IMDb > Transporter 2 (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Transporter 2
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Transporter 2 More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 34: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 335 reviews in total 

More of the same but that was a winning formula so what the hell

Author: patrick powell from United Kingdom
19 November 2011

If you saw the first Transporter, this is for you. If you did but didn't like it, give this a miss. In my view the first Transporter had the virtue of being a cut above other films vying to be top dog in the car chase, martial arts, cool hero blah-di-blah slot and as such it did the business, thanks mainly to high production values and Jason Statham, who does only one thing really, but does it very well indeed. If anything Transporter II improves on the original. At least it has a plot of sorts - which is, however, total ludicrous, but a plot it is - and there is some attempt at characterisation, what with Jason Statham displaying that he connects with kids. Then there are enough fights and car chases to last your average teen dude a lifetime, so given that both films have no pretensions whatsoever and simply want to entertain you, it has to be rated another success.

Was the above review useful to you?

Unbelievability of the story is the only negative of this movie

Author: ebiros2 from United States
16 July 2011

Second installment of the Transporter series is much better organized in production. It seems to be made on a bigger budget as well, and the movie has a more lavish feel to it than the first one.

A Columbian drug cartel hires ex Russian bio weapons experts to stop the anti-drug conference of international politicians by using the conference chairman's son to carry a deadly virus that will kill the infected within a day. The only problem they don't expect is that the chairman's son's driver is Frank.

The action is over the top as usual, and there're endless hand to hand combat scene between Frank and the terrorists not to mention lot of shooting done by Lora, but this time over the top might have gone too far with Frank surviving a plane crash into the ocean, and the plane looking relatively undamaged after it takes its nose dive.

There are other action scenes that defies believability, but you need to watch the movie and see for yourself. Overall, Frank gets to scores more feminist points by being kid friendly in this movie.

Good movie that's built momentum on top of an already great first installment.

Was the above review useful to you?

Surprisingly entertaining

7/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
12 April 2011

I liked the first Transporter, but was not expecting much when I sat down to see this sequel. And I was surprisingly entertained. Yes the plot is rather thin and predictable, some of the CGI is rather obvious and the characters in general could have done with more development and perhaps credibility too. However, the film does look great, with some fast and furious editing and striking locations, and the soundtrack is very energetic. The script is snappy enough without knocking my socks off, the direction is solid and although Transporter 2 is short it is never dull thanks to the lively pace and spectacular action, chases and fights. I'd say the acting has improved this time around, particularly with the female lead, but Jason Statham is just great and exudes a lot of charisma. Overall, a fun and entertaining sequel. 7/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

Everyone's an expert! I've had it with you!

7/10
Author: Grann-Bach (Grann-Bach@jubii.dk) from Denmark
20 November 2010

Frank Martin, the man who will transport anything, whether goods or human, is now working as a driver for the son of a troubled couple. When the irritating(...well, he is!) boy is kidnapped, he pursues the people behind it... in other words, Mexican male model and P!nk(who we will briefly see partially nude... and she isn't the only scantily clad hot chick in this). This is about what you'd expect, if you saw the first one. The director of it, as well as The Incredible Hulk, Clash of the Titans(and Danny the Dog, that I haven't watched it), Louis Leterrier, returns and we get more bad-ass stylish, at times slow-mo-ed action and another proper guy flick. There are shootings, martial arts fights and vehicular chases(mostly car), and the laws of physics *will* be broken. The tunes are great, some techno and... other stuff(I don't know music). This gets your adrenaline pumping with the various ways to do so(well, other than gore and violence, for PG-13). Statham is *awesome*, so suave. The dialog is good. There is quirk to the comic relief. This keeps to a solid pace. I recommend this to any fan of this kind of movie. 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

Non stop action let down by obvious CGI

7/10
Author: Tweekums from United Kingdom
9 November 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Jason Statham makes a welcome return as Frank Martin, the driver who will transport anything; no questions asked. In this outing he has left the south of France and is working in Miami, not transporting anything illicit this time, just driving a child to and from school. His parents have no idea of his past nor do the kidnappers who hijack Frank's car and force him to deliver the boy to their boss. Once the child has been taken Frank must do everything he can do get him back; it doesn't help that the police are convinced that he was involved in the kidnapping. In his attempt to save the boy Frank is almost constantly on the move driving fast cars and even a jet ski, when he isn't on the move he is fighting various thugs as well as police officers that try to arrest him.

