"Star Trek: Voyager" Endgame (TV Episode 2001) Poster

(TV Series)

(2001)

User Reviews

Add a Review
19 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
8/10
I was satisfied, I want more though!
jmcb16 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
The past few months I have collected Voyager seasons 4 to 7 on DVD (I only had 1 to 3 on video before that, because Kes is my favourite character) and have just reached the end. I saw them when they were originally shown on TV here in the UK but had forgotten most of it. Am I satisfied with the ending? I think I am. Naturally as I fan I would have liked to have seen more about what happened to the characters when they got home but that's left to our imagination. In many ways "Endgame" is similar to Next Gen's "All Good Things…" The involvement of the crew in the future, but mainly the captain. A new romance starting in the finale (Troi and Worf in Next Gen and Seven of Nine and Chakotay here), which results in death in the future. I truly loved "Endgame," fair to all characters, Neelix appears although he left the ship two episodes earlier. B'elanna gives birth to her daughter with loving husband Tom. Tuvok is ill but returning home means he can be cured. Harry has always been the most anxious and determined but admits the journey is important. The Doctor, in the future, is well respected by all and finally chooses the name Joe! But of course the Captain has the largest role, meeting her future self who wants to get the crew home earlier to prevent casualties. The Borg are involved, as they have played a massive part in this period of Voyager. Alice Krige plays the Borg Queen again fantastically, just her voice and acting method are magnificent. I feel sorry for Susanna Thompson though, the TV Borg queen replaced by the movie Borg queen. Maybe she wasn't available though. The special effects are fantastic, the Borg sub space hub and the Borg queen falling apart! It's very tense. Especially when they come out of the Borg subspace corridor and say their location is right where they thought they'd be after they'd said they'd have to go in a corridor that leads back to the delta quadrant. And what a wonderful idea to get inside a Borg sphere for protection, on the DVD special features they say it was like the Trojan horse. Voyager could have continued. If it was more popular they would have stuck with their original idea of the crew realising the ship is their home, like in Harry's speech and what Tom said because his wife and child are there. And then they could have got home in a film!

Overall, Voyager was a bit hit and miss. The sixth season seemed to be one good one followed by one less than good one. The two episodes set in the Holographic Irish village are horrible! My perception of Seven of Nine was that she took over, it all revolved around her, which wasn't true. When she first appeared, season 4 was focused on her for too many of the episodes but it evened out after that. And her character is ingenious at times, 20 years as a Borg drone gradually rediscovering her humanity. I like her, especially in "Someone to Watch Over Me," "Imperfection," and "Human Error." When Naomi Wildman was scared of her initially but then became her friend often by her side, that was lovely. Chakotay became my least favourite character. Gone was the chemistry with Janeway (will they/won't they?) and you'd never think he was first officer, he's completely pushed aside most of the time. I loved seeing Tom and B'elanna's relationship blossom against the odds. I always liked Neelix a lot. Tuvok was good at times, especially when he lost his logic, gained emotion and was friends with Neelix. Harry was annoying at times but a okay character at other times. The Doctor is probably my favourite, seeing how far he comes and comedy situations he creates ("Tinker, Tenor, Doctor, Spy" is fantastic!). Janeway is my favourite Captain of any series and you can tell Kate Mulgrew is really enjoying it.

I wish there was more, I love Voyager!
49 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
One for the fans, sort of
alexwoolcott17 October 2010
Warning: Spoilers
"Endgame", like most series finales, is an episode entirely for the fans..and yet in the last few minutes, the writers fail to give the fans a pleasing little coda that would make us all well up with tears. In a way it makes sense: the premise of the series is that the crew wants to get home and so it ends the moment they get home. But it still would have been nice to see Janeway gather everyone together for one rousing little moment.

You should watch this episode when you're in a forgiving mood: the Chakotay / Seven of Nine romance comes more or less out of left field. Certainly the writers have hinted at it in two previous episodes (Human Error and Natural Law); now all of the sudden the two are having their "third" date. It's a little sloppy, like the rushed ending.

The major plot problem, sadly, is pointed out by the Borg Queen in her final moments, which feels like it was the character getting revenge for being killed. She remarks that once her Borg cube has killed Janeway, then the future Janeway will never exist and hence everything she's accomplished will be erased. But the same thing is accomplished if the Borg Queen lets the younger Janeway get home: for of course, this means that she won't have any reason to go back in time to change her past. It's not that I care the writers chose to ignore the paradox of time travel: it's just funny that they would so blatantly call our attention to it.

