IMDb > Rang De Basanti (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Rang De Basanti
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Rang De Basanti More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 31: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 303 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Brilliant

8/10
Author: Anil Reddy from Canada
2 December 2012

Brilliant film! A great story, backed up by great direction, screenplay and music. The plot too, is highly inspiring.

Movie has Absolutely contrasting halves but still conveys its message loud and clear. Supported by the great music composed by A.R. Rehman that goes very well with the story.

As the capture line reads .. A Generation Awakens .. it certainly sums it up best.

I hope it will inspire every Youngster to Hav there interference in their Surrounding and know their Politics as well.

Aamir has performed yet another astounding role where he has given a new meaning to practical comedy and frivolous mischief's.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

One of the Best Film !!

9/10
Author: saurabhmamgain from India
16 November 2012

First and foremost I would like to request some reviewers with Hollywood hangover to shut up . This film has the best of everything from acting , direction, music to story . People who think some scenes from the film were overblown clearly would also say that Bhagat Singh couldn't have gone into the parliament with a bomb . For them this is as unreal as shooting of a high rank British official in broad day light. Pseudo Intellectual's bashing aside this film awakens a generation . The plot and scenes are taken from real life and real life has taken from its plot and scenes. The situation of police beating innocent people is very much evident in every part of the world let alone India.The last scene is very emotional and gives you a perfect hangover even after the film has ended. All in all I don't want ruin your experience of this film , its a must see *period*.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Awesome awakening of a new generation

10/10
Author: hemant_balz from India
10 June 2010

Fabulous movie.The only word i could say after my first view of it.But with more seeings this one gets even better.Rang De Basanti has everything,from great performances to some terrific direction with some very good evergreen songs plus you have the star himself leading from the front Aamir Khan.I ain't surprised by his choice of movies.He is a class apart.You expect such performances from him & he always peaks.Lets talk of the performances first.Fantastic performances all the way.From Aamir Khan to Kunal Kapoor to Atul Kulkarni to Soha Ali Khan to Siddharth to Sharman Joshi.Everyone simply deliver with much grace.Waheeda Rehman,the legendary actress performs again a stunning role & gives her best.Alice Patten as Sue was sensational.Everything was just so perfect.The direction was flawless.Beautiful contrast scenes of the present & that of the old freedom fighting days are brought together.Rehman music stands apart.Song like Khalbali add spice & fun for the youth generation whereas song like Khoon Chala displays their anger & will for justice.The songs Luka Chupi & Tu Bin Bataye also are some class songs in the movie.The voice of Lata Mangeshkar in Luka Chupi song is just a honor in itself.Terrific plot with great vision from the director makes this a must watch for everyone.The movie adds fire to your heart & the youth of India begin to awake just to take that first step towards freedom.A rare awakening of a generation & until people keep on seeing this movie,Rang De Basanti will always stand a class apart from the rest.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Amazing movie from Bollywood

10/10
Author: Tanveer Akram (virgotanveer@hotmail.com) from Pakistan
30 December 2006

It's an amazing movie from Bollywood. This is the first movie i have seen ever before. Amazing acting by Aamir Khan as always. Music is also amazing each and every song is excellent. AR. Rehman has done an excellent job for the Music of Rang De Basanti. I wish that this movie should be awarded for Oscar Awards 2007.

The film stars Aamir Khan, Soha Ali Khan, Madhavan, Kunal Kapoor, Siddharth, Sharman Joshi, Atul Kulkarni, British actress Alice Patten, Waheeda Rehman, Om Puri, Kiron Kher and Anupam Kher. The music is by A. R. Rahman and the album went on to become a chartbuster. The movie was well-received all over the globe, and grossed Rs. 345.5M in its opening week.[1] The film has recently been selected as India's entry to the Golden Globe Awards and will compete in the foreign language film category.

The music is composed by A. R. Rahman and lyrics for the songs are written by Prasoon Joshi.

Rang De Basanti - sung by Daler Mehndi and Chitra Ek Onkar - recited by Harshdeep Kaur Khalbali - sung by A. R. Rahman, Mohamed Aslam and Nasim Khoon Chala - sung by Mohit Chauhan Lalkaar - recited by Aamir Khan Luka Chuppi - sung by Lata Mangeshkar and A. R. Rahman Pathshaala (Part 1) - sung by Naresh Iyer and Mohamed Aslam Pathshaala (Part 2: Be a rebel) - sung by Blaze, Naresh Iyer and Mohamed Aslam Rubaroo - sung by A. R. Rahman and Naresh Iyer Tu Bin Bataye - sung by Naresh Iyer and Madhushree

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

one of the finest movie made in the world history

10/10
Author: pacificdove1710 from hyd, India
15 December 2006

The movie deserves Oscar since it has the finest screenplay,script,direction ever done.

