IMDb > Species III (2004) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Species III
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Species III (V) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 50 reviews in total 

35 out of 48 people found the following review useful:

I thought it was good

Author: errolwi (errolwi@adelphia.net) from Maine
12 December 2004

Yes I agree this movie was not genius, however from a person who does not tear movies apart to often I have to say it was a good movie. It does not have the flair of the original movie but in my opinion is a lot better than the second. I don't think the movie was intended to be a blockbuster, but more a film for people who enjoyed the first 2 movies. I didn't even see a trailer for this movie anywhere, didn't know it existed until I saw it in the video store for rental. I think it was made for more of like a cult following. Yes there are a lot of unanswered questions but who cares. The movie was fun, with a lot of action and a lot of gratuitous nudity for those that like it. I just wish Nastasha Henstridge had more of a role.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

tired species

4/10
Author: dromasca from Herzlya, Israel
26 February 2005

'Species 3' is a low budget continuation of the 'Species' series, and is not that bad for its category. The story of inter-galactic breeding continues here, some DNA mumble-jumble is being added, and science-fiction fans find here some of their preferred stuff although this is not really best in breed. The real appeal of the series is in the inter-species lover-predator games which provide the pretext for a handsome quantity of nudity on screen, and from this point of view series 3 equals its predecessors. What is lost is the surprise effect of the first film, and the money to make better effects. The director is experienced in TV series and he does what he knows best here. However, what works on the small screen is not enough on the big screen. You cannot leave on big screen, even in a series characters development for the many other tens or hundreds of episodes. Acting is also TV quality. The plot has some logics, embarrassing moments are avoided, but overall it looks like this movie is just a last tentative to squeeze some money from the dying 'Species' brand. 4 out of 10 on my personal scale.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining B-movie.

5/10
Author: shanfloyd from India
11 June 2006

All typical sci-fi B-movie elements make enough appearances in this third installment of 'Species'. It's got lots of creepy alien gore, gorgeous chicks who kick male ass, abundant nudity and the twitch of alien-human sexual tension. I risk to say that the story is actually better than the crap of Species II... interesting enough to keep the viewer in his seat till the end.

Otherwise as usual, acting is horrible, script likewise. They used some old footage of Natasha Henstridge as well. But the role of Sara could go to a more physically attractive actress than Sunny Mabrey... though it is my personal opinion.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

It is Sunny Mabrey That Makes This A Great Watch

8/10
Author: gatsby2244 from India
3 June 2006

I loved the first two Species films,and was kind of disappointed to know that Natasha Henstridge would not be playing the female lead in this,the third instalment of the series.My doubts vanished immediately after seeing Sunny Mabrey as Sara. Sara is Eve's daughter ,brought up by scientist Dr.Abbot in his home.As nature will have it,she breaks free from his shackles and the ensuing bloodshed and gore makes for a very entertaining sci-fi movie,though it is a trifle low-key as far as special effects are concerned . Still,I believe that without a strong lead character,films like these look either like second-rate porn,or plain ridiculous.Sunny Mabrey as Sara makes sure that neither of that happens. She is gorgeous,and has the looks to make you believe that she is really Eve's offspring. Though I noticed her lack of histrionic skills, I could not help but be taken in by her strong on-screen presence. Robin Dunne as Dean fails to impress,and Robert Knepper as Dr.Abbot isn't too good either. It is Mabrey's presence that makes the film a treat.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Decent Grade B popcorn movie

4/10
Author: yossarian100 from usa
9 February 2005

Reminiscent of 50's sci-fi in that whomever wrote the script obviously drinks a lot, the acting doesn't always fit the scene being viewed, and there's a tendency to go right to T&A to keep you from noticing, which is fine by me but I noticed anyway. The movie has a pretty good visual look to it and the direction is adequate. However, the ending is nothing more than giving up for lack of anything better to do. As in, "I don't know what to do here so somebody better start walking off into the sunset." If what you wanted was to sit down and watch something that almost qualifies as science fiction and doesn't suck too badly, then you won't be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

Species III was pretty good.

