IMDb > Dangerous Parking (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Dangerous Parking
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Dangerous Parking More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

42 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

You simply must see this film

10/10
Author: Red-earth from United Kingdom
24 January 2008

I must say that coming out of the screening for Dangerous Parking is one of the rare occasions where I have genuinely been 'moved' by a film, so I think that coming out saying "I really enjoyed it....It was a great movie....What a great performance etc etc" now seem like stock and clichéd responses to a film that deserves so much more.

I find it hard for anybody who has lived, loved and lost, not to be profoundly moved and affected by Dangerous Parking. It is one of the most honest, real, raw and beautiful films that I have ever seen about the human condition, warts and all. Peter Howitt gave a performance that was, to most Oscar nominated male leads, what junior school nativities are to RSC performances. He gave a blistering, acerbic, and - in more ways than the literal - naked, performance. It demands to be noticed and acclaimed.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

A British Ivan's XTC with a dash of Witnail and I

9/10
Author: Alistair Newlands (alistair@anewlands.orangehome.co.uk) from London
13 October 2008

What an unexpected Gem, British film making minus Danny Dyer minus Guy Ritchie minus Colin Firth = ' Excellent ' … Don't switch off after the first 5 minutes as this could be our typical British flop. Narration,, freeze frame ,, loser introspective rewind, loads of swearing, attitude, over use of flashback etc

However the film draws you in . And succeeds through the bombastic central performance from its lead Peter Howit through the effective use of narration and non chronological story telling, all too often exploited in modern cinema

On reflection this is a modern day shakespearean tragedy .. A triumph in modern cinema which succeeds in making you laugh whilst conveying a very sad and poignant message of one mans search for redemption

With a raw honesty served on a plate of hilarious self destructive loathing the narrator introduces his world of drug fuelled decadence with at times hilarious results, before his admission to rehab in an effort to resurrect his life . The latter part of the film turns decidedly dark and is at times difficult viewing so be prepared for an emotional roller-coaster..

Try and imagine Ivan's XTC meets Trainspotting meets Witnail and I ? I !

A MUST SEE

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Rare.

8/10
Author: Carl Fitzgerald from United Kingdom
26 November 2008

The opening five minutes or so of this film sit so uneasily with the rest of it that I'm inclined to wonder if they were a veiled satire of the state of most modern British cinema with it's desperate eagerness to please and self conscious coolness. Lets just say these initial scenes almost made me switch off. I'm glad I didn't.

What follows is a glorious mess of a film. A tumble of ideas and emotion mixed up and thrown at the screen. 'Dangerous Parking' is worthy to be included with Nic Roeg's most frustrating, delirious and brilliant output. It's rare to see a film that doesn't compromise or treat it's audience like a tested demographic. This film deserves to be seen and felt by people who love cinema. Watching Peter Howitt's performance is like watching a drowning man. Uncomfortable but compelling.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

What a brilliant film

10/10
Author: Armin Völckers from Germany
14 December 2008

In some ways Peter Howitt's work of (undiluted) genius is a counterpart to Truffaut's "La Nuit Américaine", although it's kind of an updated version. Following the other reviewer's suggestion I would say it's the "Trainspotting" version of it. If there ever was a portrait of a filmmaker on film, this is it. This film should be required watching for everybody who loves films and who wants to know how it is to make one. And yet it's so much more. It's a huge portion of life squeezed into 110 minutes of yours. It's amazing, it's f.....g brilliant (as a German I'm hesitant to use swearwords, but hey) it's a ride-of-a-lifetime it's so much more than in my humble words I would ever be able to describe. I watched it in Tokyo on the film festival and one hour after I left the screening I started to cry, in the middle of a crowded street. Or no, I laughed and cried at the same time. Actually I thought they might arrest me, but nothing happened. Maybe they felt pity for me, or thought people do that in Europe - but what they didn't notice was, it was a GLORIOUS crying, because I realized, in an instant, how wonderful it is to be alive. What a film.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

An amazingly powerful, exciting and emotional piece of art

10/10
Author: John Callahan from United States
3 October 2008

Having been recommended this book by friend I did the usual and tracked down the movie version. Good move on my part, and thanks to my friend.

'Dangerous Parking' tells the story of a man named, Noah Arkwright, a (fictitious) successful independent film director, who after a long drug fueled orgy of a life, decides to trade it all in for rehab, sobriety, and the stability of a nuclear family. Yet his struggles to maintain his power over addiction become only secondary to a much more grave struggle, an illness that his addictions to drugs and alcohol have already put on him before he could sober up.

The entire film is narrated by Arkwright, sometimes in the first person, yet in many scenes he narrates as if he's an outsider watching himself act out a scene in a movie. The moments where he separates his narrative voice from his character in the film are positively brilliant and usually serve to bring humor to the situation quite effectively.

While the movie is mostly light on drama and heavy on comedy for the first three-quarters of the film, the last quarter of the film takes a decidedly darker tone, a tone which I didn't anticipate considering the majority of the film before that point had been comedic and humorous. This movie is both comedy and drama, emphasis on comedy (specifically dark comedy and British humor), with a dramatic conclusion to top everything all off.

The story structure is chronologically broken, consisting of several out of sequence scenes, often intertwined with flashbacks of Arkwright's life. It's quite simple and easy to follow the plot because Arkwright's narration sets up each scene rather well for the viewer but his narrations don't reveal everything leaving some rather fantastic surprises for the viewer to discover on his or her own.

