IMDb > Black (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Black
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Black More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 18: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 174 reviews in total 

The best movie ever made...

10/10
Author: mohit_9390 from India
10 December 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Vow.. what a movie. Never seen such a movie before.

Rani has acted very well as a deaf, mute and blind girl who through her teacher achieves her goal in life though late.

Amitabh Bachchhan has the best role ever done. A firm and confident teacher who knows the hidden capacity in Rani.

The movie has been shot beautifully and the background score is awesome. A must watch for everyone so that one can know the problems in the life of a physically and mentally challenged person.

A nomination to the Oscars...

Now individual ratings: (Out of 5)

Rani: * * * * *

Amitabh: * * * * 1/2

Overall acting: * * * * *

Direction: * * * * *

Story: * * * * 1/2

Music: * * * *

Final rating: * * * * * * * * * 1/2

I rate the movie:9.5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

Black is beautiful!!! Amitabh at his peak best!!!

10/10
Author: diligentdrool_14 from India
8 November 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

10/10 is too less for a film like Black. It cant be described in sheer words... SLB surely proved himself a very capable director...after such a flashy film like Devdas, he surprises with such a mute {yet strongly speaking} film like Black. The sets were apt to the theme and added to the beaut of the film!!! Great editing!!! Great background score-It was so intense and apt to the film!!! Very good script!!! Through those limited talks, a lot was expressed!!! Stading ovation to all those who were a part of this wonderful film!!! Surely one of the BEST and FINEST made in history of Bollywood!!!

But, the main plus point of the film is THE STAND-OUT performances!!!

Rani Mukherjee proves very capable an artist and carries the deaf-blind girl Mischelle in her shoulder's with ease. The scene when she speaks{actually he mother speaks} after graduating really brought tears into my eyes...great acting...she is here to stay!!!

Ayesha Kapoor who plays the young Michelle does such a fabulous Job...no one could have done a better job...She plays the rough and arrogant young girl so well and you grip on to your seats when she gets intense and slaps Amitabh or throws water onto his face!

Shernaz Patel too does a commendable job and makes a great mother!Her love for her daughter is evident in her eyes!

And now...Mr.Amitabh Bachchan...He is surely the man who proved himself too good for the others. The show actually belongs to Big B who truly bowls you over with such a powerhouse performance!!! He plays the eccentric Debraj Sahai to perfection and shows the audience that the Big B era is here to stay well beyond 64. His scenes are perhaps the best in the film. Especially the one when he pleads Shernaz to let him stay and teach Michelle and says how his own mother had always said she was there to protect her daughter but at last send her to asylum. The intensity of his eyes...Only Amitabh could have done it!!! The kiss between Debray and Michelle too is a classic one-The most justified kiss perhaps in history of Bollywood! Touvhing scene. And towards the end when Michelle comes to see Sahai in the hospital and he dances out of joy and happiness....that alone is worth the money you spend for the film!!! Only Amitabh Bachchan could have touched your heart so deeply...especially in those scenes when he begins to show the start of his Alzhimers disease...His performance is truly sensational!!! HATS OFF TO THE GOD OF ACTING!!!

In fact, Black is an actor's film. It deservingly won almost all awards at all awards ceremonies of the year {whichis unprecedented in history of Bollywood} But all other elements too are fabulous!!! Together , they made the most beautiful film=BLACK, which will be remembered as a classic forever!!!

By the way, I forgot to mention: Amitabh deservingly won the National award for his performance in the film...Though he deserved the Oscars!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

Black magic...

8/10
Author: rock831983 from India
26 August 2006

Just cameback after watching BLACK.... And this movie is a masterpiece by BHANSALI... another realistic movie...another realistic story... with top class performances.... but people who only love to watch entertaining and masala movies cant know the quality of this movie.... with two hrs of duration this movie takes bollywood cinema to another high level which we can be proud of...without any songs... this is bhansali's black magic... pace of the movie is through constant... and coming to the performance...AB has given a very sincere and good performance...not his best but very good performance... and ayesha kapoor playing rani's childhood is outstanding...she really surprises with her powerful performance...

and if some people think Hritik's acting in Koi mil Gaya was one of the best played by any actor of Bollywood then the same goes for Rani.... totally amazing powerpacked performance by her..... without any doubt its her career best performance....a performance even her haters have to praise it...

but handling all of them like captain of the ship is SANJAY LEELA BHANSALI who takes Indian cinema to another level....hats off to u...

Was the above review useful to you?

Rani your the number one actress

10/10
Author: Preetesh Panchal (PreeteshPanchal@hotmail.co.uk) from United Kingdom
11 August 2006

How great is the movies, if you haven't seen it, you have really got to, i saw this this film with out no sub-tiles, and its kind of hard for me, but i got through it, and i understood everything, the acting is superb, with Rani and Bachench being the main stars you have really got to see this movies, and i think you will be pleased and amazed about what people go through, though out there life. Just get this movie on DVD, because you would want to watch this movie over and over again. The was not a single downside to this movie because everything about it was great. So go out and buy this movie and make sure you watch it, and follow the story because you could loose the plot. GREAT FILM, YOU GOT TO WATCH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

very good film

10/10
Author: info-9525 from Chile
4 August 2006

Black is an excellent film. Great actors, very good direction. The photography is excellent as well.I bought the movie in DVD in India, since it is not available in Chile. I am the owner of a Retreat Center in my country and have showed the movie to my guests. Everybody loved it so much, please give information on where to get the film in Chile. The director made possible for westerners to enjoy Indian films, which does not happen frequently. Usually Indian movies are not the taste of westerners. Please check the Spanish subtitles, they are very bad translated. Why Black was not shown in Chile in cinemas? Please continue with this kind of movies, Mr. Leela. Thank you

Was the above review useful to you?

A movie which makes you see light in darkness is what is black is all about.

10/10
Author: gaurav219 from Calcutta, India
28 March 2006

One of the marvelous piece of dramatic performance by the glowing lights of Hindi cinema to make it glow much more! truly a lifetime experience watching this film which makes your emotions come out with joy in full force! hands up for the technical team for making a black n white film after making colorful films in the past n showing that he's no way overrated! Cheers for Rani n Amitabh Bachchan for showing that good acting comes from within and has to learns over years n cannot be achieved by wild card entries through big banners which is nowadays in fashion! I have seen the movie 2 times in cinema theater and love to experience it after n after!

Was the above review useful to you?

one of best bollywood films

8/10
Author: rajneesh_mangla from India
3 January 2006

i am really thankful to the whole team of black for making this film. this is new birth of bollywood, at last has come out of rapes, violence, drama, songs. and is ready to take on the international competition. it will also enlighten a common Indian man. i have great respect now for rani mukharjee. it is unbelievable what she did. i have never seen such a realistic acting of a deaf, blind, and mute person. my only complaint is, it should have been totally in Hindi. god bless sanjay bhansali. this is first film of your which i really like. i liked the theme, colors, resolution of DVD, everything. one would not believe that it is a bollywood production.

Was the above review useful to you?

Brilliant!

8/10
Author: Sam Borgman (photocyborg@gmail.com) from Canada
8 November 2005

This is simply a masterpiece. Acting by the two actresses portraying the blind/deaf girl Michelle was astonishingly good.

This movie successfully tells the story of struggles and obstacles in the life of someone who is both blind and deaf. The story is told very realistically. Cinematography is excellent in every way.

Conveying the thoughts of a deaf character is always difficult in movies. Specially translating sign language without using subtext, through other characters, without overdoing it is in itself a work of art. In this movie you can see how well that's been achieved. They don't translate every word Michelle says but yet you understand what is being said. To me that means the director has given it a lot of thought so that this does not become too apparent to viewers that they are translating for them, in turn it also keeps the movie in its own world without giving the viewer the feeling that it is trying to communicate with them. For that you feel like an outsider looking in. This effect has been achieved absolutely brilliantly and was very important for the story and the style of cinematography.

One of Amitav's best performances that I've seen.

Watch it!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

An Awesome touching movie... one of the best...

10/10
Author: Movie Reviewer from United States
12 June 2010

This is such an excellent and touch movie!!! Awesome performances by the living legend Amitabh Bachchan and Rani Mukherjee. Made my heart melt. If you are a person of sentiments, bonding and feelings of compassion for fellow beings, then this movie is definitely for you. Any amount of words cannot describe the effort put by these actors into their roles. Amitabh is great as always.

Rani Mukherjee has blown me away with her super-duper performance. Her expressions, her feelings, be it pain or anger or love, she expresses it beautifully. It's just too touching to watch her the way she justified her role. If anyone is worth watching other than Amitabh, then it's her. Even the other actors and actresses did a very good job but the entire credit goes to Amitabh and Rani, as far as acting is concerned. I watched the movie "My brother Nikhil" just after watching this movie and it tore up my heart. So touching are these movies!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great idea.....idiotic execution

7/10
Author: bossT from United Kingdom
21 November 2005

I just saw this film a few days ago following a lot of hype and accolade.This was Oscar material,filmfare awards were up for grabs....etc.etc. I had my reservations about the film from watching the promos.....things looked overdone,overacted but I had to make my own judgement. It is safe to say 'Black ' met all my expectations from SLB. Wonderful cinematography,a rousing background score,a lot of mood and shadows.Great performances were also meted out by the principle players namely Amitabh Bachan,Rani and the young Michelle.......BUT these were not reigned in by the director SLB.Hence a great deal of overacting ensued and what was the premise for a great film sank to idiocy. My basic problem with 'Black' was this.It is essentially a serious film with a serious topic.We were dealing with a physically handicapped child who was misunderstood and mishandled by her parents.She was DEAF and BLIND from birth. So how does Amitabh Bachan deal with her to take her from her world of darkness(Black) to the light .Yep you got it ...by SIGN language and shouting at her....oh yeah and also by chucking water over her .You are a genius Sanjay Leela.Did you do any research whatsoever? You also had the crazy situation where the young Michelle ate like an animal from a dinner plate but happened to know where the doorway was as well as the shutters for the windows ...not bad directional sense !You would have thought that Michelle's parents would have had the decency to have spoon fed her when she can't see even her plate.This makes a mockery of that scene. If you can overlook that major faux pas then the rest of the film is passable apart from Rani's absurd Chaplin-like waddle -you're supposed to be visually and aurally stunted not physically. In fact the most poignant scene for me came after Sara's wedding when Rani is in Amitabh's bedroom and she contemplates the physical love she would never know Alas if only the rest of the film matched this expertly handled scene. Standing ovation?I don't think so.....genuine unpretentious cinema....that is worth a slow handclap!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 18: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history