Brooklyn Lobster (2005) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Our Farm
acp7s23 June 2005
I saw this movie at a screening in New York City and really liked it! It's a warm, charming and timeless tale of a family coming together during less-than-ideal times. The premise revolves around a family rallying to save their generations old lobster business. The characters are recognizable and easy to identify with, allowing for an enjoyable movie-going experience which leaves you with a smile on your face (especially as you remember how your own family emerged after facing similar woes together, lobster business or no.)

The music is fun, the lobsters are omnipresent, and the story is engrossing. Enjoy!
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
a great movie
andthelostmusic29 June 2005
It is rare to see these days such a true to life film. the director delivers an extraordinary story of the truth of the human character. The depth of passion expelled from each look and each frame is amazing. Never have I seen such truth put on screen.

It is the way of the world, It is the truth of the hardship of living.

Based on a true Brooklyn story about an Italian family in the middle of some rocky patches.

The lines and thoughts stay with you long after the movie has ended. The characters just felt like people that I know. People with real problems nothing melodramatic which was nice to see.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Saw this in LA
davemc36019 June 2005
I saw this film at a screening in LA recently and truly enjoyed it. Genuine and full of heart, and I thought the acting was terrific. I don't know why Danny Aiello hasn't had more leading roles before this, and I was impressed by Jane Curtain in a drama since she's really only been in comedies, like SNL. Once I was immersed in the story, I really felt for these characters, and I could definitely identify with the son's conflicted feelings of loyalty towards his dad and his dad's business. No matter what happens, you will always love your parents, but often times there are things about them that drive you crazy and make you swear you'll never be like them. I thought this movie was well-written -- the dialogue seemed like conversations between real people, not trite like a lot of Hollywood movies. Nice to see an indie that you can actually relate to.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The movie feels very real
alex-119420 June 2005
I was glad to see a movie where nothing explodes, no one gets shot, where the characters are well, regular people doing their best to keep it together...

Lobster farm tells the story of a small business and the family that defines it. Or maybe it's the other way around… As the plot and characters are introduced we begin to see how closely the identity of the individuals and of the family as a whole are tied to their small business.

Through the day to day routines and an unusual string of events, we discover each person and a chance to see ourselves.

One by one, we get both a comedic and quirky peek into their individual stories leading in to a more serious look at the gravity of what family business and the family are faced with.

All in all , because of the story, the acting and the direction, Lobsterfarnm feels very real. It makes you laugh like your laughing with family. It makes you worry like you would about your own. Ultimately it paints a portrait of a family with all it's facets that is a real gem.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
well worth the trouble
mesilverma28 January 2006
I saw the movie at a local indie film venue in NY suburbia -- Jacob Burns films center. Audience applauded at the conclusion as did I. This is a nice film with some great performances by a solid ensemble of some well known and not so well known folks. The grainy texture of the print for me added to the experience. The dialogue was exceptional in its simplicity and feel of reality. Danny Aiello and Jane Curtin as Frank and Maureen Georgio played it real and perfectly. No they are not Tracy and Hepburn nor did they hit a false note at any time. Of the supporting cast Daniel Sauli was good, though not superb as their son Michael Georgio. Henry Yuk stood out as the Chinese business man--best friend of Frank. The rest of the cast adds atmosphere to the piece with spare dialogue that gives a sense of who they are without involving them. In sum--this is rewarding film for film lovers.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Superbly Done
corehead19 December 2005
Brooklyn Lobster, poignant story about a man's love for his work, his family and his traditions. My wife and I enjoyed the film immensely and should be seen by all. The acting was genuine and both Danny Aiello and Jane Curtin should be applauded for the fact that they participated for the love of it, for a project they believed in, rather than for the almighty dollar. I especially appreciated the performance of Henry Yuk who I grew up with in the old neighborhood on Avenue J. The movie brings out the best in what people are. After the movie, Kevin Jordan held a Q&A session and those who watched the film gained a better appreciation for the family and the struggles they endured.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Go see this beautiful film
jodineufblog28 October 2005
Just saw this movie at NYU with interview with director following the screening. He was as engaging and genuine as the film itself. This young man is a gifted director, mentored by Martin Scorcese, and what makes the film even more compelling is its basis in the true story of his own family's struggle to keep their lobster business "afloat." After the screening both the director and the director's father shared their emotions and anecdotes, and the audience could tell how much it meant to them to tell their story in this film. Aiello and Curtin signed on to do the film knowing that it would pay some $75 a day, so you know that the script was special and spoke to them on a deep, human level. I highly recommend this film and I hope everyone who can will go see it!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Nice little film about a man, his family and his crustaceans.
brucks1830 October 2005
This movie is a labor of love for its writer and director, who has created this autobiograghical film. A family with a 60 year old business is hit with many changes, and the film loving deals with how the patriarch handles these problems. You cannot help but enjoy the movie, as Danny Aiello once again plays a tough Italian father who tries to hold on. Jane Curtin plays his wife with care and success and the rest of the actors do a fine job, but it's Danny show. Though the themes are clearly universal, anyone from Brooklyn (or New York, for that matter) will feel an affinity for the characters and the settings, and there are a number of items in the film which give a New yorker a warm feel of familiarity. A little film, made in New York, by a New York, with New Yorkers. Go see it and support New York films.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Well drawn characters ...
Rosie0521 June 2005
Finally- a true independent film that believes that well developed characters, realistic dialogue, and a true to life story make a good film instead of explosions and potty humor.

Every performance is nuanced, every character flawed, every joke funny... and it clearly a labor of love. I look forward to when this movie is released in more theaters so I can see it again. Who doesn't want to watch something that makes you feel good in an entirely plausible context? It is nice to escape when you are the movies, but it also nice to believe what you are escaping to can happen.

I actually believed the people in this movie were a family and cared about each other. And who knew that the lobster business would be so interesting?
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Movie For Baby Boomers
BabsStanwyk22 June 2005
I saw this film at the Union Square screening and was simply thrilled to see a film for people over 35 years old. WE STILL GO TO THE MOVIES! I saw this with my sister who is getting up there (okay she's 48..Sorry :) We both had tears in our eyes at the end. To sit in audience and have this experience go on a ride that has adult characters going through real situations. Who decided to kill this for us?? They've already killed CBS FM what's next?! We have DVD players too! I love my Netflix account. This pushing us out to pasture while the fart joke movies dominate makes me sick. I still want to go to movies. This movie had such a warm natural cadence. Jane Curtin and Danny Aiello were simply a real married couple that have been through a good deal of sh** together. They still had love but a past that showed many bumps, many choices and all in their eye contact. It was a wonderful ride with a REAL FAMILY! Felt like mine but Italian not French/ Irish!! :)
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Sheepshead Bay
jotix10021 December 2007
Frank Giorgio, the owner of a lobster place in Brooklyn is facing the possible loss of the business that has been in the family since the 1930s. To make matters worse, his own marriage has failed before his own eyes, as Maureen, his wife of many years has decided she has had enough, and moves out. Frank's life, as he knew it, is coming crashing down on him. One of the solutions for his problems is to sell the business to a franchise restaurant who wants the location, but being so proud, it is something he doesn't want to consider. His own sense of loyalty to the place his parents dedicated their lives to, plays heavily on his soul.

All this is happening around Christmas. Michael, the son who has left Brooklyn to make a name for himself in Seattle, returns for a visit with his fiancée, the gorgeous Kerry, whose family is rich and might be interested in investing in his father failing business. Michael is torn between his own ambition about the company he has established in the West Coast, or come to the help of his old man.

"Brooklyn Lobster" was a rare surprise to find the other night on cable. It's a story written and directed by Kevin Jordan, who evidently knows what he is talking about, since it appears it has some biographical slant to it. The film involves the viewer because the situation at the center of the story feels plausible. It's a different kind of story without following any formula.

Mr. Jordan was lucky in finding Danny Aiello, an actor that always projects honesty in his work, to impersonate the older Giorgio. Mr. Aiello is one of the best reasons for watching the film, as he pulls us into the story without any effort. Daniel Sauli is also good as Michael, the son who has left, only to come back and finds out things are not good at home. Jane Curtin, a rarely used actress, plays Maureen, the wife that has decided to move on, rather than to stay with Frank, yet, she still stays close to home.

This is a film that feels real from beginning to end thanks to the solid writing by Kevin Jordan and his clear view of a family in trouble.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A great New York film
David27 January 2007
I just rented the DVD.

It was interesting to see a movie take place in New York City, but not in Manhattan for once.

This film unfolds gently giving us a glimpse of a struggling family. The characters are flawed but likable and the actors seem to really embrace the roles. The fact that the film is based on the director's real family makes it all the more poignant.

It succeeded in drawing me in as I started to worry about the fate of their Lobster business. Watching the main character struggle with his family while trying to get his own life in order seemed both familiar and honest in its frank portrayal.

Well done! I look forward to seeing more works by this talented film maker.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Pretty well made but also not all that easy to like
MartinHafer24 May 2008
This film begins with a son returning back to Brooklyn to spend the holidays with his family. The timing stinks, however, since his dad is about to lose his business and his parents are splitting up. Because of all these pressures, this is definitely NOT a "feel good holiday film" nor is it as uplifting and happy as some reviews make it appear to be. I really think that the reviews are mostly a bit too positive. Considering most reviews give the film a 9 or 10 and the overall rating is just over 6, my review might just be more in line with the average viewer.

I am a sucker for independent film productions. Having gotten tired of all the glitz and special effects in a typical Hollywood film, I deliberately seek out plot-driven films where characters actually are important (a crazy concept, I know). So it's not at all surprising that I watched BROOKLYN LOBSTER. However, in hindsight, I wish I probably hadn't because the main character (played by Danny Aiello) is a very selfish jerk. At times you can understand and sympathize with his plight, but even if times were good, he STILL would have been a jerk. And because he is so integral to the plot, the overall impact of the film is diminished. Watchable and full of good acting, yes, but still not particularly outstanding or fun to watch.

Also, be forewarned--the language is a tad intense at times. The easily offended should probably stay clear.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A well-crafted slice of life
arthurblock21 December 2005
"Brooklyn Lobster" takes a close, careful look at a group of people dealing with major and minor problems in a rather unusual family business. Since it lacks contrived melodrama, I suppose it's vulnerable to the dreaded charge that "nothing much happens". However, I think a great deal does happen, although quietly. It's necessary to pay attention to appreciate what's going on, but this is easy to do thanks to a number of fine performances. Danny Aiello in particular does a great job in the central role, bringing out the strengths and weakness in the character and never crossing the line to histrionics.

The film also does an excellent of giving the audience a sense of place, without ever turning into a travelogue. The only "I'm being taught about lobster farms" moment I had was when a character explained that they don't actually breed lobsters, which I thought was rather interesting. Other factual details emerge naturally from the story.

I had read a few print reviews of "Brooklyn Lobster" earlier, so I was aware that some critics had been rather unenthusiastic. My reaction while seeing it was that if this had been a foreign film with a no-name cast, it would have been praised for "defying the canons of conventional storytelling" or something like that. It's certainly a film worth seeing, and goes on my personal top ten list for 2005.

Due to a derogatory comment by another review on this site, I feel I should mention that I had nothing to do with this film, and don't know anyone who is connected with it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Made on a shoestring, with love
cliffs_of_fall5 June 2011
The other reviews here do a fine job of encapsulating this movie's plot line and its charms. But this is not just a low-budget film, it is a VERY low-budget film, so expect horrible lighting and sound; once or twice over the course of the movie, the characters are not even audible. The soundtrack is intrusive; the director ought to have had more faith in his material and just let certain scenes play out without tinny musical embellishments. I also found myself puzzling over the exact nature of the financial shenanigans that are a key part of the drama. Still, the movie has its moments and Jane Curtin gives an especially fine, and almost self-effacing, performance.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Rare Famiily Oriented Movie!
Syl2 January 2011
This film has some minor flaws but it's worth visiting at least once. It's totally relevant to today's economy and family businesses threatened under faulty bank loans and mortgages. Emmy winner Jane Curtin and Oscar nominee Danny Aiello are perfectly casted as the matriarch Maureen and Papa Giorgio. While Maureen wants a life without lobster, her husband is fighting for his survival. Danny Aiello gives an award-winning worth performance as the patriarch torn between protecting and saving his business while trying to keep his family together. The rest of the cast is not familiar to audiences maybe except Heather Ryan for playing their son's longtime girlfriend Carrie. She does an excellent job in the role as does the rest of the cast and crew. I loved Stephen Schnetzer on Another World as a lawyer. He's here too as a lawyer even for only a small part of the film.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A quietly beautiful and touching film about a family handling distress with courage
Amy Adler6 December 2010
Frank Giorgio (Danny Aiello) has a lobster "farm" in the waters off Brooklyn, New York. Its been in the family for three generations and he spends a great deal of his time at work. Unfortunately, this spelled trouble for his longtime marriage to Maureen (Jane Curtin) and she has moved in with the couple's only daughter. One son, Justin, still works with his father and the other, Michael, who is about to propose to his longtime galfriend (Heather Burns), has recently returned to New York, against his wishes. That's because Frank needs his help, badly. The bank that financed the lobster business went under, and Frank's loan is no longer good. Other business and real estate folks are vying for the property and it looks like there are no solutions to keep the farm going. Or are there? Mr. Giorgio's longtime customers, Asian restaurant owners in Chinatown, may provide the way. But, will it be possible to save Frank and Maureen's marriage? And, will Michael stay involved in the business? This is a lovely, touching film about hard-working folks who have a tall mountain to climb, keeping a family business afloat. The cast is truly wonderful, with Aiello and Curtin the only really big names but with everyone fulfilling their roles nicely. The setting is an interesting part of Brooklyn, not always seen, but the costumes are the more ordinary garments of the working class, and the camera work is merely average. Kudos, however, go to the unusual story and the sure-footed direction. One question, if lobsters can be raised in farms, why do fishermen risk their lives off the eastern seaboard for their delicious prey? The answer is not clear. But, no matter. Like a savory lobster dinner, this film is unusually good, in its quiet way. Book a reservation for a view soon.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Humor - Heartbreak - Real Life
Neil Turner7 November 2008
If you like films about real people expertly portrayed by established and talented actors, you'll love Brooklyn Lobster. Writer/director, Kevin Jordan based his film upon his real family that has been in the seafood business in New York since 1938. He shows us a picture of his family that is loving but not saccharine.

The family patriarch is played by Danny Aiello who shows us a strong, single-minded man. He is stubborn and has many flaws, but beneath beats the proverbial heart of gold. He loves his business and its traditions and attempts to move heaven and earth to save it from the bankers who are trying to foreclose.

Jane Curtin is excellent as the marriage-weary wife who has decided to divorce herself from the conflict of the business and from a man who sees only the business and nothing else. Most people think of comedy if Curtin is involved, but her range as an actor enables her to take a part such as this and make it her own. She beautifully portrays a woman who has become fed up with her live yet can move on without bitterness.

Daniel Sauli plays the son who has managed to escape the trials of the family business but is conflicted with the desire to help his father. He gives us a realistic picture of a young man caught between the love of his girlfriend and his new life and the love and devotion to his father.

All this is combined with a spate of superior supporting actors who combine with worthy writing and insightful directing to produce a film about real life with all the humor and heartbreak that it involves.

If you decide to give this film a viewing, be sure to view the special features on the DVD as they will enhance your pleasure by giving you a look at the real people upon whom the film is based.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Tank Full of Good Feelings
gradyharp13 March 2007
BROOKLYN LOBSTER is a fine little low budget film that boasts a good story (based on fact) written and directed By Kevin Jordan, an excellent low key cast, and enough family love to satisfy just about everybody's need for feel good movies.

Giorgio's Lobster Farm has been in the Giorgio family for years and has recently come on hard times: the bank defaulted on the note held by the business and the business faces foreclosure - and even worse, it will be auctioned off, removing it permanently from the family. Frank Giorgio (Danny Aiello) is trying to keep his business alive, neglecting his wife Maureen (Jane Curtin) who is tired of living with the crustaceans, and depending on his daughter Lauren (Marisa Ryan) to be his computer, and trying to convince his son Michael (Daniel Sauli) to return to New York from his home in Seattle to help run the business. Michael's steady girlfriend Kerry (Heather Burns) supports the concept of saving the business but when her family gets involved an incident occurs which damages all concerned. How Frank's close friend Bill Lau (Henry Yuk) and wife Jen (Jo Yang) step into the failing picture builds to a climax that demonstrates how family, love, extended family, friends, and perseverance can heal just about anything! The cast is excellent with Danny Aiello, Jane Curtin and Daniel Sauli especially fine. But the overwhelming result of this little film is a restoration of faith in the human spirit - with a lot of help from family and friends. Grady Harp
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Something that everyone should see at Christmas.
Lee Eisenberg7 January 2007
Knowing that Jane Curtin was one of the original "Saturday Night Live" cast members might make it hard to imagine that she could star in something as serious as "Brooklyn Lobster", but it comes out very good. The movie tells the story of Frank Giorgio (Danny Aiello), a seafood merchant whose business falls on hard times, forcing him and his family to reevaluate their lifestyles and relationships with each other.

I think that what made the movie especially effective was the Yuletide setting. It reminds us that while so many people are merrily eating dinner and opening presents, a number of individuals - possibly more than half of us - are struggling just to get by, with or without tragedy striking. As it is, I got the feeling that Frank felt pretty disgusted with how the surrounding world was celebrating, and that drove him to do some of the angry things that he did.

So, this is certainly a movie that I recommend. See it if possible.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Dead fish
NYraspail22 June 2005
I saw this film, I expected a lot and it didn't deliver. It's that simple. It's boring, and over the top performance-wise. The actors are all pretty OTHER movies. The rest of these reviews on this site smell like typical plants to me. So be very careful before paying any money to go see it. Although, once it's on video, it might be worth a look. If it ever gets there. I've read other comments that said it has been passed over for any kind of distribution and when I was at the screening the producers said that it was rejected by every festival. Bad sign for an independent film. But it makes my point for me. My 2 cents.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews