IMDb > "Airline" (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Airline"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Airline" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 12 reviews in total 

7 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Clever premise, recycled from UK show "Airport"

Author: matlock-6 from Chicago, IL
30 January 2004

This is very similar to the UK tv show "Airport", and is actually made by the same production company and film crews. The main difference is that Airline concentrates on a single airline (that being Southwest), while Airport was about Heathrow Airport itself.

Airline is at various times: fascinating, boring, hilarious, etc. The vast majority of the time, it is well worth watching, if only for the seeming endless ignorance of so many of today's air passengers. People claiming racism because security won't let them bring more than one person to a gate to meet a friend on arrival, people loudly protesting when desk agents want to inspect a competition firearm, people getting completely belligerent drunk and then complaining when they're thrown off the plane. You really come to sympathize with the poor airline employees who deal with a seemingly endless stream of abuse and stupidity from all kinds of people.

Plenty of nice moments as well, and a great deal of light-hearted humor.

Caution: this show is ADDICTIVE!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Much thanks to A&E and SWA for their insight to modern aviation!

Author: ajkonig (ajkonig@bring-to-light.com) from San Francisco, CA
16 February 2004

Having watched every episode of this series, I have to express my thanks to both Southwest Airlines and A&E for the courage to allow the world to see the real world as it applies to airline operations in the 21st Century.

I have enjoyed the realism of the staff and crew of SWA in the production of this show, and, as a pilot who at one time was trying to fly with a major airline (with many friends in the industry) I have enjoyed the exploits, the conflicts, and the professionalism exhibited by the Flight Crews, Attendants, and Ground Operations Crew of SWA in the unappreciated execution of their daily duties, and also the stories of those passengers who show respect for these underpaid, overworked people who are attempting to combine safety, service and duty in this difficult age.

Also, I must compliment the ability of Southwest Airlines to show criticism to not only their clientele but also to their own staff, as this is the epitome of realistic television.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

A must-see for every traveler!

Author: kyle brotherton from United States
24 June 2005

disclaimers: 1. I've worked in "customer service" type jobs all my life.

What happens when a passenger is refused boarding because he's drunk? How do they let a passenger know that he smells bad? Why can't someone "carry-on" an ice chest full of fresh chicken. If you've ever pondered these questions.. then something might be wrong with you. But that's OK! Because most of the general public has something wrong with them. This show can prove it, because they caught it on tape.

By hanging around the Southwest Airlines terminals, the crew of "Airline" has produced hours of interesting footage. You'll be amused at the things people try to take with them when they fly. You'll be angry at how some people treat others. But you'll laugh you're hind-end off a lot of the time.

This series should be mandatory viewing for everyone who enters an airport.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

It's very interesting

Author: M_INC_KW from Key West, Fl
24 January 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I must admit I HATE having to travel when it comes to flying. 99% of that hatred comes from having to deal with crowds, close connections, sitting at gates, sitting on runways, losing baggage, weather delays, crying babies, etc., etc., etc...but, this new special on A&E has really opened my eyes to the kind of crap people who work at the airline have to put up with.

Now, maybe it's just Southwest Airlines, or maybe it's just the fact that they knew that they were being filmed, but, it seems that the staff really cares and goes out of their way to be accommodating.

***Possible Spoiler

Whether it be helping clean up a bathroom accident for a man with Alzheimer's, to getting clean clothes for a man who reeks, to having to deal with people who are going to sue over a lost bag that's worth tons of money, only to have it reappear as a duffle bag that you'd carry to the gym--I think I'd quit on the spot, but, somehow they carry on. My only complaint is that it isn't the normal hour long series that A&E normally runs, but two back to back half hour installments are OK.

Was the above review useful to you?

Customer Service Craziness

7/10
Author: SHB_73 from Medford, MA.
30 October 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I found this show very entertaining because I have friends who work in customer service and they run into all kinds of people whether it be at an airport, supermarket,theater etc. The 9/11 attacks made it much harder for the people who work for the airlines and customers who want to catch a plane in terms of delays, security, and other problems. You have to have a lot of tolerance to deal with the public, with the show you see the worst side of people such as someone being to drunk to fly, complaints about ripped or lost luggage and abuse of staff. Through it all the employees remain calm cool and collected. After seeing this show I now have the utmost respect for airport employees. The show has its good moments too such as a wedding proposal and a retiring pilot. Airline is a great reality show and I hope after people see this they will behave when they have too catch a plane.

Was the above review useful to you?

