IMDb > Death Tunnel (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Death Tunnel
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Death Tunnel More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 16:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 156 reviews in total 

125 out of 183 people found the following review useful:

You may never be the same again.

1/10
Author: mr_shane_sims from United States
26 December 2005

Jesus Christ.

I want my 90 minutes back.

It seems like people involved in making the movie must be writing all of the incredibly glowing reviews on here, so after having watched this gutted, burning shell of what could be called a movie I decided to write a little something as a stern and honest warning to people who don't like wasting their time and money.

Death Tunnel, Death Tunnel, oh god end my pain, Death Tunnel.. How could you be so terrible? You have so much going for you on paper:

1) Creepy setting

2) ...

OK, so you really don't have so much going for you, so why did I expect so much out of you? I think it was because I read an interview with your director and he name-dropped a few movies that I really enjoyed as some of his favorite movies of all time. I guess that's makes us all individuals; we can all share seemingly endless qualities with one another as a people, but not all of us have the ability to convince people to pay them to defecate.

Were I able to find someone to financially back my excrement, I would first want to know what they, my financiers, wanted to do with said excrement. Were they going to wear it as a hat? Possibly use it to plug up a leaky faucet? Try and make other people pay more money than they invested in it to sit down and watch this turd for 90 minutes? OK, hold the phone, you're telling me that people would pay money to look at my feces if you had your say about it, Daddy Warbucks? It's a deal, but, would you mind if I polished it up a bit? After all, it is MY feces.

Oh Death Tunnel, if only the people responsible for your excretion wanted you to be anything more than a pile of droppings... If only they could see that, as you are, you are so much dead weight around the shoulders of humankind, the yoke of Rushed Out Crap to DVD that is synonymous with other movies that fail as miserably as you do. If only people wouldn't stand for your brand of completely banal tripe with horrible, ADD editing glazed on in post to try and stupefy the audience since there's no other form of emotional connection to them that you are capable of presenting.

If you love your life, if you cherish your time spent being alive, please, resist any and every urge that you may have to watch this travesty of cinema. Cut off your own feet if it would stop you from walking to the store where you might accidentally buy it because you think the box art looks interesting. Gouge out your own eyes if it somehow finds itself in your DVD player. You might even want to go so far as to remove your own tongue if it would keep you from mentioning the movie to someone else.

This movie is Death Tunnel, after all, and yes, it really is that bad.

Was the above review useful to you?

80 out of 100 people found the following review useful:

Poor......VERY POOR!

1/10
Author: jabrodie from Australia
25 January 2006

If there really is a death tunnel...then please somebody lock this trash up in it.

The shock value/scare factor is about 4 on a scale of 100 as far as triller/horror goes, the plot line fragmented beyond belief, the vaseline lens affect wreaks of soft porn and so for that matter does the acting...

A waste of time....a waste of money...and a waste of someone elses idea's.

What might be scary is the fact that some seemed to like it....my god what have we become? Miss this one by a long way if possible.

Was the above review useful to you?

70 out of 84 people found the following review useful:

The story promised... but it went in awful awe.

2/10
Author: jpgonc from Lisbon, Portugal
7 February 2006

Death Tunnel was more than disappointing... it was abysmally bad. DT looked promising but unfortunately it showed a dull directing with lots of flashes, no gore, no spooks, no sense at all and an unbelievable pain to watch.

I do not have the habit to walk out the theater unless the movie finishes, but with Death Tunnel there were plenty of times where I thought about it. But I stay, hoping that something good could come... frustration... it never did.

The only positive thing about this mess was the hot chicks and the beautiful set of the sanatorium... that's why I thought it was going to be cool to see it. The trailer just got me wrong.

Death Tunnel is really a Death Tunnel... you feel you're trying to reach the light at the end, but the faster you try to walk or run, it seems the endurance never ends.

Avoid at all costs or check it if you like to torture yourself!

Was the above review useful to you?

63 out of 87 people found the following review useful:

Well made,decent acting,terrible film!

2/10
Author: maxsimmus2004 from United Kingdom
29 December 2005

Well made,decent acting,terrible film!Simply put,this film is nothing more than a supernatural slasher/teens in trouble movie,it tries so hard to be something special and fails miserably.There are so many flashbacks its hard to tell whats going on,instead of building the scares up the viewer is faced with countless images thrown at them that there is very little shock value left after the first quarter of the film.The story line is one that has been used literally hundreds of times before,I won,t spoil the story but is consists of five girls in a sorority type initiation etc,etc. .if you are a fan of horror movies you will have seen it many times before.A good location is wasted on a movie that tries to be too intelligent for its own good.Poor.

Was the above review useful to you?

50 out of 69 people found the following review useful:

Abysmal

1/10
Author: Lex Fulgore (Naturezrevenge) from Canada
28 January 2006

Pitiful acting, incomprehensible editing, cliché "scares", terrible story and a thoroughly pointless waste of time. Better acting has been observed in high school dramas than in this messy, amateurish effort. The only redeemable feature of this bomb is the location. This is very poor film making at its very worst. It's like "House on Haunted Hill" mated with an 80's teen aged sex/slasher romp and bore a hideously deformed mess of half-naked horse-faced women and a shockingly unimaginative plot story unsuccessfully held together by effects that one could enjoy watching a movie made by teenagers who have access to a camera, a computer and a spooky location. Did I mention this movie sucks? AVOID.

Note: Many of the "reviews" for this incredibly poor film seem to be written by people who actually worked on this film or were hired to promote it. Go read a book or watch something that will leave you with something besides the vague sense of being robbed of 90 minutes of your life that you'll never get back.

Was the above review useful to you?

54 out of 78 people found the following review useful:

Worst movie ever

1/10
Author: the_head-1 from Germany
29 January 2006

Don't believe any of the good comments above. These people have some wicked way of torture themselves. I seen this film and I also want my 90min of lost time and my money back. Not even the three chicks which are put in for being slaughtered are very attractive. One has so many silicone or whatever the use nowadays in her lips that its not possible to look at her for longer without wondering when her lips will explode. The whole film got no tension at all and you just want the next girl to be kill so this torture of looking has an end. Maybee you can use this film to torture your boy/girlfriend but this will be the only horror this film will possible can used for. Please do yourself something good and leave this film alone.

Was the above review useful to you?

43 out of 63 people found the following review useful:

You have to understand to appreciate

6/10
Author: Maritimuz
16 June 2006

If you watch this movie without knowing any of the history, I can understand why you would say it sucks; and I would agree. However, you need to understand what the director is trying to accomplish in order to appreciate what is going on.

Waverly Hills Sanatorium is a real place in Kentucky. It was built as a hospital to fight TB back in the early 1900's. There wasn't a cure, and morale was low, so the death tunnel was built to export bodies out of the building without the living seeing them. Patients not seeing the high death rate were given a new hope. It's an amazing building with an intriguing past, and is truly believed to be haunted.

Many of the scenes the director portrayed are actual accounts of what people have said to have witnessed. He's taken these stories and attempted to derive a horror flick. For this reason, and this reason alone, I would recommend the movie.

Now, to get to the movie.

First off, the acting isn't brilliant. Kristin Novak's character Ashley is ridiculously obnoxious, and the others are over-dramatic. The storyline isn't put together well, and it doesn't do a very good of explaining what is going on, so it's hard to follow. (If you know the history of Waverly Hills, it's not as bad).

I dug the movie because of it's history, not because it's good. I would definitely recommend checking out the episode of Ghost Hunters (Sci-Fi Channel) where they investigate the building; or check out the documentary (Also directed by Booth and aired on the Sci-Fi Channel).

The Waverly Hills Sanatorium is an amazing place, and it's a shame that the movie isn't any better.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Mostly uninteresting and unexciting.

4/10
Author: Crazyfarts from Australia
3 June 2006

Movie is based on the True Stories and Hauntings of Waverly Hills Sanatorium in Louisville, Kentucky. This horrific Five story structure is listed as one of the Top Ten Scariest Places on Earth, due to the 63,000+ deaths within this monument of Terror. They were then carried through the massive Five hundred foot underground Tunnel to their final resting place. The story involves Five girls on a college initiation, dared to spend the night separately on the Five floors of this sanatorium, with the Five ghosts that exist within it's abandoned corridors. Will they make it through the night? For the only way out is through...the Death Tunnel.

This is a film which tries to scare you with cheap imagery and jump scenes. There's nothing really good about this movie (maybe the girls?), it does have a haunting setting and theme but it's executed amateurly. They also rip-off multiple mainstream movies, most notably SAW.

After a few moments into the movie, you realize it's basically just another teen movie (the awful parties, the bitchy girls etc). After they pick some of the most sluttiest girls from our new generation to spend their time in the "haunted" place, you get a movie riddled with confusion. You can be sure to watch girls walk around, investigate and yell out "What the hell am I doing here?" type questions.

The acting isn't too bad but the characters all suck and have shitty lines. So its hard for me to rate them but they seem OK. I like the music in the movie but it's repeated at nauseum. It's like they loved it so much, it was the best part of the movie... it was the movie! Death Tunnel is a bullshit ride which House On Haunted Hill remake lovers could endure but any self-respecting horror fan will realize it's just a festival of try-hard "scary" stuff happening on screen. There's too much scene chopping and flashbacks to keep it progressing well.

Mostly uninteresting and unexciting.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Flashy images, hot women, and NOTHING else

4/10
Author: iarepacman from New Jersey
7 March 2006

If Tool were playing during this movie, and about 92 of the 97 run time cut, this would make a really cool music video. As it stands though, its just what the subject line says. A bunch of flashy 9though admittedly well shot) images. Its like the "writers" sat down and though of some things which creeped them out, then scribbled down a script that allowed those images to be seen. I say script and not story, because there really is no discernible story or plot going on. It jumps all over the place from a mother/daughter tale, to a rich snotty girl, all tangled up in "the white plague". If asked to write a summary for the plot, I would be left clueless, as i truly have no idea. The fx, minimal as they are are all decent enough, but the person who really stands out (the films only real saving grace) is the production design. that person should be proud, as the look of the film is definitely disturbing and creepy. Honestly though, despite the often nude very attractive women, this movie was a struggle to get through.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Oh.My.God...

1/10
Author: xela_rate from New Zealand
14 April 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

utter utter crap!!!! We read the box and were grossly naieve to believe that the description was in any way remotely what we watched - we have just polluted our minds - Give me Tequila!!!!!! This is possibly the worst movie ever made I would rather sit and watch grass grow - grow you good thing grow!!! - The Producers, Messrs Booth, obviously did not get any action in college and frequently fantasised about skanky scantily clad morons with nothing to recommend them but their silicon enhanced boobs/lips!!! The story line was regurgitated from a blender and you should be ashamed of yourselves for steeling several horror story lines and calling it entertainment!!! The claim "based on true events..." is nothing more than an actual true event stolen from a documentary which left 5 girls in Waverly Hills Sanitorium overnight! None of them actually died!!!! I am sure that the people who died from TB would be overjoyed at the use of their suffering and that of the nurses who committed suicide - you pigs!!!!! one last warning if you have not already subjected your poor poor brain to this attrocity then DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES - drugs won't help- watch it!! Thank god NZs cinemas did not bother wasting box office time with this, we are truly blessed - If you really want to watch horror with an intelligent and entertaining story line check out Peter Jacksons earlier movies pre Lord of the Rings!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 16:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history