The acting is fantastic, really, really amazing. Peter Howitt, who assumes the role of the protagonist (in addition to writing and directing the film) is stunningly powerful in this role. This performance is truly an achievement in acting, and if Howitt won awards for his work in this film I would be very deserved. Howitt's performance can only be so well appreciated due to him being surrounded by a great cast with equally well done performances. Saffron Burrows and Sean Pertwee put in top performances as well which only strengthen the absolutely flawless acting accomplished by Howitt.

If you are in the mood for a drama but don't want a heavy or overly serious drama there is no better film than 'Dangerous Parking' to watch. If you are in the mood purely for laughs I would recommend on holding off on watching this film as there are many moments where laughing is anything but appropriate. This is one of the best combination of comedy in drama in a film I have experienced in quite some time, truly refreshing, and any avid film viewing individual should not pass this movie up.

10/10. Will be recommending, the movie version, to all of my friends.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

an undiscovered gem

9/10
Author: Screen_Talent from United Kingdom
22 January 2009

I was vaguely aware of this film before it was released, and I must admit, there was little about it that was compelling me to see it. But I watched it on DVD the other night, and thought it was easily one of the best British pictures of the last few years. It's a compelling story, and in spite of all the profanity, the vomiting and the many puerile outbursts, we really do engage with Noah, performed brilliantly by Peter Howitt. It's a gem of a film, and how it bypassed cinemas when so many truly appalling films find their way to multiplexes up and down the country is a mystery to me. Find it on DVD. And I defy anyone not to enjoy it.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

What an awesome roller-coaster of a movie

10/10
Author: Trevski from United Kingdom
21 November 2008

I have read the book after seeing the trailer for the movie and wasn't overawed by it, but last week saw the movie and I have to say that Mr Howitt has created a work of genius.

He has managed to take all the tat out of the book and turn it into one fantastic movie. Admittedly it would be difficult to follow with the time flips if you hadn't read the book and the film is based in the UK as opposed to the US in the most part in the book.

But what a movie. Shocked by the ending, but what a ride all the way there. It was a movie that stayed with me all day the next day after watching it - it made me laugh, cry and feel emotive towards Noah - the anti-hero.

It will be the next Trainspotting for cult status. It was the only film in an awful long time that I wanted to watch again the next day to absorb everything that went on. Peter - you have managed to turn a good book into a wicked movie. I just cannot understand why it wasn't bigger, when you see the tat that the big studios release and earn millions - why was this not one of them? Wonders never cease.

My name is my own!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Anyone with any interest in films or life - WATCH AND ENJOY

10/10
Author: Kane D Williams from United Kingdom
1 August 2009

All the other comments have said everything I wanted to say about this seminal piece of work.

I only watched it yesterday and have already forced two other people to watch it and they also loved it and thanked me for the nudge. I'm dying to see it again already. Best film I've seen in a long time. Wish I'd discovered it 2 years ago! I'd love to work on a film with Peter Howitt, with him in either a directing, acting or writing role, as I think the guy is amazing (if you are listening, please let me edit something for you - haha).

Not sure if this film won any awards, but if not, that is a crying shame.

I have met David Barrett, the film's editor and must congratulate him on a great job also.

WATCH THIS FILM!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Bitterly funny and achingly sad, a remarkable movie!

10/10
Author: shoolaroon from usa
28 May 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I may be going overboard with the rating, but I would definitely give it no less than 8, and I want to encourage people to see this movie. I kind of rolled my eyes at the beginning as I thought it was a bit indulgent and over the top, but once the story got rolling, I was captivated by the lead character, British filmmaker Noah Arkwright, and his stumbling battle towards both sobriety and becoming a family man. Noah is so abrasive, profane and cynical, that while he's bitingly funny, at first you don't feel much sympathy. He reminded me of Gordon Ramsay. But when he's in the sober house and encounters the spirit of his mother, who died at his birth, I found myself deeply touched as well. We assume so much about people but it turns out we really don't know them at all and why they turned out a certain way. Noah meets the right woman and has a lovely child, but his past life of debauchery starts to catch up with him in the form of recurrent bouts of cancer. Even at its darkest this film never loses its humor or its humanity. The last half hour or so can be quite harrowing with Noah's medical treatments, but it's never depressing. The end is really, really well done and surprising, and really touched me. I don't think I will ever forget this film, and I'm eager to find my own copy now. A truly great film about addiction, sickness, spirituality, and the healing power of love.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Good, but not amazing

6/10
Author: fustbariclation from South Africa
1 February 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I think that the reviews so far are rather over-the-top in their praise. Yes, this is a good film, it's amusing in places and it's a pretty good film about dying.

It has some distinct longueurs, though. The whole alcoholics anonymous thing goes on too long, really, as does the rehabilitation stuff. As you'd expect, the AA doesn't really do anything for him, and it's rather sad that he can't enjoy a jar or two once he knows he's going to be dead shortly - something rather nasty about that. True enough, to life, in a way, it is all pretty tedious, but, when watching a film, you don't really need so much of the tedium to get the point.

The doctors, like the girlfriends, were all cut-out characters, making it, as the man says, a very self-indulgent film. I enjoyed it, though, on the whole.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history