Excellent and addicting show

10/10
Author: submarine-2 from United States
19 October 2009

I fly fairly regularly for leisure but I have to thank SWA for allowing the dirty laundry of the airline business to be revealed. Now when I fly I'm much more able to relax and work with the customer service representatives and I think I'm treated more fairly as a result. I don't agree with every course of action the 'cast' took on problems and challenges, but I do have a much better understanding of the consequences. I've gained insight in what to pack (and more important, what not to), and resolved to avoid alcohol before and during any flight. Great show and I hope they produce more episodes as I would like to find out what some of my favorite 'cast members' are up to. It would also be nice to see what has transpired since Southwest revamped their "no pets" policy.

Was the above review useful to you?

very entertaining

9/10
Author: disdressed12 from Canada
22 January 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

once in a while there is a reality TV show that is real and is worth watching.in this case,it happens to be Airline.it's basically a day in the life of the employees at a major airline in the states,and the things they deal with on a daily basis.it's very interesting to see the different types of people they have to put up with.these include drunk people who are not allowed on the plane until they sober up.i found it really entertaining watching these people try to say they're not drunk.they also have to deal with belligerent passengers who don't show up on time for their flight and have a fit saying they will sue.but it's not all negative.there's some fun stuff,as well ,like the staff Christmas parties,retirement parties and such.the point ids,this is a very entertaining and sometimes very funny 30 minute show.it's also very enlightening.it really shows you what the employees have to deal with on a daily basis,all the while keeping their cool.the show only lasted two and a half seasons,which is a shame.i think this is one of the better shows out there.i give Airline a 9/10

Was the above review useful to you?

Why have they changed this show so much? It's dull now!

Author: fishinbuddy2 from United States
21 February 2006

This once was a fascinating and addictive show! Now, however, its become stupid and has gotten off the topic of "Airline" It seems now instead of 30 minutes of watching Airline related happenings we are forced to watch the passengers in their personal lives.

We see 2 ballroom dancers compete at their ballroom dancing competition. We see a lady who gave her son up for adoption and now is being reunited with him at her house somewhere in the deep south. We see flight attendants who fly to Nashvile to attend their company party and drink. (How boring is it to watch people you don't know- go to their company party?) We see one lady singer who will sing at a NBA basketball game so the camera follows her around till its her day to sing. How dull is that? They have strayed way off from what this show once was about. Its gotten dull. I record it and then fast forward thru about 12-15 minutes of scenes like this that are just non airline related and dull. I wish it was the show it used to be. It was addictive and fresh.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Now I REALLY do not want to fly Southwest

2/10
Author: 15231 from United States
27 June 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I never liked to fly the cattle carrier that is Southwest Airlines, but after seeing this series, I want to avoid it like the plague.

I cannot fathom how SWA thought this would be something good for its image. Most of the show is made up of unhappy, frustrated, angry passengers who are given an opportunity to show the audience how they are the victims of unstated SWA's policies and just how rudely SWA employees treat them. Most of the employees come across as insincere, judgmental, condescending, uncaring, disrespectful and eager to exert whatever little power they perceive themselves as having. The results are appalling examples of how not to conduct customer service. Sometimes the detached artificiality of an employee's apology for whatever happened to the passenger is so blatant that it is a wonder the employee still had a job after the episode aired.

Scattered between these atrocious scenes are uninteresting "human interest" pieces showing SWA employees bowling or going on cruises, passengers competing in beauty or dance contests, and other assorted items having nothing to do with an airport or airline. Also scattered here and there are examples of SWA employees going above and beyond their jobs to help a passenger, but those are the rare spots on the show and they hardly balance or neutralize the nastiness displayed by these same employees in other episodes. (Actually, some employees NEVER are seen being nice.) Watching this show is like watching a plane crash. It is horrible to look at, but somehow you cannot turn away.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Strange and Strange

3/10
Author: dpimi from United States
14 May 2008

First off, this is a train wreck in the world of Customer Service. The show is yet another BBC show that has made it across the pond. I have watched enough of it to know, that I will never fly Southwestern. During my younger years as a Customer Service jockey, I would have been fired or placed on suspension if I acted the way most of the Supervisors/Managers do on the show.

All in all the show points out just how stupid things are at the airport. What cracks me up the most is the fact that they actually have bars on the concourse, which gives the opportunity for an idiot to get drunk. The logic is like a gift shop that sells guns at the local prison. Sadly, there is always an idiot that will buy one.

So in a nutshell, drunks and rude CSRs make for funny show. If you enjoy bad service, and weird people in their 5 seconds of fame, then I would say watch it.

However, if you like the idea of the show. I would suggest watch the BBC version, which offers more of a story of the people who work there, and what actually happens there.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history