IMDb > Bet Your Life (2004) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Bet Your Life (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 11 reviews in total 

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

From another take

7/10
Author: codefool from United States
5 August 2004

I never watched the 'Next Action Hero' show, and until reading the other comments here, did not know that this movie was the 'prize' from that competition. I was just flipping channels and came across this, and found myself watching, dare eagerly, all the way to the end.

Yes, the plot's been done (The Most Dangerous Game, etc.) but I was hoping for, and almost received, the 'gotcha' - how the protagonist was going to beat the hunter in the end. I think the high-tech was overdone (GPS's) and gave me cold-sweat flashbacks of Night Rider, but it nevertheless was not too overdone.

The basic problem I had with this movie was the degree of SOD (Suspension of Disbelief) that was required of the viewer. Do we really think that someone flying in a helicopter could lob countless incendiary grenades at a public bridge and NO COPS show up to investigate? Could a limousine do countless donuts in a Las Vegas intersection and NO COPS show up? Pleeease. Way too much of that type of thing - fun to watch, but keep it at least plausible, thank you very much.

The final solution was good, but the ending was disappointing, with the after taste of a bad Star Trek episode. At least now I understand why the acting was so cheesy - except for Zane, who doesn't get near as much work as he deserves IMHO - they were winners from a reality show.

Knock me out.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Pretty Good Action Movie - Sean should be credited

8/10
Author: Lynn (lynncind) from San Antonio, Texas
4 August 2004

I thought the movie was fairly well done for a made for TV movie, and it contained both a lot of action and humor. I found the entertainment value worth watching, and would watch it again or a similar show again. I'm disappointed that Sean was not credited here on IMDb.

I can see a possibility for an action series based on this concept or a sequel with Sean once again playing for even higher "cash" stakes, since his life would be on the line again anyway.

I felt that Sean played the role very well, and reminds me of an actor by the name of Matthew Ashford who plays Jack Deveraux on Days of Our Lives - the Soap Opera.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Good follow-up to the Next Action Star competition

7/10
Author: budlyons2003 from Nashville, TN
5 August 2004

After watching the Next Action Star reality TV series, I was pleased to see the winners' movie right away. I was leery of such a showcase of new talent, but I was pleasantly surprised and thrilled. Billy Zane, of course, was his usual great self, but Corinne and Sean held their own beside him. It was also nice to see Jared and Jeanne (also from the competition) in their cameo roles. Sean's character, not Billy's, is the hunted, and his frustration at discovering new rules in the game is well played. Corinne walks the tightrope well between her character liking Sean's and only being in it for the money. I loved how the game was played right to the last second. And then beyond! Not a great movie, but an entertaining one all the way and a great showcase for two folks on their first time out of the gate.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

a fair view

10/10
Author: crazy_ade (crazy_ade@yahoo.com) from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
27 October 2004

I thought this movie was excellent,for the fact that Corrine and Sean are newcomers to the business.It was packed with action and a little romance,but there were some points when Corrine didn't speak very clearly (when she threatened Sean with the gun) and she clenched her teeth...maybe she was supposed to?I think the roles of Joseph and Sonny were portrayed very well,and there was an obvious contrast.Also,because i watched next action star,i am certain that Corrine and Sean did their own stunts,which were performed very well.I am looking forward to another movie by the pair,as they make a great team,or perhaps a sequel to bet your life-possibly called 'making it big in the big apple',it could this time be about Carmen..Bet your life is EXCELLENT!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

What a waste of time

3/10
Author: drjmetz from Orlando, FL
4 August 2004

After watching many of the "Next Action Star" reality TV eps TiVo taped this gawd-awful tripe for me. For some bizarre reason - and I only have myself to blame - I watched the whole thing, hoping that there would be *something* unique in the entire movie. After so much hype about Joel Silver's "Midas Touch" with action flicks, he might want to make sure he bones up on his alchemy.

First, the only redeeming value of the entire film was Billy Zane, and even he couldn't lift the slipshod writing out of the crapper. Having said that, Zane's performance falters about 2/ 3rds of the way through, as he doesn't even seem to know what else to do other than look smug.

Can't blame him here, though. The writing, quite frankly, sucked. Let's take ideas from "Rat Race," "Enemy of the State," "Terminator," "Midnight Run" and any bad gambling film you can think of and simply rehash it. And who's brilliant idea was it to have TWO bridge chase sequences in a ROW?

Sean Carrigan, the "man of the hour" of "The Next Action Star" shows all of the strengths and weaknesses the casting directors mention during the entire run of the series. A one-note johnny, Sean plays the dumb good looking jock very well, but struggles with shouldering the weight of the film. Quite frankly, we never quite seem to care about whether he lives or dies by about mid-way through, as Carrigan fails to provide a reason for the audience to even like him. His dumb-but-lucky routine gets old as there really isn't anything about the character to root for.

But Carrigan is a dream compared to the wooden, rigid Corinne Van Ryck de Groot. Did Howard Fine really tell her to pretend to be a Terminator for the first half of the film? I don't think so. I kept expecting her to quote Arnie. Her character "performance" can be compared only to the dramatic depths of "Freddy Got Fingered," though not nearly as well-developed. The camera loves her in dark, shadowy limousines, but in the harsh light of day her demeanor sucks all energy off the screen. Jeanne Bauer showed more natural life in her five minute bit part than Corinne showed at any part of her screen time.

Ultimately, Sean has the rugged good looks to provide a good lead in an ensemble cast, but shouldn't have been left to do this one solo. It was simply too big of a task for him. "Next Action Star" colleague Jared Elliot may or may not have had better luck with some more dynamic characterization, but it's hard to tell given Jeff Welch's lame script. Someone should take Welch's iMac away from him before he hurts himself or anyone else. And finally, Van Ryck de Groot simply was outclassed and way out of her reach, even for complete shlock like this.

Joel Silver should be ashamed.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

good for TV , but Tower Casino?

Author: snoopizms from cleveland
5 August 2004

I am born and raised in Cleveland , so my interest in this movie was the fact most of it was filmed here (About 90%), so the opening sequence is in Vegas , but then they show the Terminal Tower(Tower Casino) and other Cleveland landmarks,I mean the front of the casino was downtown Cleveland, what was the director thinking here?,maybe they couldn't shoot in any real Vegas casino?, but that kind of made it cheesy,then you fly to Cleveland and they show the Tower again and the same landmarks, the action scenes were OK but , why did they stay in one area if its a hunt?, why not use more of the city like many other movie do?(I guess budget was really low) then they return to Vegas ,only to see Cleveland buildings again? don't get me wrong I'm glad to see my city on film , most of the locations ,I have been myself, but be accurate with locations! overall for 2 first time actors it was OK (didn't know till I was told they were from next action star) but it entertained me

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Script looks REALLY rushed but at least its not boring

Author: dame_cabeza from United States
4 August 2004

This movie at first seems like a movie that was made just for the sake of debuting two actors, both do a decent job of playing their characters, acting-wise at least, the female lead has the "tough/good looking chick" look down. Billy Zane manages to keep his cool like most of his movies so although his character has probably been done before, he still keeps it interesting with his facial expressions representing one who is truly "sick." After the plot is introduced the action (chases/shootouts/which I'll get to later) is almost non-stop until the end, (very good pacing IMO) while it all has been done before, at least you CAN see what's going on unlike some recent over-edited movies like Catwoman (yes recent movies have lowered my standards by a LOT)

The bad parts? Well a LOT of improbabilities, if Billy Zane's character always hunts people (this isn't his first time) why is he such a horrible shot? The sequence when hes on the helicopter chasing the male lead down the bridge with a Grenade launcher and keeps on missing, why didn't he think of moving closer (while not too close) to get a better aim? Also I know that Billy Zane although obviously not Jet Li or Jackie Chan is somewhat competent in martial arts since he already did that (crappy) TV film Invincible(he sure knows how to keep that evil grin on as well, whether in fight scenes or shootouts) so why didn't the casting director pick somebody who knew martial arts (I was rooting for one such person during "Next Action Star" Ilram Choi since he already has experience in doing movies as well) as well as be able to act to keep up with Billy Zane instead of cutting to a different shot once every move, i mean this IS just an excuse for an action movie right? why not make the action as good as possible? But at least they learned NOT to keep the camera way too close (unlike Catwoman or Bourne Supremacy) or like i said before edit to the point where you can't see whats going on, it just should've been better

This is a decent excuse for a TV action movie, much better than whatever else is on TV, but i expected better action, fortunately they didn't make anybody pay 9 bucks just to see it in theaters, i just enjoyed it for what it is, a movie that was made just for the sake of a movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Why Joel Silver? Why?

1/10
Author: frozie40 from Los Angeles, CA
4 August 2004

It is unbelievable that a script as cliché and completely absurd could make any screen even the small one. The dialogue in this movie makes Catwoman seem like a high culture classic. Billy Zane plays the bad ass harmonica playing, Elvis impersonating, gunslinging, martial arts master who gambles on the life of a down-an-out former football player turned gambling addict played by the winner of NBC's craptastic show "Next Action Star." His performance is as cold as ice and not in a cool way. The "film" takes place in Vegas, and since people play poker there the writers felt it was a perfect setting for a movie about a guy trying to survive 24 hours against an omnipresent, wealthy gambler who has offered his target $2.4 million if he can make it through the day. And so the hunt ensues. A hunt reeking with unimpressive explosions, construction yard settings, shoddy cinematography, and one-liners containing the word "bet" or "gamble." The female winner is also tossed in the mix, but for what reason I have no idea. Oh but don't worry "NAS" fans the losers make their memorable cameos as well. The surprise ending will knock your socks off if you love predictability or plagiarism. Joel Silver should reevaluate his decision to sell out even more. I wish he could give me those two hours of my life back.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

This one proved my point, a producer have nothing to do with the end quality.

1/10
Author: jmalmsten from Östersund, Sweden
15 December 2005

HAH! So this is the movie that the "Next Action Stars" were getting into. Well I'm glad that I didn't participate and didn't win...

Isn't it funny how one can just look at the first 10 seconds(!) and make up ones mind about a movie? I mean, come on! Just look at those titles!? I watched this movie(or part of this "teleplay" since it was produced for TV and we couldn't bear to watch the whole thing) one evening while doing my military service and the audience with me was the typical hodge-podge of average guys that once in a while watch series like Las Vegas just for the girls in the show. so the bar wasn't really high, the most watched movie in my group was Girl Next Door (and it wasn't because of the great script ;D . But this movie's total lack of originality, acting, scripting, and just about everything else that makes a movie good made it pretty easy to switch channel to Las Vegas (or was it CSI? don't remember...) without any complaints by the rest of the group. And that is rare(!) For heavens sake! Don't by this movie! If it's on TV, then yes, watch it. And contemplate on it. My conclusion? well, since Joel Silver has indeed produced some of the best action-films out there (Die Hard, Matrix 1, to name some) I can only say that producers don't give the film it's quality, they provide money for the directors. And to sell this movie just because it's a Joel Silver movie is just a desperate attempt to conceal the obvious flaws of the crew who really made it.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Poor take on the Most Dangerous Game.

1/10
Author: aurorapic from Glendale, CA
5 August 2004

This was the worst movie I have ever seen Billy Zane in. I understand that this movie was mainly to showcase the new comers, who did pretty good for newbies, but over all, the movie was not believable.

With all of the gunfire, you would think the police would have intervened. Even the coin being a bug on Sean was stupid. The way Sean suddenly realizes the coin is the bug, was not realistic.

Looks like this movie was slapped together fast. Poor job. Get a better writer.

The count down to the end was not in sync with anything. It took longer to fight. And what a coincidence that each time Billy was going to blast Sean, he'd be out of bullets. Once, I can believe, but not twice.

Actually, Billy's character was goofy. It was so stupid when Sean punches him out at the end. It was like a comedy. Bad! Bad! Bad!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history