IMDb > Buddy (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Buddy More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 24 reviews in total 

20 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

great in its simplicity

Author: FilmLabRat
19 January 2004

An absolutely awesome movie, Buddy takes the audience into the lives of three guys in a flat who end up on television with convoluted consequences. Their lives will never be the same, and only the discovery of true loyalty and redemptive friendship can make the situation and experiences into something positive. The transformation is quite moving and the characters seem very real, everyday people. Equally interesting, the film crosses documentary with cinema story to interface and comment on "reality TV." Kudos.

In spite of the seeming capitulation to Hollywood-style romance and happy endings - very uncharacteristic of Norwegian films - this is an outstanding story about status, using people, allegiance to success and stardom vs. allegiance to caring for human beings, especially friends. "Buddy" goes through somewhat annoying yo-yo relationships that need more definition and less reliance on fickle happenstance. The choices are not black and white, and the characters struggle in them. The topical relevance (to 'reality' TV) is especially poignant. In spite of the over-emphasis on finding romance and happiness in loyalty and responsibility, I give it 9/10. One of the most provocative, "real" yet uplifting European films of the year. Worth watching multiple times.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

norwegian good

Author: wickedandlazy from London
1 November 2003

Warm, humorous, boisterous, sensitive, naive and yes, maybe a little cliched, Buddy is a thoroughly enjoyable and fun film. I would highly recommend it.

If I'm honest, it wasn't a million miles from being yet another 'quirky' American teen feel-good film (American pie meets Jackass with a Graduate ending)... but, it would take a very cold and cynical heart not to warm to its eager and honest portrayal of wide eyed and bushy tailed Nowegian youth.

Despite some of the clumsy and obvious manipulations, it's got its heart in the right place... and if that's good enough for Stig, that's good enough for me.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

I'm glad i stayed up to see this

Author: whiteutopia from Australia
14 March 2006

I was originally planning to go to sleep but then i saw a few minutes of Buddy . I ended up watching it till past midnight. It's about three friends, Kristoffer, Geir & Stig Igne. They live in the "Toyen center " . More information from other comments. Buddy must be one the best heart-warming movies i've ever seen ! I didn't expect this much from a foreign film . I loved the characters , Kristoffer, Henriette, Geir & Stig Igne. They were all very unique and had some great characteristics. Nice acting and i especially loved the ending ! It was more than i expected ! It definitely put a smile on my face. I give it 9/10 and i certainly recommend it to those who would like to see some nice decent romance .

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Intriguing Movie...

Author: Anner from Australia
18 January 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I was channel surfing the other night and happened to stumble upon this movie. Firstly thinking it was a French movie I watched. When realizing it was Norwegian I watched on with intrigue. It was a very interesting movie about 3 friends, their rise to fame and the trials and obstacles of their very complex friendship. Funny how coincidences can change you life, or in this case Kristoffer's. Running away from authorities from yet another "JAckAss" style daredevil task, he drops some tapes. Unaware that TV executives have picked up these tapes, he goes on his day to day life in his dead end job as a board painter receiving the phone call that could change his life from an unknown being into a famous star.

Kristoffer, Stig Inge and Geir are in this partnership together and they go through their life of fame together. However Stig Inge has serious problems with life outside of his SHopping centre home and rarely makes it to these functions. Eventually Kristoffer finds himself alone at these functions with only him and the price of fame to blame.

At the end, Kristoffer does the honourable thing and realizes that fame is not worth throwing away valuable friendships for, and at the same time realizing who his true love is. Wonderful movie..fantastically sculpted a picture of what a friendship should be like.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:


Author: Faragrim from Ås, Norway
3 January 2004

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This must be one of the best movies that has been produced in Norway for a long, long time. Norwegian movies have had a big lift-up the last couple of years and "Buddy" is the proof of it. The movie is about three guys living together. Two of them, Kristoffer and Geir, are making a sort of video diary, where they do different stuff, like jumping out of windows in to big trash cans. This they "break into" TV2 (major Norwegian TV-Channel) to do. They get discovered and make a run for it. Kristoffer stumbles and drop a bunch of his tapes. A show-host sees one of these tapes and thinks it would be great mini to have in his show. He contacts the guys and the main story begins. In addition there's alot about Kristoffer's love life, Geir's problem with the fact (a fact he keeps hidden from everyone else) that he has a child with a girl he went to school with and the third roommate, Stig Inge, who has some problems leaving the immediate area around the flat.

When I first saw the trailer to the movie I thought it was just another lousy Norwegian film. But I changed my mind after my school went to see it. It may have many cliches(?), but it something about it that makes you look around them and truly enjoy the movie. It is indeed a great movie. You should see it.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Quite close to teenagers preferences

Author: muselk from Romania
8 May 2005

I'm really happy that i saw such a well-done movie not only because of the characters but also because of the soundtracks which fit perfectly with the main idea.I liked very much Stig Inge but of course Henriette and Kristoffer,they played with professionalism and had no hesitance in what concerns their roles.I'd say that European people can do great movies and it's not necessary for the American to come on with their ideas.When i first saw the movie i was amazed by how the actors did their "job",how they acted actually.It's not so easy to play roles like they did.They were chosen for this movie as well to send us a message,and only by their gesture you can easily say that young people live their lives intensely and without the fear of something happening.The message that i received was absolutely strong.Teenagers and those living their lives with their friends far from their parents should explore everything ,should live their every feeling and shouldn't care about people who just try to keep them away.There can be many other messages but maybe i have to watch for the 4th time the movie for a better understanding.Anyway it's worth to give 10!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Makes you cherish friendship

Author: Haakon Bunaes from Oslo, Norway
8 February 2004

Its not every day you see a movie that really gets under your skin! As said before , this movie is so charming with its simplicty! A must-see for everyone with an intressed in real life, and not only the 007 world. Enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Touching and warmly acted despite a forced plot and some feelgood manipulation

Author: secondtake from United States
30 December 2012

Buddy (2003)

A quirky low budget film with a strain of realism holding its absurdity together. There are some implausible twists of plot, and a general feeling that it could have been both more poignant and more tightly edited. But it is most of all very sweet, and because of that it's touching and a nice film, something to watch with expectations in check.