In a way this episode was quintessential Voyager: goofy, slightly illogical, and yet nonetheless engaging and fun. There were good episodes and bad ones, but on average they hit more balls then they missed. They also did much for the advancement of hologram rights: I mean, this episode shows the Doctor has married a human. This in itself boggles the mind and practically begs for a spin off series: I mean just think what you could do with their children.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
So disappointing
regosbendeguz6 April 2009
Warning: Spoilers
After eagerly waiting to the end, I have to say I wish I wouldn't have joined the whole series at the first place. The final episode was everything against the previous seven years. It has ruined everything. The journey was 23 years, but captain Janeway has the power to reduce it... let say, seven years only. Why seven? Why not just one? Or nothing? Why not avoid the whole adventure? Crewmemebers were dying all along the journey. Why she wants to save Seven of Nine only? The others don't count or what? The most ridiculous part when the crew states that getting home is not really the most important thing to them. As the say, "journey is more important than the destination". Unbelievable. And at the finale scene the are surrounded by other Federation ships and the Earth is in sight. Nothing about landing, returning to the normal life.

Worst ending ever.
36 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A great ending to the series
MartinHafer14 March 2015
Some series finales stink, but this one is about as non-stinky as you can get. In fact, this double-length show is among the best in the series--something very rare for any finale.

When the show begins, you learn that Voyager was gone a total of 23 years and has now been back on Earth a decade. The Captain is now an admiral and she's quite gray. However, she also has a secret plan-- one that is not acceptable to the powers that be because it's playing fast and loose with the temporal time directive. What her plan is eventually comes to light--she plans to somehow go through time to Voyager in the seventh year of its voyage home. Then, giving them technology from the future, it will allow Voyager both to kick the crap out the Borg AND use their technology to get to Earth 18 years earlier--and, in doing this, save several members of the crew who died during the 23 year trip.

This episode has everything going for it. This older Janeway is NOT the touch-feely nice lady she was in the rest of the series--she was VERY willing to play fast and loose with the rules. Plus, she seemed very willing to commit mass genocide against the Borg. This is EXACTLY what most fans of the series probably always wanted and it makes for a very exciting and fun episode that isn't to be missed.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Thank you Star Trek for making Voyager
whosjohnny21 November 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I was not really a big fan of Star Trek until past 2-3 years. Thanks to the advent of Netflix and post 2000 video technology distribution, I am able to embark into the past of all the great Star Trek episodes. For those that don't really watch every single episode and know them by heart, through TNG, DS9, Voyager, etc., general popular consensus will say -- "I like The Next Generation" the best. That's because Captain Picard and his crew were fresh when they first appeared after decades of Star Trek starvation. But to be quiet honest, I appreciate the creativity of Voyager's episodes more than TNG. Voyager's episodes also progresses through time unlike TNG. Granted Data from TNG is great but it eventually gets old but Voyager's doctor -- now that's creativity! Instead of making artificial intelligence awkward and jerky, give him the freedom to express beyond anything you imagined. Not only is Picardo such a great actor but the premise setting for his expansive, self growth, as a doctor, self realization now that is science fiction at its best! Endgame portray him as a husband married to an "organic", inventing neuro-implant transceiver for human-machine interface, and even -- in the episode before Endgame, to disobey Captain's order and make "human" mistakes. Unlike DS9 which are blessed with 2 beautiful women right from 1st episode, Voyager has to survive 3 seasons without Jeri Ryan and I believe it is Picardo that carried them with his personality. Of course the rest of the Voyager's cast chemistry just flows effortless, Harry Kim and Tom Paris -- very natural. I love Tuvoc occasional humor, despite being a Vulcan. Finally, I'm so glad they got rid of that original female captain -- oh, if you get to watch the rare footage -- thank God for Kate! She has developed through the 7 years into an extremely confident, believable, and respectable female captain. What a GREAT job! Thank you Star Trek for making Voyager, I enjoy every episode, the creative exploration of possibilities, of morals, and of our Cosmic expanse.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Fitting end
Kevin-947 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
SPOILERS. Like other posters, I felt that the ending was a bit abrupt. I would have liked to have seen the crew adjusting to life back on earth after their return. I suppose the writers anticipated this problem by "front loading" some Voyager on earth sequences at the beginning of the episode. (Of course, that time line has been eradicated, so it's all moot.) I did like how Admiral Janeway died for the Voyager crew. As fans, we get to have our cake and eat it to, by having Janeway both make the ultimate sacrifice and live on. I admit that the scenes of Janeway and her older self having conversations was bizarre and so easily could have crossed the line into camp. Fortunately, Mulgrew(s) pulled it off.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Great Ending Not So Great or...
mache_20006 June 2007
Well first of all, this comment concerns only the last episode which started great but ends so suddenly, like in 5 minutes, was a little telegraphic like a trailer of a movie or sort... and it left me in air for a while. I had the feeling like wasting time with the series. Probably the director woudn't like to end this nice saga with a cliché like many others with a nice homecoming party or something. But as i said, i shed no tears, i wish i would but i couldn't, like i did after seeing the last episode of TNG, i think it deserved a little fancy speech from the cpt. Janeway or other crewmen. Or in the other way, i wished i could be happy for them, but i couldn't. It was like the borg, no feelings induced.