This film is only an hour and a half long but seemed even shorter as it moved at a break-neck speed with spectacular chases and perfectly choreographed fights that reminded me of scenes from early Jackie Chan films. The only real flaw with the action was the use of rather obvious CGI in some scenes that broke the suspension of disbelief. The story may have been a little thin but that didn't matter, as things were happening too quickly to notice. Jason Statham is great in the role of Frank; managing to make the unbelievable believable as he fights large numbers of well armed thugs without appearing to break sweat. François Berléand returned as his friend on the French police force Inspector Tarconi, this time visiting Frank for a few days and providing some nice comic relief.

Was the above review useful to you?

More over the top but still very entertaining

7/10
Author: Floated2
14 October 2010

Transporter 2 seemed more over the top in acting and violence and plot than the original. The sequel had more action sequences combined at a faster pace but it had less character development and plot line. Transporter 2 wasn't that bad, I enjoyed it but the first was better. I don't blame Jason Statham at all. It was not 'raw' like The Transporter 1. Transporter 2 was too commercialized in the fear to win American audience but failed totally. It was pretty fake and the story was too fake and didn't seem that great. I would have preferred it to be Continental like the 1st version. Frank (Stathem) gave his best but due to poor script and story he ended up looking like a 2nd rate actor. The action was good but the Martial Arts was lacking the originality of the 1st version. In my opinion getting involved with a kid was pathetic and sloppy, it didn't seem as great as the original. Also subplots in this film were distracting (the kid having a virus, the relationship between Aubrey and her husband). Though in general the film was great as entertaining and fun watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

Great Action Movie- Better than the First

8/10
Author: psweens08 from United States
17 April 2009

Keyword being ACTION movie. I thought this movie was much better than the first. The first one may have been a more believable (or on second thought, just less ridiculous) storyline, but i found myself just not interested at all. The special effects were horrible, and the acting and attempts at humor were awful. But in transporter 2 they take on a new, stylish, up and coming french director, Louis Leterrier, who would later direct The Incredible Hulk with Edward Norton, and also directed the underrated Unleashed. The production company was able to keep on Luc Besson (director of The Professional, The Fifth Element) and a $35,000,000 budget compared to the original's $20,000,000. What you get is a very enjoyable and action packed movie with some very creative fight sequences (watch for the use of a fire hose) a better looking movie (cinematography wise and a crisper image) and great special effects. The acting isn't bad either. Sure Jason Statham isn't the greatest and i hated Kate Nauta (the very hot "assasin-like" girlfriend of the bad guy) but the role of the "cook", who is really a french inspector, was a great comic relief, and the mother of the kidnapped boy played by Amber Valetta was believable. Keith David had a good role as a as the FBI agent investigating the kidnapping. It's a great movie, if you don't think about it. I usually hate movies like this, and tend to lean towards movie that are more intellectually suspenseful, than movies that are just brawn and special effects, but for some reason i loved it. Check it out.

Was the above review useful to you?

Jason Statham – Jet Ski Pilot.Jason Statham – Jet Ski Pilot.

7/10
Author: Michael DeZubiria (wppispam2013@gmail.com) from Luoyang, China
22 March 2009

The first sequel in the Transporter franchise obeys all of the rules of sequels – bigger budget, bigger death count, more gloss, and at least one more lingerie-clad hottie with two hand-held machine guns. It's otherwise exactly the same movie as the original, with a few negligible plot modifications. What isn't changed is the ready-made action movie premise, this time using such an old action cliché that the first thing I thought of was those little sponge-things I used to make my mom buy me when I was a kid. You put a drop of water on it and in a couple minutes it turns into a dinosaur or something.

But beyond the just-add-water instant action movie beginning, it at least ultimately proves to be another example of the over-the-top action extravaganza that the series has come to be known for. The movie works because it knows not to take itself seriously, and while this prohibits it from anyone in the audience being in danger of taking anything seriously, it doesn't stop it from being fun. There is a scene in the movie where Frank notices a bomb strapped to the underside of his car, and when I saw the way he managed to dislodge it I laughed out loud, and not necessarily in a bad way. You will laugh too, but there is a distinct feeling that you're laughing with the movie and not at it, and that right there is exactly what makes it fun.

Frank Martin has been doing some chauffeuring duties for the wealthy Billings family – Jefferson, who works in drug control for the government, and his estranged wife Audrey - and ends up making an unlikely friendship with their 6-year-old son Jack. But don't worry, the unlikeliness of that friendship very soon looks very normal when compared to the rest of the plot developments. Jack is kidnapped by a stereotypical Colombian villain and his henchmen, which include his statuesque blonde girlfriend (who spends the entire movie wearing nothing but skimpy lingerie and a ton of eyeshadow) and a bunch of meathead henchmen.

