IMDb > "I Love the '90s" (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
"I Love the '90s" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

I love VH1's nostalgic creations.

Author: radical-ed
7 October 2004

I have to say, even though the later segments of "I love the 90's" seem to have been filmed a bit too soon (I love 1998 and I love 1999 specifically) This walk down RECENT memory lane is quite refreshing.

Making appearances to jibe at last decade's pop culture are: Hal Sparks, Michael Ian Black, Michael Bolton, and countless others including Lord of the Rings' Dominic Monaghan.

Even if you HATE the 90's you'll get a chuckle of the comments from the various celebrities they feature.

Highlights include:

Dominic Monaghan doing the MC Hammer Dance; Hal Sparks doing the "Forbidden Dance"; Jibes at films such as Resivior Dogs, Point Break, Austin Powers, and more; Insults to Garth Brooke and Billy Ray Cyrus; The "hotties of the 1990's"; The dirty rocker guys of 1990's; And the answer to the infamous question "why in the world would you clone a sheep?"

"They're all the same, they wear wooly sweaters and they go baaah."~~Dominic Monaghan.

If you need a good laugh I suggest you keep your eyes on VH1's program listings and catch it the next time it's on.

I give this an 8 out of 10 stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Flaws

8/10
Author: incuwhitestripes
13 July 2004

The series is very good but they spent too much time on one subject. VH1 also puts together a lot of animated things into video footage. One example is after they introduced the Where's Waldo book, in pictures and video, they'd show Waldo to the side as a little secret joke. There were also instances where they would show music videos and put the little computer animated baby from Ally McBeal to come in and dance. Many celebrities' heads are also put on different bodies to make the scene comedic. More things could have been covered but good nonetheless. I don't think enough fashion styles were talked about/shown. It is a good series but I think perhaps it came out a little too early. The write-ins to the Snapple lady and the Jay and Silent Bob rename TV shows were very stupid. Overall, I would recommend watching it if you're in for a little nostalgia.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Review from a long-time viewer- GOOD

10/10
Author: movie_go_round from Cincy, OH
17 July 2004

I think I speak for everyone when I say that VH1's decade documentaries have been getting better as we go along. I love the '90s is hilarious. The panel of celebrities (if that's what you call them) dare to say all the things we think about events of the 1990's- from Snoop Dogg to Amy Fisher to Furbies-- a hilarious miniseries. The format is basically the same as it has been in the previous documentaries (80s, 70s, 80s strikes back)-- a year is covered in one hour, event by event, movie by movie, song by song, with commentary from a very funny panel of people who survived all 10 years of the '90s. You'll crack up every time Hal Sparks, Michael Ian Black, Mo Rocca, and many others provide their insight into the '90s, reminding us that we love the '90s!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Thank you VH1!

Author: Cubanita1117
13 July 2004

I lost faith in VH1 when they started playing the unfunny, uninteresting "Best Week Ever". How could you have a documentary without the hilarious Michael Ian Black and the sexy, sexy Hal Sparks but actually include the totally boring Mo Rocca and Rachael Harris (and other unfunny, uninteresting comedians who actually think they're funny, for that matter)? I almost considered never watching VH1 again.... That is, until last night, when "I Love The 90s" premiered! Granted, I've only seen two episodes (1990 and 1991) and you did leave out some important things (Home Alone, and even Mariah Carey's debut). But I laughed out loud with my long-missed favorites- Hal Sparks, Michael Ian Black, John Mayer, Loni Love, and yummy newcomer Dominic Monaghan (good move VH1)! And not to mention it was a good excuse to scope out some more eye candy. As always, I got pretty excited when Hal or John's gorgeous face filled the screen, it's always great to see Dom without his hobbit get up (boy, is he hot, especially when he dances to M.C. Hammer), and when did Jaleel "Steve Urkel" White get hot? But most importantly, judging from last night's episodes, this is going to be the best mini-series of the four of them (80s, 70s, 80s Strikes Back, 90s)- even though they'll probably need to make another '90s documentary, seeing as they left some things out. But VH1, you have restored my faith in you. I totally forgive you.

Was the above review useful to you?

My Favourite album from the 90s

10/10
Author: hayleytodd87 from United Kingdom
4 March 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have chosen the album flash back 90s because my sister used to listen to that when she was 14year years old. Now I listen to it because I like the songs when I go out to the town with my mam and my sister. I like to dance to the songs it brings back memories from when I was younger. I enjoy all the songs on this album, they make feel happy. The songs I like is I got a key and secret and what is love. The other songs are boring because I don't not like them songs. I have chosen the album flash back 90s because my sister used to listen to that when she was 14year years old. Now I listen to it because I like the songs when I go out to the town with my mam and my sister. I like to dance to the songs it brings back memories from when I was younger. I enjoy all the songs on this album, they make feel happy. The songs I like is I got a key and secret and what is love. The other songs are boring because I don't not like them songs.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

What's with all the complainers on E! and Vh1

Author: dlermajr2003 (dlermajr2003@yahoo.com) from El Paso Texas
5 February 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I like the I love the...shows. They're pretty funny, but sometimes the people that comment on them whine a little too much. Not to mention that they seem to think they speak for everybody when they state their opinions on certain topics that appear for each year on the series. For instance, they sure talk a lot of smack about the movie "Twister". Most of them seemed to hate it, but I liked it quite a bit. I don't care if some parts seemed a bit inaccurate. That's what I liked about it--the fantasy.

Anyway, I also mentioned the E! channel as well because they seem to have the same celebrities on all these countdown type shows. There is always a big group of these so called celebrities that seem to think they're better than the people they are badmouthing on these shows (I love the 90's, Best Week Ever, 100 outrageous celebrity moments, etc.) However, there are the select few that make shows like "I love the 90's" enjoyable to watch; such as Michael Ian Black, Hal Sparks, and even Juliette Lewis. Rachel Harris kind of sucks.

To sum up, it's a cool show but some of these celebrities need to lighten up.

P.S. - Scott Ian from Anthrax sucks too.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Too close for nostalgia

Author: hkinkennon from Mojave Desert
20 July 2004

We loved the '80s, then the '70s -- and then the '80s struck back with a vengeance. And now, a decade that is just *too* close for nostalgia -- the '90s! Some of the segments (like revisiting Twin Peaks, my fave show of all time) were fun, and it was nice to catch up on some of the cultural stuff I missed when I was in *graduate school* (Yes, I'm an old fart, compared with some here). Overall, however, the show feels forced and self-indulgent. At least they didn't try to shove a lot of porn down our throats this time.

And it's sad when the regulars, like Michael Ian Black, start joking about how this series is a career killer. Jumping ship might have been the smartest thing that Donal Logue could have done.

Note to VH1: please come up with some fresh new programming -- preferably something without Mo Rocca.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I love the 90's rocks

Author: ihungry from seattle, WA
27 October 2004

I love the 90's rocks just like the whole I love series. Michael Ian Black is one of the coolest and hottest people on that show. Along with Hal Sparks. That guy with the glasses is really funny too. How could you not like moments like Tickle Me Elmo, Or crystal Pepsi which was either in the 80's or 90's but the point is we need insignificant shows like the "I Love..." series for if we had none the world would amount to nothing. Key moments in "I Love..." history: Look back at ABBA, Crystal Pepsi, Rainbow Bright, Tickle ME elmo(by the way there is now an elmo that sings E-L-M-O to the rhythm of Y-M-C-A, That book about the brother and sister in the attic. You know, I know, We all know that we can't live without it.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not quite up to the 70's and 80's standard

Author: KellynMatt (KellynMatt@cfl.rr.com)
8 November 2004

The VH1 series are great!! This is the weakest, and not just because it is so soon. It actually is because they keep the same people. I like the witty dialog that Mo Rocca, Hal Sparks, et al add, but the problem is they provide a weird perspective to the 90's. Whereas in the 70's and 80's everything was about various things they encountered, in the 90's they talk about waiting in line to buy their KIDS stuff. What kind of pop culture reference is that? Of course, they may fit the target audience, but I really think we should have gotten others who had more recent and direct reference to the decade. Nonetheless, the series is spectacular and the 90's is still a great decade to relive.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Without Donal Logue, I LOVE THE 90S falls flat!

Author: Christopher Smith
1 August 2004

For me, the best part of "I Love the '70s", "I Love the '80s", and "I Love the '80s Strikes Back" was having the hilarious Donal Logue on the show so I was disappointed when I found out he would not be returning back for "I Love the '90s". The comedic genius made "I Love the '70s", "I Love the '80s", and "I Love the '80s Strikes Back" more than just a mediocre VH1 special. Despite the fact that Logue would not be a part of "I Love the '90s", I decided to watch it anyway since I enjoyed the previous three entries in the "I Love..." series.

Sub-par to say the least, "I Love the '90s" suffers from the same problems VH1's "Best Week Ever" (also known as "I Love Last Week") does: it lacks name talent and they only talk about topic know one cares about or for that matter even remember. Most of the people on both "I Love the '90s" and "Best Week Ever" are people you don't know about and people you don't care about (Michael Ian Black for example). These people rarely say anything even remotely funny or amusing and as a result, the show is boring to watch. The only funny people included on "I Love The '90s" are Trey Parker, Kevin Smith, and Hal Sparks. The rest of the people on the show seem to only be there for a paycheck.

The only segment in the entire 10 episodes is the "Jay & Silent Bob rename your favorite TV show" segment. Other than that, there isn't much to recommend about "I Love The '90s". It just plain sucks.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history