IMDb > Transporter 2 (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Transporter 2
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Transporter 2 More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 34: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 334 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

What the hell?

Author: matrix_vs_badboys from Kuwait
29 April 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I tried watching this movie. i knew from the trailer that there was going to be some stupidity and far drawn out moments, fine, thats okay, I've seen more drawn outness from the matrix, and i loved it. so i decided to sit, forgetting about any mechanics or any laws of physics that might be challenged in this movie. I sat through the whole 1 hour and 27 minutes watching jason statham jump around from place to place with extremely dumb methods, i saw him catch a guy who was running by just walking, i saw him drive his car off a building into another building without even having a scratch on it. I've seen his car twist upside down to get rid of a bomb. I've seen a hot woman (kate Naute) hitting on him (waaaaaaaa?).I've seen him punch a fat guy with melons or some kinda of fruit on his hands. I've seen the Jamaican comic relief(who sucked by the way). I've seen him jumping into hot cars and speeding and making everyone else look bad. Now.......where am i going with this you may ask? even though i tolerated the lack of realism, the bad acting, the bad comedy moments and the bad story. I still found this movie highly excruciating. Why? Just look at it! the story was too cliché-ish. like a really sad version of "the professional". the action went too fast, the fighting moves were too unoriginal. the gun fights were just...too stupid. he quickly outsmarted everyone which is kind of hard to do to a 50 people. the bad guys were like villains with bad AI from an old playstation game. the super-villain guy was too cliché-ish, like he was super-badass kong-fu style bad guy from "showdown in little Tokyo". Other than that, the movie lacked intensity, thrill and good action sequence. even the power rangers movie had better action sequence and thrill. the movie went WAY too fast. it was hard to keep track of frank martin as he jumped here to there and before i knew it, he was vaguely fighting the super-villain (who officers lost, because face it, he's the supervillain). and the movie was over. so in the end we were left out with a far-fetched, limitless, tasteless, fast, crappy, rusty movie with bad action sequences, bad acting and a bad story which is set in Miami, the city of bad sequels.lets give a clap to Hollywood for another dumb sequel.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Obizmal!

3/10
Author: spurofda_moment from P'Boro England
10 April 2006

My brother brought round this film, informing me that this was a really good film and I'm sorry but my brother did not deliver at all. I was rather disappointed to be honest as my brother usually had good taste in films. Basically the only thing that did cheer my up about the film was the main actor (forgot his name sorry) his little jokes did make me laugh and did make him look cool which i think was the aim of the film anyway. Also that stupid (fit) actress who was the main killer person or whatever, was there any need in her getting naked all the time come on lets be realistic here just a waste of time and money to be quite honest. And that is all i gotta say bout that!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Suck Central

2/10
Author: jaijaijai73 from United States
19 February 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Could this film possibly suck any harder? Yes, but not by much. Action? It's lame at best. Plot? Thoroughly nonexistent. Suspense? Good luck. Twists? Fuhgeddaboudit. In short, this film is best left unseen, and if seen, best forgotten as quickly as practicable. If you're a moron, enjoy. If not, do yourself a favor and avoid this absurd turkey. Anyone with a shred of sensitivity, tactical knowledge, basic common sense, or cinematic theory will spend their next week or two attempting to purge the taint of this awful piece of crap from their mental alimentary canal. There's basically no excuse whatsoever for wasting your time on this dreck when there are so many other worthwhile movies out there. Watch "Ronin" if you're into car chases, and see "Legend" and/or "Hero" for martial arts. Avoid! Avoid! Spoiler: This film would love to suck the sweat off a dead man's balls, but never rises to that level.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

88 wasted minutes

3/10
Author: Michael Williams (garaman_rex@hotmail.com) from Colorado Springs, CO
16 September 2005

Oh My God, who made this piece of crap? The french?? I loved the first Transporter but this has stunts in it that make the crap from the first triple X movie look plausible. Did they hire a stunt coordinator?? In several fight scenes you can see the stunt men actually stop in mid swing while Jason Statham catches up to the action which brings me to my next question, You guys didn't actually pay the Editor or the Special Effects guys did ya??? 'cause if you want I can give you the number of this 6 yr old that lives next door, he found an old 286 in the trash and does better work on it then your team did.

All I can assume is the first Transporter and Brotherhood of the Wolf were flukes because the french should not make movies, if you don't believe me go watch Wasabi (that way I won't be the only person in the world who had to suffer through it.)

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

What movie were you people watching?!?

2/10
Author: Todd McLeod (grimrogue) from Canada
11 September 2005

I think Jason Statham is a cool actor, and the character of Frank Martin as a professional "transporter" for hire is somewhat original and has tons of potential for a great action movie. It's just too bad that this film hasn't been made yet. I wasn't much of a fan of the first Transporter flick, but I was impressed enough with the basic idea of it, along with Statham's slick performance, to be interested in seeing a sequel some day when it inevitably came out. Well that day did come, and it was a very disappointing one indeed.

To put it simply, the first Transporter movie had about two memorable action sequences. Transporter 2 has one. That basic math alone makes the original superior. There are not a lot of fight scenes in this movie, and what martial arts we do get to witness are displayed with too many quick cuts and confusing edits. This disorienting and choppy style also flattens the intensity of the car chases, making one extended driving scene in particular frustrating to watch. For a film about a professional driver, the action on the road should be much better than this.

I can handle all of the over the top action sequences (I was greatly looking forward to them), and the sometimes cheesy dialogue and poor special effects, but what I can't handle in a movie like this is a bland directing style and a silly plot that was not very captivating at all. The two main villains are somewhat sinister but are not very unique, nor are they used to their full effect, and the cookie-cutter henchmen are all quite ridiculous.

I just wanted to have fun with this movie. I wanted to be taken on a wild, unbelievable ride with Frank Martin as he saves the day while struggling triumphantly to get his "cargo" to the destination on time. Great car chases? None. Great fight scenes? There was one. Great directing style? There's only one really awesome shot that comes to mind. Great story? Negative.

Still I am a fan of the character, and when Transporter 3 eventually rolls around I'm sure that I will see the preview for it and sincerely say, "Frank Martin is back. Cool."

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Please - Just stop talking...

3/10
Author: Jen Todd from United States
7 September 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Transporter 2 doesn't even come CLOSE to being what The Transporter was and the audience is left feeling the burn. Just for a moment let's suspend our disbelief of Leterrier's disgustingly fragile grip on reality. Let's not debate that there was no reason for Straham's character to be doing half the things he did or the fact that the acting was so bad it was almost unbearable - Straham aside; Transporter 2 doesn't even come close to matching the steady heart-pumping action of its predecessor.

The driving was predominantly boring and scant. The music was completely underdone and instead of adding to the pace, served only to drag the movie down all the more. Two of the best facets that made The Transporter really interesting were completely shoved aside and for what? Matthew Modine? Please. I could act my way better out of a wet paper bag! The script explains nothing to us about where Frank Martin has been, how he's ended up in Miami, what's happened to our beautifully, gagged package from The Transporter, Lai. We start up in the middle of a parking garage, where for some reason our expert (and ex-military bad ass) is sitting waiting for school to let out.

The fight scene in the garage, which should have been there to set the stage and build the tempo, is slow and pointless and when you finally find out the contents of the package Frank is off to grab, you're left feeling as you did when you walked into The Pacifier to see action man, Vin Diesel, play babysitter to a bunch of kids.

Add to all of this the cheese factor of the movie, and you have to do a lot more than suspend your disbelief. You have to be able to choke down why none of the bad guys ever shoot their gun when they're in range of Stratham's character, or why the blonde bimbo who can't act can level a doctor's office but still can't hit Stratham through a wooden door with two semi-automatics.

I love Jason Stratham and I loved The Transporter, but only because it was just trying to be what it was. It had fantastic music, an incredibly artistic style and the use of François Berléand was perfectly delightful. However, Transporter 2 lost the pulse and the original flavor of the first and left this fan sincerely disappointed and afraid to go back for more.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Ridiculously Entertaining aka 2005's final summer action flick

4/10
Author: wackeychan from United States
2 September 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

When I say "Rediculously entertaining" I mean exactly that. The things that these people are doing are so stupid- and the fight scenes- my gosh they're impossible! Example? Our hero frank has a bomb on the bottom of his car, which he manages to get off by flipping the car and catching the bomb on an overhead hook, then landing right side up once again. However, these are all guilty pleasures, and if you let yourself go, then it is quite enjoyable.

