IMDb > Far Cry (2008) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Far Cry
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Far Cry More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 74 reviews in total 

79 out of 103 people found the following review useful:

Forget the game it is based on and you might find it watchable

5/10
Author: chrichtonsworld from Netherlands
9 March 2009

This may be Uwe Boll's best movie ever. No,I'm not a fan. How could I be. Uwe Boll is a director who shows no respect for his audience and doesn't deserve respect when it comes to making movies. He even admitted himself that he does it solely for the money. He is not skilled at all and has got the creativity of an amoeba. But is that a reason for not liking or watching his movies. Well,yes and no. It all comes down to expectation. If you have none than "Far Cry" will surprise you. Til Schweiger is well aware of Boll's reputation and doesn't take it seriously which shows and is one of the strong points of the movie. The second strong element are the action scenes which are actually pretty decent and fun to watch. Does this movie has anything to do with the game? Of course not(OK,maybe 1 or 2 elements are taken from the game). Does it have a good story? Guess again. What about the acting? At least it wasn't completely annoying and Til's Jack Carver was very likable. "Far Cry" is movie that can be fun if you are able to put your brain off.

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

You need to know, what to expect

7/10
Author: mr_shya from Germany
27 March 2009

I went to see this film in the cinema with some friends of mine and we expected the movie to be complete trash. Since Uwe Boll is regarded the worst director ever, we expected to see a stupid, bad, ridiculous action movie with a story hardly good enough for a video game.

And this was, what we got.

This film will just make you laugh all the time. Not for actual jokes in the movie, but more for the ridiculous characters. Come on, a German ex-elite soldier making his living as a boat-captain in Canada, Meets the niece of another German ex-elite-soldier, who works for an evil, mad, German scientist who is trying to create the new Master-Race of biologically modified soldiers for the US-Military...in Canada. Then there are the stereotype Mercenary, the stereotype Soldiers and the stereotype Monsters.

Speaking of ridiculous characters, what exactly is Emilio's role in this film? Still, the action was surprisingly good and the movie all in all was very entertaining. If you want to see art, it's your own fault you didn't like the movie. But if you want to see a movie, too ridiculous to be taken serious, I promise you, you will be fine with "Far Cry"

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 58 people found the following review useful:

It wasn't terrible, certainly not a 3/10...

6/10
Author: tkchess from United States
2 May 2009

I am well aware of Uwe Boll's work, I am also aware that the people on this site are not fond of his work and mercilessly down-rate his productions. That said, I don't think this movie is worth only a 3 or 4 out of 10.

The acting wasn't terrible, then again there wasn't much acting to begin with. The movie seemed like something out of the 1980's with its numerous action sequences, a lot of which involved boats, water and explosions.

The movie's plot didn't exactly follow the game's, but it worked to some extent. Simply put, there is a crazy scientist genetically engineering soldiers to be super soldiers. One of the normal soldiers on the island decides to organize a meeting with his journalist niece on the island to expose the work and in the process gets caught. The niece hires Jack, a guy who runs his own tourist boat, to get to the island to meet her uncle. She gets caught, Jacks goes to save her and also gets caught. Blah blah blah blah, Jack and the niece escape and live happily ever after...oh and the scientist guy dies. You know, your standard Hollywood movie plot...there's a bad guy, the good guy infiltrates and gets caught, eventually escapes and in the process kills the bad guy and destroys his evil operation.

Yeah, at times it drags, and yeah the guy who plays Jack isn't a native American which doesn't really work since the guy in the game comes off as your run-of-the-mill beer drinking American. The action sequences involve fake guns and props which appear to be just that...and yes, we can blame the director as he likes to rush his dreck movies into theaters which allows for little post production time...but the movie worked well. I put it on par with any other fairly rated action movies with similar plots that lack any sort of serious character development...Collateral Damage, Eraser, Escape from LA, Mission Impossible 2, Resident Evil movies, Tango & Cash, xXx, etc. In other words, if you are looking for just another run-of-the-mill action movie where the good guy wins, bad guy loses, and there is no character development, Far Cry is another movie to put on your NetFlix.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Better than bloodrayne at least

4/10
Author: warriorscot from United Kingdom
12 April 2009

One of Bolls better attempts. Just shows that if you do something long enough you have to improve just by chance. It is still not good but it is at least watchable which is an improvement over the bloodrayne. The main difference between Bloodrayne and FarCry really is that the story from Farcry wasn't the games strong point whereas Bloodrayne had a strong story and thus Boll had more chance to mess it up.

The action in this movie is actually fairly good. Occasionally a touch overdone but in a good way and worth a watch just for that.

Acting wise it was pretty decent. Most of the actors are pretty good but you can tell they aren't taking it seriously based on comparisons with other performances. But the lighter mood this gives to the film actually helps.

While I think sticking a little bit closer to the story of the game might have made for a slightly better film the changes made are pretty practical and not big enough to make a difference. Especially given the plot of the game was hardly Oscar winning just a vehicle for FPS carnage. Would have liked it set in the Jungle as that was a pretty integral part of the game but Canada doesn't have a great deal of Jungle and it is at least set in a kind of rainforest.

Why Boll feels the need to change already professionally scripted and directed game plots I don't know but he does. And until he starts letting the source material speak through his adaptations will always be lacking. Watch the film for a laugh its good for that and maybe for watching during a party as drinking party fodder.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

This is much better than Bloodrayne or Alone In The Dark

6/10
Author: lakic_matija from Austria
9 June 2009

I just watched the movie, and I played the game, and although little more than 50% is in common, Far Cry movie isn't that bad. It isn't a summer blockbuster, nor instant classic, but, it was never meant to be. It's a nice straight to DVD action flick which will give you 1,5h solid entertainment. Other than basic stuff (characters, name, enemies), movie is set on different location, and as much faster pacing. Action sequences are nice and solid, and effects are also good considering this is a low budget movie. But that's the point, it IS a low budget title, but looking at it it feels much more expensive. Script is OK, most of the time works well, and I have to say that Jack in the movie has a lot in common with game Jack. Both make fun of almost everything, and are more phlegmatic in nature. Val on the other hand isn't that action oriented as her game counterpart. Kier does very nice job bringing Dr. Krieger to life, and frankly, I like this one better. Nobody but Kier could portrait mad German scientist. The only thing about characters that kinda annoyed me is Jack's noticeable German accent, although Till did excellent Job for the performance part. The only major disappointment what I had with the movie is that location was changed from pacific sand beaches to rocky and cold bay like in western Canada/south Alaska. Considering the budget, I understand and forgive. Film is no award nominee nor winner, but a nice rental on a hot or rainy afternoon to fill a void and have house popcorn fun. 6/10 :) P.S. It's faaaar better than Bloodrayne or Alone In The Dark, seeing this will make you think that it wasn't directed by Boll.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Watchable

4/10
Author: pesach65 from USA
4 June 2009

There is only one reason this movie is watchable. Till Schweiger. He is such a good actor the movie isn't completely terrible. Uwe Boll please take up another career. The special effects and action are acceptable. All other aspects were very disappointing. All I can say is that Kevin Smith (An evening with...) talked about Tim Burton not ever reading the Batman comics and it showed. Uwe Boll must not have ever played the video games that he keeps making movies about. If you two ever want to know how it is done go see Andrzej Bartkowiak. Doom was one of the best video games to film adaptations ever. Some people may disagree, but if you watch the movie you can see that the guys at ID had a lot to do with Doom. It doesn't seem like anyone at UBIsoft was even near this production.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Why such bad ratings?

5/10
Author: Pratik Vora from India
12 February 2011

Maybe it led people to believe it had something to do with the game franchise, saw it and felt helpless after. But that's not the movie's fault. Even thought the title was poorly chosen it would be wrong to misjudge it for the gaming franchise. Any good action-lover would mark it as a decent watch. It had Til Schweiger and Emmanuelle Vaugier. Also to be mentioned, Craig Fairbass. Udo Kier playing a part in the movie. Follow up his previous films. The movie runs very fast, it doesn't lag. Keeps you engaged and entertained. Why I rated this in its mediocrity is when I saw this had a budget of $30,00,000. It left me shocked with the feeling that it could have done so much better. Where did all that money go? It leaves you wondering and disappointing.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Turn off your head and relax

5/10
Author: virgo47-1 from Slovakia
23 April 2009

It's definitely more than 3 when you want to relax. It's not serious movie thou, not even good action one - although the action is fine. I watched it after the game and I think the game has better story. :-) But I simply forgot about the game, watched the simple movie with some action and not exactly believable romance in it, and I was relaxed. Opening scene might be the best part as it looks like sci-fi stuff, but the rest is still OK. Acting is like the movie, probably the romance in the bed is the worst part (although I generally like bed scenes and I'm very forgiving there ;-)), some action parts are way too long (one chase with the mutant) but otherwise it's quite solid average movie based on a simple script without any great idea. The thing that is great about this movie is that it's generally quite smooth and it didn't make me angry like my last bad experience (Flight of the Phoenix http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0377062/). No far-fetched scenes, no embarrassing dialogs ("You better be here when I return" :-)), no forced drama. Easy, smooth, flowing average action. There are better movies outside that made me rather unsatisfied because they looked more serious. This is NOT serious even if it's not a comedy. It's simply B class (or C?) action movie. Not a bad one. Probably the missing point is the worst problem - but hey, who would expect a point here?

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 58 people found the following review useful:

The Better of Uwe

5/10
Author: westreal (rbarbulescu@yahoo.com) from Romania
10 March 2009

Up until right now, i have rated Uwe Boll's movies no more than a 4, everything was so poorly written and directed that i couldn't give a better one.On this particular movie though..i had to give him a 5 for trying.He managed to get the best second hand actors around and put out a better display of the movie....for the first part that is.The beginning made me think the movie could be it...the first one to which i could have given an over 7 rating....but from the middle ..it just kept lower and lower.The ending was too dull..no fun for the watcher..]Keep it up Uwe,you might get the chance of scoring a 7 with me for that matter ! Enjoyable B movie (bolded B)!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Why so bad? It is not Far cry but decent movie

7/10
Author: adrianogt4 from Venice, Italy
17 February 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

So, I saw that this movie was rated 3 on IMDb so I thought; it will be bad! I watched this movie and it was a good B film, it is not a masterpiece but it is pretty decent, i mean, i have seen a lot of other films that are rated 4,5/5 and they are definitely worse than this. Good plot and pretty action sequences, maybe the problem is its title "Far Cry" I played the game and I noticed that it is completely different but if you forget the title, there are no problems at all. Probably people rated it 1,2 or 3 because of Uwe Boll, it is obvious that people hate him so they dislike its films by deduction. Uwe Boll made bad movies but this deserves at least a 5! So i recommend to people that hate Boll, just watch the film and try to be honest.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history