IMDb > Boys (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Boys
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Boys More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 12 reviews in total 

43 out of 48 people found the following review useful:

Excellent

10/10
Author: princely from Denmark
24 October 2003

Hey guyz, I did watch the movie Boys. I dont care what others says about the movie. But i just wanna sat that the movie is EXCELLENT and it's backbone is ARR's music. Every song was fantastic taken esp SECRET OF SUCCESS was just simply mind blowing. This movie is especiallly made for teens. Keep up the good work for the team of Boys, esp. A.R Rahman & Shankar!!!

Why such a big fuss about Boys nowadays. Why do people watch movie? Why do people make movies? The latter question is to satisfy audience and the former for the audience to be entertained. Simple isn't it. Again Thamazhan population is the one that Q's to the theatre no matter whatever the story is just to see how their hero has given dialogues/ dance & fight. Again, directors can give variety of family entertainers & come with unique formulae blending story to satisfy people from 6 to 60 yrs of age. I have seen movies of many Indian languages of which I find Bengali films to be of artistic nature. Following that would be Tamil movies which has its own target audience of artistic creativity & masala formulae hits. Sure enough for many tamil movies to be adapted or dubbed into Hindi or other languages. The technicians are some of the most talented people India can be proud of. Cinematographers, Directors, Music Directors, Lyricists etc can have their share at the world stage.

But now the generation gap is increasing & I don't think in family pot boilers to satisfy 6 to 60yrs will work out in a liberalised society. Different genres should be created and presented to audience. Directors should be welcomed to experiment with bold topics as what they are doing in Hindi nowadays. In that way we can be very proud of Shankar, AR Rahman, Mani Ratnam & Kamal Hassan to be contributing to the artistic nature of Indian cinema & having their signature mark on it.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Shankar be proud

10/10
Author: cabinbaggage
1 July 2006

This movie is very underrated. It may have failed at the box office but that has been proved to be due to the modern lifestyle concepts in this movie, totally failing to gel with the suburban and village sectors of Tamil Nadu. This movie was undeniably a hit in the urban sectors such as Chennai and literally everyone was talking about how great the film was. Most people I know saw it 5-6 times. This movie is certainly controversial, Shankar style, but only a fool would deny that the average college going teenager does not have sexual fantasies and adventures similar to those presented here. Thats the reason why this movie was so popular among college going crowds while not being a family movie in any sense. As expected from Shankar, this movie has a lot of shock value and twists. It reflects his pattern of thinking and that it does'nt necessarily tread one single pattern and only if he had stuck to himself would he have produced an amazing follow up instead of yet another money-churning yet somewhat stupid Indian/Mudhalvan-clone in the form of Anniyan. AR Rehman's score was amazing. Lets hope that Shivaji doesn't turn out to be yet another Indian/Gentleman/Mudhalvan clone and that Shankar stays true to himself.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Excellent but not for everyone

10/10
Author: fmjmm from United States
29 July 2006

Most of the criticism surrounding Boys more or less relates to Shankars traditional story lines with high morals and family entertainment. Boys in far from a family movie and it is perhaps the most sexually explicit Tamil movie to ever come out, without actually having any nudity after censorship.

Boys is thus something one just cannot watch together with the family as most of it concerns the sexual adventures of 5 Boys, all newcomers, putting in superb performances. Now, while people who consider themselves morally upright and strict may find this embarrassing, most of the actual teenagers of India will actually be disturbed at how accurately it depicts what they actually do, without their parents knowing.

Boys will be Boys and that needs to be accepted. Society is'nt as squeaky clean as one would like to believe. First the teen, especially college going, audience will be disturbed, then thrilled and then appreciative. This made the movie a success in the cities but a lot of revenue actually comes from conservative suburbs and villages where people viewing will not have a clue of whats going on since the movie reflects the behavior of mostly, socialite urban populace.

But with Shankar's style and AR Rehman's music, Boys is certainly a superb movie if you don't have any of the reservations discussed above. It does'nt have a great storyline on the line of Indian, Mudhalvan etc but Shankar injects quality into each and every scene, making this movie highly enjoyable from the beginning to the end. Its just sheer bloody fun and genius.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

An unbiased review of Boys

10/10
Author: fundareviewer
24 August 2006

I had a chance to see a trailer of this movie in a cinema theater and it looked modestly impressive but I imagined that it would be the standard Tamil movie fare and thus not worth wasting precious time on.

A day before of its release, one of my buddies proudly flashed his first-day-first-show ticket at me. I wondered if this movie was really worth bragging about? Then I learned that it was by the same director and writer who made Indian (Hindustani), Mudhalvan, Gentleman, Kaadhalan and Jeans. The First three movies were really good and the first and last were Indian's entries for the Oscars, so I speculated that this movie "Boys" could possibly be good.

A few days after the movie released, it was was the talk of the Town and the entire college was raving about it. Every single discussion was about Boys, Boys and Boys. People bragged that they had seen it 6 times already and were going to see it again. It kinda was like the Itchy and Scratchy movie hype in a Simpsons episode. I finally got to see this movie in the cinema. When we went and asked if we could get a ticket, the salesman said that "It was Boys for crying out! House full". We had to grab some quick tickets in black. Unfortunately, all the controversies caused by this movie had lead to all sorts of censorship already.

First of all, one must congratulate Shankar for a very daring and bold initiative in Boys, especially given how conservative the people of Tamil Nadu can be. This movie is extremely sexually explicit and I believe that it even had nudity before the censor cuts. Shankars big mistake was to advertise this as a family movie which it certainly is not. Any parent who sees this movie, especially those conservative ones from TN, are going to be furious. I believe that this was what cost the movie its performance in Box office and commercial success. The audience of middle class teenagers and college students was simply not enough to ensure it a box office success.

Molestation charges There is one song "Girlfriend" in this movie which could possibly just fall under the category of eve teasing or even molestation by sex-hungry Boys. This is probably what caused the most disturbance and did not let people see beyond think, leading to very harsh criticism of the movie in many circles. I would also imagine that women would be a bit uncomfortable with the scenes shown, to say the least. However, they fail to realize that it was just one song which had that and that it was JUST A MOVIE.

Stupid People vs a Great movie

You gotta know that the general population of Tamil Nadu actually went on riots and burnt effigies of a single celebrity who dared to say that premarital sex was OK. They also burnt effigies of the single supporter she had. Such were the conservative and village minded people who Shankar had to unfortunately deal with.

It really made my blood boil to see that so many good scenes and dialog from this movie were cut voluntarily. I've seen this movie 6 times already and would kill for an uncensored version. In contrast, the people of Andhra Pradesh, famous for its modernity, loved this movie.

Technical Aspects

As with all Shankar movies, every single technical aspect from dialog to screenplay to cinematography is top notch and by far the best of all his movies and also on par if not better than every single Tamil movie out there. The dialog is hilarious and extremely creative. Its impossible to come up with stuff like that seen in this movie. Every single action and hilarious antic in this movie has its consequences which are shown and utilized till the very end.

The acting is super-realistic. Shankar really knows how to get the best out of everybody. The acting of every single person including every extra is superlative and draws you in deeply. The freshly introduced cast of Boys are amazing actors.

Shankar has really explored the teenage life and antics of the Boys. He has also effectively portrayed their perspectives of the world, their studies and their parents, who are generally not shown in very good light but like I said, it was extremely realistic and something many can relate to. The Screenplay is unbelievable.

Social Message

Who says that this movie doesn't have a social message? It has a very important one and that is Love and Passion vs Getting Settled in Life which every parent wants a quick solution to. Every conservative family wants to get their children settled in life as soon as possible but completely ignores the personal life and needs of the child. Its an extremely good message if one could just keep and open mind and see the movie till the very end.

Songs

I used to hate the songs at first but truth be told, they are awesome. After seeing this movie, I really started to like the songs and they had some true significance and relation to the plot. The songs were all super hits, done by none other than AR Rahman who unfortunately went and blabbered something about Boys running successfully only due to the songs, leading Shankar to ditch him for his unfortunate crapfest, Anniyan.

Conclusion

Indeed, Boys may not be for everyone and one really has to keep an open mind while watching it, especially if one is a woman. Teenagers should have no problems. Having said that, this movie is undeniably a ground breaker and a landmark film in Indian cinema. It is extremely under-appreciated in Tamil Nadu just because some of the sexually explicit stuff that the Boys do caused too much shock which presided over common sense.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Make the frikkin sequel already!

10/10
Author: riotstopper
23 August 2006

This movie is awesome and a ground breaker when it came to Tamil Cinema or even Indian Cinema as a whole. What I cant figure out is how the director/writer came up with all the stuff seen in this movie? He must have interviewed hundreds of college going guys throughout Chennai and studied their life very carefully. The ideas here are pure genius and typical of Shankar, even if too controversial. Sujatha also writes dialog for most other Tamil films but only when it comes to Shankar's movies does the dialog really stand out. Shankar has the ability to bring out the best in every performer, actor and writer, even extra. Even if Mani Ratnam makes more realistic movies, Shankar is the better director for being far more creative in his work. For example, the "Malgova Aunty" scene and dialog threw me off the chair. I was on the floor. If you don't like this movie, then you're

a) Completely retarded b) A conservative c) From a mofussil background d) All of the above

If only Shankar could be as creative as he was in this movie, in Anniyan which was absolute crap in comparison. I don't think that even Shivaji would be as good as Boys. I hope that after Shivaji, Shankar makes Boys-2.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Give it a chance

10/10
Author: whoathar from United States
10 August 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Boys is aimed for a very select audience and that would be middle class, teenage or semi-mature urban youth and in particular, collegites who can related with this events in this movie. That however isn't exactly a good reflection of the percentage of the demographic, meaning that it will have a very difficult time being digested by the lower income sections of society or the moral oldies who cannot relate and appreciate the concept of this movie. This is why the director went and made Anniyan which was engineered to appeal to masses, instead of going with good ideas of his own.

The first 1/3rd of the movie is what was already described before - sex, sex and more sex. Although its not nude sexual activity as in porno, it concerns the Boys chasing women and making all sorts of perverse moves which will make any viewer seeing the movie with his family, cringe and run away. Not because it was so perverse but because this was probably what he does or did in the past as a teenager. Yes some of the Boys activities are perverse beyond imagination but its nothing unreal or unbelievable for people who have been there. Those who hold morals are going to be bit outraged though and will either be angry at society or the director for portraying the Boys this way but come on, its just a movie.

The next 1/3rd of the movie concerns the Boys being oppressed by their parents, quite realistically I might add. The actors in the parent roles have done an amazing job at portraying strict and humiliated middle class parents. The question now is whether a relationship can survive the hardships of society and when it comes to a developing country like India where everyone has slog their ass off to earn their daily meals with little conveniences provided by the government, this forms a very good philosophical question. We know which one - love or getting settled in life, is more important and the Boys take up the challenge.

The next part concerns the hardship that the Boys, who were previously spoilt by their parents, suffer after running away from home to make it on their own. Their suffering has been portrayed very nicely and contrasts against the starting portion of the film. Yet with all the suffering, the Boys manage to maintain a positive outlook and find happiness with each other.

The last part is probably the most weak as it progresses from suffering to their incredible and amazing success like a quantum jump. Their success was just too fast but then you notice that the movie has already played for a long time. But even though its long, you never feel bored at all and after seeing it, it will feel like a very short movie.

Overall, Boys is an extremely bold movie and highly controversial yet very very entertaining and enjoyable, with a good message that most fail to see too. There is bit more emphasis on the songs in this movie overall than most other movies but thats not a bad thing since the songs themselves are very good. Unlike many people who can't see beyond the sexual element in this movie, I do feel that the movie has a superb message. Studies aren't everything. You can succeed where you want to. This is without doubt a must watch movie at least once but the audience it was aimed for, can easily view it three or four times without getting bored. Perhaps the director should have made a sequel to this movie instead of Anniyan.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Revolutionary movie-making!

8/10
Author: pico_shaolin from India
16 May 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Firstly, this is to all the directors in Bollywood, take a cue from Shankar!

I'm not Tamil, but upon hearing the soundtrack, i just needed to watch the movie! And true to it, A R's music does hold the movie together, but it's also the great performances by the cast that actually did it for me! I saw the movie with subtitles so, I maybe a little off, but language shouldn't,t be a factor in judging movies. So here we go!

The plot seems to be a very tried and tested formula-college boys indulging in what college guys actually do; then poor boy meets rich girl, help each other out fall in love, elope, and through hard work achieve success. But, with a movie maker like Shankar, there's always more! As the plot advances and the Boys go through the tests of life, there are moments when you wonder if there is actually any other bad left that could happen to them! The range of problems cover almost everything ranging from pushy parents, arrested by cops, the usual finances or the lack of it, and the list seems endless! But even so, Shankar very carefully manages the script and prevents it from going haywire, most of it succeeds, thankfully!

Technically, the movie is as you'd expect a Shankar movie to be- brilliant! Some might disagree, but it is indeed the best in its kind! Shankar used the time-slicing method in the songs, not excellent, but worth a watch! The songs were well executed, "Secret of Success" had room for improvement. "Dating" was OK, "Maaro maaro" is too good! "Girlfriend" is vulgar in parts, but shot well!

Performance-wise the film scores a lot! Siddharth is too good, I saw him after RdB, and I know where he got it from now! Genelia, too, does a fantastic job, carefully balancing her character throughout the movie! The rest of the Boys too put up an authentic act as teens and the parents seem as natural as the can be-nasty, brutal and almost Fascist! Vivek steals a lot of the show as 'Mangalam Sir' and is pretty inspiring in some parts especially when he tries to convince the parents.

All in all, a great movie, with superb performances, great music and a cinematic delight!

Here are the Boys!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A Teenage Movie...

8/10
Author: stiva from United States
20 September 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Wow, finally, Shankar had the guts to do a different movie. I saw this movie a lot of times. The concept is really good. It's more natural. It's not a hero movie. It's teenage movie where characters are given importance...

First time, infatuations of various teenagers and their sexual fantasies are shown. It shows how teenagers grow into matured persons. That, at this age these things are common and is felt by every person from boys to girls...

The comedy is good too. Songs are exceptional. The dance sequences by Bob Gally are awesome. The role of Vivek was good too. No super masala fights... No punch dialogs... A very fun-filled entertainment movie with a simple message. That too a correct message....

Way to go Shankar... I am glad that you turned your attention from corruption movies... Don't go back into it....

WARNING FOR ADULTS:-

MOVIE NOT SUITABLE FOR ADULTS !!! MOVIE SUITABLE FOR TEENAGERS !!!

A 8.3 out of 10 rated movie, I would say...

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Consequences Of Growing Up Too Fast

6/10
Author: Chrysanthepop from Fraggle Rock
22 May 2010

S. Shankar has gained quite a reputation for making expensive crapfest. I have only seen his 'Indian' and 'Nayak, The Real Hero' and loathe both movies (though they have great soundtracks and female leads). Little did I know that he directed 'Boys'. After watching the movie I must give him some credit for making something that is at least watchable.

'Boys' starts off as an entertaining teen flick following six teenagers but the story slowly progresses as the protagonists move into adulthood, a little too fast, and then the movie tackles various social issues. Themes like friendship, sex, censorship and injustice are well presented here. 'Boys' is considered a poignant film for the middle-class Indians.

The humour works very well. One can easily relate to the various situations the teenagers experience. However, the more intense sequences are loud and overdone. They appear theatrical and melodramatic.

A.R. Rahman's score is terrific. The visualization of the first two songs and the romantic songs is very poor. The special effects used in the songs are awful. The lyrics of the romantic songs are clichéd but the rest of the songs have great lyrics. I especially liked the last one, 'Secret of My Success'.

S.Shankar has cast an ensemble of newcomers and the five actors who play the title role, Siddharth, Nakul, Bharath, Sai Srinivas, and Manigandan, all perform very well especially in the comedic sequences but they ham it up in the more intense scenes. Genelia D'Souza is competent. Vivek is likable as the supportive Mangalam Sir.

'Boys' is almost three hours long and it could have used some editing. Yet, it's still an enjoyable watch despite the aforementioned as long as you have a working fast-forward button on your remote control. I'm surprised that the man behind abysmal tripe like 'Indian' and 'Nayak' came up with something more 'human'.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

A Directors Movie :-) !!!

Author: hello_world12-1 from anywhere
24 March 2005

Boys!!! It is agreed that it hoists the best in every scene. But when I finished seeing the movie I thought that there is still something to come. And some of the scenes are over imaginative, when considering the masses for whom the film is taken. And Of Course!!! there are copy from many Hollywood films, for example driving bike in opposite direction in the road(MATRIX), a disgusting scene including first boy with the prostitute(Forrest Gump) and the dance sequences which are copied mostly from TV music channels.

The sexual content of this movie may pioneer the way to most of the films yet to come. The song having the couple dancing in junked place with bottles and bats are a poor imagination and rotten graphics. Shankar-no more audiences like you old style graphics in songs.

AR Rahmans songs and the camera lifts the film. The actors don't do much coz they try to act natural.

On the whole its worth seeing it once for not seeing it again. Coz its a special movie!!! :-)

Boys is a movie of Chain of what the director thinks are good scenes

5/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history