9/10
Author: MovieCriticMarvelfan from california
19 December 2004

Don't let the other critics fool you, Species III is a pretty entertaining entry into the species series, true it was to direct to video, but with MGM backing up this installment with Brad Turner taking the helm, you knew it be pretty good. Natasha Henstridge briefly reprises her role as "Eve" to the Species series and gives birth to another alien Sara, who is the latest genetic alien.

This time around though we got an excellent sidestory about the halfbreeds, half human, half alien freaks who don't bother in either class and die out from disease.

Well a couple of more dangerous new half breeders come out to seek Sara in hopes of using her eggs to breed a new race.

The acting is pretty good, the movie has some impressive effects and the movie like the other two sequels is very scary and gory.

The Special Edition DVD comes with four great featurettes, which includes interviews with the cast and crew including the beautiful Natasha Henstridge, commentary and a look back into why the Species series has been so successful.

Looking at the list of complaints the only reason that some people seem to dislike is because is because Henstridge isn't in that much, newsflash people. Natasha's role was basically a cameo appearance.

Its also funny how people bash the Sara character yet in comparison there is no difference between Eve, Sil and Sara other than the age differences. All three characters seduce and kill their human hosts and unleash violence and chaos wherever they go.

Species III is a keeper watch the DVD.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

I am blonde - Hear me roar

Author: Dr. Gore (drgore@hotmail.com) from Los Angeles, California
20 December 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

*SPOILER ALERT* *SPOILER ALERT*

I can sum up what was wrong with "Species III" in three words: Not sleazy enough. Of course, your definition of sleazy and mine may differ slightly. Perhaps only I would think that a movie with a topless alien babe having sex with some bumpkin on a toilet as not being sleazy enough. Perhaps I have issues. At any rate, "Species III" needed more bang for the buck. Know what I mean?

So once again some hot alien blonde lands on Earth. Unfortunately for the viewer, the Species girl has evolved to a point where she can't have sex with every single guy she sees. Dang it! What madness is this?! Now the Species girl has standards. Only other aliens butter her space muffin. Normal guys are left in the dirt. Some professor wants to nurture her and let her Species live on. Other half-breed Species want to make it with her and spend the second half of the movie hunting her down.

Well, the good news is that our blonde alien spends a good chunk of the movie topless. I think we can all agree that this is a good thing. A brunette half breed Species shows up in the second half of the movie and is actually hotter than the blonde. Man, the Species really have evolved. They're moving towards brunettes now. I think they need to go all the way and make "Species 4" with a redhead. So for hot Species chicks, "Species III" delivers.

The problem is that "Species III" really doesn't do much with them. Other than the toilet scene, there really wasn't as much alien copulating as I would have liked. The first two "Species" movies were big budget, sleaze-o-rama spectacles. I was hoping this one was going to make up for its low budget with some more Species loving. No such luck. Still, "Species III" is worth a look. It's a pretty decent straight to video flick.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

The best sequel in the SPECIES series!

Author: Prolox from Canada
11 January 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After briefly recapping the first two & picking up immediately after SPECIES II, SPECIES III begins with biochemistry professor BRUCE ABBOTT dressing up as a soldier in order to retrieve the body of EVE (NATASHA HENSTRIDGE) however Eve is not dead & instead gives birth to an offspring that Patrick Ross impregnated her with in SPECIES II. Abbott quickly snatches it away, leaving behind one of Ross's offspring, the survivor of the alien termination that took place at the end of the last movie. Setting up a makeshift laboratory in his basement, he raises the female alien, who grows up remarkably fast within a matter of a few days, she even picks her own name out, wanting to be called Sara after she sees a Sara Lee cake box, that Abbott serves her for desert, after they have Red Lobster take out & Sara also boasts incredible supernatural strength as well. However the child he left behind in the ambulance with Eve, has found him & visits his office now fully grown & very sick. Eventually it's body breaks down causing an incredible body melt to take place. He discovers that there are other half-breed aliens out there. Teaming with a student of his named Dean, Abbott attempts to use Sara's DNA to protect the rest of the species to help them survive. As Sara leaves the confines of her home, all on her own, she becomes the immediate target for a series of other half breed alien creatures that attempt to mate with her.

SPECIES III is one heck of a fun addition to the SPECIES franchise! Unlike it's predecessors, SPECIES III was not gifted with a huge theatrical release, nor was it given a big name cast, due to it's lower budget & direct to DVD release. While this could have spelt doom for most direct to DVD release sequels to bigger budget predecessors, the good news is SPECIES III is just as enjoyable, if not more so than SPECIES II & while not as good as the first, it doesn't miss by much. Let's be honest, SPECIES I & II were basically direct to video B movie cheese, given a huge theatrical release & a top name cast, it's plot & execution was really no different than that of a low budget B movie ALIEN rip-off that one would expect to receive on the direct to video market, a plot that B movie king ROGER CORMAN no doubt would have come with for one of his direct to video ALIEN rip-offs: Naked girls running about, plenty of gore & monster slime drenching everything.

Another thing SPECIES III does is pay tribute to the Friday The 13th franchise, when Abbott who is narrating at the beginning of the movie claims the night he is set to retrieve Eve is Friday, June 13th which is Jason's birthday & a series where with Parts 2-8, FRANK MANCUSO JR. this films producer got his start in the realm of film producing.

Despite it's somewhat smaller budget, SPECIES III ironically enough not only has more gore & monster effects, but better gore & monster effects than we seen in II, as we see an alien man having a complete full on body meltdown that is quite gooey, a cop split in half, Sunny Mabrey morphing into an alien creature & plowing both her tentacles straight into the top of a professors skull, spitting out bloody teeth & a severed alien arm that grows back & an alien tongue shot through the mouth & out back of a skull! SPECIES III offers many new fresh ideas to the plot. Unlike Sil or Eve from the first two, SPECIES III tangles with the interesting idea that the alien offspring can actually be tamed, as well as the interesting plot twist, that the alien creatures are in danger of having a full on body meltdown, because they cannot breed with her. Also Sara the films lead alien girl is not a bad girl, nor does she have a sex drive, therefore she doesn't go about killing those who cannot impregnate her, or that she deems as an imperfect host. SPECIES III also makes a departure from the previous two, by featuring not only a much younger cast of characters, but by not continuing on with any of the characters seen in the first two. Although Natasha Henstridge reprises her role as Eve, she is only in the film for five minutes tops at the beginning & for a very brief scene in the middle of the movie. The lead alien female baddie is sexy as the vicious alien out to repopulate the world with more of her kind & makes for one of the series most interesting villains. Plus I got a major kick out of the aliens using internet ads promising sex. A thing which intrigues Dean's lust filled roommate, who snatches Dean's notes & data & sends them on line in order to bring the hot girl advertising herself on the net to any man who has advanced degrees in chemistry to her, to him & lives to regret it when he discovers she's a vicious alien. SUNNY MABREY is really sexy as Sara & the acting is pretty good as well. Director BRAD TURNER does very well behind the camera & delivers a series of really good shots & really milks the suspense & tension of the piece.

All in all, while it's low budget qualities do shine through at times (we only have two settings here, the professors house & the university) & despite it's needless over length, I highly recommend SPECIES III to fans of the first two, it's got everything that made the first two so much fun & so popular with fans & as a result SPECIES III is a really fun B movie monster flick.

***1/2 stars

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

The Purest Species

6/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
4 January 2007

While being transported in a military ambulance and supposed dead, Eve (Natasha Henstridge) delivers an offspring and is killed by a half-breed. The baby girl is abducted by Dr. Abbot (Robert Knepper), and a couple of days later she grows up, reaching adulthood and becoming a gorgeous young woman called Sara (Sunny Mabrey). Dr. Abbot expects to develop a perfect DNA using Sara's eggs and win the Nobel Prize, and invites the student Dean (Robin Dunne) to be his assistant and share his research and future awards. But while Sara unsuccessfully chases a perfect mate for her to generate a perfect being, the flawed half-breeds leaded by Amelia (Amelia Cooke) try to reproduce with her to survive their species.

