IMDb > "Drawn Together" (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Drawn Together"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Drawn Together" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]
Index 68 reviews in total 

57 out of 67 people found the following review useful:

Very funny, not for the weak of heart

Author: Chris Richards from Olmsted Falls, Ohio
22 March 2005

If you like outrageous humor, then Drawn Together is great. It parodies such drivel as survivor and real world, exposing them for the tripe they are (I'm not bitter at all, am I). Also, the amount of references and jokes to other mediums make this a fantastic blend of humor. Sme jokes are simple and stupid, some are clever references (Toot as Jabba the Hutt!) and some are really obscure (The MC Escher room!!!) Anyway, I liked it, but it was really offensive and mean (that was the fun). If you have a giving sense of humor, you'll love it. If you're easily offended by any topic at all, from sex to abortion to race, don't watch cause it'll just aggrevate you more.

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

not your average viewing

Author: nobbytatoes from Australia
26 September 2005

When a group a cartoon character live in a house with video cameras everywhere, you know things are going to get crazy; and crazy it does. Drawn Together is a very sharp, tongue-in-cheek, parody show that isn't for the faint of heart viewer. This is gross, disgusting comedy, and i love every minute of it. It makes fun of other shows, but puts its own spin on it. You've seen a lot of the skits and jokes from somewhere else, but it seems so fresh and new in here. The writer ain't afraid to push the envelope to. When you see the episode about Clara's cursed genitals you'll understand.

All the characters are great and they spend time on them all. Ling-ling is just crazy, Clara is so flaky, foxy so independent, Captain Hero so naive, Spanky ham is the only one above thirty, Toot is one back-stabbing bitch, Wooldoor is there for laughs, and Xander is so gay but he's always trying to save his girlfriend.

This isn't for many people, but if it tickles your fancy than you wont be disappointed. A great disgusting comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 86 people found the following review useful:

Laugh Out Loud Funny - Ignore the Bad Reviews

Author: mikeanto from Boston
2 December 2004

This show is easily one of the funniest shows on television right now. Spanky Ham (Adam Carolla's character) is a friggin' riot - they all are. Even the unlikable characters (Wil-douche) are good as you know they are there for one of the other more likable characters' evil interests.

It is also, like The Simpsons, the kind of show that rewards one for paying attention. (Maybe you missed the Glory Hole, Spanky Ham's uttering of "Bukkake?, etc.)

Yeah, it's crass, vulgar, mean-spirited - but it's FUNNY! If this kind of humor isn't your cup of tea go to the Shrek board or something.

Was the above review useful to you?

59 out of 97 people found the following review useful:

why the f*ck is comedy central planning on canceling this show

10/10
Author: poopdoggdeadfreak2005 from United States
31 December 2006

honestly this show is f*King great on the same level as south park....i read where they thought it was too dirty but that's a load of bullish*t if i ever heard any my god the crap they play on there is a of the same level maybe not as obscene but still the point is that comedy central is an adult station f*ck people who think this should be canceled simply because their f*King kids happened to witness some of it it's their f*King fault for letting them see it so if comedy central wants to cancel this show then F*CK you comedy central!!!!! I swear it just figures that something this great could ever stay on the air since apparently morons in this country only prefer reality crap with no effort or cleverness put behind it it was definitely inevitable soon they'll cancel south park cause its the best d*Mn show there is these days and soon any worthy television will disperse and never exist again because every station and every frigging idiot working for these companies doesn't want to do their d*Mn jobs they simply bring in no talent losers and expect America to eat it up and here's the sad they f*king do i know i misspelled f**king but these idiots want let me cuss when i'm so d*Mn ticked off but i don't care don't cancel the show and whoever agrees please respond.

Was the above review useful to you?

44 out of 72 people found the following review useful:

So funny it almost destroyed my laptop. Seriously.