Now, what about the "no harming other species" phrase ? Janeway infected the borg with some kinda virus and kills or incapacitates all of them. Or not all of them ? What happens with them? It is somehow contrairing with her previous actions regarding the borg and other species. Or could it be because she is a little older now and she becomes more eager to redeem herself because she didn't want the crew of Voyager to spend another 23 years in the Delta Quadrant bicoz of her fault (or not). Again, this leads to her action against borg. At first she didn't want the caretaker's device to come in other hands and to be used against other species, and now he kills the borg. What about the Federation rules which she respects throughout all these 7 years like a religion ?

In my opinion, Voyager series and TNG, i think it deserved a more elaborate ending which should be prepared with an episode or two ahead. I have no experience in making movies :) but after all of these years of hard work from their behalf, i guess it deserved more.
54 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Great Ending to a Great Family
paspencer12315 July 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This is a great ending to the show. The fact that Adm. Janeway was able to do a double switch on the Borg was great. The fact that she allowed herself to be infected, thus infecting the Queen with a "poison" that in, essence, ended the Borg was great. The way they ended it also left some, not a lot, for a reunion movie. However, they did bring them "home" and the way they did it was fantastic!! It was sad to say good bye to a part of my family. Ending it with Tom and B'Lanna having their baby just as they enter the Alpha quad. was a great way to show a new beginning. It would be nice to have a reunion movie of some type - just to see where their characters would be today.
18 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The end of an era
Tweekums4 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
After seven years Star Trek Voyager comes to an end with this double length episode. The episode opens at a celebration to mark the tenth anniversary of Voyager's return to Earth after a twenty three year long journey back from the Delta Quadrant. There are noticeable absences though and we soon learn that Seven of Nine died in the Delta Quadrant, Chakotay made it back but was never the same after Seven's death and died on Earth and Tuvok has had an emotional breakdown due to an illness which could have been treated in the Alpha Quadrant but not in the Delta Quadrant. Janeway, now an admiral is working on acquiring a device that will enable her to return to the Delta Quadrant at a time when they are close to a Borg transwarp hub which could get them home in minutes. Once back the admiral still has to persuade her younger self that it is possible for them to go up against the Borg and get home, she must also convince herself to use the hub rather than destroying it. Ultimately the two of them come up with an idea which may serve both of these goals although it would call for an act of self sacrifice from the admiral. In a secondary story we B'Elanna gives birth to a daughter who will grew up to help the admiral acquire technology from the Klingons.

This episode provided a good if somewhat rushed conclusion to the series, I was pleased that it ended as soon as the were within sight of Earth rather than showing us celebrations and discussions about what they each plan to do now they are back home. Kate Mulgrew did a fine job in the duel roles of Captain and Admiral Janeway, Alice Krige made a welcome return as the Borg Queen, the scenes between her and Janeway were great; I'm pleased that they picked a suitably iconic villain for the final episode... and even more pleased that they didn't mirror the more popular 'Next Generation' by having Q involved. I think that after seven years it was probable the right time to end the series, it left me with fond memories and wanting more not thinking it had dragged on too long.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Lackluster hooray........
joker-scar18 June 2016
I love this show. It is my favourite in the Star Trek world except the original series. Too bad the writers went the "we don't want to fall into the sappy, captain gives a heroic speech, ticket tape parade trite ending" that most shows would naturally do. They went the Sopranos ending route and tried to change it up and not form to convention. yes, you can be bold and take that route but you also have to pay the piper if that route fails. I doubt David Chase can go anywhere even years later without a fan coming up and saying, "WTF guy! I felt stiffed!" When you have a 2 or 3 hour film you can play that card BUT when you have the finale show after a 7 year run that is ALSO part of a huge fan based universe for the past 40+ years, you have to pay off some debts buddy. Like it or not it is emotionally satisfying having those moments and when you cheat your audience by not showing them at all because you don't as filmmakers want to present the same old same old, then you can't complain when you are dragged out on the carpet for it. Your job is to present it in in a non-sappy way by use of writing, acting and directing skills to satisfy an audience, not to re-invent the wheel.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Garbage ending to a great series!
Kat Webb4 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This just completely spoiled the entire series. If you're looking for a high drama ending, with Voyager triumphantly landing on Earth's surface, the crew been emotionally reunited with their friends and family, and seeing the readjust to Alpha Quadrant then don't look here. Bang they go through a wormhole, there's like 20 starships waiting for them and then thats it.

The previous 85 minutes of the show are just some confusing borg time travel drivel with Captain Janeway VS The Borg Queen being the highlight. I really don't know how anyone can say the finale to this series is 'good' when it first came out it broke my heart how awful it was. I thought it had to be a joke, some kind of parody, and the real ending to the series would probably be released at a later date but no such luck.

If you look very carefully at the end when Voyager is being chased through a Borg ship, the Borg ship is destroyed for no apparent reason and Voyager makes it through the wormhole. That's just one mistake. The Borg Sphere followed Voyager into the wormhole but yet in the end point in the Alpha Quadrant debris from the Sphere comes out first followed by Voyager.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Janeway commits genocide and breaks the Prime and Temporal Directives
Steve Easton5 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
And so Voyager finishes almost as badly as it started, in which Janeway once again shows her flexibility regarding the Prime and Temporal directives, and commits genocide to further her own ends. Where were the Time Agents in this episode? How could Janeway have become an Admiral after this? Like much of Voyager this is an ill-considered, inconsistent mess. There was also no real closure for the characters, in ST:DS9 this was somewhat over the top in the final story, but at least it was present.

Having the Borg as the villains at the end was a good idea squandered with an awful plot. Good bye Voyager, and good riddance.
14 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Future Howlin Mad Broccoli and Janeway ram a show home.
XweAponX18 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This show has a multiplex storyline - Janeway in the Future teaches Borg 101 at Starfleet Tech alongside Howlin Mad Broccoli. "Doctor Joe" has finally taken a name after 30 years and has gotten Married to a Human, and Tom and B'elanna's daughter is Future Janeway's access to a secret weapon she needs to use to get to where Voyager is in this ep. Janeway has to basically steal this thing from a Klingon named Korath (Vaughn Armstrong's 3rd or 4th Voyager Appearance).

In Voyager's current timeline, they have found the treasure of all Borg treasures, and for this and only this episode, the main Borg Queen, Alice Krige, happens to be the Queen in charge.

I'm sure Susanna Thompson could have pulled it off, But I've always seen Alice as the Queen of Borg Queens, so it was fitting for her to make this appearance. We know that these Queens can't ever really be killed, they'll just keep being re-grown. And maybe Queen B, Susanna, after fouling up Unimatrix Zero, was demoted for having Janeway kick her arse so much.

But the question is, what has Voyager stumbled into? They find a nexus of what seem to be Wormholes inside of a Nebula - A Nebula riddled with Borg Cubes. Alice Queen is very protective of it, and won't let Janeway anywhere near it..

Meanwhile, Seven of Sixty-Nine is actually dating Chakotay, despite the danger of her implants overloading due to Human Emotions. and B'elanna is about to drop a progeny, right in the middle of a firefight!

This last Voyager episode has everything in it, I was pleased to see it when it was broadcast, I was shocked at the quality, and I still am. This finale is almost as good as Deep Space Nine's as far as wrapping up a bunch of little details, and Dwight Schultz was practically a cast member by this time.