Also the way in which two stories in the movie interact together in the climax is just marvelous.

10 out of 10 for this movie.....

The movie is not only worth to watch, but also inspires young generation to think seriously of their duties towards their motherland.

One can take lessons in film making from this movie.

The movie is not only a big hit but also has made its mark in each and every Indian citizen.So, i think that the jury at the Oscars should just look at this film at least once since Indians films are mostly neglected by them

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

a total stunner

10/10
Author: somebody_yansi11
11 August 2006

i loved this movie. hope this was enough to motivate you to watch it.

All the hype about this movie being an ideal piece to represent Bollywood is totally true. This movie doesn't have a lot of the famous actors we know especially for me coz I'm an nri. But i think this does justice to the movie.

All performances were great. It wasn't a mistake to cast Aamir in a role almost half his age.

i loved the soundtrack. I can't get it out of my head.

its a must watch... go ahead and buy a DVD. coz i bought one. and yeah for all those emotional buddies out there be ready with tissues.

ENJOY

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

probably one of the most powerful cinemas of India which created a revolution)

Author: rangdetumpy from India
14 January 2011

One of the rare scenario where a film had started a movement. a lot has been said about the film so i will concentrate more on the after effects. India - a country where corruption is sky high and power can even buy you a mother and a whore at the same time it was really commendable to see Indian people getting influenced by the movie to start a movement to give justice to Jessica Lal (who was was shot dead in front of almost 300 stalwarts in the heart land of Delhi by a minister's son). In the RDB way people lit a candle near India Gate and there were thousands of people in the march.The pressure from common man was so strong that government were forced to look into the case which was earlier manipulated by those in the powers..finally justice was given...Now that the power of cinema to start a revolution..that is Rang DE Basanti for you.. Well some friends may not agree with me but i feel we the young India should do the same as done by the character of Siddharth in the movie..Shoot at your father's dick from a point blank range if you find him to be a corrupt politician,businessman,bureaucrat or any stalwart. In this way a new movement can begin.. and coming to the cinema hats off to Rakeysh OmPrakash Mehra for making such a strong comments through his cinema.In a land where staying coward is camouflage with flavors of Non Violence he dared to write a script that shows the spirit of true freedom fighters like Bhagat Singh..and oh boy! in a superb way he interwove the narrative with present youth thus moving the screenplay in a non linear pattern with reflections of past and present. Kudos to whole team of Rang DE Basanti again (a movie which i saw 6 times in the theater only)

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Aamir, original and superb actor. The only in Bollywood with so much talent.

10/10
Author: sjsjsj-1 from United States
25 February 2006

Aamir khan simply the best Bollywood actor we have today!! Movie was awesome. He is very talented. Top of Bollywood. Original actor. Chocolate actor. Able to do any role provided. Best of the best. Aamir Khan's style has always been copied buy top bollwood actors. Even top stars have follwed his path and tried to imitate his very unique style. People salutes him for his work and passion for his work. Always perfect!!! He is very down to earth unlike others in bollywood. Words can't decribe him and his work. Love his work and kinds of movies that be mades and just rocks box office around the world. There was no one like him there is no one like him and there won't be anyone like him. Very amazing actors and the only one.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Absolutely great

10/10
Author: Marttila from Europe
8 October 2006

One of the best movies of the past few years. Finally a movie talking about contemporary issues, and about young people who believe in something. This was my first Bollywood movie and I really enjoyed being "cast" in a world I barely know. The movie goes through several interesting themes, like clash of cultures (Muslims in India), a love story, contemporary Indian politics, family values... but everything is "interwoven" in a clever way so that you don't lose track. The plot is also good and not predictable. I am so tired of watching movies that tell nothing new, with actors that put no passion, and stories that you saw a hundred times already. I am also tired of the absence of "ideals", of "big" issues, not only in movies but in general. This movie was surprising and bold.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Already ready

Author: Mr. Bug from Switzerland
3 February 2006

A year and a half ago I commented on "Lakshya": Don't expect a rabid anti war or anti establishment film. The time has not yet come for this in Bollywood. With "Rang de Basanti" Bollywood has made a film that clearly does not shy away from pointing a finger at the holy cows 'army' and 'government' and dares to suggest that corruption and infamy extend up to the highest ranks and most respected institutions of Indian society. While the opening offers the usual disclaimer (fictional story bla bla) the end draws clear parallels to reality. And what the characters in the film think and say reflects what young Indians actually do think and say. This is not Bollywood fantasy land, running around trees and you know the drill. It's nonetheless a genuine Bollywood film. Just a far better one than the usual kind. Good performance from an ensemble cast all around, no superstar shenanigans, catchy music, an inventive visual style, technically sound execution and a quite realistic script make this one a winner not to be missed. Go see it on the big screen.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 31: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history