IMDb > Whitecoats (2004) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Intern Academy
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Whitecoats More at IMDbPro »Intern Academy (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 23 reviews in total 

20 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

Funny movie deserved a better shot

8/10
Author: dave-1232 from Winnipeg
4 October 2004

First of all, let me say that I was one of the few people in the theater the weekend this came out and that surprised me because, although this is not the best movie ever made, it was far from the worst. Without a Paddle is a good example of what I'm talking about. Intern Academy was WAY funnier that that movie and WAY more people went to see that piece of crap. So how come so few people came out to see Intern Academy? I guess it's the usual Canadian thing where a Canadian Distributor thinks if they put fifty bucks into promoting something, they've given it their best shot. Well too bad for Intern Academy because it deserved better. Starting with the title which put it in a league with Police Academy which has now produced 6 or 7 movies and, as always is the case, the farther down the sequel line they go, the worse the movies become. So giving it that title was definitely a bad idea. I read an interview where Dave Thomas said he didn't like that title and it was forced on him by the distributor. Figures. Also where were the TV commercials? I didn't see a single one. And the ad in the paper was pathetic. I almost didn't go when I saw that tiny little ad because it made me think that they were ashamed of it. All in all, the cast was good and although there were some gratuitous sex jokes and gory parts, the movie had a nice likable tone to it. The girls were cute and the guys were okay (I'm not gay). And the older doctors played by Thomas, Dan Aykroyd, Dave Foley and Maury Chakin were pretty good. I had a lot of laughs which is more than I can say for a lot of American movies that I have seen in the past few years. I would say go check it out, but the movie is gone from the theaters already. Too bad. It deserved a better shot.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Not Strange Brew 2 but has some good laughs

Author: Jawsphobia from Toronto, Ontario
12 September 2004

This movie will be dismissed for political reasons. There are a few laughs at the expense of characters that certain reviewers want to see only in an elevated light. But Intern Academy as a film improves as it goes along. The look is at first kind of washed out, but eventually there are some more pleasing sets. I had heard this was shot on video, but I could not tell as I watched it opening day. Purely, I supported it because Dave Thomas deserves a hit, and he has the same birthday as me. Also, I appreciate his critical views of the media in his interviews for this film. I do think that he miscast himself a little bit in this film. Although Danny is shown in his requisite sunglasses and banging a drum in one scene, he and Thomas should have switched characters. He might be more believable as a cold authority figure teaching students and rattling off lists of maladies, whereas Dave Thomas is best as kind of a weasel or prankster or buffoon - which is especially evident when he runs. Dave Foley is right on the money as a smug, egotistical heart specialist, though it is jarring to see him in gray hair - especially because it is believable.

The movie likes to wallow, and the organ storage fight is a bit unbelievable, as is the mouth examination scene which contains Maurey Chaykin's excellent cameo performance. That character could have been more central, accidentally embarrassing people. Even though the girl who is embarrassed would have known better. Good enough, and especially welcome as a Canadian film that is just funny and not pretentious.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Not what I expected, but entertaining.

7/10
Author: kersus from Canada
14 June 2005

I was expecting a lot more comedy with Dave Thomas, Dave Foley and Dan Ackroyd, but instead watched a simple entertaining movie done with a light atmosphere. It certainly makes fun of being an intern and will make you laugh out a few times. What it isn't is a laugh a minute.

Certainly the actors who play the set of interns the movie is mostly about all have bright futures ahead of them. Most notably Christine Chatelain, Jane McLean, and Peter Oldring. I'd be remiss if I didn't add the head nurse - Linda Boyd. Of course the three stars I named at the start of this review all did fantastic jobs. The others certainly had their moments of comedy.

Everyone is excellent in their parts and while it's not an overly dynamic movie, it's worth seeing with some popcorn when you're in a mood for light comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Second City takes on National Lampoon

6/10
Author: thesociety from San Pedro
26 January 2005

This movie was a lot better than I thought it would be. This film was killed by critics who were obviously expecting a lot more. Expecting not much at all because of those reviews, it became apparent this movie deserved far better. Every joke was great, the setup and executions were flawless. Dave Thomas' character was very strong, not the idiocy I expected. The main cast of new interns all did a quality job, and I'm looking forward to seeing them all in the future in other endeavors. There was some very intelligent sketching going on. It peaks near a moment when an intern must inform a family of failed operation resulting in death. This joke was long, drawn out and agonizingly funny in a Fawlty Towers sort of way. Then it instantly shifts back to low-brow slapstick. This can be disconcerting for some, but they throw so many jokes at you so fast, you quickly get right into their groove. This is polished comedy brought to you by the masters of the craft.

What wasn't so great was the movie part. They spent the whole budget on the cast, because the set and the costumes all looked "C" grade, maybe even porn movie bad. Dan Akroyd as the partying hospital administrator had me thinking he was skimming hospital funds, right from the beginning, but that is not the case. His character needed just a few lines of justification for his lifestyle and it would be easier to identify with. Matt Frewer's character was interesting, but bordering on unbelievable. They probably cut his believability in favor of outrageousness.

If you are a fan of modern National Lampoon movies, then you should see this one, it's much better. This isn't a "Classic", but it's a great movie to put on when you've brought friends home after a night at the pub.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

I Loved This Movie

8/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
22 August 2007

The St. Albert's Teaching Hospital, considered the worst in the public health system and administrated by the corrupt Dr. Cyrill Kipp (Dan Aykroyd), receives a new group of interns: the clumsy Mike Bonnert (Peter Oldring), whose parents are prominent doctors and forced him to study in medical school; the wolf Dale Dodd (Pat Kelly), who has come to the hospital to meet women and falls in love for the nurse Cynthia Skyes (Lynda Boyd); Marlon Thomas (Viv Leacock), who like to play pranks with his mates; Mira Towers (Ingrid Kavelaars), who aims to be a great surgeon; Christine Lee (Jane McLean), a very efficient student and promising doctor; and Mitzi Cole (Christine Chatelain), who works as stripper to pay for her medical school and becomes Mike's girlfriend. Leaded by Sarah Calder (Carly Pope), the group spends the year learning how to become medical doctors in an environment of lots of confusion.