Without going into a lot of detail, there's a virus that a Colombian assassin type drug dealer type (our bad guys are rather anonymous) has been paid to unleash to an official of some sort, and does so by getting through to his son, which Frank happens to be 'transporting' these days. Our virus scenes are reminiscent of the chimera in M:I2, but not quite so thought out or understandable. The dialog between the young boy's divorced parents is incredibly horrible, and the transitions from scene to scene may very well put Ed Wood Jr. To shame.

But I'm not the critical type. If you're looking for a nice September/summer action movie- this is the place for you. I give this a 4 simply because in terms of everything but the fight scenes- it's horrible. If I were to rate this against Jet Li's Unleashed, or xXx- state of the Union, it would be in the 7/8 category. Make no mistake- the quality of the transporter series I've always regarded as quite high. But don't go looking for something to wrap your head around.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Is "Transporter 2" a satire of other action flicks?

3/10
Author: BeauEvil from United States
4 April 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I picked up the DVD for $5, expecting to easily get my money's worth. Oh, well. Sometimes, you win. Sometimes, you lose.

Well, sometimes, MOST of us lose. But not Frank Martin. He seems to have been infected with the Red Dwarf Luck Virus instead of this story's engineered virus. He DID manage to get a boo-boo on his forehead. Not bad for taking on many bad guys, empty handed, several times. He also dares a number of different people to just shoot him. He manages to make a "stock" car do such ridiculous stuff that it shames the General Lee and Kit. It HAS to be tongue-in-cheek, doesn't it?! The gun play alone are the best examples of never-ending ammunition I've witnessed in decades. I counted about 17 shouts by the "Russian" dude before he (cliché warning) THREW his pistol at Frank. I tried to count the ridiculous number of rounds fired by the ugly chick from twin machine pistols with 30-shot clips.

I still haven't figured out how she dumped both (empty) clips, wheeled around, and sprayed the cops. Evidentally, she was supposed to have slapped in two fresh clips, without taking her hands off the pistol grips, while in mid-turn, having previously counted well enough to leave a live round in each weapon. Apparently, they couldn't get the idea to work for film and just went with imagination.

Just forget about the film and just use your imagination; like when the boy was infected by an injection that he never received, or a news helicopter fails to follow a car that just blew past a whole police force, or that lying down in a car protects you from machine gun fire (unlike Bonnie and Clyde), or that, instead of ramming the steering gear of a jet on takeoff, the better idea is to stand up, at well over 100mph, without a driver, and jump onto the steering gear yourself.

Columbians couldn't find anyone to inject a kid for less than many millions of dollars?! When a Lear Jet crashes into the ocean, a passenger can leap toward the BACK of the plane?! And so on, and on, and on. Come on folks. This is "Last Action Hero" stuff.

This movie is just WAY too silly to NOT be a satire. We weren't warned. Is the joke on us for expecting a real action flick?

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

stay away if possible

3/10
Author: Oliver Page (oliverpage547@googlemail.com) from United Kingdom
14 April 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

James Bond looks seems very realistic after watching what this guy can do.

don't understand why they told him to get into an expensive car just to blow him up, when they had about 20 men with machine guns pointed at him. and yes he escaped...

the fighting was laughable, as the goons again attacked one at a time, this was something that always makes me laugh, the storyline was forgettable too.

and since when do FBI agents allow someone in custody to look through their files and speak to a wanted man on their phones? i couldn't believe what i was watching!

the icing on the cake for me was the main bloke, the voice he was putting on was obviously fake and irritating to listen to, so why bother? i never plan on watching this again, but if what i've described is your cup of tea then to each his own.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

100% over-the-top....hyperbole

3/10
Author: cendrizzi from United States
18 November 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This show represents what's wrong with so many of todays "action" shows. It's just painful how bad action shows have become these days. Bad dialogue, laughable stunts (he gets the bomb from the bottom of his car by flipping it in just a way that the bomb gets hooked on a crane), and big explosions (or as the writers refer to them, "big booms"). It's too bad because Jason Statham has so much potential as a action actor. Too bad more of Hollywood isn't figuring out what the team behind the latest bond film did when they decided to bring the series back into the real world.

Nothing says it better than this scene near the end (descriptions added by me but the quotes are directly from the writers script): Our hero enters the plane cabin and boldly says "Sorry, but the flights been canceled". Only to give the villain with over sized teeth the opportunity to pull out his gun and counter "I'm sorry to inform you that you have been canceled". ROCK ON!

Please spare yourself from this film, your brain cells will thank you.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 34: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history