IMDb > Roll (2004) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Roll (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Aussie gangland drama/comedy

8/10
Author: Sean Colfer from Solihull
13 November 2004

This film is an hour or so of good entertainment and has some genuinely funny moments. I loved the character of Matt, and also Tiny. They seemed the most engaging and funny characters, and certainly the most interesting. Matt is very good (as is his no good cousin), and the police woman and the blonde biker woman provide some welcome eye candy. I must say I saw striking similarities between Matt and another Aussie actor, Eric Bana. My personal favourite part was the brothel scene, loved that. Overall, I liked the film and it'll get about an 8 rating. The penalty however, I was disappointed in. It was a side foot curl, rather than the appropriate laces blast.

I am of course kidding. :)

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Roll rocks

9/10
Author: bife from Holland
12 November 2004

A film I expected very little from, and only watched to pass a quiet hour - but what an hour it turned out to be. Roll is an excellent if none-too-serious little story of 'country-boy-lost-in-the-big-city-makes-good', it is funny throughout, the characters are endearing and the pace is just right.

Toby Malone is the true star of the film with his endearing portrayal of Matt, said country boy and local Aussie Rules football hero come to the big city to try out for one of the big teams. He is supported superbly by John Batchelor as local gangster Tiny. Watch out for these two.

Highly recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

An entertaining little film.

7/10
Author: kruegerbait
12 November 2004

I've just watched Roll and what a pleasure it turned out to be. Toby Malone's performance really stood out, I found myself actually caring about what happens to Matt throughout the whole of the film, which itself is a lot of fun, very pacey with a good mix of well rounded characters, quite an achievement considering it's short running time. There are plenty of good twists throughout as well, it will keep you guessing until the end. Other characters to watch out for are the totally insane Tiny and the sneaky attractive Jesse. It may not have the huge budget of a Hollywood blockbuster but don't let that put you off, you could do a lot worse than checking this out, you won't regret it. Good Fun. 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Country boy becomes crime-busting hero.

10/10
Author: sean_mcg from New Zealand
12 December 2004

A country-boy Aussie-Rules player (Mat) goes to the city the night before an all-important AFL trial match, where he is to be picked up by his cousin. And then things go wrong.

His no-hoper cousin has become mixed up in a drug deal involving local loan-shark / drug-dealer Tiny (who looks like any gangster anywhere but is definitively Australian). Needless to say, Mat becomes enmeshed in the chaos, and it isn't long before thoughts of tomorrow's match are shunted to the back of his mind as the night's frantic events unravel.

Accomplished Western Australian professional Shakespearean actor Toby Malone puts in a sterling performance as young naive country-boy Mat, and successfully plays a part well below his age. Best support comes from John Batchelor as Tiny, and an entertaining role by David Ngoombujarra as one of the cops following the events. Roll is fast-paced, often funny, and a very worthwhile use of an hour.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining Aussie gangster flick

8/10
Author: thefoxboy from Melbourne, Australia
23 November 2004

I just sat through a very enjoyable fast paced 45 mins of ROLL.

Roll is about a country boy, Mat (Toby Malone) who has dreams of becoming a Sports Star. Mat travels to the city and is to be picked up by his cousin George (Damien Robertson). Well, that was the plan anyway. George is involved with a gangster, Tiny (John Batchelor) and is making a delivery for him. Needless to say, Mat gets dragged into George's world.

I thought it was great how Mat teaches George some morals and respect while George teaches Mat how to relax and enjoy life a little. Toby and Damien were well cast together and did an outstanding job.

Every character in the movie complimented each other very well, the two cops were great. David Ngoombujarra brought some great comic relief to the movie. Tiny played a likable gangster that reminded me of one of my favourite characters 'Pando' from Two Hands.

One of the other things that I liked about Roll was that it showcased the cities that I grew up and lived in for 20 years, Perth and Fremantle. It was good to see sights and landmarks that I grew up with, especially the old Ferris wheel.

This Rocks 'n' Rolls

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Coming-of-age gangster/football comedy/drama

5/10
Author: I. C. Turner from Great Britain
22 November 2004

It is enjoyable and fast-paced.

There is no way on Earth that the actor playing Mat could be eighteen. However, the main thing is that he does act eighteen very convincingly. It must be a credit to his audition that he convinced them to cast him. I quite soon accepted him as being a naive young country boy.

While his was the best performance, most of the others were also very engaging. In particular, the interplay between the policemen was natural and well-balanced, and worked very well.

It is only about 45 minutes long, so the plot is not complex. More key is the style of the whole thing. It is very slick and vibrant, and the backdrops are atmospheric, especially from the fact that all the colours are extremely rich. The gangland is identifiable to foreign audiences, but still manages to be distinctly Australian.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Low-budget fun as footballer seeks his fortune in the city

7/10
Author: Koli from Shropshire, England
17 January 2005

Mat Spirogolou's (Toby Malone) family know he is a talented footballer, and are pleased when he secures an audition to join a big club. They hope that when he arrives in the city his cousin will look after him.

But the cousins are like chalk and cheese: one a naive farm boy, the other a streetwise spendthrift who has managed to get mixed up with drug dealers and gangsters. Mat is unlikely to have a quiet evening in before his big day.

Having missed his cousin George (Damien Robertson) on arrival in the city, Mat encounters further trouble when a young biker takes him for a ride in more ways than one.

Toby Malone, probably better known for his work in theatre, puts in a commendable performance as the bucolic teenager. There are telltale signs of a low budget, but as with so many other low-budget movies there's more fun, seemingly more spontaneity, and more charm, than there is to be seen in the average Hollywood blockbuster.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Toby Malone's on a Roll!

7/10
Author: GHCool from Studio City, CA, USA
8 February 2005

ROLL is a wonderful little film. Toby Malone plays an 18 year old kid (very well acted, by the way) who is into soccer. Malone's cousin takes him out the night before his big game on an adventure with many twists and turns involving two gym bags, a drug lord, some tough bikers, some cops, and some prostitutes ... and the movie keeps us guessing as to which characters are on which side of the law, what the contents of either gym bag is, and even what gender a key biker is. Parts of it reminded me of LOCK STOCK AND TWO SMOKING Barrels.

For me, ROLL reinforced three opinions that I already held before seeing ROLL. Those opinions are: 1. I really want to visit Australia one day. The country and cities are beautiful and it looks like such a cool place for a vacation.

2. Some of the best filmmakers in the are Australian. The cinematography in ROLL was especially impressive. I loved the stylized colors and lighting in many of the scenes.

3. Australian women are HOT!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

roll rocks

Author: mick77 from yoker
28 February 2005

i think the best thing about the film was the performance of paul, tiny veneto's driver, played by suave Scottish actor, michael mccall. in a style not dissimilar to harrison ford's silent sojourn in the seminal piece, airforce one, mccall makes good with no lines to convey the deeper levels of a character on the edge of a precipice staring evil down and at the same time being caught up in a whirlwind of tyrannical envy. the main thing that strikes you in this performance is mccall's ability to create an essence statement with the roll of an eye or a toss of the head. and who could forget his despair at a life wasted when caught by the heroes at the end of the film. i look forward to seeing this man again in the near future in a role that befits him. well done to the producers for casting him. inspirational.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

An absolute Travesty

Author: Paul Smith from Australia
25 November 2004

This ghastly Western Australian short film does nothing to dispel the opinion that Aussie film industry has never been in worse shape. Badly written, garishly shot and miscast to the max it's truly awful.

Ex WA actor Marcus Graham is badly out of sorts as a cop. He was so much better in the TV show 'Good guys Bad Guys'.

Plenty of resources were obviously poured into this effort, but with the script so bad and the visual style so off putting this film has little to recommend it.

Unfortunately the only good thing that can be said is the fact the producers managed to get this project off the ground. Oh and it has a nice credit sequence. On all other accounts it's a bit of an embarrassment for all concerned.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history