IMDb > The Wedding Date (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Wedding Date
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Wedding Date More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 25: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 250 reviews in total 

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

The most sickening movie of 2005

1/10
Author: squeezebox from United States
8 June 2005

Other than the solid production value provided by the unionized Teamster crew who couldn't care less what they are making as long as they get paid, THE WEDDING DATE is devoid of redeeming value.

Take PRETTY WOMAN. Remove Richard Gere's penis and stick it on Julia Roberts, then take Robert's breasts and stick them on Gere. Wala. You have THE WEDDING DATE. And while PRETTY WOMAN was a decent movie until the abysmal and cowardly ending, THE WEDDING DATE is a pile of rancid, putrescence, with a thin coating of flowers to make it look pretty.

A woman is invited to a wedding. She doesn't have a date. She hires a male escort. Both of them are determined not to fall for each other. What on Earth do you think could possibly happen? There are scenes that made my skin crawl at their utter moronicism. Debra Messing and Dermot Mulroney, who play the adorable pair of wacky lovers (GAG), take a dance lesson. They start out annoying each other, stepping on each other's feet, but soon come to find the whole situation just so delightful that they practically fall in love right there. Meanwhile, a goofy woman does a wild slapstick dance that's intended to be side-splittingly funny. I felt more like throwing horse manure in her face.

And then there's the scene when Mulroney takes a shower, and Messing is shocked beyond belief when he drops his towel in front of her. She has a similar reaction when he exits the shower naked. Any grown person who reacts this way to nudity needs psychiatric care.

It amazes me that audiences flock to garbage like this. These movies are so calculated and patronizing, I'm astonished that people don't find it offensive. The makers of this celluloid Frappuccino look at their audience like rats in a laboratory, paying their $10.00 so they can shut their brains off for a couple of hours.

I like to be entertained, but with more than just pretty faces and happy-go-lucky BS. THE WEDDING DATE is like Ex-Lax. It tastes like chocolate, but goes right through you, and reveals itself for what it really is.

Crap.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

good for the hopeless romantic

10/10
Author: krissie_d28 from United States
13 February 2005

This is the perfect movie for all of those hopeless romantics out there, myself included. Dermont Mulroney is so sexy in this movie you'll want to stay and watch it again. It is a wonderfully romantic comedy that doesn't take itself too seriously. It's silly, sad, serious, and romantic all at the same time. There are a few surprise twists that are not given away in the TV previews which is great. Don't you hate going to a movie and find out you have already seen all of the good parts? The acting is pretty good, Debra Messing does a great job as a leading lady, she really can carry a romantic comedy. Definitely a feel good movie. Have a girls night out and go see this show!

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Porn for Straight Women

5/10
Author: dzong from Seoul
4 June 2006

"The Wedding Date" may not be the worst movie ever made, but it could definitely be called the most unrealistic...The movie is a total straight woman's fantasy. I'd rank "Star Wars", "A Nightmare on Elm Street" and "My Favorite Martian" as slightly more likely to happen in real life....

Meet Kat, an annoying, neurotic career woman (although admittedly Debra Messing has never looked more beautiful) who hires a gorgeous, nationally renowned male escort (Dermot Mulroney) to be her date to her sister's wedding. He does the job well....He charms her whole family and manages to solve lots of their little problems along the way. For no apparent reason, the two are suddenly in love with each other. The ending was never in doubt.

(Minor Spoilers Ahead, although the movie is so predictable I couldn't really call it a spoiler)

So, straight woman's fantasy. Despite being irritating and socially awkward, Kat manages to have a beautiful man fall in love with her. Okay, that COULD definitely happen. The problem is that for no apparent reason, Dermot Mulroney's character does a complete turnaround after sleeping with Messing, giving up his career and lifestyle (what the hell is he going to do now?) for a client (did I mention she's annoying?) that he just met? Again....Changing a man....Straight woman's fantasy!

This is not a BAD movie, but it's not a GOOD movie either. It is what it is. A total chick flick that will have women swooning and men chuckling to themselves in disbelief. A good supporting cast including Holland Taylor, Amy Adams and Jack Davenport (TV's "Coupling") and an extraordinarily short running time (about 80 minutes) helps move things along quickly to the expected conclusion.

5/10

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A movie that should have shone, it had no spark at all

1/10
Author: salchow-1 from United Arab Emirates
26 November 2005

The video store clerk recommended this movie to me, and I plan to ask for a credit towards another movie. I cannot comment on the actual merits (or otherwise) of the film. I found it impossible to watch in its entirety, because I could not get past the dreadful device of having the main character give a background commentary for an entire movie, even occasionally talking over the characters' dialogue. I found it extremely frustrating. Why superimpose commentary in the vein of "The making of..." on the story and the dialogue of the characters? I thought that such a device was generally reserved for actor interviews or a documentary. As a result, my impression of the movie was that of an altogether humorless, messy, extended sitcom with very little to redeem it. The acting was, on the whole, quite unconvincing as well.

I am willing to stand corrected, however. Was this a really brilliant film, and it was my fault I didn't get it?

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

actually funnier than I expected

6/10
Author: kbushko from missouri
4 February 2005

if you're going to see The Wedding Date, you probably have some idea of what the film is going to be like. it's not Shyamalan, right? of course the premise invites comparison to Pretty Woman, and sure, you may feel that you've met Messing's "insecure single woman" character a few hundred times before, perhaps on some popular sitcom.

but thankfully, all the actors seem well-suited to their roles and the action progresses quite smoothly, aided by a good helping of hysterical lines from the saucy best friend and sauced-up mother. this is definitely a fun one to see with friends, especially if you're tired of this year's pretentious and often wildly depressing Oscar fare.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Predictable, Borrowed but Entertaining

2/10
Author: ERG86
2 February 2005

Too Much of Something Borrowed Grade B-

Super Bowl Sunday is one of the slowest days at movie theaters every year. Because of this, movie studios tend to avoid releasing bigger budgeted films that weekend. Every few years a studio releases a counter-programming female skewing movie (2001's "The Wedding Planner") to compete with the big game. This Super Bowl weekend similarly titled "The Wedding Date" will try to find success and attract viewers not watching the game.

Sick of people feeling sorry for her, single-woman, Kat Ellis (Debra Messing, TV's "Will and Grace") hires male escort Nick ( Dermot Mulrony, "About Schmidt") to pose as her boyfriend for her sister's wedding in London. Her family has been giving her a hard time about her not being married, and her ex- fiancé of seven years, who dumped her without a reason, is the best man. To make him jealous Kat parades Nick around her ex to make him see what he is missing. But ultimately Nick helps Kat realize that she can open up, and let someone love her.

The film borrows too much from similar wedding movies. It is almost a carbon copy of 1999's "Picture Perfect" and mixes in scenes similar to "The Wedding Planner" and "My Best Friends Wedding". The movie also has a reverse "Pretty Women" theme going for it, and knowing her audience, the director makes clever references to that and other films.

"The Wedding Date" has all the clichéd elements of a typical wedding movie, there is the stereotypical overbearing mother (Holland Taylor, "Legally Blonde"), and practically plagiarized wedding speeches by the family and friends at the wedding and rehearsal dinner. The twist at the ending has been done before, but it was something that wasn't completely expected. The real reason why Kat was dumped comes as a surprise and changes the direction of the film for the last half hour.

Even though "The Wedding Date" is predictable, it is able to stand on its own. Debra Messing, in her first lead role, proves she can be charming and funny. Dermot Mulrony has great chemistry with Debra Messing, but most of his dialogue was too corny and unrealistic. He is able to make best of what he is given, and be able to salvage the character.

By the use of many clever puns (often sexual), the film is actually funny. Although primarily a chick-flick the film has components everyone can enjoy. The feel good story, and humor make it the best date movie released in a long time.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Well they did a good job on one end.

1/10
Author: eastwest-257-811887 from United States
17 January 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Debra Messing does a great, actually she does a fantastic job of playing a looser. Her character in this film is kind of a looser. The character Messing plays has a job and fantastic looks and all that, but that doesn't mean you can't be looser and her character is just that a looser and she does a fantastic job of playing that character so I give her props for that. Which is where the one star I gave this film comes from.

Now the rest of the movie was not good, her romance with Dermot Mulroney to me was not developed at all. The movie it's self was put together kind of clunky. Her and Mulroney I'm sorry had no chemistry and the rest of the characters who even cares. I did not care for this film except to say that Debra Messing did a great job of playing a total looser character.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Breezy, Light-Hearted, Romantic Comedy

8/10
Author: zardoz-13 from United States
3 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"American Virgin" director Clare Kilner's third feature-length film "The Wedding Date" qualifies as an amusing chick flick co-starring Debra Messing and Dermot Mulroney respectively as the leading lady and man. The premise of Dana Fox's screenplay is that our heroine Kat Ellis is flying to London to act as the maid of honor at her younger sister's wedding. The conflict is that younger sister Amy (Amy Adams of "Enchanted") has asked Kat's former fiancé to serve as best man. Kat is appropriately concerned about what impression she should make since Jeffrey (Jeremy Sheffield of "Last Chance Harvey") dumped her unexpectedly when they were supposed to wed. Kat decides to hire a male escort, Nick Mercer (Dermot Mulroney of "My Best Friend's Wedding") to make Jeffrey feel jealous. Predictably, what starts out as an impersonal business relationship between Kat and Nick inevitably becomes a personal relationship. Along the way, Kat learns the truth about why Jeffrey got cold feet about their impending marriage. Debra Messing makes a sympathetic character and Dermot Mulroney pulls off the stud act with no problems. The British setting adds a novelty to the proceedings and the outcome is clever without being too sappy or complicated. Scenarist Dana Fox wrote both "Couples Retreat" and "What Happens In Vegas." Fox's based her script on Elizabeth Young's book. While I enjoyed "The Wedding Date," I didn't think it was anything exceptional. The film, however, amounted to a Hollywood definition of a hit, coining $47 million dollars off a $15 million dollar budget.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Loved this one!!

9/10
Author: vdisire vdisire from india
4 January 2013

Story goes like this Kat Ellis (Messing), who returns to her parents' London home for her sister's wedding is afraid of confronting her ex fiancé, who dumped her two years before, she hires a male escort Nick (Mulroney) to pose as her new boyfriend. And how Kat and Nick come together forms the rest of the story.

its good how the characters are introduced and interwoven. The best part is that of Dermot Mulroney. Wow, first of all he is really gorgeous. Next, his role understands women so well. I am the girl who liked Made of honor, Naughty or nice (2012), Holiday in Handcuffs. If you liked those then you will like this movie as well.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie!

8/10
Author: i_am_enlightened from United States
19 October 2009

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is one of my all time favorite romantic comedies. Debra Messing and Dermot Mulroney are great in it, and they have good chemistry together.

Kat decides to hire male escort Nick to accompany her to her sister's wedding, where her ex is the best man. It seems like the movie is going to follow a predictable plot but there's a great twist at the end of the movie that makes it worth while.

Kat and Nick's relationship is fun to watch as well as Kat's relationship with her family, especially her sister Amy.

This movie might not have a very high rating here on IMDb but I highly recommend it! It's enjoyable, has great romance and romantic chemistry, and a great twist. It also has a lot of funny elements that round out the movie well.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 25: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history