IMDb > Les clefs de bagnole (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Les clefs de bagnole
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Les clefs de bagnole More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

29 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Loved it.

10/10
Author: Ilya Uglava from Russian Federation
7 April 2005

Although there were actually people who left half an hour after the movie started, I loved it. The movie's for those who want to see how these things work "backstage". Baffie provided all the details about how the movie industry works: the producers, the actors, plot development, everything. It is an excellent example of any of "The Making of..." short films you usually see as a bonus on a DVD. It is a totally absurd film, made by an impertinent, reckless and blatant TV hero, and this is what makes it even more interesting, despite the fact that almost all the french movie stars appear as guests.

A wonderful debut.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Laurent Baffie lost his car keys and then......

10/10
Author: LittlePartyMan from France
3 February 2006

The movie is a blast, i have never watched anything like this before.Most of the person i have seen the movie with was totally disappointed.They were expecting a funny movie.However it worked on me.It s not a question about french jokes or what, it s the way Baffie makes it. Insolent, pitiful, stupid??? Maybe, but according to me, the movie will get a better public later on. It s like a Van Gogh creation, people will admire it few years later.At least a risk-taker.I was told that the director was really affected by the french public rejects.I'm proud not to be one of them.Mr Baffie, keep on!And even if the trailer said 'dont go watching it, it s a crap !', its an original.Can we have some more?

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Genius !

9/10
Author: Topher-26 from Antibes, France
14 March 2006

In France, people tend not to understand absurd humour. The Francis Veber vaudeville type of comedy and vulgar, obnoxious stuff such as "Les Bronzés" are what they like best. No wonder the critics slagged off movies such as "Les Clefs de Bagnole" or "RRRrrrr !". They don't even understand what can be funny about these films. However, if you're into Monty Python humour, or the wackiness of Steven Soderbergh's Schizopolis, chances are you will definitely elevate "Les Clefs de Bagnole" to the rank of a cult classic. I found this to be highly refreshing as well as a great satire of film-making and the movie business. Highly recommended to all open-minded people worldwide !

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Pleasant surprise.

7/10
Author: Toto-le-Heros from France
16 March 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The movie is an homage to La Nuit Américaine of François Truffaut. But in a more goofy way. After that Laurent Baffie gave the definition of a good movie (It must have action, romance, children, animals, gags, a happy ending and so on), he's trying to make one. And he's not really successful at it. According to his main actor. Les Clefs de Bagnole is full of references, cameos and special guests. I found it quite clever considering that Baffie's TV career is mostly based on bad "under the belt" jokes. It's a journey, a quest like the search for the Holy Grail (only this time it's car keys). He likes people, actors and cinema. After that movie, you can tell. I gave it a solid Seven because it made me laugh out loud several times.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

searching for lost keys...

6/10
Author: dbdumonteil
22 June 2006

"Les Clefs De Bagnole", a film which got a majority of thumbs down from both the French critics and public. Many viewers took the little catchy sentence at the time the film opened in December 2003 very seriously: "Don't go and watch it, it's rubbish". But in a way, by choosing such words, the director-actor Laurent Baffie condemned the commercial potential of his work. So, commercial fiasco was nearly inevitable.

However, I must admit that his oddball film is not that much bad. I know that Baffie is a humorist man who has a special sense of humor but I've never seen or read any of his productions. Here, I can easily understand why hardly anybody went to see his movie and also why "La Crème De La Crème" of well-famous French actors and prestigious producers refused to act in Baffie's work (but maybe, was it a cunning trick from Baffie to include all of them in his film). But he entertained me for one hour and a half and if you're looking for something quirky, offbeat in the territory of the French comedy, why not testing it? Obviously, Baffie's movie isn't exempted from negative points. There are some irregularities in his scenario. During one fleeting moment, he says to his pal Daniel Russo that he needs a twist to boost his (cock-and-bull) story again. But before, he claims having conceived and penned his scenario for three years. So, he should logically know how his scenario is built instead of thinking about a twist at the last minute! Then, certain comical effects are ponderous and there is a wearisome sensation of general overflow sometimes on the brink of indigestion. Sometimes, it's also hard to discern if what we watch on the screen is an integral part of the film that Baffie strives to shoot or not like the sequence with the bank manager. A bank manager acted by a French humorist Jean-Marie Bigard who, here was surprisingly good and refrained himself from virtually any saucy lines apart from two or three exceptions.