So get this, the villain, like me, is Colombian, so of course he's hell-bent on flooding the world with cocaine, but wait until you hear his plan! His scheme is to infect Jack with a deadly airborne virus that will in turn infect anyone who comes into contact with him. They don't want a ransom, they hand the kid back with amazingly little resistance. But Jefferson is soon attending a conference with lots of high-level officials involved in the U.S. drug control infrastructure. You see where this is going?

I hope so, because while the plot is actually a little more complex than you would expect from a movie like this, it doesn't slow down for very long to give you time to think about anything, which I suppose is just as well. It moves frantically from one action set piece to the next, balancing out the preposterous action sequences with greater emotional involvement than the original movie in the relationship between Jack and Frank.

But when it comes down to it, The Transporter 2 is exactly the same thing as the original movie. It has all the same ingredients but in slightly different quantities, so your opinion of the first movie is going to give you a much better idea of how you'll like the second one than any review is going to. Then again, something tells me that a good portion of the Transporter target audience aren't big readers, so maybe I'm wasting my time here anyway?

Nah, I'm just kidding. That'll be my bad joke for the day. But regardless of the reading habits of the Transporter fan club, I don't need to explain to you that this is not an intelligent action movie. It's a super-fast action thriller with stunts that would make James Bond nervous and a lot of people shooting each other up, but I would be lying if I said it wasn't entertaining…

Was the above review useful to you?

Statham delivers yet again.

6/10
Author: tyler-and-jack from Edinburgh.
12 August 2008

Louis Leterrier takes the director's chair this time around as we return to the antics of Frank Martin (Jason Statham) and his superior driving and action credentials. Rattling along and adhering to the sequel rules of "bigger, harder, faster, more", things aren't as entertaining as they were the first time around but there is still plenty of fun to be had.

Martin is in Miami for this outing and is temporarily driving around a small child(and the young actor does okay in his few scenes) as a favour to a friend. So guess who is to be the victim of a kidnapping attempt and who has to save the day? Oh yeah, action time again. There is also a deadly virus involved just to make things seem a bit more complex than they actually are.

The main words to remember here are "check your brain at the door". This is not cinema-verite, this is not even cinema anywhere near our own reality. Whether it's Statham making his car temporarily fly or actually dodging bullets, you either have to grin and go along with it or just give up from practically the first scene.

The cast has a few more familiar faces this time around too, with the likes of the mighty Keith David rubbing shoulders alongside the so-so Matthew Modine and Jason Flemyng. François Berléand returns as Tarconi and is just as enjoyable as he was in the first movie but the real scene-stealer here is Kate Nauta as Lola. She may not be the best actress in the world, by far, but doesn't need to recite Shakespeare when she looks so sexy and stylish in every scene, usually wearing nothing but the flimsiest of lingerie and some automatic weaponry. You can see exactly where this movie is aiming.

There are also some dodgy computer effects you may well groan at (one helicopter explosion stands out but the very worst offender has to be a plane crash that could have been massively improved even if it was created in LEGO), fights that stand up pretty well but pale in comparison when compared to the original and a complete disregard for either logic or physics. Open beer - drink - insert movie - enjoy.

See this if you like: Jason Statham, XXX, The Transporter, Crank.

Was the above review useful to you?

Action packed with spectacular race cars and sensational fights

6/10
Author: ma-cortes
2 February 2007

The former mercenary called Frank Martin(Jason Stahatan) turned in security agent is now serving as chauffeur for powerful marriage(Matthew Modine and Amber Valleta) .He becomes involved in the kidnapping of their son adding an intrigue about biological warfare by ominous nasties(Alessandro Gassman,Kate Naute,Jason Fleming).

The picture gets noisy action,suspense,tension and lots of violence when the struggles and killings happen ,being pretty amusing.Chases galore abound with breathtaking velocities and impressive pursuits where the cars leap and fly.It's a run of the mill action film but from the start to the finish the action packed is interminable.Besides incredible fights with bound and leaps by the trainer master Corey Yeun (artificer of cinema Hong Kong spectacular choreography).Overwhelming race cars and pursuits were made by authentic stunts and especial effects.Jason Stathan is top-notch as action hero,he's a tough man fighting stunningly.Alessandro Gasman is magnificent as an extremely clever villainous.Another baddies as Jason Fleming and vicious Kate Naute also are excellent.Lively musical score fitting to the action by Alexander Azaria and glimmer cinematography by Amundsen.The motion picture is lavishly produced by the producer and director French Luc Besson and well directed by Louis Leterrier.In conclusion the film provides fast and furious entertainment and action unstopped with no sense and developed with fast paced and continuous movement.It's a must see for action lovers.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 34: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history