"Species III" has a flawed story, but it is very gore and attractive, mostly because of the beauty of Sunny Mabrey. This unknown actress has a good performance in the role of an intelligent alien without feelings, and her sculptural body, one of the most beautiful I have ever seen, suffices to make this movie worthwhile. Natasha Henstridge has a short participation in the initial sequence; Robert Knepper has a good performance in the role of an obsessed scientist and Robin Dunne refuses the irresistible invitation of Sara "to exchange services" and completes the reasonable cast of this entertaining movie. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "A Experiência III" ("The Experience III")

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

"We go through all that & in the end give her a god damn boyfriend." Entertaining horror Sci-Fi sequel.

8/10
Author: Paul Andrews (poolandrews@hotmail.com) from UK
15 December 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Species III starts with a brief condensed recap of the previous two instalment's Species (1995) & Species II (1998) up to the point where part II ended with Eve's (Natash Henstridge) supposedly dead body lying in the back of an army ambulance together with one of her & Patrick's half breed offspring (Christopher R. Gillum). The driver in reality actually happens to be a college professor & genetic scientist named Dr. Abbot (Robert Knepper) who wants to steal Eve's body, however as he attempts to do so Eve sits up & gives birth to an alien girl while the half breed makes his escape. Abbot takes care of the alien girl who grows 6" a day, it's not long before she reaches adulthood & is named Sara (Sunny Mabrey) by Abbot who intends to use her superior DNA for the good of mankind... or something like that anyway. Abbot convinces one of his students named Dean (Robin Dunne) to help in his experiments, however it's not long before the half breed's show up as they are full of genetic flaws & extremely vulnerable to disease & virus's. The half breed's, lead by super sexy Amelia (Amelia Cooke), think the key to their survival is Sara's superior alien DNA & will do whatever it takes to get it...

Directed by Brad Turner I have to admit that I rather enjoyed Species III although I have to confess that I have no idea which version I saw as the IMDb's 'Alternate Versions' section states that 3 different ones exist, we don't have 'R' or 'Unrated' here in the UK but considering the amount of blood & nudity I am almost positive it was fully uncut. The script by Ben Ripley moves along at a nice pace & is never boring or dull. The story is a little muddled at times with a bit too much scientific nonsense at times bogging it down, but having said that no one is going to be watching a film such as Species III for it's story & character's are they? No they aren't & this is where Species III pleases as the filmmakers sensibly never forget their exploitation roots as they include copious amounts of female nudity, sex, babes, aliens, blood, slime, gore & tentacles. All I can say is it definitely worked for me! On a negative note I thought this was the weakest in the trilogy & the low budget meant everything seemed to take a step back & appear to be on a smaller scale, we don't get elaborate effect scenes like the opening outer space sequence from Species II, no car chases this time or huge state of the art government laboratory's instead we have to make do with a few microscopes & computer monitor's in someone's basement. I am not sure why the hot looking Amelia was introduced so late in the film either.

Director Turner does the best he can with what was probably a low budget, he keeps things moving & shoots some neat gore, someone has the contents of their head splattered over a windshield, a severed arm, a melting alien whose stomach pops open, a disgusting alien birth, someone has some aliens tentacles puncture their head, an autopsy using some home power-tools, someone gets a hole in their head plus a fantastic bit where someone is vertically cut in half & the two halves fall in opposite directions & Turner does everyone a big favour by drenching these scenes in blood & slime. Species III doesn't shy away from the nudity either with both Mabrey & Cooke seriously hot looking ladies.

Surprisingly Species III was a straight to video release which was shot on HD video & is technically very good. The cinematography is nice, the impressive special make-up effects are mostly of the rubber & latex variety with thankfully little in the way of CGI. The acting wasn't particularly great but then nothings perfect right?

I really liked Species III, a horror film that realises it's intended audience & doesn't shy away from giving them what they want (at least in it's uncut form anyway). If you liked the first two Species film then this is a must & I'd definitely recommend it to horror Sci-Fi fans in general as well.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history