Baffie is well aware that his plan is a dead loss but his product constantly maintains the interest because he takes the audience on the way of the unexpected. His film virtually evolutes on the razor's edge and is much fun to watch with its unplanned detours and digressions. If they seem sometimes overlong, Baffie always bears in mind that he tries to create a film about two guys who lost their car keys and seek them. To find them again, he's ready to blindly trust people likely to to give him clues about these keys like the children. Don't we say that "out of the mouths of babes and sucklings comes forth truth"? To buy a dog trained to bring car keys back might also be a good idea... In the bargain, the director-actor has a sense of absurd (the door in his flat which leads to the beach) and indulges in inserting in his work hilarious spoofs like the moment when Russo and Lucie are outside the Café... and we are entitled to a swift but great spoof on mawkish movie. The wacky humor has something of "La Cité De La Peur" (1994), the film of "Les Nuls". Besides, Alain Chabat has a cameo as an employee in a pet shop. He only appears five minutes but we remember well his role.

Baffie also seems to be a wizard at cinema. His film is filled with many film-loving hints, winks, references which sometimes arrive just at the right moment. After Baffie and Russo went to the chic restaurant, Russo feels sick and throws it up. On an awning, in front of them, one can read the title of Marco Ferreri's film: "La Grande Bouffe" (1973). Then, we can be grateful to Baffie to present us a few lessons about cinema in general like the ellipse or the little lecture about the ingredients to make a good film.

If you don't take seriously this farce, you may have fun with perhaps this future sleeper.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A definitive masterpiece - but only viewable by native french speakers

8/10
Author: JoeLaFrite from Belgium
1 November 2008

This movie is extremely underrated, even in France. The movie could be seen as a very witty and enjoyable essay on cinema as a grammar, with its hidden or unspoken but so tyrannical rules, as any other grammar. It surely will seem awful or to heavily didactic (in a "grammar of films for dummies" way) anyway to any non-native french speaker, unaware of the disarming subtlety of french ingenuous humor, especially the one Baffie practices. Its slogan on the poster as published in France was : "N'y allez pas, c'est une merde!", literally translated : "Don't go see it, it's crap!"... This sufficiently proves how Baffie likes to mock himself, but also the critics (especially the french ones), who do not hesitate to frequently utter not so different flat negative statements about movies, especially when it comes to french comedies...

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

"cultissim"

8/10
Author: crpediem from Cherbourg, France
6 October 2012

I think it is a "cult" movie! But his theater distribution was awful and it was never released on TV! So who cares? And you have to understand french culture references and appreciate the "Baffie 's sense of humor" in contradictions, no-senses, etc. If you want to see this movie like another "french comedy", you will be disappointed. It 's because this movie is so different of the others, Baffie broke all the movie codes and it is why it is so funny! (talking to the camera, false background projections, image in black&White because of lack of budget!) I think this movie should be compared to ZAZ movies like Air Plane, Top Secret and so one.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

not as fun as expected

5/10
Author: Dhomochevsky from France
23 December 2003

I ended up going to see that movie cause i sort of like Laurent Baffie's nasty humor. And at the beginning i have to say there is nothing to be disappointed about. Unfortunately after half an hour you realize you don't laugh anymore and little by little it gets longer and longer. Even if you're aware that the film is purposely pointless ( who would care about a guy who lost his car keys?) you cannot but let go big yawns during the strange scenes and (yes) the few good ideas. I clearly understood good ideas don't necessarily make good movies. Just do as the trailers say : "don't go see that s**t!" Now you're warned...

i rated it 5 out of 10 cause of this terrific tagline. Yes sometimes taglines work...

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

How The Quest Was Lost

2/10
Author: writers_reign
10 July 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I can't say I wasn't warned: Everybody and his Uncle Max told me not to waste time on this merde but I wouldn't be told, the lure of a dozen or so French actors playing cameos proved too strong. At a stretch and inasmuch as what passes for a plot involves writer-director-actor Laurent Baffie looking for his car keys this tends to qualify as a 'quest' film but it's light years removed from the quest for the Grail, Flight, Meaning Of Life etc. Most of the cameos come up front and take the form of rejections - polite or otherwise - of Baffie's pitch but Gerard Depardieu and Alain Chabat appear in the main body of the film though both to no great effect. Chabat has the slightly longer part as a pet shop proprietor who sells Baffie a dog specially trained to locate missing car keys and that's the highlight. I used to think that it was impossible to sink lower than Ali G or the Carry On series but it is, it is.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

1 word: AWFUL

1/10
Author: Edoardo Costa from Brussels, Belgium
29 January 2006

This film has to be **the** worst film I have ever seen in my entire life!

The story line is non existent and the Laurent Baffi was as bad as on T.V. The only way that movie ever made it to big screen is that he crammed it with famous actors that appear for 10 seconds at a time. The humor is appalling (I felt it was non existent)... I stayed until the end because I really hoped the ending would save the day but sadly the end is as bad as the rest of the movie.

I don't usually write comments... especially not like this one, but this really was a waste of time and money and I thought it should be said.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history