IMDb > When Will I Be Loved (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
When Will I Be Loved
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
When Will I Be Loved More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 74 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Totally boring movie and lead actress

1/10
Author: guilfisher-1 from New York City
25 September 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This 2004 loser of a film, written and directed by James Toback, could not rise above the level of unbelievability and virtually boring performances, particularly by Neve Campbell in lead role of a young thing that had no reaction or emotion past a platypus in heat.

I couldn't stand watching her walk around the set in a trance, without expression. Whatever was going on around her, she seemed vacant in the face, which was not that pretty in my book. All the fuss over this not so attractive woman who was using men. Who would want her? I wanted the Count to just leave the witch and go find a better looking dame worth the million dollars he spent on her. Believe me, this person is not worth that. I wouldn't spend a dime on her. She seemed to have the IQ of a coconut.

I felt bad for Fred Weller, her pimp, for he gave a decent performance. But strapped to her, he couldn't do much as an actor. A good looking guy with lots of sex appeal, why waste him to the likes of Campbell's cold chemistry? I also liked the Count, Dominic Chianese, who summed the whole film up with spitting in the face of the hero. He should have done that to the witch, Campbell. He gave one of the most honest performances in the film. And the presence of Karen Allen as Mommie Dearest to Campbell, was a waste of a decent actress.

What is it with this Neve Campbell? What's the big deal? She's a very boring and predictable actress and not worth the price of admission.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

"Indecent Proposal" with more nudity

1/10
Author: watcher-51 from United States
18 July 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Hey guys! Let's get some actors that haven't had a decent role for a while and redo "Indecent Proposal" except with about 3 plot twists and some nudity! I've written only one other review for the IMDb and that was for "Motel Blue". And now I have to say that I was unfair to the actors and writers of that picture. This was simply bad and I'm surprised Lori Singer made a cameo appearance in this film. Mike Tyson,well he needs the money and so did the rest of the crew for this poorly constructed loosely based remake. Thank god they couldn't think of anything else to throw in the movie, because at about an hour and twenty minutes run time it was an hour to long.

The movie really had no message or direction. There didn't seem to be a script or any real character development. And I can write 3 more paragraphs about how bad it was but then I'd be doing the same thing they did.

PLAYBOY DOSE A BETTER JOB !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A Great Character Sketch

8/10
Author: xxzingaraxx from United States
18 December 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I think the key to understanding and enjoying a film like When Will I Be Loved is by seeing it as a character sketch, and not as a typical movie experience.

When I heard it would star Neve Campbell, my very favorite actress, I knew I'd have to rent it. Admittedly, I was leery of James Toback's directorial approach. And to be honest, the first time I viewed it, I turned off the DVD feeling drained and disoriented.

But then I gave it a second shot, and watched the special features to get a better understanding of Toback's intentions, and Neve's take on Vera. That's when I really began to see the skill and beauty in what they were portraying, and love the film.

The actors turned out some very gritty performances, and Toback doesn't pull any punches. These characters aren't likable, but they aren't intended to be. Vera is complicated, seeming to be both vulnerable and malicious, mysterious and straight-forward. Her hustler boyfriend is so slick that you wonder how anyone as intelligent as Vera ever stooped so low. The most sympathetic is the least likely suspect... the wealthy man who propositions Vera for sex through her boyfriend.

The scene where Vera and the Count work through the specifics of their arrangement is so tense and well-crafted that, even during my initial viewing, I found myself leaning closer to the screen, wanting to catch every word that passed between them. Wanting, really, to understand them, only to ultimately come up short.

That's the magic of When Will I Be Loved? You finish the film unsure of who the characters really were, of when you were seeing the truth and when it was lies, and what motivated each of them to make the choices they did.

Just like with real people.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

black widow

7/10
Author: buby1987 from Reno
20 July 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Some have commented that it is unlikely a rich girl like Vera would hook up with a low-life like Ford, but I disagree. Quite often, beautiful women hook up with macho jerks. It is also a form of rebellion against her domineering father (or at least he tries to be domineering).

Why is Vera rebelling? She has everything. She is rich, she has a huge apartment in Manhattan, she has parents who give her anything she wants. She is basically a decadent and spoiled young lady who has never had to lift a finger to make a buck in her life. Sometimes, prosperity can undo what adversity can't.

I noticed paintings that were in various stages of completion in Vera's apartment, which leads me to believe that she is a dilettante. She lacks the discipline to finish anything -- and in her personal relationships, she flits from one encounter to another. When she is finally cornered by Ford with his "indecent proposal," she decides to exact revenge. You could say that she transfers her resentment against her dad onto the Count, and via some Iago-type lies and manipulation, brings about the ruin of both a pimp and a john.

My take on Vera is that she is so bored and unfulfilled despite having everything that she has to create havoc in order to be stimulated. She reminds me of the Michael Keaton character in Pacific Heights, a decadent trust fund kid who disrupts the lives of others simply for sport.

This theme of rich kids who go slumming and get in over their heads is used often by Toback. Axel Foley in The Gambler comes from a good family, and has whatever he wants, but he feels compelled to be self-destructive and fritter away his money on dubious wagers. In Black and White, the son of the NYC District Attorney gets involved with drug dealers and gangsters, seemingly to impress chicks. Keitel in Fingers is a pianist with potential who gets involved with mobsters.

And so it is with Vera, a bored rich kid who gets involved with the wrong element simply for the novelty.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

I suppose I just don't get it

1/10
Author: William Wolff from United States
11 May 2005

The acting and directing are terrible. There is a razor thin plot. Campbell gets naked; and a few other attractive women perform simulated sex acts, but there isn't enough to qualify as porn. There are a few pointless, absurd cameos by other famous people who don't seem to have any reason to have acted in this film. I wonder if this is some inside joke about Hollywood types. ... Part of the story: Campbell's character is wealthy, but introduced to a wealthy man by her poor, cheating pimp of a boyfriend. Neither she nor the man have any reason to be involved in any way with the boyfriend. And neither has any reason to play games, money games in particular, with the other, since they are of the same socio-economic element. Oddly, meeting in her apartment, the man doesn't seem to see the obvious signs of her wealth. ... The end of the movie, like the behavior of the characters throughout, makes no sense. (I'm a fan of Roger Ebert. But this movie is almost, but not quite, completely unlike the movie Ebert describes in his review.)

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Neve fans and movie fans beware

3/10
Author: DVZs from Hungary, Budapest
10 April 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A combination of 'Indecent Proposal' and 'Wild Things'? Who came up with this summary anyways? Oh, yes, it is in a way the it is indecent to propose this one and it was a wild thing from me to watch it. The only thing connected to those movies are the $1 million and a homicide, that is carried out in the last 7 minutes - short, empty and quite pointless. Plot less action - and the only thing that could make it up to a 4 out of 10 (Neve Campbell naked) is not really shown, except the opening scene. I really missed the background of the couple, or something that reveals to the audience that they are not in top shape at the moment. Wasted 81 minutes of my life...

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Toback delivers another effective character study

6/10
Author: rosscinema from United States
10 April 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This can be looked at as a sort of modern film noir with characters that have many things on their mind and a script loaded with crisp dialog and while it doesn't really have any bona fide surprises to deliver it's a film that's quietly effective in it's purpose. Story is set in Manhattan where we see Vera Barrie (Neve Campbell) who's parents are rich and lavish her with things to make her life comfortable but they want her to dump her boyfriend. Her boyfriend is Ford Welles (Fred Weller) who's a sleazy and conniving street hustler who is trying to pimp Vera to an Italian Count named Tommaso Lupo (Dominic Chianese) for $100,000 but Ford doesn't know her as well as he thinks he does.

*****SPOILER ALERT***** What Ford doesn't know about Vera is that she's a free spirited bisexual with a girlfriend of her own on the side and when she eventually meets the count she ups the ante to a million dollars in cash which he delivers to her! Vera has money of her own and she doesn't like the thought of men trying to use and buy her so she sets up a confrontation between Ford and the count which will benefit her.

This is made by writer/director James Toback who excels with small films about interesting characters and he made quite a mark for himself in 1978 with "Fingers" and his trademark dialog is evident in all of his films. Because Toback usually lacks a substantial budget for his efforts he has routinely shot his films quickly (this was filmed in 11 days!) and they have an undeniable raw quality and freshness. Toback's scripts also give actors a chance to shine but it has more to due with the fact that he allows them opportunities for creative moments and Campbell is especially strong. Showing her muscular legs from "The Company" Campbell is an exciting entity and it's her first venture into displaying her naked body on film but the nudity is more than just an exploitive option it's also to show that her character is open and very strong willed. One thing that I think hurts this film is the fact that audiences are supposed to buy into the fact that Campbell's character would have such a disgusting scumbag for a boyfriend especially when we learn early on how smart Vera really is. How much fun could a broke hustler be? Some may consider this too slow moving to appreciate but I found the scene with Vera and the count so intriguing that it's probably worth the price of admission alone. Interesting little film has a good and sexy performance by Campbell and while this is not exactly riveting in terms of drama it does give fans of Toback another chance to view his unique talent.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Not especially good, but you get to see Neve in the buff

6/10
Author: zetes from Saint Paul, MN
31 January 2005

Weird and rather pretentious movie, but it held my interest. It did feel like writer/director Toback forgot to write a third act. The film ends abruptly and unsatisfactorily. Neve Campbell plays a manipulative sexpot whose boyfriend (Fred Weller) prostitutes her to some rich old Italian guy (Dominic Chianese). The situation is pretty much ripped off from Indecent Proposal, although I never saw that one and don't know where it went with that same premise. Toback's film is interesting outside of the plot, especially in the introductory sequence, which cuts back and forth between Campbell and Weller without telling us how they're connected. Of course, if you've heard about this movie at all – and most have not, I think – it's because of Neve's naked body. She did the sex thing, and even the lesbian thing, way back in Wild Things. That was just barely a step above pornography. Last year, Neve worked with Robert Altman, in a project which she herself initiated. I guess with When Will I Be Loved, she decided that, now that she's becoming a respectful actress, she had to do an art movie where she gets naked and makes out with a girl. In reality, this is about a step and a half above porn. Well, okay, I'm not really complaining that she made such a decision. 6/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Not bad for a David Mamet play

Author: Lars Ericson from New York, NY
18 September 2004

I saw the David Mamet play "When will I be loved?" with Neve Campbell today.

It appeared on the multiplex's digitized list of films as "I be loved" so it was hard to find at first.

Much has been made of Neve dropping her no-nudity clause to do some soft-core shower soap-up hose-the-button scenes at the beginning and end of the film, and a soft-core press-me-against-the-window-and-take-my-clothes-off encounter with the creamy blonde chick from American Pie 2 (Joelle Carter).

Neve in her shower scenes reveals herself to have the normal and healthy-looking body that one would expect of a Canadian cheerleader in the buff. Without clothes she looks like any normal college girl (well really she's 31, which she doesn't look -- so she's a 31 year old with the body of a normal college girl). Only when she straps on the high heels and undergarments, of which she has an ample variety in this film, does she take on the persona of the femme fatale.

She seems quite comfortable and self-entitled ensconced in a $5 million apartment in the Archive Building on Charles Street overlooking the Hudson River. Her parent's ability to sustain this largesse is not fully explained or justified, but people do live in that building, and somebody made this movie out of imaginations based on their own personal experiences, so no doubt there are hot girls living in expensive apartments in Manhattan.

What is a little unlikely is her ability to switch flawlessly between college-girl ditziness when speaking on the phone with her parents and the psychotic ruthlessness she displays towards her playmates. Sure, there are mean girls out there like that, but usually they live in more modest surroundings. Rich people are usually a bit more protected and socialize in smaller circles. So Frederick Weller's hustler is a very plausible creation, but one wonders if the milieu and the circumstances and the reach that she has aren't slightly implausible.

Well, of course, the whole thing is implausible, it's a movie. But people are so mean to each other in this movie, and while you're watching it, the movie convinces you that this is how people really are. So, going on the false premise that people are really like this, one then has to buy the environmental trappings of the movie, at which point my suspension of disbelief falls apart a little bit.

Not that rich people don't exist and that rich people don't entertain themselves by associating with hustlers. I just didn't buy the reach of the whole combination -- a bit too much deus ex machina.

Neve's character in this movie does seem like someone I would like to hang out with, though, on the assumption that the vindictiveness of her behavior belies an underlying moral sense. On the other hand, she could just be a complete psychopath, a conclusion which is suggested by the last frame of the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Interesting enough that I watched it twice, but ultimately not too good.

Author: avorlon
26 March 2005

I agree with the previous reviewers who said that the music was overdone and too loud. I think that was probably done on purpose, to cover up all the lame scenes that would have been horrifically boring otherwise without some sort of distraction.

As much as I enjoyed seeing Neve Campbell, naked or otherwise, I think that she can do better than soft-core porn. Her character seemed to have it all, but yet still wanted to rebel and test the boundaries, and she needed the million dollars like a hole in the head, since the doting parents were already giving her everything she needed. I won't say how it ended, but it could have been very different, and not in a good way.

Also, the title of the movie makes little sense, given that the main character was mostly looking to impress a pretentious professor of African studies by pretending to know random guys on the sidewalk, and otherwise just being a high-priced amateur hooker. The title of the movie just seems to be a gratuitous way of including the song, along with its name recognition.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 8: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history