I Love the '90s (TV Series 2004– ) Poster

(2004– )

User Reviews

Add a Review
9 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
I love VH1's nostalgic creations.
radical-ed7 October 2004
I have to say, even though the later segments of "I love the 90's" seem to have been filmed a bit too soon (I love 1998 and I love 1999 specifically) This walk down RECENT memory lane is quite refreshing.

Making appearances to jibe at last decade's pop culture are: Hal Sparks, Michael Ian Black, Michael Bolton, and countless others including Lord of the Rings' Dominic Monaghan.

Even if you HATE the 90's you'll get a chuckle of the comments from the various celebrities they feature.

Highlights include:

Dominic Monaghan doing the MC Hammer Dance; Hal Sparks doing the "Forbidden Dance"; Jibes at films such as Resivior Dogs, Point Break, Austin Powers, and more; Insults to Garth Brooke and Billy Ray Cyrus; The "hotties of the 1990's"; The dirty rocker guys of 1990's; And the answer to the infamous question "why in the world would you clone a sheep?"

"They're all the same, they wear wooly sweaters and they go baaah."~~Dominic Monaghan.

If you need a good laugh I suggest you keep your eyes on VH1's program listings and catch it the next time it's on.

I give this an 8 out of 10 stars.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Review from a long-time viewer- GOOD
movie_go_round17 July 2004
I think I speak for everyone when I say that VH1's decade documentaries have been getting better as we go along. I love the '90s is hilarious. The panel of celebrities (if that's what you call them) dare to say all the things we think about events of the 1990's- from Snoop Dogg to Amy Fisher to Furbies-- a hilarious miniseries. The format is basically the same as it has been in the previous documentaries (80s, 70s, 80s strikes back)-- a year is covered in one hour, event by event, movie by movie, song by song, with commentary from a very funny panel of people who survived all 10 years of the '90s. You'll crack up every time Hal Sparks, Michael Ian Black, Mo Rocca, and many others provide their insight into the '90s, reminding us that we love the '90s!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Flaws
incuwhitestripes13 July 2004
The series is very good but they spent too much time on one subject. VH1 also puts together a lot of animated things into video footage. One example is after they introduced the Where's Waldo book, in pictures and video, they'd show Waldo to the side as a little secret joke. There were also instances where they would show music videos and put the little computer animated baby from Ally McBeal to come in and dance. Many celebrities' heads are also put on different bodies to make the scene comedic. More things could have been covered but good nonetheless. I don't think enough fashion styles were talked about/shown. It is a good series but I think perhaps it came out a little too early. The write-ins to the Snapple lady and the Jay and Silent Bob rename TV shows were very stupid. Overall, I would recommend watching it if you're in for a little nostalgia.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
What's with all the complainers on E! and Vh1
dlermajr20035 February 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I like the I love the...shows. They're pretty funny, but sometimes the people that comment on them whine a little too much. Not to mention that they seem to think they speak for everybody when they state their opinions on certain topics that appear for each year on the series. For instance, they sure talk a lot of smack about the movie "Twister". Most of them seemed to hate it, but I liked it quite a bit. I don't care if some parts seemed a bit inaccurate. That's what I liked about it--the fantasy.

Anyway, I also mentioned the E! channel as well because they seem to have the same celebrities on all these countdown type shows. There is always a big group of these so called celebrities that seem to think they're better than the people they are badmouthing on these shows (I love the 90's, Best Week Ever, 100 outrageous celebrity moments, etc.) However, there are the select few that make shows like "I love the 90's" enjoyable to watch; such as Michael Ian Black, Hal Sparks, and even Juliette Lewis. Rachel Harris kind of sucks.

To sum up, it's a cool show but some of these celebrities need to lighten up.

P.S. - Scott Ian from Anthrax sucks too.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Too close for nostalgia
hkinkennon20 July 2004
We loved the '80s, then the '70s -- and then the '80s struck back with a vengeance. And now, a decade that is just *too* close for nostalgia -- the '90s! Some of the segments (like revisiting Twin Peaks, my fave show of all time) were fun, and it was nice to catch up on some of the cultural stuff I missed when I was in *graduate school* (Yes, I'm an old fart, compared with some here). Overall, however, the show feels forced and self-indulgent. At least they didn't try to shove a lot of porn down our throats this time.

And it's sad when the regulars, like Michael Ian Black, start joking about how this series is a career killer. Jumping ship might have been the smartest thing that Donal Logue could have done.

Note to VH1: please come up with some fresh new programming -- preferably something without Mo Rocca.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Not quite up to the 70's and 80's standard
KellynMatt8 November 2004
The VH1 series are great!! This is the weakest, and not just because it is so soon. It actually is because they keep the same people. I like the witty dialog that Mo Rocca, Hal Sparks, et al add, but the problem is they provide a weird perspective to the 90's. Whereas in the 70's and 80's everything was about various things they encountered, in the 90's they talk about waiting in line to buy their KIDS stuff. What kind of pop culture reference is that? Of course, they may fit the target audience, but I really think we should have gotten others who had more recent and direct reference to the decade. Nonetheless, the series is spectacular and the 90's is still a great decade to relive.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I love the 90's rocks
ihungry27 October 2004
I love the 90's rocks just like the whole I love series. Michael Ian Black is one of the coolest and hottest people on that show. Along with Hal Sparks. That guy with the glasses is really funny too. How could you not like moments like Tickle Me Elmo, Or crystal Pepsi which was either in the 80's or 90's but the point is we need insignificant shows like the "I Love..." series for if we had none the world would amount to nothing. Key moments in "I Love..." history: Look back at ABBA, Crystal Pepsi, Rainbow Bright, Tickle ME elmo(by the way there is now an elmo that sings E-L-M-O to the rhythm of Y-M-C-A, That book about the brother and sister in the attic. You know, I know, We all know that we can't live without it.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
My Favourite album from the 90s
hayleytodd874 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I have chosen the album flash back 90s because my sister used to listen to that when she was 14year years old. Now I listen to it because I like the songs when I go out to the town with my mam and my sister. I like to dance to the songs it brings back memories from when I was younger. I enjoy all the songs on this album, they make feel happy. The songs I like is I got a key and secret and what is love. The other songs are boring because I don't not like them songs. I have chosen the album flash back 90s because my sister used to listen to that when she was 14year years old. Now I listen to it because I like the songs when I go out to the town with my mam and my sister. I like to dance to the songs it brings back memories from when I was younger. I enjoy all the songs on this album, they make feel happy. The songs I like is I got a key and secret and what is love. The other songs are boring because I don't not like them songs.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews