IMDb > The Devil's Rejects (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Devil's Rejects
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Devil's Rejects More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 68:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 671 reviews in total 

283 out of 451 people found the following review useful:

A depraved, sick and brutal film.

10/10
Author: sidewinder572 from United States
22 July 2005

Alright, I never bothered with "House of 1,000 Corpses." Mainly due to the poor reviews and the fact it looked like a "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" rip off. As a matter of fact I wasn't that interested in this movie at first. But the early buzz raised my interest and I went out and saw it.

"The Devil's Rejects" is a sick, ruthless, grab you by the throat and don't let go horror movie. Which is exactly what it sets out to do and it succeeds brilliantly. While the movie is sadistic and violent, the characters are extremely well developed and the movie is extremely well written. I've always felt that Rob Zombie would make a good horror director and while "Corpses" wasn't so well received it was only his first film. This is something else altogether.

A genre masterpiece and the best movie I've seen all year. If Zombie keeps this up he will become a force to be reckoned with in the horror genre

Was the above review useful to you?

181 out of 272 people found the following review useful:

Zombie gets it right!

10/10
Author: Rhad Davis (INCESSANT) from Maine, USA
7 August 2005

I went to this movie having seen 1000 Corpses which I thought was a great retro B style horror in the Texas Chainsaw massacre genre.

This movie FAR exceeded any expectation I had. Zombie NAILED it in this one. Classic Freeze frames, awesome soundtrack(used with purpose)-Just enough gore with out going over the top.. the essential random nudity shots that we B fans have come to expect. Suspenseful through-out.

I realize that what makes all of these components work:

A- This movie (Unlike 99% of all B Horros) is not predictable. You do not know what is going to happen next.

B- Zombie builds characters. You learn history and connections, and see things from their view.

C- Slight comedic aspect added.

Summary: MUST SEE, MUST OWN

in the words of my horror loving awe-struck friend "This is hands down the best B horror I have ever seen!"

Was the above review useful to you?

221 out of 355 people found the following review useful:

A solid movie NOT FOR EVERYONE!!! (but great if you like this stuff)

7/10
Author: slikrx from Calif. USA
29 June 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I went into a screening of this movie completely blind. I hadn't seen 1000 Deaths, and I haven't even seen any of Rob Zombie's videos. (I do like his music,BTW) I had essentially no idea what to expect.This movie is what "Natural Born Killers" *TRIED* to be. It's "Kill Bill" without the nod and wink that this is campy/funny. This movie is intense, violent, gory, gritty, harsh chilling and creepy. The only movie/scene that can compare the intensity to is "Saving Private Ryan", particularly the scene where Mellish is slowly stabbed by a German near the end of "Ryan". This movie can/will take your breath away.

That being said, if you like this sort of thing, the movie is VERY well written, directed and acted. The casting was beautiful. Captain Spaulding, Otis, Lady Firefly are brilliant. Others were also great.

I saw this at a private screening with a Q&A with Rob Zombie afterward. The audience experience was odd. Sometimes there would be cheers, only to have them choked off by the next few seconds. This movie kept you on the edge of your seat. There were moments of funniness, and well done comic bits, but this is NOT a comedy.

During the Q&A, a gentleman (who said he liked 1000 corpses) described the movie as "the worst, most violent depraved movie I have ever seen. It glorifies violence..." This comment received some cheers. Rob replied VERY professionally (quote/paraphrase) " I think you might have had the perfect response. ...if you want truly depraved, see Cannibal Holocaust or Man Bites Dog... this movies does not glorify the violence, it shows how ugly and nasty it is... I don't want people to cheer the bad guys..."

Bottom line? This movie makes you uncomfortable. It is absolutely, positively NOT FOR EVERYONE!!! It takes a long, hard, ugly look at the exploits of some truly horrible human beings and their affect on their surroundings. It was also done extremely well. If you like this genre, it gets a solid 9. However, due to its general limited appeal, I have to drop it to a 7 overall.

Was the above review useful to you?

167 out of 288 people found the following review useful:

Perfect 70's Style Killing Spree!

10/10
Author: fireheart412 from United States
21 July 2005

I had the pleasure of previewing this movie a few days before its official release. While I enjoyed "House of 1,000 Corpses" I think this follow-up sequel was far better. "House of 1,000 Corpses" was more like a carnival freak show with supernatural and unbelievable scenarios, whereas "The Devil's Rejects" was quite realistic and very brutal.

This film is in the vein of "Helter Skelter", and 'Otis' pays homage to Charles Manson, even hauntingly resembling him. "The Devil's Rejects" is full of bloody carnage, perversion, filthiness, vulgarity, and the characters are sadistic and relentless serial killers. It is not for the feint of heart or the squeamish. There are some clever and quite humorous lines in the movie, along with some very disturbing ones as well. Sherri Moon Zombie gives a stellar performance as 'Baby' that is quite unforgettable. It was great to see P.J. Soles (Halloween) in this film, still looking beautiful as ever. Leslie Easterland, 'Mama Firefly', really gives an excellent performance as the perverted and disgusting mother of the clan. All of the actors did an amazing job in this movie and were very convincing as their characters.

The cinematography of this film was really brilliant, and uses the 'swipe' and 'freeze-frame' methods, sometimes resembling a comic book adventure. The music was classic seventies rock, and fits well with the road trip theme. The gore was spectacular and realistic, and sometimes even disgusted me at times, which is hard to accomplish. I gave this movie a "10 out of 10" because it is full of spectacular, clever, and gruesome horror-movie fun! It contains scenes which seriously make the viewer cringe and feel sympathy for the victims, while hating the serial killers. I've never felt so much hatred and disgust towards the villains as I did during this film, and that goes to show you how convincing this movie really is! If you like Rob Zombie, seventies slashers, and a good horror movie plot, with edge of your seat/nail-biting scenes, then this is the movie for you! Check it out, its jaw-droppingly great!

Was the above review useful to you?

128 out of 218 people found the following review useful:

Great follow up

8/10
Author: jamie_likeskylie from United Kingdom
22 July 2005

This movie has some classic ingredients for a great horror movie. Interesting characters, some really vile gore scenes, bad language, unnecessary nudity, and some familiar faces; Leslie Easterbrook (from the Police Academy movies), Ken Foree (the original Dawn Of The Dead), 80's pop singer/actress E.G. Daily and Michael Berryman (The Hills Have Eyes) provide more than enough nostalgia for retro junkies, like myself.

The story isn't overly fast paced but the gore can be thick and pretty relentless and is at times implied rather than shown which I think adds to the experience. I really enjoyed Leslie Easterbrook as Mother Firefly (replacing Karen Black who was in the first movie, House Of 1000 Corpses). She does some wonderful overacting in her scenes, it's a shame she wasn't in it more, same goes for E.G. Daily who plays a sassy hooker. In fact everyone was great in their parts, let's face it this is not Shakespeare - this is a horror movie, I for one demand hammy over the top performances and a bit of camp! I don't want to give anything away but I will say my favourite scenes involved Mother Firefly and the sheriff, and Captain Spaulding and a mother and child. If you enjoyed House Of 1000 Corpses, this is a superior sequel in my mind and you wont be disappointed. If your idea of horror is a glossy PG-13 rated remake you might want to try weaning yourself onto this kind of movie with something a little less extreme.

Was the above review useful to you?

87 out of 150 people found the following review useful:

The Devil's Re-treads

1/10
Author: vvalenscu from United States
14 May 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

OK. I saw "House of 1000 Corpses" and thought it an utterly useless, TCM rip-off. But I heard better things about this one, so I went in with an open mind. Unlike Rob Zombie, who does not seem to have an original, or even fresh thought in his head. Otis the crackhead psycho from "House" becomes a Charlie Manson wannabe in this one, and Sheri Moon is the least convincing "bad" girl I have ever seen.

This film first rips off "Last house on the left" with the humiliation/rape/murder scene in the Hotel, with the vapid Sheri Moon ordering one of the female captives to hit the other in the face, hard. Lady, you ain't no David Hess. You are not fit to lace up Jeramie Rain's Keds, for that matter.

We meander to an out of the way bordello, so that we may crib from "From Dusk til Dawn". The film tries to marry '70's grind to films such as "Natural born Killers", with flat attempts to mimic Tarantino-esquire witty repartee. Bill Mosely might have been up to that task, but remember, he's channeling Charlie, and has proclaimed himself the Devil. I guess he's too hardcore for humour.

We have a sheriff who seems to be a direct rip-off from the cop gone bad from NBK, and the Dennis Hopper religious, insane Texas Ranger from the funny TCM sequel (Forget which one, hope you get the point.) We also get a Pimp, a "Bandito", and other stock Tarantino characters.

Finally, this crap ends in a "Bonnie and Clyde" style shootout. Sheri Moon is also no Faye Dunaway.

Every thing Zombie did in his two movies was ripping off every thing you have seen before. Some call it homage. I call it complete lack of talent.

There's a good deal of gore, and of course violence, but Zombie tries to paint his villains as anti-heros, and fails utterly, so the grind is all for naught. Oh, and Rob? Thanks for ruining "Freebird" for me.

Zombie's movies seem like an excuse to give his old lady some work. I grew weary of seeing her posterior. Sheri Moon, you ain't no Tiffany Minx, but porn is surely where you belong.

Caveat Emptor on this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

109 out of 194 people found the following review useful:

oh dear

1/10
Author: qholway from uk
6 November 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

sorry, this is not a good film. simply setting up a bunch of people for violent, miserable death and torture, zombie has no tale to tell and no point to make. as far as i remember nobody survives, not that it matters, which seems to be the point of this childish, inept exercise in ersatz nihilism. (actually, i may be wrong there... can't quite recall, but isn't there some hulking deformed fellow who comes to the director's wife's rescue and then... ohh, i really can't be bothered.) a lot of superannuated infants would have one believe that this film is 'sick' and 'depraved' to it's credit. it's not. while it is definitely deserving of both those adjectives it is still no good whatsoever.

torture, humiliation, smashed-in heads and a clattering, numb-skull soundtrack might be your delight, i don't know, but i hope it isn't, for your sake. and naming these things as credits is just silly.

it's a film that makes you feel bad, not for it's characters but for the world we live in and that we will be shortly leaving to our children. a world where watching supposed versions of ourselves being ripped apart, both literally and figuratively, is regarded as entertainment.

horror has a place, sure, and good horror films are good films first. that they horrify means they've succeeded, but they have to have quality in the first place to do that. merely dealing out death and misery and pouring cancerous moral bleakness into our parietal lobes succeeds in nothing but fulfilling only the needs and curious desires of those blank-headed children mentioned earlier - the ones who slow down to see who got caved in in a multiple pile-up but who would, presumably, prefer not to suffer the indignity of being the crushed person being so voyeuristically studied.

don't ask me what makes a good horror film, specifically - if i knew that i would be making one rather than typing this - but it's clear for (nearly) all to see what makes a bad one. this film could be a textbook for those looking to do just that.

but do go see it if you like this kind of thing. it is, after all, aimed directly at you.

Was the above review useful to you?

70 out of 117 people found the following review useful:

Is Otis B. Driftwood your hero?

1/10
Author: basilboy-1 from Kazakhstan
8 November 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I think this movie is sick. Was there a "good guy" in the movie before the last scene? I doubt it. Although to quasi-quote most of the people commenting on this film "if you like murder, gore, sadism, torture, brains splattered on asphalt, and women wearing masks made from the faces of their dead husbands, then you'll love this movie." So I guess the Fireflies are kind of "good guys". At least they're heroes. Well, that makes me think the people saying that really think what the heroes were doing in the movie was really cool. Just awesome. I mean, ain't it cool when some guy whacks another guy in the nuts with a big log and then crushes his skull before taunting a guy who's bleeding to death from a bullet-wound in his neck and torturing him? That's a lot of fun. Of course we would never do those things, no. Maybe people are just scared to sound too "conservative". Well, wouldn't it be better if people were scared to even let the thought enter their minds that killing is really cool, especially when it's sadistic. Wouldn't it be better if movies showed people what really happens in the lives of murderers like the Fireflies? That it isn't a game that ends heroically with the perpetrators true to each other until the very end (the film does a good job showing the love and dedication the murderers feel towards one another). Anyone who's read info about serial killers know they go through cycles--fantasy, murder, guilt and shame, fantasy, murder, guilt and shame...until it finally gets to them, and they are caught and have nothing to do but confess that they knew full well that what they were doing was wrong. A movie like this could be good if it showed all the horrific psychology behind serial murders. But this one doesn't. It attempts to make you "feel for" the murderers; the victims come across as rather stupid; the sheriff who tries to bring the "heroes" to justice fails miserably, and it seems the viewer should almost rejoice when he dies, because he's a sick weirdo. But wait a minute, that's what the "heroes" are. But the heroes are cooler, they know what their doing, and they're much better at humiliating people. They're pros. I mean, the sheriff is killing for revenge (how lame) but the fireflies are killing for fun (coool!). Otis taunts a decent man who's praying and says he should tell God to send down lightning. God doesn't, and Otis goes on to sarcastically repent. Truth be told, God would not force a man like Otis to repent. If I were the man whom Otis was taunting, I would say. "Otis, you choose hell. God will not force you to do otherwise." Otis rejected everything good and bright in the world for a life of hatred and running away. There is nothing good in him. Even those things which would appear good stem from selfishness. He "loves" his OWN family. And that's it. The amount of crap he does in the film cover that all up. He chose hell, he chose to do what he knew was wrong and evil. He knew right from wrong, human from animal. He chose the latter in both cases (along with the other members of his family). If you think that's cool, you have a really big problem.

Lucio Argento said in his post that there is no rape scene in the movie so it's a fine movie. Whatever Lucio, what is it with so many people nowadays? A porn flick has much more redeeming value than this crap. And the movie says straight out that Captain Spaulding raped some kid cheerleader (although that's sort of okay, because it was a girl he raped, not a boy). So what, it doesn't show it in the movie! Come on there's no rape scene. Okay, then the movie is really good! But really, it's all irrelevant. I saw a French/Belgian movie called Du Kus (The Kiss). It had a rape scene in it. But the girl in the end got away from the man (a pimp) and got her life together. It was a really good movie that showed the horrors of prostitution. But Mr. Argento would disagree. It had a rape scene. The devil's rejects is a much better movie. It doesn't have a rape scene.

Lady Saphria in her post called this film "art looking into the deeper darker side of our human nature." "Our" human nature? What the hell are you talking about? I'm sure a lot of people agree with you Ms. Saphria, most are in maximum security prisons.

Don't watch this film. If you go to the theatre and feel compelled to leave don't be ashamed to get up and walk out. Ignore the scoffs of your friends and others in the theatre who think that knowingly, purposefully doing what's wrong is cool. But you do what you feel is right. Knowlingly, purposefully. The world will be a better place.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Bloody brilliant. The definitive film of the genre--Cheap, gory low-budget campy Serial Slashers

7/10
Author: abyoussef from Alameda, CA
19 March 2007

by Dane Youssef

Rob Zombie is without a doubt one of the most versatile and true-to-his-genre artists out there. "The Devil's Rejects" is the kind of movie uptight censors and worried parents always warned you was gonna get made some day.

A movie where the leads are psychopathic murderers, the violence is excess and the gore is so voluminous, that you have to ask: "Does this movie satirize this kind of sadism... or celebrate it? Is it a fun campy parody... or a sign that we may have gone too far with our ultra-violent-based entertainment?" This movie actually defines the term "overkill." Three of the more interesting deranged killers from "House Of 1000 Corpses" get their own spin-off in the "Frasier" or "Jeffersons" tradition. The three, who are a family, actually (a father and his son and daughter) go on a mass killing spree and are racing out of the country to legal freedom on the other side of the border. They seem to echo the Manson Family.

Their sense of humor is the kind of acquired taste like the movie itself has. It stems from the experience you'd get from... watching slasher movies throughout a lot of your life. Like lime green Jell-O, anchovies, fish eggs and black licorice, this is not for all tastes.

The movie is actually a lot smarter and more complex than you might imagine, if you're unfamiliar with what Zombie's movies are about. It's akin to films like "From Dusk 'Til Dawn," "Vulgar," "Desperado" and "Freaked." If you like these types of "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and "Friday the 13th" re-vamping in the video-geek traditions, here is a movie you may hold up as one for the history books. The dialogue is written a twisted brilliant way and the direction has a real retro-'70's homey-quality to it. In a way that doesn't feel contrived.

Sid Haig, Bill Moseley and Sheri Moon are all so perfectly demented in their roles, you have to wonder what they're like in real life. You pray they're nothing like they are here... and hope you never come across anyone remotely like this either.

Sheri Moon, wife of director Zombie, looks more like a typical American model-actress than the degenerate rank-skank she plays here. Moseley is real-life, was actually a columnist and Heig often played scuzzy thugs, but played the judge in Tarantino's "Jackie Brown."

I find it incredibly strange that some people seem to be COMPLAINING that the pursuing cop character (the sheriff, John Quincy Wydell) is as sadistic and mentally unbalanced as the family killers themselves. Why?

Yes, he is. But... why?

Why is that a bad thing? In any way at all?

Look, if there's anything history and government have taught us, it's that it takes one to catch one. Not just in the movies, but in life. And not just in real life, but in movies as well. You see, it's not just an opinion. It's a fact. It's the way of the world.

People... do we all not remember Tommy Lee Jones in "The Fugitive"? His I-Will-Catch-him-By-Any-Means-Nessicary-Law Enforcer way was one of the true milestones in the movie, and it got him an Oscar. Would we want any of the other major characters to be far less interesting than the leads?

When you eat a meal of any kind, you don't just want a rich main course and the side dishes to be as tasteless as styraphone. You want a whole meal you can taste.

And the stuff with the sheriff and the rest of the cops IS something to see. Why? Because he isn't any kind of undeveloped character. Zombie made him (and everything else) just as big, broad, colorful and energetic as the '70's genre that this one stems from.

There's some humor with the Kentucky-Fried Sheriff and the rest of his "Good Ol' Boys" in Blue. It goes without saying that in a small town, the cops are all red-necked. The way the stereotype of the small-town cop in a campy-slasher pic is handled with more laughs than usual. And there's a great moment where they call in a specialist, a film historian (see: uber film geek) to help them with the investigation and this film critic.... well, suffice to say, he insults the name of God in the house of the Lord and that's all I'm gonna say.

We all know Zombie is a neo-talent outside of the music biz. He did the LSD effect in "Beavis & Butthead Do America."

The end may justify the means, in this case. The hick cops and the colorful killers... in the end, it's an ending we all knew we deserved.

Speaking of Zombie, his film debut "House of 1000 Corpses," was a film I found to be embarrassingly bad. I'm a fan of those types of rock-horror camp movies in the "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and "House Of Wax" vein. SEVERED vein, in this case. But everything was played out so campy, so cheaply, so maudlin, so without suspense... that Zombie, I felt, made a movie that seems to be an insult, rather than a tribute to those horror-show camp classics.

But he's redeemed himself with this one. He's working without a net and it all could have gone horribly, pathetically wrong. So I give him props. BIG, BIG PROPS.

As I'm writing this now, he's currently re-making "Halloween." Though I wish he wouldn't, really. Why re-paint the Mona Lisa? Give it eyebrows, what? Will that REALLY be an improvement?

Brace yourself. Not for all tastes. Procceed with caution. Use extreme care.

NOT FOR THE FAINT-HEARTED, SQUEAMISH, PRUDISH... OR TOO MORAL.

by Dane Youssef

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 60 people found the following review useful:

Vile, ugly and pointless

1/10
Author: khan-16 from Louisville, KY
11 November 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I am a horror fan. There is something about a stylish thriller that I think we all enjoy. However, anyone that appreciates a good thriller appreciates the style, suspense and craft that goes into a worthwhile film. I checked this film out on IMDb before I rented because I hated "House of 1000 corpses". Now that I have seen it I am stunned that it got a 7.0. WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE??? This is simply an exercise in sadism. There is nothing enjoyable or suspenseful about cruel, nasty material done in an ugly way. I almost turned the "movie" off after the sickening humiliation of Priscilla Barnes, but I figured if I was going to express an opinion I should see the entire movie. What a mistake that was! Everyone involved in this sickening, vile mess should be deeply ashamed. Please...Someone tell me the point of this repugnant pile of self-serving crap! How does this get made??? How does this get financed??? And REALLY, how do you people find anything entertaining about this nasty exercise in brutality??? This "film" wallows in its own grotesque ugliness. There is no point, no art, no entertainment, no craft, no suspense and no reason. Rob Zombie has now assembled two of the most pointless, nasty, ugly, vile excuses for a movie ever made. I seriously don't want to be in a room with anyone who really enjoyed this rancid, pathetic piece of trash. There is real craft out there. Seek it out. This is the kind of thing that makes me lose all faith in people. This speaks volumes about how the rest of the world sees us in this country. It is my hope that Rob Zombie will never again have the finances at his disposal to construct another affront to the sensibilities of everyone but the criminally insane. If you are a real fan of horror stay clear of Mr. Zombie's sick masturbatory daydreams and seek out some masters of the craft. I suggest some Dario Argento. I sincerely hope that my comments don't make someone want to see this trash. I can imagine someone thinking "If it's that bad I have to see what all the fuss is about". Don't bother. You will just feel like you are covered in a thick slimy film that can't be washed off.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 68:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history