The key here is really the straight forward storytelling style, the ordinary camera-work, the feeling that contemporary Norway looks and feels a bit like this. There is a sadness to a lot of it that seems forced and yet is moving. The romantic encounters are believable and just wrong and awkward enough to remind us of what it was like to be 20-something and completely tossed around in relationships.

In fact, the best of this movie--two or three of the leading actors, for starters--is so good and natural you only wish it had the rest of its act in order. But then, if you make it to the end, you'll either smile or cry because you'll be a bit attached to the actors by then. Fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

I am into foreign films and this was interesting because i haven't really seen too much out of Norway.

Author: Bremner Roberts from Anaheim, Ca.
7 August 2007

I ordered this movie on Netflix, when i was looking through the foreign section. I didn't really know what it was about but i was willing to give it a chance. I ended up digging it and thinking that it is a pretty cool story of friendship and adversity that you go through with real friends. Then i realized that i recognized one of the characters, the one named Geir. i realized that i had seen another one of his movies (from Netflix), about a week earlier called UNO. I would recommned this movie because it is not too heavy but yet you are invested in the story and the characters and want to see how everything ends up. Anyway, i hope this helps.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Norwegian "jackasses"

Author: Chad Shiira from
11 September 2008

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"It's just like "Jackass", but with a heart," describes the television producer about his latest discovery, a video diary documenting the exploits of three twenty-something bachelors in varying states of arrested development, that he wants to premiere as a new segment on some daytime talk show. But before the host signs off on his boss' latest concept, he asks Kristoffer(Nicolai Cleve Broche) if Stig Inge(Anders Baasmo Christiansen), an agoraphobic, will be able to withstand the attention and public scrutiny that a television personality unconditionally merits. Sensing the truth about his roommate's neurosis as being a potential deal-breaker, Kristoffer agrees with his employer's coercive assertion that Stig Inge is only acting, just like any person in the reality TV genre.

For now, the gig is a boom for Kristoffer, but it's only delaying the inevitable reckoning; that fateful day he compares his younger self on videotape with the face staring back at him in the mirror. Before this stroke of luck, Elisabeth(Jane Formoe), a partner at a PR firm, breaks up with Kristoffer soon after he resists her gentle needling that he commit more fully to their relationship? And who can blame her? When she visits Kristoffer to get her house key back, he's playing table hockey with Geir(Aksel Hennie) in a residence more suitable for young adults fresh out of college. Suddenly without a girlfriend, Kristoffer realizes that he and Geir need careers(they hang advertisements on billboards), but before this epiphany has a chance to really sink in, the television station calls and growing up is put on hold.

Borrowing a page from Swedish filmmaker Lars Von Trier, this Norwegian production has an English title. While "Buddy" is not a caustic film by any means, Norwegian culture has clearly been subordinated by American popular culture in the lives of Kristoffer and Geir, whose work is clearly derived from the MTV reality show starring Johnny Knoxville. Just like a real American, these two Norwegian males seem to have fallen into an interminable adolescence. After Geir jumps out of a five-story window, American rock music(in the alternative vein) accompanies Kristoffer's escape from the TV station's security-men. Those dropped tapes lead to their "Jackass"-inspired antics being aired to public acclaim, an endorsement of American's worst excesses, which makes jackasses out of the Norwegian people. Although Kristoffer is essentially the same "Charlie's Angels" t-shirt-wearing layabout he was before the split, Elisabeth returns to him, despite the fact that's he's getting his money for nothing; despite the fact of being a real jackass when he betrays Geir by airing his personal life to the viewing public.

While shooting a group of kids kicking around a soccer ball, Kristoffer finds Geir's kid among the assembling bodies. The stuntman can longer hold back the years. When Kristoffer points his camera towards Geir on some high scaffolding, we realize that his daredevil work is an act of fatalism, not bravery, or rather, post-bravery that stems from having a death wish. While the sequence of this drama unravels, Kristoffer expressed his own maturity through film-making. This time, Geir's derring-do has a context, unlike previous stunts that revealed nothing about this secret father except his own apparent stupidity. Context is what Kristoffer needed, too. Henriette(Pia Tjelta) gives the filmmaker context, whom he freezes on his display panel. Adulthood transformed Kristoffer's aesthetics, now it'll transform his life.

Grilled by another talk show host about how Kristoffer's films continue to exploit a mentally-disturbed man, the talk show host defends himself by insisting that Stig Inge is an actor. To help ward off further criticism, the friendly introvert consents to a live appearance, and predictably, he freezes in front of the camera. Although "Buddy" lays the blame on Kristoffer for bamboozling the producer and host, it's hard to believe that people in the television industry would care one way or another if Stig Inge was an actor or not. It's all about ratings, not ethics. "Buddy" wants to show that Norwegian television is more ethical than American television, so it makes Kristoffer the scapegoat when Stig Inge melts down. To calm his subject down, the filmmaker becomes a friend, and sings a soccer fight song to relieve Stig Inge of all the attention. In this moment, Kristoffer comes full circle; he's a different man from that other guy who filmed his subject outside the grocery store, unable to pick up a soda can that rolled past his safety zone.

Kristoffer loses his show, and just in time. He can't be a jackass for the rest of his life.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
Newsgroup reviews External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history