But the twist of all twists is the secret of what's really in the Nebula, we've seen it in use in Next Generation and in earlier eps of Voyager. Now we get to actually SEE how Borg can move about the Galaxy so quickly, and it's all based on an idea first referred to in Star Trek III- Something we never really got to see until Next Generation's 6th and 7th seasons.

From the first time we see the Borg in Next Generation to this episode, no other Trek show handled the Borg as well as Voyager: They had become more than Mindless Automatons, due to Seven's addition as a crewmember. So I salute this series, as it went out with a much bigger bang than it made when it came on the air with "Caretaker" - Even Next Generation and Deep Space Nine end at their beginnings, so to speak. But Voyager never pointed to anywhere else but the Future, which is where Trek should have kept going instead of backtracking it's own past in Enterprise.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
At last!'
gritfrombray-16 December 2008
Warning: Spoilers
At long last this series was coming to an end. I thought this show had far too many low points. It had flashes of brilliance once or twice every season but should have ended at season 5 or earlier. This end episode was a little too similarly themed to Next Gen's colossal 'All Good Things'. In saying that it was an action packed show with a welcome return for Alice Krige as the Borg Queen. The action was first rate and the crew were at their best and ended in the way the viewer would have wanted. In my opinion this show would have gained so much more respect if Seven had, at the last moment turned on the crew and they were all assimilated and the closing scene had Seven and the Borg Queen standing over the crew, in full Borg mode saying 'We are Borg'!!
9 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
In the institution, Tuvok cries, asking for 'Janeway' to come back to him
magicsinglez15 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This final Voyager episode begins 23 years in the future. Voyager has made it back home. In the many years it took to return tho, the Vulcan Tuvoks' mind has been destroyed. He carried a disease they were too late getting home to cure.

Captain Janeway comes across aliens who have time travel technology. She realizes, there's a Warp Conduit in the Delta Quadrant that could bring Voyager home immediately - if she could go back in time and notify Voyager. There's one problem. The Conduit is deep inside Borg Space.

Janeway visits Tuvok. He's like a child. He scribbles tho, obsessed, working on math problems or movie reviews or something, he's convinced are important somehow. In the institution, Tuvok cries, asking for 'Janeway' to please, please come back to him.

Janeway decides to commandeer a federation shuttle and equip it with weapons technology 20 years ahead of the Borg, in the hopes of going back in time and using this new technology to guide Voyager to the Warp Conduit.

When she goes back in time and links up with Voyager, Janeway meets her younger self. The two captains disagree, arguing about the plan. The real-captain visits Tuvok asking him if it's true he has a brain disorder. Tuvok admits it's true, but it can't be cured by the facilities on the ship so he's kept it to himself.

The young Captain agrees to the older Captains' plan. To increase their chances of success the older Janeway plans to distract the Borg with her shuttle craft. The Borg actually capture Janeway and her shuttle. The Borg Queen personally assimilates Captain Janeway. But Janeway's expected this! the Borg Queen has assimilated a virus into herself that kills her. With the Borg Queen dead Voyager makes it thru the Warp Conduit back to federation space.
9 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Satisfying, and intelligent way end to a good show...
cski1289427 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
In this day and age where people routinely have 500 cable/satellite channels or more, there is such a glut of content and so much competition for viewers that even great shows never make it past the first season.

So, many times I will watch a series and the last show ends up being a cliffhanger with no proper ending. I am left hanging after investing quite a lot of time in a world that is so busy that we have less and less time TO invest.

Anyway, I loved how Janeway blasts through Borg cubes like they were made of cardboard with the new Quantum Torpedoes, and the addition of armor was long overdue for the entire series. I liked the going back and forth through time plot, and the aging crew members makeup was believable and the acting competent.

The unbelievable portion was the Borg sending only one cube. Bullsnot. They did the same in The Next Gen movie "First Contact".

Anyway, sorry this review is 13 years overdue, but I just got NETFLIX so....:)
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
"Set a course...for home."
arcticsekai13 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This was the year I decided to get into Star Trek; I wanted to start with Voyager for no reason other than I LOVE Kate Mulgrew and now as a whole I also LOVE Star Trek: Voyager.

However this two part ending was just okay. The show deserved a better ending.

The overall two part ending had the right pacing, tension and drama, and kept the story exciting. However, I feel for a show that had been running for 7 full seasons the final segment fell pretty flat. I was really expecting some sort of awesome all out battle between the Federation's armada and the Borg sphere; maybe have a happy reunion of families and friends. Instead they popped back into the Alpha Quadrant. And that was it. Roll credits.

I could have also absolutely done without the forced romance between Seven and Chakotay; especially since there was a much, much better and more natural chemistry between him and Janeway. I felt it was extremely cringe worthy and read more like a basic 'fan fiction' level of writing. I binge watched this show so the change in romance interests for Chakotay seemed really out of the blue.

Overall, the show is amazing and by far one of my forever favorites – but I can't get over how unsatisfying and underwhelming this ending was.

"Set a course, for home"
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great Ending
Dern Vader27 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is a top-class episode. It has the right amount of tension, the story and pacing are interesting and exciting. Its difficult to pin down exactly what makes this such a great episode. Kate Mulgrew's acting is truly superb as she plays her Admiral self with such confidence and daring, its a treat to watch great acting like that. Its fun to see B'ellana's child as an young (hot) adult. Perhaps its always fun to get a skip ahead or see an alternative version of the people we are used to. The plan is daring and exciting, and its great to see the Borg get kicked around a bit. 'All good things...' (TNG) was a great end episode also, but this one is a little better. I preferred Voyager's more overarching story line to the single episode premise as was TNG. I always wondered why they didn't do more of a continuing story and was very disappointed to find out its the Ass Hats that wanted the single-episode story format for future syndication purposes, so they were more concerned about selling the show as a by-product in the future than actually making the best and most out of the shows potential... ick.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Merely Acceptable
hydrofilic12 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
After 7 seasons, I was expecting a fantastic ending, but this two-part finale was merely acceptable. Overall it was a decent story, but the directing and writing was both derivative and lacking...

It is derivative because of its extreme similarity to TNG's finale "All Good Things": the show opens with a future version of reality (which will never occur) then we (the audience) go back in time with the Captain (now Admiral) and change things "for the better" (while ignoring the temporal paradox this creates).

So the future (about 25 years after the current time) Admiral Janeway steels federation technology and travels to Voyager's past. She argues with the current Captain Janeway about directives/morals, and gives the old/current Voyager advanced technology. Note I think this is (so far) pretty good story, even if it is derivative.

Next the Janeways agree to invade a nebula controlled by the Borg. This would normally be suicide for Voyager, but thanks to future technology, Voyager shakes off all Borg attacks and arrives at a "trans-warp hub". Again, this is pretty entertaining...

But once Voyager arrives at this important Borg hub, the two Janeways enter a moral/ethical dispute... which is dramatic (and understandable) but also stupid... they spend several minutes near a vital Borg resource without being attacked! Did the Borg suddenly loose interest in Voyager? Does Voyager have some kind of cloaking device that the cast and writers forgot to mention to the audience? Anyway, Admiral Janeway is captured by the Borg Queen, while Voyager and Captain Janeway proceed through the trans-warp hub. The interesting thing (to me) is they are just picking a route at random... any conduit that takes them to the Alpha Quadrant. (I find this entertaining sci-fi...) The Borg Queen assimilates Admiral Janeway, but the future Janeway anticipated this, and is carrying an infection that kills the Borg Queen (and presumably infects all Borg in that sector).

Meanwhile, a Borg Sphere chases after Voyager through the trans-warp corridor, and Starfleet amasses an armada of ships to intercept the Borg Sphere. It was kind of cool to see all those federation ships, but it was totally stupid because they had no idea where Voyager would emerge in the Alpha Quadrant (also there was not enough time to amass such a fleet).

The series finale ends with Voyager emerging from the conduit in the Alpha Quadrant with debris of the Borg Sphere flying everywhere. That is: Voyager destroyed the sphere, the federation armada never fired a single shot. Kind of lame... Then in the final scene we see Voyager approaching Earth.

That's it... there is no final "welcome home" or "congratulations" speech. This is most disappointing to a fan like me... after 7 years, it would be nice to have a few minutes to "decompress." The ending was sorely lacking in an emotional way...

In summary, a mostly entertaining (if derivative) story with a lack-luster ending. Many series end without a proper finale, and those with a finale are often poor. So I wish this would have been better, but I still view it as acceptable.

My problem is Voyager deserved better than acceptable.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews