IMDb > Spider-Man 2 (2004) (VG) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Spider-Man 2
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Spider-Man 2 (VG) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 16 reviews in total 

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

One of the best games of the year.

Author: (frigimon18) from douglasville, ga
15 August 2004

An infinite number of times better than the first game. You can literally go anywhere and do anything. There is so much to do that even if you beat the game without doing anything else, you won't scratch the 50% bar. There's so much to do that doesn't have anything to with the storyline you can spend a month just swinging around collecting icons and helping people without doing much of anything to the storyline. You gotta love the voice work. Having the people from the movie do the voices for the game does wonders for the feeling of being sucked in to the game. The amount of power ups to buy is staggering and the attacks are very cool. The one I probably enjoyed using the most cold only happen in spider reflex mode. You would kick the person up in the air and proceed to pummel him many times like you were performing a bicycle kick on him. It looked so cool. The fan service in the form of Black Cat was nice. I liked how they cut her hair so short. The amount of markers was unbelievable. You could probably spend the better part of a month just trying to find all the hint markers. You really cannot beat this game in a month. You must try it at least once before you pass judgment.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Just plain awesome!!!

Author: commanderblue from United States
31 July 2006

I got this game for my Christmas some time ago and I enjoyed it * a lot*! The game consists of you running around New York doing random crimes and of course, story mode which includes Doc Ock and other super-villains. Spider-Man has some really good fighting combos this time around, he can swing faster, the city is larger than ever and the graphics are about decent.

There are a few minor flaws such as no subway entrances or subway tunnels and there sure aren't any pets in the city but it is a great game.

After story mode, you must work your way up to 100%, which is a very long devoting process in which Spider-Man must complete challenges, missions and find all exploration tokens. But this is still a great game and really fun for those who are not allowed to play Grand Theft Auto because of the rating. Go out and buy this game and beat it!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Take New York for a spin

Author: disrupta_2003 from Baltimore, Maryland
16 July 2004

Spider Man 2 the game is the virtual monostat of the film you get everything you got in the movie plus more when I say more I mean more villains more characters more action and more freedom. Villains include Doc Ock, Rhino, Mysterio, and Shocker, plus your tribune of criminals at your disposal. Ally's include black cat this time around and she will assist you through most of the shocker missions. Freedom allows you to complete missions from the Daily Bugle to delivering pizza at Peter Parkers day jobs.

I really enjoyed this game to its full extent and you should to. Some of the reasons you should love it is because you can do anything a spider can with breathtaking new moves and amazing combos. You can go anywhere interact with anyone and anything. You can web swing for the first time from street to rooftop across the entire city. But one of the biggest reasons you will love this game is because authentic characters from the movie do voice overs including Tobey Maguire, Alfred Molina, and Kirsten Dunst.

One Game this Game is Similar to is Grand theft auto 3 and vice city primarily because of the fact that you have unlimited freedom. But overall Graphics are at CG and that earns a 10. combat has changed from the first game which earns it a 10 and the characters are unlimited and lively which earns it a 10 again resulting in this game getting a perfect

10 out of 10

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Experience the unbelievable!

Author: RoninDeVamas from Kansas City, MO
2 July 2004

Spider-Man 2: The Movie Game is by far the best super-hero game ever!

In the sequel to its predecessor, Spider-Man 2 gives the player the opportunity to actually live the life of a super-hero, with the abilities to interact with people and objects. The layout for the game is very similar to that of the Grand Theft Auto series, so you can do what you want, when you want, and how you want to -- an experience that Spider-Man: The Movie Game lacked. Being more open-ended, you have a choice of which assigned mission you would like to do first in special layouts called 'chapters'. Accomplishing each mission grants you Hero Points (the modern currency for all tight-wearing heroes), which you can use to buy special combos or locomotion upgrades. Accomplishing each mission makes you one step closer to entering the next chapter.

In this game, locomotion and combat tactics are completely advanced. Instead of sticking to the clouds, Spider-Man's web connects to any building that it is pointed to, allowing Spider-Man to swing and gain momentum for the next thread. You can swing the corner of a building to make a turn, or swing from a skyscraper to gain tremendous speed.

If you don't want to swing around, then you can do what was well-needed in the previous game: Sprinting. This makes you move far faster than a run and can help you reach a destination far faster than wall-crawling. Aside from wall-crawling, you can also sprint on the walls (called Wall-Sprinting) or Hyper Crawl (a far faster mode of wall-crawling). Instead of the annoying Zip-Line technique, you can charge up your jump for a Hyper Spring. This leap uses Spidey's strength to leap tremendous distances, allowing you to leap from building to building.

Combat has changed with new combos and dodging enhancements. New combos can sometimes be accomplished by executing a four-button combo or by executing a three-button combo and rapidly pressing an extra button. The Spider-Sense is now triggered whenever Spidey is about to be attacked, and precise timing will allow Spidey to dodge the attack with ease and execute a counter-attack. If you are having trouble, Spidey can also enter into Spider-Reflexes Mode -- a special combat mode that allows Spidey to move far faster than his enemies for a limited time. This mode can change the way Spidey attacks and can sometimes allow Spidey to execute special combos. Fortunately, you have unlimited -- yet harmless -- webbing that can give you an advantage over well-armed foes or over a group of enemies.

Classic characters have entered into the game and some are making a come-back. The mighty Rhino robs a bank; the previously captured Shocker escapes; the master of illusion Mysterio causes havoc by causing an apparent alien take-over; and Doc Ock threatens the lives of your friends and family.

Also, the well-known Black Cat makes her premiere in this game as an ally for some of your many missions, especially those involving the Shocker. As usual, the game will eventually go along with the movie, but the game still possesses its open-ended layout.

In fact, combating these foes is also completely different. Instead of blindly pummeling the foe in the previous game, Spidey's villains have many tricks up their sleeves that may turn the tide on Spidey. Some will unfortunately get away, but you will be prepared for them next time.

This game actually possesses more of the legendary Spider-Man comedy than its predecessor. Many of them are wisecracks against his enemies, while others are self-criticizing. Either way, you may just belly-laugh at most of his funny moments.

Overall: well-built game-play; tremendous amount of opportunities to 'do whatever a spider can'; includes classic Spidey villains and allies; terrific graphics and special effects; excels in providing both direct and tactical combat; and amazing movies.

Rating: 10 out of 10. Highly recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Doing WHATEVER a Spider Can!

Author: WOLVERINE25th from New York
31 March 2006

THIS is a Spider-Man game done right.

New York not only looks like New York, but you can explore it to the fullest! The boss-fights are creative and expansive, and there is a lot to do in the city without having to follow the main plot. Not to mention various famous landmarks that ACTUALLY exist in the city; many of which only NYers would recognize. As an added bonus? Bruce Campbell, baby! The best part about the shoddy first game and definitely a great addition to this one. Not to mention you get to hear him well over 200 times! Now, for the bad. The various random missions lack variety. After a while, you just wanna shoot a kid's balloon with a web instead of returning it to him. When the main story is finished, the only thing left to do is finish gathering all the various icons in the game. While many will do this happily to get 100%, it can get dull after a while. The game has replay value, but it's very limited.

Overall, a great movie game and definitely sets the bar for any hero games to follow in the free-roam format.

Was the above review useful to you?

Best Spider-Man Game of them all

Author: adonis98-743-186503 from Greece
22 October 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Spider-Man/Peter Parker struggles between his personal life which involves Mary Jane Watson and his superhero life where he joins up with a vigilante known as Black Cat battling a series of foes including the mad Doc Ock. Just like the movie the game itself doesn't disappoint you can get inside the Daily Bugle you can even turn into a devilery guy Spider-man and go deliver some Pizza's also you get to fight some enemies that weren't used in the actual movie for example Black Cat this was such a better game than the first one plus you can actually ruin in the streets and swing around since in the first one you couldn't and it was so weird.

Was the above review useful to you?

Probably the best Spider man game I have played

Author: austrianman-47934 from United States
1 August 2015

Although not a perfect game, this game has more than enough to offer, especially for open - world game fans. This may not be as great of an open world game as San Andreas or Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction, it is still a welcome addition to the game genre. The reason I think this is the best spidey game is because it is the only spider man game to actually make you feel like spider man. The swinging is this game is unbelievable. You are likely to enjoy this title even though it is not as great is the film it is based on. It is also an improvement over the first spider man game based on the first spider man feature film.

Was the above review useful to you?

A ton of fun.

Author: gamerzach7 from United States
11 February 2012

In this game, you are Spider Man. You deal with super villain threats as Spider Man, and personal relationships as Peter Parker. I think the best part of this game is the gameplay. You can explore the enormous New York map while web-slinging, beat up thugs with upgradeable combo attacks, and climb up (and jump off of) buildings. The web-slinging has been improved since the last game, so now you can web faster, and on buildings instead of thin air. The storyline follows the movie decently, and throws in a few extra super-villains and the black cat to enhance the experience.

As fun as the experience is, it's not without fault. Most of the characters have poorly animated faces, with the exception of Spider Man and Doctor Octopus. The biggest issue with this game is the lack of variety in side missions. This is especially a problem once you beat the game, because from there, the game will have you playing the same (about 8) side missions over and over. despite it's issues, Spider Man 2 is a fun and rewarding experience that texts your skill as a gamer.

Was the above review useful to you?

Realistic Spiderman

Author: tonyjea92 from United States
3 August 2010

the first game was OK but the sequel to it Blew Me Away i had to rent it a million times because every copy i received had a glitch and it made me angry but after finally securing a copy for gamecube this game was totally the best spiderman game ever while the graphics and details are not as bold as the 1st the gameplay overall is way better the combos are more realistic and the web swinging has been upgraded to actually attach you to buildings the villains were more or less easy to beat but the story line actually made me feel like i was in the game itself i love this game and the movie by far better than i expected like its proceeder i love spiderman so much i couldn't stop playing it this game deserves the title for best superhero video game ever

Was the above review useful to you?

Vastly improved web swinging, but the fighting is lackluster.

Author: Aaron1375
10 December 2009

I never won this game, but I got through enough of it to review. Let me just say that final fight was super hard and was really ticking me off so instead of going into a Hulk like rage and smashing the television screen I just gave up. Not really my style, but it was just an incredibly hard ending sequence. As for the rest of the game it is a mixed bag, but for the most part it is good as there is a nice couple of story lines in it featuring The Shocker and Mysterio. In fact, I think I enjoyed those two stories more than the one that was based on the movie. I was very disappointed with the fights with Dr. Octopus as they just were awful. I was expecting some really cool fights with the tentacles going everywhere, but the couple of fights there were with him were just him walking on the ceiling. The fighting was okay at times, but strength seems to have been taken out of Spidey's repertoire. This happened in the next game as well, why they never want to make Spider-man super strong and just make him agile and swing around the city. However, that is the high point of this game, the web slinging is simply great fun. In fact I could just do that for an hour at a time. During your web swinging you also have to save people and stop random crimes, this too is a weak point as they just did not add enough variety to the random crimes. Still, this game has its moments like the final fight with Mysterio as that one was not hard but humorous and the voice over work by Bruce Campbell. I just wish they would make a Spider-man game that includes his strength, great web swinging and a lot of super villains.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history