When Will I Be Loved (2004) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
75 Reviews
Sort by:
Bitterly disappointing
rcraig623 September 2005
This movie got a lot of undeserved juice from Roger Ebert's four-star review, and it's just awful. I've liked some of Toback's other work, particularly "Fingers", but this thing feels like a really boring home movie on autopilot. It's purportedly about the non-adventures of this bratty little rich girl (Neve Campbell) and her no-account boyfriend (Fred Weller) and, ultimately, their scheme to seduce a rich Italian count (Dominic Chianese) out of some major money. But it takes some time to get to this plot point, and up till then, the movie just meanders in a cinema-verite sort of way that makes it seem like Toback can use it as an excuse for the picture being a dud. It's like he's saying, "Well, whatever we shot, we shot. I can't be held responsible for the randomness of events."

The movie goes from Neve Campbell meeting one person on the street to another in what I'm sure Toback would insist was "character development", but it's done in such a way that it all rings false. It's scripted without being scripted. In another words, it's contrived. When Neve's college professor (played by Toback) explains what he thinks is going on with Neve and her head games, you can almost hear the gears locking in the background. It might be the most mechanical ad-libbed sequence in history.

Toback's use of celebrity here is also peculiar. The Mike Tyson cameo is pretty funny; he actually gives the movie a momentary spark. But when Toback has Neve recognizing a bit actress like Lori Singer on the street like she's Jane Fonda, I wonder what world he's living in. This whole "expository" part feels like padding, like Toback didn't have enough legit material to go around. Then, when the action shifts to the "scheme" in the final twenty minutes, it's good - it's the best part of the film. But the effect is a little jarring. Toback goes from a lazy, dawdling atmosphere to a sequence that's scripted tighter than Abbott & Costello's Who's on First, and it just doesn't work. The two forms don't really mesh, and you get the feeling Toback only had twenty good minutes in him to begin with - the rest is like a warm-up, like running in place to get the circulation going. And I hate to sound like an old prude (which I'm far from being), but the nude shower scene is an absolute cheap shot; Neve Campbell is just being exploited here. It has nothing to do with her character or anything else; it's completely gratuitous. But I guess anything goes when you have no material. Minus credits, this thing is barely over an hour and fifteen minutes. It hardly seems worth being made.
25 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
What a waste.......
andyrichterismissing2 October 2004
James Toback's When Will Be Loved has a very, loose, ramshackle quality that it is ill-suited for. As the film opens, it cuts back and forth, jarringly, between Fred Weller rambling on his cell phone, and Neve Campbell taking a shower. The music even changes between each cut..and it's just so sloppily done, and unfortunately, the rest of the film, for the most part, is just as sloppy. Between the music being way too damn loud (whoever mixed the sound on this film did a lousy-ass job!), or certain scenes being more or less pointless, the film is a just a ramshackle, sloppy mess. Does the scene where Neve runs into Lori Singer in the park add anything? Other than perhaps killing time...no. Is the scene with Mike Tyson necessary? No, again it adds nothing, wastes time. And the threesome in the park scene? Not needed either...as we already know Weller is a small-time bum, out for his own gratification. Why is Chianese's character a Count? That's just ridiculous..and it seriously undercuts the believability of his character...and yet his sequence with Campbell is the only one in the film that really works. The rest of it......not so much. This is primarily because of the tired,tired stereotypical small time hustler character that Weller is given to play. Weller does what he can, and is occasionally amusing, but on the whole, we've seen this character too many damn times...we know right away that he has no connections, is a liar, a loser, etc. Knowing that, watching this character is quite irritating, as it offers no surprises, but plenty o' stale crap we have to sit through. This movie is just a mess. Not completely bad, but mostly, a ramshackle mess.
49 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Too clever or not clever enough
tehck23 December 2005
Warning: Spoilers
When Will I Be Loved is either a really stupid movie or far too clever for its own good. Neve Campbell plays Vera Barrie, a poor little rich girl who, at first glance, appears to be fending off the efforts of everyone around her to use and control her. Her stereotypical wealthy parents make clear how she should arrange every aspect of her life, from what kind of mattress she sleeps on to who she sleeps with. Her boyfriend is a sleazy con artist who hopes to talk her into having sex with a billionaire Italian count for $100,000, wanting in effect, to pimp her. The Count, of course, wants to buy her affection and her body. As it turns out, none of these characters controls this girl. On the contrary, the amoral Vera manipulates almost everyone she comes into contact with for her own amusement and gain. While interviewing for an assistant's job with a college professor, she maneuvers the academic's clumsy efforts to flirt with her into a virtual admission of potential sexual harassment, all but forcing him to offer her the position. This interview takes place as the two are walking along the sidewalks of New York, and when the professor is twice distracted by passers by (one of whom is disgraced boxer Mike Tyson himself in perhaps the high point of the movie) Vera uses each break in their conversation to try to pick up attractive men who happen to be near. She engages in a lesbian tryst behind her boyfriend's back, and she apparently deliberately starts an argument between a couple on a park bench by openly flirting with the boy. In the central plot conflict, the affair with the count, she is the spider weaving every strand of the web. Her boyfriend Ford makes a pathetic attempt to conceal his motives as he introduces the subject, but she seems to expect this kind of low scheme from him and anticipates his every move. Not surprisingly, she quickly accepts and tells him to set it up. The lovestruck Count has only seen Vera briefly twice and compares his ardor for her to the poet Dante's passion for Beatrice. Vera quickly manipulates the Count into upping the ante to one million dollars cash. She gives the Count his afternoon of passion and stashes the money in a safety deposit box immediately thereafter. When Ford returns to claim his share of the loot, she lies, telling him that the Count is a fraud who refused to pay her the $100,000. This leads to a confrontation between Ford and the Italian with deeply tragic consequences for both. Although clearly the cause of this misery, Vera show little evidence of guilt and more than a little self-satisfaction.

While this plot may sound interesting, the movie robs it of the energy and intrigue it promises. First of all, Vera is a strangely passive character. She doesn't seem to actively manipulate anyone, she simply reacts to what they do in a way that elicits the behavior she wants. As a result, she is neither interesting nor sympathetic, and, worst of all, her passivity conceals just how despicable she is. When the revelation comes, it is too late and too muted to redeem the story. At best, we go from not liking Vera very much to hating her. We never understand what motivates or satisfies her (beyond her obviously active sex life).

Second, much of what happens is simply not very believable. Basically everyone in the story but Vera is a one-note stereotype. The Count is the most problematic. With no back story but the fact that he is a billionaire "communications" magnate, we are asked to believe that he would bring six grocery bags full of cash to an apartment to make a woman he'd never met happy in the hope that she might sleep with him -- if she wants to. Perhaps this could happen, but the movie doesn't earn our belief. Our incredulity is sharpened by the fact that Neve Campbell is arguably the least attractive woman in the movie. Neve's highly publicized nude shower scene does little to establish the sexual magnetism Vera is apparently supposed to have. Both naked and clothed, she's somewhat shapeless, which only mirrors the impassive smugness she wears on her pleasant but unremarkable face for most of the movie. Vera doesn't have to look like Angelina Jolie, but she should at least look interested. Finally, the soundtrack is horrible. Most of the dialog is drowned in an incessant music track. Brahms, Bach, and Beethoven accompany Vera almost every moment she's on screen. Perhaps the unending Classical ditties are meant to suggest Vera's sophistication or artistry, but like her vague character they quickly move from puzzling to annoying.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Could we get a little more detached, please?
Craig Whyel26 February 2005
What a real bummer. I have to lay most of the rap on Mr. Toback. First, inserting himself into an already short movie (that must run 81 minutes with opening AND closing credits) appeared both self-aggrandizing, unnecessary, and a near complete digression (as was the lengthy cameo by former boxing great Mike Tyson). I would elaborate but I don't want to ruin some questions that might arise should you be paying attention (Picture Michael Moore on the Atkins diet, wearing a dashiki).

Neve Campbell is thoroughly charming and totally wasted as the lost, passionate rich girl. Bottom line, is that there will be thousands make off of her nudity in this flick. The nudity only consists of a shower scene. The sex scenes are little more than bumping and grinding and contrived, and I can only wonder if the talent were as uncomforable making those scenes as I was watching them.

But back to the erstwhile Mr. Toback, if you listen carefully to his voice early on, then you'll likely hear it in the other characters as well. His New York chatterbox cadence becomes tiresome.

I had hoped for better. Ms. Campbell is a major talent is one or two films away from breaking out super huge. Mr. Toback is also talented though this certainly isn't the work to pin his fame on. I wish them well in their future endeavors, and mourn for the eighty-one minutes I can never get back.
22 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Neve Fans Beware
jmlazare15 September 2004
I am sorry, but this might have been the absolute worst film I have ever seen. I am not usually a harsh critic, but this movie made me ashamed to call myself a fan of Neve Campbell's work. It has no plot, makes no sense, begins stories that it doesn't finish, and goes nowhere. In a word, it sucks. I mean, who cares about a spoiled, rich girl and her sexual escapades. And wow - she's like girls too. A novelty in twenty-first century film-making. Not even the sex scenes were stimulating. Personally, I could have done quite well without being subjected to Neve's pained expressions while being done from behind by her slimy pimp of a boyfriend. And what is with the "African" professor? He is there in the beginning, and then suddenly he's just gone (thank god). I'm not sure if the fact that it is barely over an hour long is a positive or a negative. Negative, because who wants to pay what it costs today to see a film for a mere hour of movie-watching, but positive because I don't think I could have stood a minute longer of such utter crap. I don't think I have ever seen so many people walk out of a theatre mid-movie. The only reason I didn't leave myself was my unfulfilled hope that somehow the movie would redeem itself with an interesting ending. Apologies for my crudeness, but crap is truly what this wannabe Cruel Intentions meets Wild Things meets Indecent Proposal is.
63 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bad acting, annoying characters, annoying music
tieftrunk3 January 2005
This movie is mostly annoying.

Many scenes are unnecessarily prolonged. I started to skip ahead through the last half, and it became slightly more tolerable.

The dialog is stream of conscience, and mostly failed to contribute to the story. Maybe if I was thirteen it would be more entertaining.

Music plays throughout the entire movie, which comes off as a failed attempt at creativity. I love new filming techniques and what not, but this just didn't work for me. The music makes the entire movie feel like an intro or intermission scene. Maybe it is an attempt to disguise the bad acting.

To its credit, this would be a pretty good plot for a porno film.
54 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
a waste of my life
Hannah5 February 2005
When Will I be Loved is a film that attempts at many things but fails miserably. The title in itself is misleading in that it gives the impression that the main character, Vera, is searching for love that's owed her. In fact, Vera appears to have everything one could possibly wish for in life, including two caring doting parents. Why she chooses to engage in self-destructive and vindicative behavior is a complete mystery. The only reasonable conclusion one could make is that she is bored with with the perfectness of the life into which she is born and wishes to disturb that somehow by becoming attached to a hustler. This movie is pretentious and ridiculous beyond reason. The characters are written in such a way that they are not even recognizable as human, but rather just qualities. Non of the characters are accessible on any level, which makes the viewer completely apathetic to the outcome of their dilemmas. I, for one, was angry that I had wasted my time with a film that was not pleasing on ANY level. In fact, as the previous reviewer mentioned, the music that we are inundated with is distracting and serves no particular purpose. A bitter revolting taste still remains in my mouth from having watched this one hour ago.
45 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Indecent Proposal meets Wild Things.
BraveHawk2 February 2005
When Will I Be Loved is a story about Vera (Neve Campbell), who seems to be struggling with who she is and what she wants out of life. She has a scheming boyfriend named Ford (Fred Weller) whose character is directly lifted from Phone Booth's Stu Shepard, played by Colin Farrell. The two characters are nearly identical, only Ford is not as likable. Other than this, there is no real storyline going on until, after what seems like an eternity, the last 15-20 minutes. It becomes a cross between Indecent Proposal and Wild Things.

Truthfully, this movie bored me until the 3rd act. There is one main reason most men wanted to see this film, and most of you know what it is. Neve Campbell is featured in her first nude scene. While I am certainly all for her doing this, I believe it was done because her career had become a little stagnant. She has not really done anything to note since Scream. I think she had the right idea to get some attention back on herself, she just picked the wrong movie to do it with. There was not even any real reason to have the nudity. It did nothing for the plot, which was nearly non-existent. It was simply thrown in at the beginning and the end. Again, I'm thankful, but I feel it could have been put to better use in a better film with better meaning. It is the only reason I'm giving this movie 5 of 10 stars.
33 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Utterly hideous.
stephinspace21 September 2007
Ugh. Is there really anything else to say about this film? Neve Campbell is completely unconvincing as an object of anyone's desire. She's not talented, nor is she attractive (why hasn't her agent told her to get that overbite fixed???). The sex scenes are crap, the music is distracting, the dialogue is irritating. It seems almost as though there was a longer, better, more interesting film here, but all of the good parts were mysteriously clipped out, leaving behind this disjointed, amateur, faux-artsy heap of rubbish. The pacing in this film is completely off. Why do we need to see 45 minutes of her in that unflattering dress, walking around the city having awkward conversations with random people? Skip this film. Or, if you're really hard up, just skip to the sex scenes. Wait, no, don't, they're awful. Yes, even the lesbian scene. It's really not worth suffering through the rest of this garbage.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Pretty awful overall, with one good performance
Azeem Ali Khan2 August 2005
I found Toback's earlier film Black and White mildly diverting, so gave this one a whirl. The scuttlebutt was that this was Neve Campbell's best (and sexiest) performance so far. Well, that much may be true-ish, but the rest of this film is, in places, almost unwatchably bad.

Most of the characters (or should I say caricatures - take the Italian mogul: did anybody find this man even remotely believable?) are without a shred of originality, and in the case of Ford, bear virtually no resemblance to human beings of the sort you or I might actually meet. It may be that his relentless hustling is *intended* to show him as a pathetic individual - but there is a fine line between depicting characters we may not like but in whom we can invest some interest as to their fate; and, as happens in this film, showing people who are irredeemably ghastly, and about whose fate we don't give a toss.

In Black and White, Mike Tyson had a very funny cameo, in which Robert Downey Junior's character tries to seduce him. Here, it looks as if Toback has simply raided his address book and shoehorned as many celebrity cameos as he could into what passes for the plot. Ooh, look, there's Lori Singer! Wow, there's Mike Tyson (again). Ooh, that really is Damon Dash! Toback's own performance as the "hilariously" named cross-cultural enabler is pure smugness in a bottle. The only honest moment is when he confesses to wanting to get into Neve Campbell's knickers. We can only speculate as to whether that is a case of art imitating life.

And Neve Campbell? Yes, she is good in this. She gets some decent dialogue to get her teeth into and delivers it with aplomb. I still think Wild Things is a better showcase for her talent.

The incident towards the end of the film was certainly unexpected; but then again, any idiot can make unexpected things happen in a film. The trick is to work up to it in *some* way. Toback is either incapable of doing this, or simply can't be bothered. The dénouement left me shrugging: so what? Who cares about these cardboard cut-outs?
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Beautiful waste of time
emdoub5 April 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Okay - I'm a fan of Neve Campbell, which is the primary reason I rented this flick. She shows considerable acting chops here - which is even more impressive when you consider the lack of opportunity for her character to develop.

Truth be told, most of the acting was pretty well done. Great soundtrack, pretty views of NYC, wonderful cinematography - this could be a great movie. Neve gets naked during the opening credits? Oh, yeah - settle in and enjoy... enjoy.... um....

Shot in 11 days, this film features the writer/director playing a Jewish Professor of Black Studies, Lori Singer playing herself with a rude boyfriend, Mike Tyson playing someone else that just looks like Mike Tyson. Fred Weller plays the sleazy hustler boyfriend (unfaithful, no less) of rich-girl Vera (Neve), Damon Dash plays nice to a guy on the sidewalk who's trying to hustle him, and about half of the cast plays characters with their own names - someone was running low on creativity at this point.

Running 81 minutes, about half of the scenes went about twice as long as they should have - which comes out okay, because the other half had nothing to do with story progression or character development. That was okay, too - because the story didn't have anywhere to go to, and after the first 15 minutes, you don't want the characters to develop - you want them to either make sense or go away. (Some make sense - but annoy deeply.) Upshot of the plot - a beautiful young woman of the leisure class bounces between being approached for sex or approaching strangers on the street, asking for phone numbers. A man touted as the most important media mogul of Italy offers a hustler $100,000 for an introduction to his girlfriend - and when she says it's not sufficient, goes out and hits banks to score a million in cash for her. She tells boyfriend that there was no cash, and Bad Things Happen - after which we see that the poor little rich girl is a Bad poor little rich girl.

The point? See Neve naked, I guess. Her acting is fine - her taste here, however, is a little shaky.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Nasty Little Film
happy_hangman19 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
'When Will I Be Loved' is a pretty mess.

If someone had told me that I would so intensely dislike a film which opens with a lengthy nude scene of Neve Campbell pleasuring herself with a shower-head, accompanied by a rather nice Beethoven piano sonata, I wouldn't have believed you. Taste triumphed over hormones. This is dire.

Other than the soundtrack – Bach and Beethoven (played superbly by the Budapest Radio Orchestra) – it is pleasant to look at, but otherwise repulsive. The dialogue attempts Woody Allen-esquire wit, but reeks of self-satisfied pomposity, and the characters are, without exception, unremittingly venal, selfish, deceptive and morally repugnant. The lovely Neve fiddling with a girlfriend behind a net curtain, or coupling with her loathsome boyfriend on her couch do nothing to relieve the monotony.

Some hope of actual drama is raised in Neve's exchanges with her elderly admirer, but these are so fleeting that that hope quickly evaporates.

It clearly thinks it's art, and looks and sounds very slick, but, ultimately, has very little to say - and what it does have to say is little more than overwritten self-satisfied verbiage. Worthless.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I didn't like it
stveller20 November 2005
I watched this movie to look at Neve Campbell.....possibly the reason the movie makers made it. She is beautiful and a fine actress. A lot of the dialog was interesting,seemed to be a lot of ad libbing. What the heck was Lori Singer doing in the movie? Neve's character meets her in the park and says "Hi Lori" and they talk a few minutes about movies. Mike Tyson also makes an appearance as himself and seems to have some acting talent. The film starts and ends with Neve Campbell in a shower. The rest is a waste of eyes and ears. I usually agree with Roger Ebert,but he was one of the very few critics that liked the film. He gave it a top rating. Maybe he loves Neve more than me.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
No need to check the box "contains spoiler"
shaun-1045 March 2005
There is no need for the box "Contains Spoiler" on this movie because there is no plot to spoil. It's basically a mental rant of characters placed in unlikely situations that leads to an obvious conclusion. I'd say it was like softcore, but even the sex scenes, of which there are way too many for a legitimate movie, are dumb. What little character development there actually is, is completely trite and without depth. Aside from a somewhat questionable performance by Neve Campbell, the film is littered with boring and typical acting by the "not quite making it" crowd. Another triumphantly pointless and boring movie by Toback- hurray!
25 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
two most puzzling things about this film
danda2k4 July 2005
Why the film was even made is the first and lesser of the two puzzles I came away with. The second was that the Chicago Sun Times and Roger Ebert went totally overboard in praising it. I can imagine that some misguided individuals in Hollywood thought the film would "work" or at least make a profit, but how some big-time media people be so taken with so awkward an effort really surprises me. I noticed that many professional reviewers rated the film well below 50/100 but the few comments by ordinary viewers were even more telling in terms of negative reaction. This film seems to me a perfect example of how too many of the media pros quite often give far more praise to a film than do ordinary viewers. I always read all the professional reviews and find them cleverly written and well worth the reading, but I very often turn to the comments from the crowd to bring me down to earth.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
this movie is an eye sore
dawn james6 February 2005
i have never rated a movie before because i have never been so compelled to rate a movie as i have this one. this is without a doubt the worst movie that i have seen since cabin fever. but what makes it worse than cabin fever is that i rented this movie based on roger ebert's review. i will exercise more caution in the future when it comes to ebert's recommendations. the dialog is poorly written and poorly delivered. the editing is clumsy and chaotic. the music score, horrible! music should compliment the story line rather than overpower it. but then again how do you compliment such a bad story? maybe turning up the music even louder and drowning it out was what was needed to make this movie work. i will keep an eye out for future toback movies-so that i can avoid them!
25 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An Excellent Choice For the Evening!
ashthecat325 October 2004
I was bored so I went to this recently released film by myself.

I had read Ebert's 4 star review of it and since it was in limited release, I thought I'd go check it out.

I wasn't disappointed!

The local "2nd run" theater here in town specializes in getting those limited release indy films and they finally got it this weekend.

I also got the entire theater to myself. What a rare treat!

This is a very talky film and is definitely one of those where you can't check your brain at the door when you go in to see it. It is not a mindless action flick...there's barely any real serious action it it at all. It does contain violence though and it comes quickly and shockingly at the end. You know something bad will happen but you don't know what it will be.

This movie is sort of a more hardcore version of "Indecent Proposal" and that particular film is actually mentioned in it by Campbell's boyfriend Ford. He uses it to introduce her to the idea of being with the billionaire so he can get the money.

This is without a doubt, the best role I've ever seen Neve Campbell in. She is so graceful & elegant, you can hardly take your eyes off her.

Many times when she smiled in the movie, I found myself smiling with her. For us guys, we get a great first shot in the movie of Neve totally nude in the shower but that is a pretty much a bonus perk. The real treat is just looking at her face, watching her mannerisms and observing how she lays the trap for both of these men to fall in.

Ebert was right in his 4 star review of this film to state that not many actresses could've played her character effectively.

I was quickly drawn in by the excellent character development in the first half of the film which is done so well, you can easily believe the events that unfold at the end. The music for the film starts out with various hip-hop then changes to a equal mix of violin music and then to piano. It fits the film very well.

The running time is a bit short though. The movie started at 9:40 pm and when the end credits rolled, I checked my watch to see that it was 10:58 pm. Official specs state that the film is only 81 minutes long.

I highly recommend this film! It is perfect for an evening viewing with the wife or girlfriend.
24 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Interesting Film
russem3127 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
"When Will I Be Loved" (2004) is an interesting film that explores the issue of sexuality and the feeling of being wanted, of being loved. Though not done completely successfully, there are many interesting elements here. This includes Neve Campbell as the lead character Vera who does a very good job in her role as well as Dominic Chianese as the Count. There is an intriguing use of music too, with different styles of music representing the individual characters in the film. For example, Neve Campbell is represented by Bach. And the cinematography in her apartment is extraordinary, especially the red couch (which is a complete contrast to her, since she's wearing black throughout the film). All in all, interesting if not perfect.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Do not even consider wasting a valuable part of your life watching this tripe
glormac8 July 2006
This is one of those truly awful films whose true awfulness doesn't even amuse the viewer. Sometimes a perverse enjoyment can be derived from very bad movies; all that can be derived from this is a keen sense of having wasted a valuable segment of one's alloted time on this earth. The sex scenes are as most risible, boring and lacking in eroticism as one can imagine: there was more eroticism in "The Donna Reed Show" - note to those of you not old enough to remember this piece of televisual entertainment, Donna and her unfortunate husband shared a bedroom but not beds. The script, if there was one, is meaningless, wandering twaddle. The plot, such as it is, could have been successfully resolved in fifteen minutes, and the denouement is just plain preposterous. To those of you still determined to watch this because you think it might offer some sexual gratification I can only say again "THERE IS NO SEX IN THIS MOVIE This film is as entertaining as athlete's foot.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
great premise somewhere in there but unfolds oddly and is ultimately disappointing.
triple83 June 2006
Warning: Spoilers

This was one strange movie. I've seen a lot of films and rarely had this much trouble with a rating. My feeling is that the premise of this movie was absolutely great but there were a lot of other factors that really brought the movie down a lot.

Neve Campbell stars in this and she puts in a great performance as do the other main performers but the movie is full of a string of almost bizarre happenings. One of the major things is the music. Watching this movie became so annoying because as one is watching it, you gradually become aware that the music is getting louder and ,and making matters worse is the fact that the music doesn't fit the movie at all. I'm not saying the score is dreadful but first of all, it's CLASSICAL and I could see it featured in a parade scene or a movie about kings and queens not a nourish psychological thriller indie film like this! The music was totally out of place. Secondly, ANY musical score played this much would have the capacity to get on one's nerves. The music becomes the focus of the movie. It almost makes no sense. And I see from various other comments that I am not alone in thinking this. Thanks IMDb reviewers!

Then there was the length of some of the scenes. Again on the bizarre side. Some of these scenes do not end. And some of them are completely unnecessary and do nothing for the movie. It gets to be almost unwatchable at times which is a shame as there's a really interesting plot in here and the plot doesn't even seem like the main focus of the movie.

Then there's the exploitative nature of some of the scenes all involving Neve's character. What was the point to it? It kind of leaves a bad taste in your mouth and added nothing to the movie in general. And the characters were almost all really obnoxious. That really didn't help the likability factor much.

But here's the thing-the plot is actually a good one. If this movie had been done without all the above mentioned things, concentrating just on the plot with more focus, I bet a lot of the reviews would be very different. It's a good story with a good cast but the way it was done was baffling.

Now having said all that, I will say the last act was infinitely better then the rest of the movie. In fact this movie while not being all that great is not dreadful even with all the negatives. And I did want to see what happened. I ultimately had mixed feelings about the ending. Clever yes but something about it left me a bit Cold. It is a frustrating experience watching this because there are a few moments where one gets glimpses of something really really good there but then the negatives come up again. But the last act was the best part of the movie.

I wouldn't recommend this movie to people but what I could see is reading about the plot and just watching the last 15-20 minutes. Ultimately, this movie is disappointing, and also puzzling. For a really good movie about the con, I'd recommend "House Of Games" or "The Grifters" both of which were excellent. This movie does stay with you a bit, but isn't really above average. My vote's 5 of 10.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
a movie about absolutely nothing at all...
filipus_maximus4 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
for the frustrated guys amongst us: watch the first five minutes and then turn it off, no more boobs from that point on (I know it was a real downer for me too) for all the rest: don't even bother looking at all, jeez. it started with neve under the shower, OK, nice potential, and then nothing. absolutely nothing at all. a few random conversations, poor acting... a bit like watching a porn movie, without all the explicit sex and daring (read skimpy) costumes. after one hour of dribble and complete boredom, there is a twist in the plot! huge surprise for me, because I thought there was no plot up until this point. she gets the cash, dumps the boyfriend and gets away with it. Where the cash came from, how the boyfriend fits into it all, I have no idea, and I couldn't bare to watch it again to figure it out. what a waste of money and ... (talent? Nah, money!)

in the words of Krusty the clown: "I could have pulled a better movie out of my ..Hey, Hey!"
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Better not seen
fx-2822 January 2006
Loved Neve too much to see this movie again, lack of sense, lack of history, lack of imagination...and maybe lack of time. what's Mike Tyson doing in this film? What about the rich parents? who the girlfriend is? what about the African teacher? or better one question what's the sense of the movie? see a looser who sell his girlfriend for one million dollars and manage to get himself in jail. what about the shower scenes does she cleans her conscience there? sis she planned everything or is to unrealistic coincident? the only nice part was hearing the count trying to put some words together about Italian literature.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
When Will this Junk be Trashed ?
mailtoss22 December 2005
I am a great fan of Neve & what a disappointment. This is total junk filled with lot of nasty & unnecessary stuff. Although the film tries to explain the concept of lonely woman in search of true love the story, dialogs, music & the director has made it unable to watch. The story line is thin, not at all gripping, the dialogs are just filler & the music is just too bad to listen. Some scenes are filled just to kill time & are not worth watching. I was really fed up watching the first half itself not to mention about the second half. I wonder why Neve has acted in this movie. Total waste of time & money. Please avoid even if you accidentally bought it.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
So, what is this about a no-nudity clause in Neve's contract?
griffinator016 December 2005
Forgive me for being extremely blunt, but Neve Campbell is such a lying hypocrite. I saw her complaining on a late night talk show some time about gratuitous nudity in movies today. She said she would never show off her body or appear in such movies, unless it is tastefully done.

No, Neve, you're just a snob, and a hypocrite to boot! You're playing a call girl. Yeah, that's a big stretch from Hollywood, really!

How is this movie any different from any other soft-core porn made in Hollywood? This movie is gratuitous from beginning to end. Just because it is an independent movie, it does not make this movie any different from a Hollywood, formula-driven spanker flick.

I've seen better adult dramas made in the past. "Unfaithful" was a better made movie. "Delta of Venus" was a better made movie. "9 1/2 Weeks" is a better made movie. This movie simply stinks.

I'm glad I caught this video for free at the library. If I rented this sludge from a video store, I'd be screaming at the clerk for my money back. Please, avoid this movie like the plague.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
81 minutes of bad music, worse dialog, and too much "character development"
jmjames81 December 2005
The summary say it all.

This was the 2nd worst movie I have seen to date. #1 being I heart huckabees.

This film has no redeeming qualities. The sex scenes are flaccid at best. The score overpowers the crappy dialog but not enough that you do not hear it.

The "character development" was lame, and went on way too long.

Felt caught between wanting to see a naked Nave and the desire to scratch my eyes out.

Just like with Huckabees I kept waiting some the film to get better but alas it didn't.

I have seen softcore porn with better plots, and at least most of them get you a little turned on by their sex scenes.

Not worth the time even if the movie is for free, and someone else buys your popcorn, candy and drink.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews