IMDb > Halloween (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Halloween
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Halloween More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 106: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 1057 reviews in total 

56 out of 86 people found the following review useful:

Unnecessary remake!

3/10
Author: JoeB131 from United States
30 December 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The problem with remakes is that if something was made wrong the first time, no one cared about it enough to try to remake it. If something was truly good enough to be a "classic", then it was just fine on its own and didn't need to be messed with.

This is the problem with Rob Zombie's remake of Halloween. He tries to deflect from the point by reminding us that John Carpenter remade "The Thing from another World" (Putting on background TV TWICE during the film, just so we didn't forget it.) Carpenter, however, took the whole concept in another direction.

Zombie does "Michael Myers, the early years". The thing that made Myers so horrifying is that he was just a normal kid where something had gone horribly wrong. Zombie decides to give him a full background with a stripper mother, an alcoholic loser father and a slutty sister, so you understand how he becomes the town psycho. It's a lot of unnecessary exposition, and he eats up half the film with it.

The Jaime Lee Curtis character is played by someone who has almost no screen presence. You don't care what Michael does to her in the end, which reduces the amount of suspense in his remake of Carpenter's work in the second half.

Finally, you have the ever so creepy Malcolm McDowell playing the Donald Pleasence character. His attempts to get through to Michael are so lame you can't believe this guy is even trying to practice psychiatry.

The rest is a Zombie gore-fest, not even worth watching.

Was the above review useful to you?

78 out of 134 people found the following review useful:

HOLLOW-EEN... another Devil's Reject

3/10
Author: Kashmirgrey from United States
8 September 2007

Some film makers live in a world where all men are sadistic rapists, all women are sado-masochistic tramps, violent murder is abundant and perceived as funny, and everyone uses F$#& every other word. Hey, to each their own reality, whatever...

First, let's take a short jog back in time... John Carpenter's Halloween is a film considered by many to be one of, if not the best horror films of all time. For me, what made Carpenter's 1978 classic so frightening was the not-knowing why a 10-year old kid, who came from a middle-class, two-parent family living in a nice home in a nice suburban neighborhood, would don a clown mask, and proceed to savagely butcher his older teenage sister. Why would he then remove his mask and stand outside the front of his home with an expressionless look on his face, waiting for Mom and Dad to return? What made this even more disturbing was how the perspective of the viewer was shot through the eyes of the mask so that the audience sees what Michael sees. That, and of course the fact that it all happens on a Halloween night and in cadence to a magnificently, creepy musical score. Insane asylums always conjure up unease intensifying the scene where Michael escapes from the mental institution and seizes the two doctors' station wagon amidst ghostly, mentally-disturbed patients wandering around outside. Why does Michael want to kill his sweet, younger, teenage sister Laurie Strode? Why does he wear a mask? Why can't he be killed? What, if any, is the method to his murderous madness? Why does he arrange the corpses that certain way? These questions we want to know, but at the same time, the not knowing is what makes us pause the film and check that all the windows and doors are locked.

Now let's jump to Zombie's version. Not comparing it to the original and letting it stand on its own two feet, it's just a lousy film. What kept it from "straight to DVD"? Two titles: Rob Zombie and Halloween. Zombie seems to have felt it necessary to humanize "his" Michael Meyers and attempt to provide a sympathetic explanation for Meyers' future murderous behavior, so Zombie has painted a new picture of Meyers' home. The father (William Forsythe) is an unemployed, abusive husband who has incestuous thoughts about his teenage daughter. The mom (Sheri Moon Zombie) is an attractive, but weathered, stripper. The teenage daughter (Hannah Hall) is promiscuous and cruel. There's little baby Laurie. Finally, there is 10-year old Mikey (Daeg Faerch) who is a long-haired, animal-torturing, juvenile delinquent (who looks 14). On Halloween, Meyers' snaps when two older schoolmates harass him and make sexually explicit, derogatory comments about his older sister and mother. Later, Michael, wearing a mask, beats one of the boys to death with a tree branch. Michael goes home where his father degrades him sexually. His mother leaves to strip, and worst of all, his older sister chooses a roll in the hay in lieu of taking him trick-or-treating (that warrants murder and mayhem!) So, he duck-tapes his father to his chair (managing to miraculously accomplish this while his father sleeps) and slices his throat. He then takes a baseball bat to his sister's boyfriend, and finally, after she awakes and catches him feeling her up, he slices up his older sister. Meyers' is institutionalized. After he murders a nurse with a fork his distraught mother blows her brains out. Fifteen years pass and Meyers' gets a break, escapes and proceeds to follow the plot points of the '78 original. Meyers' sister Laurie has been raised by adoptive parents in Haddonfield and Meyers' comes to hunt her down.

What did work for me, not so surprisingly, was where Zombie follows and mimics scenes from the original film. I mean, why re-invent the wheel, right? (ahem!) Meyers (Tyler Mane) portrayed as a tall, dark, and hulking Leatherface-like menace, who seems more deliberate in his behaviors in this film, was a nice tweak. No one could ever replace Donald Pleasance as Dr. Loomis, but Malcolm McDowell was a comfortable second. The connection between Meyers and his younger sister Laurie (Scout Taylor-Compton) was defined intriguingly, too, I thought. Unfortunately, the more critical connection, that being the character of Laurie with the audience, is non-existent. (Just an ironic coincidence to make my point, I had to click on "MORE" on this film's IMDb.com main page to even find Strode in the Cast listing!)***10/29/2008 (Scout Taylor-Compton as Laurie has since been added) But aside from these, the film is just another House of 10,000 Devil's Rejects. Knowing why Meyers becomes a monster isn't scary with Zombie's textbook serial killer explanation. I don't want to understand Meyers' inner-child. Also, this Meyers, unlike John Carpenter's original, murders with senseless abandon with no attention to suspense. A "re-imagining"? Where's the imagination? I am not anti-remakes. But when you're going to tackle an original masterpiece like Halloween, you need an adept film maker. Zombie, who seems obsessed with incest, rape, flaunting his wife on screen, gratuitous sadistic torture, and words that begin with the letter F and end with the letter K, is not such a film maker. He seems (pardon the pun) "hell-bent" on offending his audiences for the mere purpose of being offensive. What is sad is, these days offensive means controversial and controversial has become synonymous with art.

Some might say I've missed the point. My point in seeing the film was to be entertained and scared. What was your point?

Was the above review useful to you?

52 out of 92 people found the following review useful:

One giant failure

4/10
Author: Superunknovvn from Austria, Vienna
15 January 2008

When I heard that Rob Zombie had been chosen to remake "Halloween" I thought it was an interesting pick. Interesting as in wrong and not suited for this kind of project, but, hey, maybe that was exactly what was needed: someone who had a completely different approach to the story of a man we've all come to know so well since 1978 (why they didn't just wait one more year for the remake to coincide with the 30th anniversary of the franchise, God only knows). So, was Zombie the right choice? Nah!

Personally, I'm not a big fan of anything the man has made up until this point. Each of his previous movies has been an incoherent and chaotic mess. Zombie thinks foul language, twisted story lines and perverted freaks make for a scary horror movie. Well, not in my book, they don't. You can tell that for the remake of "Halloween" Zombie was trying to restrain himself, but his "style" still shines through. Worse still, his obvious weaknesses in writing dialog and making his actors play naturally become apparent in a story as dependent on suspense and likable characters as this one.

The whole idea of making this movie part prequel, part remake of the original is stupid. It seems like the craziest overestimation of a movie's capabilities since Sam Raimi decided to have three villains in one "Spider-Man" movie. There's just no way this whole story can be told within one motion picture. Besides, who ever really wanted to see Michael's origins? What made Michael Myers so scary in the first place was that he was an evil, dehumanized monster. Getting to know him means taking away half of his appeal.

Of course, it's hard to make a "Halloween" movie in 2007 and still surprise an audience that has seen this kind of movie countless times by now. Then again, no one forced Dimension to green-light this project in the first place. It has just been a bad idea all along and the outcome isn't even good enough to be a throwaway, by-the-numbers slasher-flick, let alone a remake of the mighty "Halloween".

Rob Zombie is to blame most of all. He turned all the characters into Southern rednecks who curse, f..k and drink 24/7. Michael Myers himself is now a long haired metal-head (who listened to KISS in the 70's because... THEY WERE MASKED! Isn't that a great analogy?). In this version of "Halloween" Laurie is a faceless heroine who is every bit as foul-mouthed as her bitchy friends. And Dr. Loomis - well, Malcom McDowell does his best, but Donald Pleasence owned this role and there's not one scene in which it isn't apparent that Pleasence could have done the job ten times better.

McDowell is still the shining light in this ensemble. Most of the cast doesn't do as well as him, most notably the "teenage" girls, but maybe they're not to blame for the horribly contrived dialog they have to recite. Then there are names like Brad Dourif, William Forsythe or Udo Kier - all very cool actors, but what purpose do they serve here in roles that mostly don't have any significance at all? It's typically Zombie to throw together people and ideas like that and hope that the sum of all he thinks is cool will be bigger than the individual parts.

What about the death scenes? Well, they are as trite as they come. There's not one original kill in the movie and some deaths have simply been lifted from the original and repeated with more blood and less tension. Add to that more than a few obvious continuity errors and some scenes that are downright laughable (for instance, when young Michael tapes his sleeping stepfather to a chair and the guy doesn't even wake up) and you got yourself one of the messiest horror movies of the year.

I like Rob Zombie for his passion about horror movies, but let's face it: the guy isn't a good director. He was given a great opportunity here and he messed it up. "Halloween" is one giant failure and an indicator for Zombie that maybe it would be better for him to give up making movies.

Was the above review useful to you?

80 out of 148 people found the following review useful:

Where's the scares??...A true Abomination to a Classic Film

1/10
Author: tmspice1 from United States
6 September 2007

Halloween 2007 is one of THE most depressing experiences of my entire life. Vulgar, crass, boring, and utterly witless, this entry in the "torture porn" genre is a true bastardization of John Carpenter's enduring classic...what an insult! There is absolutely no sense of mood or atmosphere that made the original so wonderful; no suspense, no surprises, no likable characters (the worst being Laurie, Linda and Annie...these 3 belong in a biker chick film, not a Halloween film), no clever use of foreshadowing or music, just an overlong waste of everyone's precious time. This is yet another horror film of late that confused vulgarity and torture with scares. The first half was OK...if it was in another movie; it did NOT belong in the Halloween mythology. The second half was the most inept and mind-numbingly awful "reimagining" of Carpenter's classic that was ever committed to celluloid. It's hard to imagine anything worse than "Halloween: Resurrection" with a karate kicking Michael Myers; but this one joins it inch by painful inch. HALLOWEEN 2007 is a slap in the face to any true fan of the series, or horror films in general, and Rob Zombie should feel complete and utter shame.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Just Another Dim Slasher

4/10
Author: Jamie Ward from United Kingdom
3 October 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Watching this movie was just like watching any other mediocre slasher flick, with one exception: the villain is completely boring and whiny. To be honest, I've never really been a fan of Halloween and this instalment doesn't do it any justice at all. Sure, there are some original and entertaining moments far and few between but this doesn't make Halloween a particularly enjoyable movie.

To summarise this movie is easy: Michael hates himself and decides to take it out on some cardboard characters from the horror movie character bin. That's about it. What is the point in it all? I really don't know and by the end of movie really couldn't have cared any less.

As is the problem with many horror movies these days, very little time is spent creating real characters but instead decides to throw in some stupid stereotypical teenagers as bait for uninspired gore scenes that mean next to nothing to the viewer. It was actually quite amazing to watch this film less than 12 hours after watching Kubrick's 'A Clockwork Orange': the contrast was vivid, showing just how poorly developed this outing for both Michael and Zombie was.

Sure if you enjoy random, unconnected and repetitious murder scenes, this will be heaven for you. But for anyone with half a brain and an attention span larger than a moth's, you're probably going to feel just as tired as I was by the time the end comes crawling by. Particularly ridiculous was the more or less same death scene that was used three times where Michael comes in between two teenagers having awkward sex, kills the moronic guy who has about 2 lines of dialogue and then cuts up the topless chick who's only real job seems to scream a lot.

The only character that is given life in this film is indeed Michael. The problem however is that he's just some narcissistic brat who craves attention and wears masks because he thinks he's ugly. Indeed, if that doesn't ruin his character, I really don't know what will. Oh, right, there's also the fact that he gets shot numerous times and is stabbed and falls off a building whilst still remaining perfectly alive. What is he, a mutant? A few redeeming qualities: the music; the cinematography; the decent performances; and a few brief instances of tension here and there makes Halloween, not all bad, but certainly not anything worth paying money for. If you like the previous movies, you'll probably enjoy this outing for Myers, but if you're like me and don't care at all for them, you should probably give this one a miss.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

A messy antithesis of the original [***contains minor spoilers***]

3/10
Author: Richard Cross from Leeds, England
16 September 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Like Alfred Hitchcock and Ridley Scott, John Carpenter knew the secret to scaring a movie audience is to keep them uninformed. In a scary horror movie, less is always more... keep the viewer in the dark along with the movie's victims-to-be, and they will be just as scared.

Imagine a remake of Psycho in which the background of Norman Bates is disclosed at the very beginning. Imagine a remake of Alien in a brightly lit, open plan spacecraft in which you always get to see the whole monster... perhaps you even get a little of the Alien's back-story, showing how it came from a harsh family background...

Rob Zombie's Halloween is simply a generic slasher movie that borrows heavily from the original movie of the same name. In Zombie's version we get a protracted back-story in which we learn why Michael Myers is the way he is, before being subjected to a heavily compressed retelling of the original movie's events. It's like watching the original on fast forward. There's no suspense, there are no shocks... just a series of people being stabbed with a kitchen knife.

In John Carpenter's original Halloween, from the brief glimpse we see of them, Michael Myers' parents seem like respectable middle-class people. In this movie, they're the poorest of poor white trash. Michael Myers is no longer a mysterious and anonymous figure in a strange- looking mask... he's now an abused child out for revenge. He's no longer of an ordinary build concealing superhuman strength, he's built like a professional wrestler. The character of Laurie is so completely different from the way she was played by Jamie Lee Curtis that she no longer fits into the plot.

Hardly any of the classic scenes from the original have been reproduced, and those that have are watered down so much as to be forgettable. All of the character development of the original has been axed to fit the back-story in at the beginning, therefore we hardly know or care about who's being slaughtered... because they're slaughtered before we even get to know them. The cinematography rarely lets you see what's going on, but in a confused way, rather than a suspenseful or scary way (too many extreme closeups using a shaky hand-held camera). The actors race through their dreadful dialogue in a hurried and unconvincing way. I couldn't decide which scene had the worst acting/dialogue: it came down to the scene where the girls are leaving school, talking like hit men from a Tarantino movie... and the painful-to-watch scene in the Sheriff's office in which Loomis is trying to explain why they need to apprehend Myers... the very scene which caused me to walk out of the theatre, insulted that I had spent time and money on this trash.

The only people who could possibly derive any enjoyment from this movie are those that have never seen (or fully understood the subtlety of) the original Halloween or those who cannot comprehend the premise of "less is more"... the "Hostel" generation, if you will.

For me, the only redeemable feature of this movie is that it makes me appreciate John Carpenter's masterpiece even more than before.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Yet another great Rob Zombie film.

10/10
Author: tattooedguy752000 from United States
17 December 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First off I am a huge fan of not only Rob's music, but I think House of 1000 Corpses and The Devils Rejects where some of the best horror films made in the last 10 years. There are so many piece of crap horror movies out there right now, most being PG-13 horror that when i heard that Rob was remaking Halloween, well I got pretty excited. I am a huge fan of the classic Halloween nothing will change that, but I do think that Zombie's version stands up to it. The first time I saw Daeg on screen as Michael Myers I was just amazed. For a kid that age to play a part like Michael Myers, I mean it just amazing. I was real happy that Rob explained what Michael's childhood was like. The first kill has to be one of the best of the film, I will not expose who or how it happens but I will say it is brutal. Sheri Moon-Zombie proved she can play roles other than a murderous psycho, and she did a very good job. Then there was Michaels stay at Smith's Grove. Once again it was an interesting addition to the film. From the childhood scenes to adult, everything was filmed very well. It was good to see a Zombie regular like Bill Moseley. The escape scene was awesome, it shows just how crazy Michael really is. After the escape it is the remake portion of the film. It show Michael as he stalks his younger sister Laurie Strode who is played by Scout Taylor-Compton, who in my opinion does a killer job as Laurie. I loved this part of the movie cause it was similar to the original, but it also had new things. It all worked well together. The end was not what I expected, but it was still a pretty good ending. In my opinion Rob Zombie did what no one else could have, he made Michael Myers scary again and if you are a true fan of the original then you should realize that. If you are on the ropes on weather to see Halloween 2007 or not, well all I can say is if you do decide to see it I don't think you will be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

better than expected !

10/10
Author: chrishayes737 from New Zealand
23 December 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I've been a fan since I first saw Halloween way back in 1981 on video :), I have all 9 movies now on DVD the latest edition is of course Rob Zombies Halloween unrated directors cut - I live in New Zealand & the movie was not released here at the cinema so being a big fan I had a long wait to see it & boy was I impressed it was an awesome experience & I was very happy with the back story of Micheal Myers & how brutal his life was & you could almost see day by day how he was driven to kill almost his entire family . It was great to see inside smith grove as well - Dr Loumis was far better in this version - although the original is a classic this version had a lot more depth & a better & more intense ending so all in all a must see 10/10 no question .

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

The dirty bunch of Philistines!

3/10
Author: Horror-Lord from United Kingdom
2 November 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

OK, where do I begin? I'll start by stating the obvious- why in the holy name of God did they have to go and remake a classic horror film- one of the few remaining classic horror films I might add- such as Halloween and, more importantly, place it in the hands of the egotistical maniac that is Rob Zombie? I'll tell you why- because the executives at Hollywood HQ have run out of ideas and, rather than try and save the failing franchise that Halloween has become thanks to the ever ridiculous Halloween: Resurrection and it's predecessor, Halloween H20, they decide to start (and, ultimately end) from scratch with one of the most diabolically, catastrophically awful films I have ever allowed my poor little eyes to witness. Now, of course, it would be harsh to criticise every little thing- for example, the music was good (oh wait, that was a John Carpenter creation so that doesn't really count) and even though the first section of the film, in which we delved a little more into Michael's childhood than the original did, was interesting, it all seemed so very rushed and disorganised. Then came the second section in which we met Laurie Strode and boy oh boy do we all miss Jamie Lee Curtis now? What were the Philistines thinking when they cast her? Laurie was turned from the innocent, pure and ultimately defenceless girl of Carpenter's classic into what could be described as an unpaid prostitute- the character was ruined! Then, don't even get me started on Loomis. As soon as this film was confirmed- sequel, remake or both- a Halloween film without Donald Pleasance as Loomis is not a Halloween film- he will never be surpassed- the character was made for him! And Malcolm McDowell, through no real fault of his own as it was all Zombie's idea, took the character to a level of incredulity and ridiculousness that even I couldn't comprehend, regardless of the fact that the rest of the film was utter garbage. So, in conclusion, if you haven't guessed it already, I am a little bit annoyed that they couldn't even be bothered to try and round the series off with a 9th film that tied all of the events of 1, 2, 7 + 8 with 4, 5 + 6 to finish it and let it rest in peace. ARGH!

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Awful and made me not scared of Michael Myers anymore!

1/10
Author: chickychicky69 from Canada
7 September 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I like Rob Zombie songs and movies but when I heard that he was doing a Halloween remake I knew it would be a disaster. First of all Rob Zombie doesn't leave any mystery to Michael Myers like in the first one, but instead shows a stupid story for half of the movie how Michael started to kill. And the whole reason I found him scary was because he didn't talk, but in this one he talks a lot, which totally ruins it for me. And the long blond hair didn't do much either, Michael has brownish black hair not blond. And another thing, at the end when he's about to kill Laurie, his sister,(who in the movie isn't even told that Michael was her brother), Dr. Loomis tries to stall Michael from killing Laurie telling him that she didn't do anything, and Michael holds her as a hostage. Michael Myers does not negotiate he doesn't keep someone hostage and doesn't listen to reason he just kills on instinct. Then he lets Laurie go and gets shot several; times by police and dies. what the? gosh. He can't die he is like practically invincible. This may seem stupid to people who haven't seen the originals, but it's the truth, for anyone who disagrees watch the original movie first then we'll talk. Man I'm mad, he ruin Michael Myers.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 106: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history