IMDb > Little Children (2006) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Little Children
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Little Children More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 16 of 33: [Prev][11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [Next]
Index 325 reviews in total 

Wonderful movie

9/10
Author: bowmanblue from United Kingdom
19 May 2014

I can't believe I have only just watched this. And, to make matters worse, I very nearly turned it off after about a quarter of an hour. The film is about two couples, both trapped in their own loveless marriages.

From the start we get some form of 'narration' from a character never seen in the film. I found this kind of off-putting at first as it tells you what characters are thinking and I thought it was a lazy way at skipping through finding things out about characters as a view. However, this narration basically disappears more and more as the film progresses and, in my opinion, is the right thing to do.

The film is long - just over two hours and it gets better and better. Everyone's performance is brilliant and there's little negative to say about it.

If you're into adult drama about relationships that are very bittersweet, then this one is for you.

Although, be warned, a happy-happy, feel-good movie this is not.

Too much like real life.

http://thewrongtreemoviereviews.blogspot.co.uk/

Was the above review useful to you?

Jackie Earl Haley!

7/10
Author: elrogrrl from Canada
19 August 2013

This movie is good but not great, the real reason to watch it is the performances which are all good but the really great performance is without a doubt Jackie Earl Haley. He plays a creepy paedophile but he is such a good actor that he actually makes himself seem like he deserves to be felt sorry for instead of just hated. This movie was nominated for three Academy Awards which I didn't even know until I visited this page just now (I just saw the movie with my boyfriend/partner and we both loved his performance) and I am very happy that one of those nominations was for Best Supporting Actor for Jackie Earl Haley. It's a shame he didn't win because he deserved it (not to say whoever won that year didn't deserve it of course) but I'm sure it's hard for people to vote for a character of a paedophile obviously! I'm sure he'll win one eventually, he deserves it. Loved him in Watchmen too.

Was the above review useful to you?

Are We All Little Children?

7/10
Author: mjcfoxx from United States
19 July 2013

This movie is clever, funny, and disturbing, which is a set of adjectives usually reserved for really good horror movies. And let's face it: this is, in many ways, horror film. How many scenes within it manage to make your stomach churn? It's indignation at close-minded people is almost satirical. Everyone in this film has some sort of problem. The literary allusions are spot on, if you consider 'Crime and Punishment' or 'Madame Bovary', and its willingness to leave a few subplots open is something of a ham-fisted brilliance. Hard to look past its more disturbing moments, though. I'm surprised there's not a suicide somewhere in a dark corner of this film's vaguely promising yet contemplatively messy ending.

Was the above review useful to you?

What about Todd's infidelities?

7/10
Author: Aisha Clarke from United States
3 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I enjoyed the movie. I like everything about it. Except for the parts with Kathy and her charlatan husband. Now it's time for Todd to apologize for "his" infidelities. They acted like Kathy made Todd go to law school like a mother. He's a grow man he had a choice. He never told her he didn't like law school. And why wasn't he working and supporting his wife and son too? Now that he was old enough to start preschool. And why did the movie made him out to be the victim? Kathy wasn't the one misbehaving. I guess Kathy's mother was right. Now she should listen and leave them. But I liked everything else about the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

Yes it's art, but is it entertainment?

7/10
Author: Neil Welch from United Kingdom
2 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Mother and housewife Kate Winslet is discontented with her lot. At the playground she bumps into househusband Patrick Wilson (married to Jennifer Connelly), also discontented with his lot, and they start an affair. Also in the neighbourhood is Jackie Earle Hailey, released from prison for child sex offences (the film leaves it open as to whether he is actually a paedophile although he is clearly more than slightly mixed up on the sexual side). It seems unlikely to turn out well...

And it's probably not giving too much away to say that it doesn't although, frustratingly, major elements of the movie are left open-ended. I suppose you can make up your own ending.

This film features excellent performances (from, particularly, Connelly and Hailey) but, for me, it all remained sleazy and downbeat, not to mention unresolved. I don't mind tragedy every now and then, but I do like a bit of redemption to kick at somewhere around the ending: if you're not going to have that, at least do me the favour of telling me what happened.

Was the above review useful to you?

The Porcelain Menagerie

8/10
Author: wes-connors from Los Angeles
18 December 2012

The tranquil suburban town of East Wyndam, Massachusetts is rocked by the release of a convicted sex offender. At the Walker Street Playground, mothers watch their children play with trepidation. Most residents think "the pervert" should be castrated, but bored housewife Kate Winslet (as Sarah Pierce) disagrees. She is not a typical suburban woman. Heads turns when handsome, well-built Patrick Wilson (as Brad Adamson) arrives at the playground with his little son. The women turn school-girlish and bet Ms. Winslet she can't get Mr. Wilson's telephone number. Eventually, she gets more than his number...

The action moves from the playground to the town's pool, where things heat up considerably. We learn sex offender Jackie Earle Haley (as Ronald "Ronnie" James McGorvey) was found guilty of exposing himself. He visits the public pool to cool off, and is treated like the killer shark from "Jaws". The Committee for Concerned Parents is run by Wilson's after hours football buddy Noah Emmerich (as Larry Hedges). Retired from the police force for accidentally killing a kid, Mr. Emmerich wants "the pervert" publicly humiliated and run out of town. Most folks agree with Emmerich...

"Little Children" features stellar acting by Winslet, Wilson, Haley and Emmerich. There were several "Supporting Actor" awards for Haley and "Best Actress" nominations for Winslet. Shining in lesser roles are Wilson's hard-working wife Jennifer Connelly (as Katherine "Kathy" Adamson), Haley's over-protective mom Phyllis Somerville (as May McGorvey) and Winslet's porn-addicted husband Gregg Edelman (as Richard Pierce). No doubt they would all thank director Todd Field, creating magical roles with original writer Tom Perrotta. Alas, the film would be more powerful sans narration.

******** Little Children (9/1/06) Todd Field ~ Kate Winslet, Patrick Wilson, Jackie Earle Haley, Noah Emmerich

Was the above review useful to you?

Film Review for a Film with a Creepy Title, "Little Children."

Author: s-wesner1
7 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Movie Review for the Excellently Done Movie: Little Children This movie, which ends in a castration scene, begins a bit better. . . Starring, Kate Winslet, Noah Emmerich (of Midnight on Elm Street Fame, who is meanly used in all sorts of "scary" roles), and a handful of other rather famous, and not-such-famous actors, like, Tugman Tookmanlian, and even, Mike Topoozian, this movie has all sorts of messages, not the least of which being the one that says it is okay to leave your wife and happy marriage for a "floozie" or a "hussy" and run away together, which actually does happen in this movie. What I liked the least about it, was, in fact, this very message; the seemingly cardboard-character, played by Patrick Wilson, is not in the least a model husband. . . He is so nice, it seems, that he is "not nice" (William Shakespeare always did say, "Too much niceness borders on not nice," or, something like this).

Indeed, too, is the saying by William Makepeace Shakespeare apt in this case: "Better three hours too soon than a minute too late." For, one of the antagonists, to be sure, in the film, a societal outcast named, "Ronnie McGorvey" is notable to be every suburban mother's worst nightmare: an active, though not outrageous (he has never physically harmed anybody) child-seeker/pedophile. A lonely man who is apparently in his forties and lives with his aging, quickly graying mother, the man is seemingly innocuous, however, he has this minor issue (a little sarcasm goes a long way) of liking kids, boys or girls are not specified (*but the movie hints that he is not gay; he simply can't related to women of his own age, it appears, for he does not get out of the house much. He has one semi-successful date with a woman, semi-successful, it seems, for he plays with himself unannounced in the car with the woman, after ordering her to turn her lights off, and emotionally traumatizes her, who had raised her hopes that perhaps this was the man she had been waiting for) far from his own age. Also, this quote, though it hardly relates directly, to the theme I am talking about here, will suffice in some relevance, "The evil that men do lives long after them; the good that they do is oft interred with their bones."

"How poor are they that have not patience; wounds only heal by degrees," is also an apt, or, relevant statement to this film. As he was valiant, I honor him, but as he was ambitious, I slew him. That, is a fitting statement, not really applicable to this film, but a good Shakespeare quote, nonetheless. Unless, of course, one wants to refer to the castration scene, at the end, in which Ronnie M. gets up from the swing he was on, only for the viewers to hear the "drip, drip, drip" in blood caused by his rising, and, before that, from his following his dear, sweet mother's commands to "be a good boy, Ronnie." He took this literally, adhering to the advice that he no doubt understood from other suburban mothers, that, "he should be castrated." So, this movie sheds some light on pedophiles, in general, that they are not always mentally retarded "monsters" but that they are often just, lost in their own delusional world. In fact, Ronnie says quite pathetically to his mom in one scene that he is "not a Retard." This Is good news, to Ronnie, but his mother worries about him, nonetheless, so much, so that she is a nervous wreck, and when a neighborhood man does nothing more than bat her away, she who tries to take the bull-horn he is using to try to alert the neighborhood to the menace of a "pervert in their midst," she has an obvious fit, a heart attack. Devoted son follows his Mom to the hospital, absolutely distraught, but gets his revenge against the man (who himself has shot a 13-yr.-old boy in his earlier life) who accuses him of being a monster, as well as a true villain who should be locked up, only to find, quite sadly, and unexpectedly, that his mother has died, leaving him with nothing more than her sweet scrawl, saying, "Ronnie." And, one last message, "Be a good boy." My issue with this movie is that it is a bit cold in places, and leaves a lot of things out. What would have happened, for instance, if the movie had completely left out, and left audiences wondering about, whether Ronnie had received his mother's message or not? Given the evil nature of many of our nation's hospitals, this would not surprise me at all that Hollywood might do this; and, in addition, there is the concern of what Ronnie would do now that his mother had died, and had left him to tend to the house, the dishes, and, of course, the cooking (itself being a more complex activity).

Indeed, there are many issues with this film, what with it glamorizing "adultery" but it does show up the hypocrisy that many of us have in our own lives: for example, we sometimes get into the sort of a mood, where, we accuse one another of having faults that we ourselves claim not to possess. This is not a good habit, and the movie shows how we can be punished by circumstances ///

Was the above review useful to you?

Characters without character

8/10
Author: jonboyandroid from North Carolina, USA
9 August 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This film is about people going about their lives, each in their own little bubble.

I loved Phyllis Somervile playing the loving mother of a pervert who is not a bad person, just a person who did a bad thing. She has complete love for her son Ronnie who is stalked by the bully, Larry. When Larry attacks Ronnie verbally, she calls Larry a bad man and puts him right in his place. Each character is like Larry - they all go about their lives, so intent on their desires that they do not realize the impacts of their actions.

The film is an emotional roller coaster. At moments it is funny, and sad, and darkly comedic, and tragic. For example, You feel doom before Ronnie is about to victimize yet another person, then oddly laugh as it starts, and then the remorse sets in as you feel the extreme pain of his victim. So either the film set up this odd combination of emotions, or I just forgot to take my lithium.

Was the above review useful to you?

A fresh treat in a stale industry

10/10
Author: ddude1116 from United States
3 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This here is a film about the lives of suburbanites, which stretches their drama to the extent it can go, without it ever feeling old or used. Its cast is an ensemble, but its core is Sarah and Brad, played by Kate Winslet and Patrick Wilson, and how they're trapped in marriages to unreceptive spouses and take refuge with one another. There is a subplot involving a sympathetic pedophile, and a broken man trying to regain his life, neither or which loses pitch in their portrayals. It lingers and develops properly, never cutting anything short, but with that being said, it is obvious how much thought went into the editing of this film. Each segment has gravity, having been toned down to the bare essentials. This film doesn't focus on the action, but the reaction. The story is told by a narrator, which is how we know what is going on, but the narrator sets up the scenes, and we watch everything build and unfold. I could tell you right now that at one time, Brad and Sarah go away for a weekend together, and while it is technically a spoiler, it is only an abridgment of a narration and would not spoil anything. The story is not essential, but is merely the stage. This movie is probably a bit too long, but it doesn't feel it. It never misses a beat, unfolding smoothly and precisely before us. There was too much dialogue in this film, and not enough action, but like I said, that was not its intent. It's a testament to the filmmakers how they got away with it.

Was the above review useful to you?

Awesome!

8/10
Author: ephraim-maigida from United States
26 March 2012

Just remarkable, because it goes in split second from laughter to deep tragic shock without affecting the credibility of the story, back and forth.

Every actor has been brilliantly directed and it is a gallery of portrays, not just two actors leading the story. I found myself so affected by it because of the sheer unpredictable storyline going to predictable then going back to the unknown.

You will watch how people whirl themselves into their own actions and then try to find a way out of these consequences. Then they free themselves at times, to trap themselves next. Absolutely brilliant, with an array of emotions succeeding to one another.

Visually sumptuous. People stayed in the theater and talked about it.

Looking back, you feel afterward how much love and dedication from director, crew and actors went into it. Just a stunning, beautiful movie.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 16 of 33: [Prev][11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history