, I give it an 8/10. And here's hoping Sharmila is now "back in the saddle" for good. She can give her son a bit of competition.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Stellar! One of the best films of 2005!

10/10
Author: Sherazade from United States
5 March 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you thought or think this film was a clunker, then too bad for you. Viruddh is one of those rare movies that come around every once in a while to put all those popcorn flickers to shame! It's a great film! It didn't need to be a box office hit, it didn't need to pretend to be anything that it is not, it was a simple story about a family just like any other family touched and shaken by tragedy and that's that. Amitabh Bachchan plays the father of John Abraham's character, a hero type guy who likes to rescue women from the clutches of bad boyfriends. Well, like the Shakira song lyric goes; "It's an animal city, it's a cannibal world, so be obedient and don't argue with some are ready to fight you..." and that pretty much sums up what happens to John in this film. The second half of the film deals with his father seeking justice and trying to restore the glory of his fallen son's name. Stellar performances by Sanjay Dutt and Amitabh Bachchan. A definite must see for all who appreciate fine films.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A slow and typical beginning leads way to an incredible film

7/10
Author: onandonandon92 from here
25 July 2009

Viruddh is a film that has interest for the star power in it. Big B, Sanjay Dutt, and John Abraham make out to be a perfect cast. That's why I got it and was not let down

The first 45 minutes or so of this film is quite slow to the point you wonder if there will be a plot. It reminded me a LOT of another Amitabh/Abraham film Babuul which was really bad... but it turned out this slow beginning was just to get you hooked to the main characters. The husband/wife relationship played by Amitabh and Sharmila is at the heart of this film and without this intro film wouldn't have been as good

but hold on through the dragging beginning because Viruddh surely picks up and becomes an incredible tale. I won't say much because I don't want to give away the plot (which would ruin the film). But I will say that this film is truly unforgettable. Acting is superb, story keeps you going, characters are excellent.

One problem with Viruddh, not really a problem with the film but more of an annoyance was the RIDICULOUS product placement!!! Motor oil shot to the bottle an Sanjay pours it in a car but most hilarious was the WESTERN UNION scene that played no consequence to the film and was a scene added in where John Abraham essentially tells Amitabh just like in the commercials "hey Dad am sending you money, you can go to any location, etc. etc" wih a shot of Amitabh happily going to Western Union. I was cracking up!!! It distracts you from how real the film is... shameless!!! But forgivable because this film is great

And if you like this film you should check out Big B's Family with Akshay Kumar. SImilar like plot and Amitabh's acting is far better.

Both films are great. Enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Exercise in good Film making

7/10
Author: Herag Halli from Heraganahalli, India
18 October 2005

A gaze that can penetrate steel and the clothing of a corrupt Police Officer-the ensuing scene and dialog is a snippet of a good Film. Very few actors are blessed with this talent-like Rod Steiger in the "In the Heat of the Night", Robert De'Nero in "Good Fellas", Al Pacino in "God Father". Bachchan, the indisputable Icon, has managed to give another impeccable role probably the best in his career.This scene coupled with few other memorable scenes puts Mahesh Manjrekar as the top in his Profession. Khedekar as the Police Officer is another fine actor. After"Swades", I enjoyed this movie. The imbeciles who selected "Paheli" as the entry for the Oscars are a National disgrace.This SRK idiot,not just walk the Red carpet but take a walk, period.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history