I loved the unknown and underrated "Intern Academy". The silly story s hilarious, with many politically incorrect gags and jokes about urban legends in a public hospitals, like for example, the corrupt administrator that sells the equipment to raise money; or the student with sperm in her mouth; or the colostomy bag exploding in the face of an intern; or the arrogant doctor; or the lack of respect with the corpse of a John Doe; or the man that arrives with a doll in his rectum; or the promiscuous woman with herpes and other sexual diseases kissing the guy she has just met in the waiting room. There are many other jokes, but one of my favorites is the stupid Ukrainian charwoman that unplugs the life support system of patients to plug the floor polisher. Another one that I laughed a lot is when the clumsy Mike Bonnert goes to the waiting room where three families are waiting news about their beloved relative and Mike commits a series of mistakes. The team of actresses is extremely beautiful and sexy and the actors are very funny. I did not feel the 98 minutes running time; actually I expected to have more. I really recommend this movie for days where the viewer is down or upset to relax. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "Os Estagiários" ("The Interns")

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Abysmally Awful

1/10
Author: macgyver-22 from Victoria, BC, Canada
16 September 2004

First let me say, I'm a big fan of SCTV, Kids in the Hall, Newsradio etc. I think Dave Foley, Dave Thomas and Dan Akroyd are very talented comedians, and I have enjoyed most, if not all, of their work up until now (see "The Wrong Guy"). I'm a proud Canadian because, in part, of the contribution these people have made to the entertainment industry in general.

However, this film is a black spot on their collective record. People will no doubt think that "I didn't get it", or "I'm not taking it in the spirit it was intended". This couldn't be farther from the truth.

Sadly, this was quite possibly one of the worst films I have ever seen, and one of the very few I have ever walked out of. I went to it on a free pass, so I'm not even angry that it cost me money. I didn't walk out of it on the grounds that I was offended or upset but because I couldn't convince myself that there was any reason to stay. Normally, if a movie is poor, I would sit through it just to "see how it ends". In this case, because of a complete lack of plot, there simply was no reason for this film to exist. Juvenile humour and gags so predictable it felt like you'd watched this as a 12 year old, and were viewing it for a second time as an adult. Cardboard performances of 'cue card' dialogue reminiscent of a failing SNL skit. Interspersed with suddenly serious and gory bits of "ER" action. I could go on, but I've already put more thought and writing effort into this comment than went into the film. Stay away from this rotting pile of exploded colostomy bags, for the sake of the children.....

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Crappy movie

1/10
Author: lesleybl9 from United States
22 September 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It is a big insult to Scrubs to even say that there are similarities. Scrubs has quality writing and quality acting, which are both SO lacking in this movie. It's as if Dave Thomas opened a medical book and tried to piece together a comedy from it. Does that even sound funny? NO! As a doctor, the medical inaccuracies were mind numbing to me. Do you want your surgeon to NOT wear a mask while operating? Yeah, let's get a little spit on that heart to shine it up. Heck, do you think it even feasible for a NON-surgical intern to magically do brain surgery? Something that takes at least 7 years for a neurosurgeon to master? And no, it is NOT an EKG in the operating room, it's a freakin' HEART MONITOR! Do a little homework and be creative with how you present those urban legends! Really, I can forgive medical errors from non-medical writers, but aside from that, this was just a stupid movie. I'd rather watch Dude Where's My Car again!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

I didn't think a movie about interns could be so boring.

1/10
Author: breenj2 from Canada
19 January 2006

Alas, how mistaken I was to think this movie would be funny, or even remotely interesting.

The only strong feeling was towards the main douchebag, Bonnert. He filled me with a rage I haven't felt since Cabin Boy. The only relief was banging my head against the walls.

Perhaps is this movie could decide if it wanted to be a comedy or drama, rather than garbage, it could have worked. Their were too few laughs for a comedy, and not enough caring about the characters for a drama.

My favourite part of the movie was the end.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Poorly done, but fun for local theatre buffs

3/10
Author: Merlin-62 from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
20 June 2005

This was a very poorly done movie; the comedy was forced, the script was cliché and the characters were wooden. Surprisingly, some of the worst performances were done by the best known actors (Dan Aykroyd, Dave Thomas, Dave Foley). It was almost literally painful to sit through the whole movie while my intelligence was consistently flogged and insulted.

The only redeeming factor of this movie is that anyone who is a fan of local Edmonton live theatre will have fun picking out some very familiar faces. Neil Grahn, Ron Pederson, David Belke (without his trademark beard), Julien Arnold, Coralie Cairns, Davina Stewart and many other well known Edmonton actors & actresses have bit parts or cameo appearances in this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

Author: Mark from Canada
29 April 2005

of all the movies i have ever seen this ranks in the top ten and no i'm not kidding. complete overlooked for some reason this movie by dave thomas of sctv and grace under fire fame .... not to mention the uber cult classic strange brew ... deserves a better shot. catch it on movie channels or rent or buy it on DVD and video because there is nos shortages of laughs in this movie. who says comedy in canada film comedy films is dead? i'm no expert but this I know what makes me laughs and this had me rolling on the floor for several minutes at a time and not just when i saw it but after wards just thinking about some of the hilarious situation and great dialog between characters. lots of recognizable Canadian talent and greatly written by the legendary dave thomas look out for this film.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history