IMDb > Roma (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Roma
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Roma More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

5 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

More Like This, Please

9/10
Author: travelintom from United States
1 December 2009

I loved this film and am astounded at previous reviewers that found it "slow". Two and a half hours that skimmed by for me and I didn't want it to end. Okay, it is not an action film. It is a reflection on life, relationships, and maturation. The central theme is the influence of an exceptional mother, named Roma, on the life and development of the narrator.

This isn't about Argentine history, life in the 60s and 70s in Buenos Aires, none of that except as incidental to decades-long time line. Although there is the incidental, requisite Argentine reference to the terror of the 70s; it is not that story. It is about growing up and growing old and "finding" one's self. This is not a feel-good movie but real and true, if only we were all blessed with such a mother.

This is an adult script, not meaning "adult themed", and if you need an action movie with guns and car chases...stay away. The script, casting, performances and production values are thoroughly superb.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Beautiful first-rate film from great Dir.A.Aristain. Don't miss it!

10/10
Author: casch0101 from Paraguay
11 December 2006

This is a beautiful film. A first-rate script, first-rate direction, first-rate photography, top-notch acting by simply everyone. This films makes you "taste" good emotional music (classical, tango and jazz), and makes you "taste" great literature since the Director throws all this into a pot and cooks a delicious real-life recipe. The base of the film is the true and deep love of a mother for his only son, who she believes has a relevant stage in history destined for him. I cannot but strongly recommend that you see this film which will keep you watching and keep you delighted throughout the 2 1/2 hours which pass so fast (than the real time) you could swear you have just discovered Einstein's relativity theory to be utterly true!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Intense

10/10
Author: damalfieri from Madrid, España
9 November 2009

Few times in my life I have seen such an intense drama. Intense in the dialogues, superb in acting. The life as it is, not an idealized bit of it, as in conventional films. Characters are deep, well developed, they don't act the standards, but seem to be much more "human" than in conventional stories. Almost every scene is a virtuoso acting near-monologue. But you have rests, including the whole Chopin nocturne's filmed in a way that, only with the actor's expressions, something is still happening into the characters, and the story doesn't suffer for such a long quiet time. Yoy can save a lot of dialogs as a treasure. OK, it is not as much as an archetype of filming language. OK, it is nearly theater. But only nearly. I cannot imagine me enjoying all of the subtleties in actor's faces from so far, in a theater. A tasty drama, full of good philosophy about life, love and feelings, expressed trough complex characters and scenes. Too bad for those who find it "slow" or "overlong"... in my opinion, they just didn't catch it. To me is seemed pretty dense, full of things... I couldn't stick out until the end. I didn't like it. Just the last minute. But it is my opinion. All the rest is more than enough to make the movie a masterpiece. In my opinion.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

An erudite, emotional film with solid acting and philosophy of life.

6/10
Author: William Vourlas (tr8derman2001@yahoo.com) from United States
19 January 2006

I happened to watch this film on "the small screen" in Spanish, which was somewhat of a challenge. My linguistic limitations notwithstanding, I felt intrigued enough to put in the effort to follow the dialogue, pacing, and emotional pull. I have not seen other works by this director, but felt rewarded for my time. It was refreshing to see a film discuss philosophy and intellectual points in the context of a Latin American family. The plot revolves around a mother and son through time, utilizing media references such as scenes from the film Grapes of Wrath to embellish this central theme. I enjoyed revisiting the 60s and 70s in Roma, the classical lines and designs, Jazz and literature references. A thinking person's film, regardless of one's language capacity.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

good but slow

7/10
Author: daniel Carbajo López from Barcelona, Spain
15 February 2006

A journalist arrives to a writer's home to help him to make an autobiography, there, as he tells his life, we can remember all his good and bad moments that caused a scar in his existence. A movie with a typical Argentinian style: great actors with a very well structured screenplay and a touching and hard story. unfortunately, as usual in Argentinian films, it is too much slow, and than can make it boring sometimes, in the same way, its enormous duration (2 hours and a half) makes it more difficult to enjoy indeed. It has very very good acting. However, its duration and its lack of rhythm mess a little the result; with 30 minutes less of film it would have been better.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Roma

Author: NinaDulce from United States
23 April 2006

I stumbled upon "Roma" a few nights ago on the HBO Latin channel. I seldom watch Spanish programming, but when I clicked on the program grid for some information on the film, I saw the movie's locale was Buenos Aires. My parents were portenos from Buenos Aires and I have been to Buenos Aires a few times, most recently last October, so I decided to watch.

The movie itself did not impress me. It was "ok"...a talky character study. Not a bad movie, but nothing out of the ordinary either. But...I enjoyed the movie immensely because the actors spoke just as my parents spoke, in the Argentine "porteno" dialect of Buenos Aires. It was like going back to my childhood. I speak Spanish reasonably well (but English is my "first" language) and I hear people speaking Spanish all the time at work, but they are not from Argentina. As soon as the movie started and I heard the actors speaking, I could tell is was that old familiar Argentine dialect...the cadence, the inflections, etc., are so unique. I told my sister about the movie...even though she understands little Spanish, I told her to watch or rent this movie if she could because she most likely would be transported back to our childhood as I was.

Elaine Clearwater FL

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

Not that special

6/10
Author: rominaferraro (nenadeantes@gmail.com)
9 May 2004

This movie has been called "the event of the year" in film industry and I am not sure if it is up to this statement. Of course Aristarain knows what he is doing, the cast is really good (even Botto, whom I hated in "Martin (hache)"), photography, edition. It is a very beautiful product indeed. But the plot seemed a bit weak and the pace is quite slow. I didn't get it: if the intention was to pay homage to that great woman that Roma is, it wasn't fair enough, it was too focused on Joaquin; if it was to tell the story of Joaquin, the I couldn't see the point, because I don't think it was a deep story, with any turning point; then, if Aristarain was trying to show the history of Argentina, he was quite vague and used too many time jumps. Finally, if he was trying to do all three things, he of course was being too ambitious! I'm sure a lot of people was waiting for Aristarain's next movie. Will they be pleased? I really don't know. Maybe he reached his peak with "Un lugar en el mundo". What I'm quite sure about is that, if this film was the event of the year, I will be very disappointed in Argentinian film till 2005.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Disappointing

5/10
Author: dutchtom1 from London
25 April 2005

After un lugar en el mundo and Martin Hache. I was very much looking forward to the new Aristarain movie. Unfortunately the weakest points for the previous here fill out an entire feature length film of a gratingly long 130 minutes. Characters have no other depth than proliferating themselves by talking about their favorite classic/jazz musicians and literary figures. They do not explain what meaning or experience they find in these. just referring to them must convince the viewer that these characters must be very intellectual. Of course the effect is that they come across as very hollow, pretentious and rather unpleasant. Thbe only character that wins the viewer's sympathy probably is Roma, Joaca's mother. Her views are fresh and yet heartwarming. Perhaps it was the intention of Aristarain to alienate the viewer from any emotional bonding with these antipathetic characters, in that case he succeeded. What is truly a structural flaw of the film, not just of taste, is the way the story is told, if one can call it a story. There are just flashbacks which do not seem to follow from one to the next. Characters suddenly take meaning to other characters without any explanation. In the end the film becomes a mess, and I could not even finish watching it. Aristarain is crossed of my list of favorite directors. I hope he'll turn the tide with a next, better, film.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history