Author: rann-chan from Arlington, Texas
27 October 2004

This show made me laugh so hard that I was very much in danger of accidentally dropping my laptop off of my laps and onto the floor. It expertly parodies not only reality shows, but all the various genres from which the characters are drawn. Toots is not only a parody of Betty Boop, but a parody of stereotypical goth chicks, complete with massive attention-whoring and self-mutilation in search of that attention. Then, we've got the big stupid superhero guy, who is quite possibly a close relative of Captain Zap Brannigan from Futurama. The Disney-style princess is so absolutely spot-on that you'd swear she sprung directly from the House of Mouse, albeit becoming rather twisted in the process. Her relationship with the smack-talking "Hot Chick" (a spin on a Josie and the Pussycats character, for sure) revolves through hostile and EXTREMELY affectionate by turns. Never before was there a Disneyesque musical number done about a lesbian kiss, and one can only hope there will be many more in this show's future. And Ling-Ling... ah, what can be said about Ling-Ling, the Pokemon takeoff? Other than the fact that she may very well be one of the greatest characters ever conceived of in the history of television, that is all.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Show for a new generation

10/10
Author: Paul Clough (bjorksjoga) from Davenport, IA, USA
23 April 2006

Since Buying the DVDs of the first season I have been watching them incessantly, cracking up every time. This is a show for a generation of open minded comedy lovers who aren't offended by a racist remark (racism exists, lets not hide from it, lets make fun of how ridiculous it truly is). The same for mocking a paraplegic, or the mentally handicapped (usually trying not to look is more obvious than looking, and acting like someone is invisible is more insulting than staring at a missing leg, or a wheelchair). Taking this show's humor with a grain of salt is all that is necessary to enjoy the kinds of jokes we keep to ourselves, that way "Drawn Together" keeps in line with shows like Family Guy and South Park.

Was the above review useful to you?

45 out of 77 people found the following review useful:

It's All About Xandir!

Author: sexytail from Olympia, WA
4 November 2004

"Drawn Together" is a real breath of fresh air for network cartoons. It's a parody of reality shows, has cool ireverant humor, casually portrays (hot) homosexuality, and is actually funny!

Anybody who grew up with cartoons will enjoy the loads of references to things like "Scooby Doo". All the characters of take-offs of existing cartoon characters like Bettie Boop and Pokemon. This makes the often sex-based humor all the more effective.

Apart from all of it's more entertaining and respectable strengths, I enjoy "Drawn Together" especially for the gay game-type character, Xandir. It's nice to see a male cartoon charter who's that actively sexy and openly queer!

This is good enough to be on Adult Swim!

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

A brilliant comedy watched by a few

10/10
Author: charlotteulyatt from United Kingdom
17 February 2007

I love this show so much and always enjoy the characters crazy shenanigans every episode. People say that it is a rip off of south park but I disagree (mostly because I cant stand south park)the voice work is excellent the animation is the best I've seen for an adult cartoon in many years and the script is witty and innovative.

However I have a feeling that many of the plots are likely to offend a lot of people. Not only are the jokes risqué some of them are in bad taste. Saying this though if you enjoy the programme you can usually come to the the conclusion that these are cartoon characters and as such behave as cartoon characters (completely insane).

A prime example of this insanity usually rests with captain hero who believed that raping xandier and his parents would somehow erase their memories and believing that a Greek family living next door was a Greek fraternity who had a goat mascot that was actually their daughter who coincidentally looked nothing like a goat!

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

very funny and not for the shy

10/10
Author: cucu-ciprian from Romania
18 May 2006

This is definitely one of the best shows I've seen so far.

It makes me laugh even thinking about it. It's very ironical and in someways puts some social issues into the lives of the characters, without being too serious about it. It's also very entertaining and you never know what to expect next.

You should know that it's full of sex - related scenes or jokes and it sometimes even makes fun of religion. If you are into singing carols and holding hands with your girl / boy friend all day long, you would probably find it hard to digest.

On the other hand, if you like Southpark - it's definitely a good show for you.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

Enjoy South Park and Family Guy?

Author: jxharding from South Africa
21 December 2004

This is an totally original script. It is in the vein of south park, because of it offending a lot of groups. It does not tend to the "reality TV" experience that much, what i mean by that is the way you see the program, is not from obscure camera angles, and there is no big brother from the outside speaking to them. the characters are well thought out, and initially true to the original character types they misguidedly portray, e.g. a princess type, with a bit of a dark side. the super hero, with a super libido.

this program is a fresh breeze, i reckon it will be boycotted by minor religious groups, prob just like south park was. They pretty much cover everything in this program,religion, sex, racism. Some people just believe it shouldn't be in a show. You'll think back about an episode and think, hey because of moral values, i shouldn't be laughing at that part, but damn it was pretty funny.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 7:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history