IMDb > The Kid & I (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Kid & I
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Kid & I More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 7 reviews in total 

25 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Funny, heartfelt, appropriate family movie.

Author: SpaceComics from Colorado
3 December 2005

I saw 3 new movies this weekend (12/3/05), and of them all The Kid And I was the best. This one is from the heart, and the only recent movie you could say that about. It's based on the true experience of Tom Arnold (who appeared with Arnold Schwarzenneger and Jamie Lee Curtis in True Lies) with a young neighbor, Eric Gores, who has cerebral palsy. In the fictionalized movie, Arnold plays out-of-work actor Bill Williams (who also appeared in True Lies), about to commit suicide when his agent (Henry Winkler) tells him millionaire Joe Montegna (Searching For Bobby Fisher) offered half a million dollars to make a movie co-starring his son (Gores), who, like the actor playing him, has cerebral palsy.

You could tell the film was made with a relatively low budget (occasionally imperfect lighting, for instance), and Arnold's script has a few corny clichés, but on the whole it's original, imaginative, somewhat poignant, and as funny as most comedies out this year. What's more, the film is both entertaining for adults and appropriate for the whole family, with a minimum of the crude humor that permeates most of the other funny movies I've seen this year.

As an added bonus there are a number of cameo appearances by big stars. If you liked Arnold in The Stupids, this one doesn't have quite as much silly humor, but on balance is just as good. Heartily recommended for the whole family.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Short Review

Author: jimalbe from Cleveland, Ohio
12 December 2005

The Kid & I was much better than I expected it to be. It wasn't great, but it did leave you feeling good at the end.

The performances were good as well. Good humor by Tom Arnold and laugh out loud moments by Val. (Gabby Sanalitro) Let's hope we get to see more of her in the future.

I would suggest seeing this film with your family. It is definitely the type of film that kids can relate to.

Gores also did a fine job, and should be an inspiration to other families that have children with CP.

If you can't catch it at the theater, it's worth renting.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

Forest Gump Meets Hollywood

Author: scorpiogirlinla from United States
13 November 2005

A dark comedy about a has-been actor and a kid with a disability would have been an impossible task had it not been for the brilliant screen writing by Tom Arnold and the amazing performances by both him and Eric Gomes. I walked into this movie thinking it would be another lame comedy about L.A. and was blindsided by an extraordinary experience. The movie is about love and friendship and compassion. I laughed and I cried. I was lucky enough to be able to attend the premiere of this film at the AFI film festival in L.A. and got a chance to meet the filmmakers. I was lucky enough to tell them something I would rarely tell an actor, producer, or director. What I said was, "Thank you for making such a beautiful movie."

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

"The man of many talents"

Author: leighannell from United Kingdom
14 October 2006

Now now now now ,before i begin bare in mind this man MR TOM ARNOLD is one of those people who makes a 1000 films but will be remembered for..

1.being married to Rosanne barr and 2.The great action flick TRUE LIES.

Now type in this film "The kid and i" in to search engines and well the review make the film suck but pay no attention and sit your bum on a seat a watch.

Now i walked in to this film already thinking oh its a film about disabilities we are going to be made to cry and donate money but i was surprised to see this film deals with it with pride ,wit and tasteful humour. Plus look out for the guest stars such as shaq ,arnie and loads others but the stars are without question are ERIC GORES AND MR TOM ARNOLD... The KID and I is one of those films that loses itself in DVD bins but should have been on the big screen ,i give this the big thumbs up...

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

One goof

Author: marceloperroni from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
21 January 2007

I loved this film!! But I still thought it could have a better direction and acting. Great actors, but it seemed like they were making a student film. Using Arnold and Jamie to attract viewers was a low blow, and they didn't have any significant part in the movie. I can't think of a reason why the governor of California would do that. But besides all that, it's great if you can connect to the message it leaves us. The one goof I saw and that is not on the movie page, is when Bonnie (Brenda Strong) is talking to Bill (Tom Arnold) at the movie theatre. When she gets close to him, she's wearing a pair of black shoes. And when she leaves with the family, you can clearly see she's barefooted. Anyway, watch it, and enjoy! It's worth the time and the money.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Good, Heartfelt, Fun

Author: vislandgirl from United States
24 October 2006

I was REALLY starting to dislike Tom Arnold as an"ACTOR" and a person in general. But this movie made me think that ..just maybe he is not such a bad guy after all. It's fun, cute and sincere, and he took the inside jokes about himself without ever compromising the main character. The whole concept of the film was similar to the lets make a wish foundation where a dying kid gets to make his dream come true. but although this guy was not dying, you went on anyway and kept your own character from dying, because, obviously as "THE KID" shows you. Life; no matter how bad ; isn't really that bad after all. Kudos Tom, you showed you're a REAL person.

Was the above review useful to you?

"As inoffensive and as genial as it is daming"

Author: Steve Pulaski from United States
20 January 2014

The Kid & I is as inoffensive and as genial as it is damning, and as heartfelt as it is uneven, with its premise that manages to go in about six different directions and only halfway accomplishes each. However, it's hard and almost unfair to bash a film that so sentimentally wears its heart on its sleeve as this one does. It's a good-natured effort from Tom Arnold, whose good-naturedness has seemingly got him to be nothing but the butt of everyone's jokes for the past decade.

At least in The Kid & I, he plays a character we don't mind being around. He plays Bill Williams, a hasbeen actor who is just about to execute plans to kill himself. He already has his gravestone personalized and made out and he's just about ready to down a whole container of pills and wash it down with a fifth of vodka. He has already sent out letters to people like his ex-wife detailing his suicide, and in efforts to give all his clothes to someone who would use them better he gives them to a bum who simultaneously follows him inside and foils his suicide plan.

Out of options and frustrated, Bill is contacted by his agent (an out-of-place Henry Winkler) who informs him that a millionaire is seeking Bill's expertise in order to create a film similar to his only hit True Lies with Arnold Schwarzenegger for his teenage son. It just so happens that the millionaire's teenage son has cerebral palsy and his favorite film is True Lies. The boy's name is Aaron Roman (Eric Gores), and his dreams are in line with many other seventeen-year-old's - he wants to engage in high-octane fights, street races, and get the girl by the end of it all.

So Bill makes a hearty attempt at making the boy's dream come true, all while giving his own particular life a purpose. Arnold plays a likable character here, while Gores, who really suffers from cerebral palsy, creates a charming character, who very well could be himself in real life. Arnold and Gores achieve a warm tenderness in some sequences, particularly one where they're discussing their characters' love interests for the film. Aaron suggests Arielle Kebbel, a Maxim model, for his love interest, while suggesting Rosie O'Donnell for Bill's. Here's a scene where a Roseanne Barr joke would've worked perfectly.

As the film goes on it bares this indescribable awkwardness that needs to be addressed. For some reason, the entire film seems to have a lot of dead-air and instances where echos can audibly be heard either from microphones that had no particular windscreen or no shield from excess noise. The entire setup creates a stunning artificiality, that of a soap opera or just a weirdly-orchestrated public access TV special. Then there's the barrage of celebrity cameos, including Shaquille O'Neal, Bill Goldberg, Jamie Lee Curtis, and Arnold Schwarzenegger that only add to the film's awkward senses.

Still, The Kid & I is a difficult film to criticize given its cheery nature and good-hearted characters. The film was directed by Penelope Spheeris, who apparently likes to be a tad self-referential in her projects by having a character state they'll get Penelope Spheeris to direct their little film because she comes cheap. Spheeris, who manned the ship with films such as Black Sheep, The Beverly Hillbillies, and Wayne's World, gives us a pleasantly soft and welcoming approach to the material, while Arnold, serving as the writer and co-producer, doesn't hesitate to venture into a grimmer territory with the story of a Hollywood talent that never quite gained traction after his fifteen minutes of fame.

As stated, The Kid & I is difficult to dislike because of the fact it's so openly warm and is okay on being sentimental and an emotional work. Yet, the film is very uneven, mainly due to Arnold's wise if tricky inclusion of darker elements, the distracting celebrity cameos, the goofball humor, the shameless moralizing, and the inanity that so many odds and ends are coming together. Spheeris and Arnold, however, ground the film into reality to a certain degree, giving you the idea that if a medium-budget action movie production were being thrown together for the benefit of a disabled teenager this is kind of what it would look like. For giving its strange concept a pragmatic life, the picture deserves credit, even though it's reward at the end of the day is a tad questionable.

Starring: Tom Arnold, Eric Gores, Linda Hamilton, Henry Winkler, Richard Edson, Brenda Strong, Arielle Kebbel, Shannon Elizabeth, Joe Mantegna, Shaquille O'Neal, Bill Goldberg, Jamie Lee Curtis, and Arnold Schwarzenegger. Directed by: Penelope Spheeris.

Was the above review useful to you?

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history