IMDb > Underneath Acoustic Live (2004) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Underneath Acoustic Live (V) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 6 reviews in total 

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Impressive

9/10
Author: swat611 from Oklahoma
20 June 2004

If there was ever a doubt in your mind that Hanson didn't have talent, this DVD will make you see. Underneath Acoustic Live is a MUST HAVE for any Hanson fan, and no doubt worth owning for non-fans too. Hanson takes it down to the basics on their 3rd concert DVD. Nothing but acoustic guitars, a piano, percussion, and a small drum set for this one. Filmed at Chicago's House Of Blues, Hanson brings down the house, acoustic style. Songs like "You Never Know" and "Rock'n'Roll Razorblade" will have you rockin hard. Who knew a band could rock playing acoustic, Hanson knows how. Hits like "Where's The Love", "MMMBop", "Runaway Run", and "This Time Around" have never sounded better than on this acoustic dvd. Their latest smash hit, "Penny & Me", is no doubt a crowd fav already. Each brother takes the stage alone for one song on this set. Isaac's "Hand In Hand" shows he would have no problem with a solo carrer. Taylor's "Crazy Beautiful" is a nice addition, and Zac Hanson's "The Walk" is no doubt a highlight of the concert.

If you are looking for new music, something good, something maybe you wouldn't have ever thought to check out; check out Underneath Acoustic Live, you will be pleasently surprised.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Raw music

Author: ashleymims05 (ashleymims05@yahoo.com) from Kentucky
19 August 2004

So you may remember them as "those mmmbop kids" but this DVD AND the brand new CD, Underneath, prove any preconceived notions are complete crap. But, back to the DVD.

Hanson's live shows are terrific. Though this was an acoustic, broken down Hanson we've never seen, it had it's good elements: "Teach Your Children" when the band huddled around the microphone and harmonized. "Hand In Hand", Isaac's solo, when he began with insight into where the song came from. "Crazy Beautiful", Taylor's solo rendition of the band's usually upbeat number with jazzy elements. And then there was "The Walk", Zac's solo.

Overall, this DVD is great. If you have any doubts the band is talented, this performance, or even one SONG will prove you wrong. So don't buy this if you can't handle that ;)

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Hanson doubters, look no further...

Author: Winona Patterson from Illinois
2 August 2004

If you still think that Hanson consists of fourteen-year-old girls, you might want to get a reality check...and the perfect place to start is this DVD. Filmed live at Chicago's House of Blues in November 2003 (yes, I was there, but up in the dark balcony), it's a near-flawless concert showcasing the brothers' incredible musicianship. Covers of classic songs (CSN's "Teach Your Children", Bill Withers' "Ain't No Sunshine" and Little Richard's "Rip It Up") break up the chunks of Hanson originals. The picture and sound are wonderful as well.

I can't praise this thing enough; do yourself a favor and check it out for yourself.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

absolutely brilliant! (SPOILERS)

10/10
Author: musicmistress05 from USA
22 June 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I attended the show the day it was shown (April 19th, 2004). I enjoyed myself tremendously. I felt that the guys played to their audience well. they appealed to the fans in the audience by playing both new material and old (Including the all-time favorite "MMMBop".) They opened up with a lively acoustic version of Strong Enough to Break (a personal favorite of mine). The boys also played to the parents in the audience by doing some songs from earlier generations including "teach your children" by crowsby, still and nash. However, I must say that Tay was having a hard time keeping his part during that song. Any trained musician could see he was struggling. But I give him tons of credit for it. According to my dad (who brought me to the show), crowsby, stills and nash is particularly difficult to sing. I really enjoyed the song Zac sang solo (accompanied by him on piano). He has really matured as a vocalist. As always, Taylor got the crowd rocking to the beat and had them sing along. I seriously felt as if I was there. A splendid performance if I do say so myself.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Hanson rocks house of blues ... once again

10/10
Author: RTV0786 from Canada
30 January 2005

I've been with Hanson since they first came out with MMMBop. Yes, I am one of the many fans who stuck with them as we waited ... and waited ... and waited ... and then finally, tada - Underneath! Sadly, I never got to go to the Underneath Acoustic Live Show in my area, but I regretted not picking up this DVD at the 2 chances I got this past summer (2004). Finally, as soon as it hit the record store, I got it.

Hanson's energy and emphasis for their music and fans shines straight through your television screen when you watch this movie.

Definitely one of the best Hanson movies I've ever seen (and I've seen/own 'em all)

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

underneath acoustic live

10/10
Author: Tarna85 from Australia
21 April 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

One word that describes these 3 musical brother's, Unbelievable!!!!!! From the moment i sat down and watched this DVD, till the very end, my jaw had dropped to the ground in amazement at how far these boys (or men shall we say....) have come. There is a difference between performing 'out there' and to an audience, indeed Hanson performs to there audience and has you totally sucked in by there brilliant harmony's and there stage presence.

Musically speaking, a VERY good idea to play in an intimate setting rather than the big concert halls and stadiums they played in there earlier tours. Being so close to the artists (yes, i call these brother's artists) gives you the opportunity to see and hear the amount of passion they put into there songs and performance, if only all those anti-Hanson fans would pull there heads out of there butts and listen!!! I really don't want to give to much away so all i can say is this...... Isaac, Taylor and Zac are true to there art and all those who think Hanson are washed up and have been since the mmmbop days should really sit down and take a look at this DVD, not only will you be surprised but you will most probably find yourself humming 'if only' or basically ANY Hanson songs they performed in this show (even the covers) Well done Hanson!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history