IMDb > The Squid and the Whale (2005) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Squid and the Whale
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Squid and the Whale More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 24: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 232 reviews in total 

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Great casting, disappointing and predictable

2/10
Author: grahammorrison12 from United Kingdom
30 December 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I had very high hopes about this film, i watched Greenberg last night and really enjoyed that so i thought that i would check out The Squid and the Whale. After hearing mostly positive reviews i was fairly certain i would appreciate this. The film felt like it lasted a lot longer than it did, i kept checking the time-line to see how much more of the film i had to watch, as i found myself asking "surely thats been 80 minuets now. it was also very hard to connect with, feel sorry or even like any of the characters with the exception of Sophie and the cat. in saying this i am not saying that the cast were bad quite the opposite, hat goes of to Daniels i thought he was terrific its just a shame he was playing such an ass-hole of a character. As the film went on i wasn't even having to think about how it was going to unfold, i felt i could have just watched the first 30 minuets of the film and could figure the rest of it out.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

muddy plot yet great acting

6/10
Author: oprahhhhhhh from United States
24 July 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Despite the fine performances of all actors in The Squid and the Whale, the strength of this movie is overshadowed by the outrageous and underdeveloped plot line. The story is about two brothers, Walt and Frank Berkman, whose parents, Bernard and Joan, are going through a very difficult divorce. Throughout the ordeal, each child slowly moves towards one of the parents. Walt, pushed away from his mother when Bernard reveals that she had countless affairs, becomes his father, taking up his idioms, demeanor and literary criticisms. Frank also encountersa change, talking crudely, drinking alcohol and masturbating in school. Eventually, both parents move toward other people, however brief the encounters may be. In the end, Bernard collapses outside his old apartment after being rejected by his ex-wife, and Walt realizes that he truly does love his mother. Despite the blatantly crude story, the plot is very underdeveloped. As the only conflict that is solved in the end is the one between Walt and his mother, that should be what the rest of the movie should focus on, right? Actually, the rest of the movie deviates into other tangents, only briefly touching on the point that Joan truly does love her son. The only thing that makes up for the characters' horrid nature is the actors, who superbly made each one of them come to life. I give this movie a six

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Whale Chewing Squid Frightens Child

9/10
Author: mike rice (mike235@charter.net) from Sparta, Wisconsin 54656
6 March 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Jeff Daniels and Laura Linney play husband and wife Bernard and Linda Berkman. They live in Park Slope in Brooklyn. Both are PHDs in their forties. Bernie has had a couple of novels published and teaches at a local college. His wife apparently stays home with their two boys.

The dilemma of the two boys, Walt, roughly 15, and Frank, 11, is that their folks are breaking up and they aren't making it easy on their two kids. In fact, they're making it very hard.

There will be two homes, and each kid will switch to the other parents house each day. It is never discussed but that means the two boys never get to live together. The screenplay never even presents this as a problem for the two boys.

Bernie immediately strikes the audience as totally selfish and self-serving, and his oldest son Walt is his totally naive acolyte. When Bernie says Kafka's Metamorphosis is the ultimate book, Walt peddles the same stuff to a potential girlfriend. His high school counselor detects instantly that he has not read the book or any of the others he claims knowledge of. But Bernie develops self-serving alibis for Walt, like he does for himself, which is probably why Bernie's career as a novelist ended in his twenties.

The two parents are mostly unaware their kids are falling apart emotionally. Frank is still a kid but he has begun masturbating in elementary school and wiping the residue on selected girls' lockers. His brother has presented a song to an audience at a high school talent contest as his own, when it is really the work of a famous member of a rock group.

Walt is having trouble at Dad's too. Bernie has mostly resisted the potential groupie students in the literature courses he teaches. But then he finds out about the affairs Linda has been having with men in the neighborhood, even the kids' lame tennis teacher Ivan, played by William Baldwin.

Bernie invites one of the more forward groupies at the college to live temporarily at the house. Walt has a high school girl roughly his own age he is working on, but his father's student is starting to rouse him too.

Meanwhile, Frank, though only 11, has begun to drink beer and whiskey, and both kids swear and use foul language in front of both their parents. The key thing here is the two boys are losing it more each day and all Bernie can do is try and poison Walt against Linda. Linda too is unaware of the disintegration of her two boys. She's got a career to run.

It all comes to a head when Walt confesses to the school counselor that he used to like his mother some when they watched Robin Hood together on television, and when she reassured him after he saw the picture of an enormous whale swallowing the squid at the Museum of Natural History. He liked her before his brother Frank was born. A light bulb goes off in the heads of the audience but the school counselor still looks a little clueless.

Bernie is now so out of it with loss, he comes to Linda's house and asks if she would consider having him back. Linda laughs at this but the kids, both of them present, begin to wise up to the mendacity of their father and the new emerging confidence of their Mom. While Bernie's career is in limbo, Linda publishes a novel Bernie warned she would never be able to complete, and gets a short story published in the New Yorker.

Bernie's behavior is transparent to the audience throughout the movie. He is a total user, but Frank has sided with his mother and Walt with his Dad.

I was laughing at Bernie and Linda, mostly Bernie, though Linda has many moments too. The two parents were letting their kids regularly insult them, but when 15 year old Walt calls his mom a bitch, even Linda is alarmed and complains. This is when the two kids start to realize their parents particularly Bernie, have clay feet. Walt stops listening to his father, though Bernie has collapsed in the street from something and has had to be taken to a hospital by ambulance.

When the kids realize Bernie has been using them, the recovery is underway. Now that they know it isn't they who are screwed up, the two boys can begin to recover.

The film was written and directed by Noah Baumbach, whose parents himself and his brother are the subjects of this true story. Jeff Daniels gives his best performance ever, Laura Linney is fearless as Bernie's distraught wife. The two young actors who play the sons come close to breaking the hearts of the audience toward the end. The film is not a tragedy, its a tragicomedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Wow This Must Be Deep

5/10
Author: scafeets from United States
23 December 2005

It doesn't happen often; but every once in a while, a movie comes along where you dislike every single character. This is one of the few distinctions The Squid and the Whale enjoys. It's hard to make a grade school kid vile and creepy, but director Noah Baumbach accomplishes this and much more. Said to be autobiographical, his cruelty to the family unit is matched by liberal doses of self-loathing and a penchant for making the movie audience squirm. If you like your movies as a slice-of-life, maybe this is for you. Portraying a dysfunctional family going through a divorce, you'll never pick a side since both parties to the disunion are completely repugnant, self-centered and insufferable in equal doses. There's no witty dialog, no action, no interesting cinematography, very little humor -- just familial bickering in a familiar setting. And one of the all-time worst soundtracks you'll ever sit through, with the exception of Pink Floyd's "Hey You" which is pretty much the redundant high point for this film. Allegedly but anachronistically set in 1986, the movie wastes fine acting performances by Jeff Daniels and Jesse Eisenberg, who can't save this slag heap of a story. Run,don't walk to another theater.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Pointless

1/10
Author: barlowralph from United States
23 January 2014

If there was any particular point to be made, or lesson to be learned from this movie, it was obscured to the point of being entirely unrecognizable. The five most prominent characters in the story are uniformly without any kind of appeal, and seem to have only their own narcissistic egotistical requirements in view. There is nothing here to suggest that the viewer should have any kind of empathy or sympathy for any of these people. The dialogue was generously peppered with f***s and sh**s and god-dammits which only served to diminish my already-low interest. I only stayed to the end with this movie because I kept hoping there was something more to it. There wasn't. It was a waste of my time.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

a winner - and i don't know exactly why

9/10
Author: zif ofoz from United States
6 May 2013

there is no 'plot' to this wonderful indie flick! it's just a look at a family falling apart and the parents unwilling to meet the other half-way and the negative and positive effects on the children.

this is one of those movies you can watch over and over and over and always find something new and interesting in the dialog and the character each actor portrays. the more you watch the more complex each member of this family becomes. it is almost as if you must view the film once for each character in the four member family.

each one learns a lesson about himself and just growing up living daily life in a upper middle class and possibly over educated family.

i enjoyed this movie for many reasons!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A Family Divided

8/10
Author: claire-cec from United States
12 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

My parents have been together since they were freshmen in high school, so it is always interesting for me to witness the dynamic of a split family. Sure my family isn't perfect, in fact my father was away working for most of my childhood, but it has never been quite as dysfunctional as the family Noah Baumbach so lovingly portrays in this film.

The film has a stellar storyline with its dark dialogue and its spurts of comedic relief, and just its total reality. But the actors are what really make this film. Laura Linney is one of the best, under-appreciated actresses in holiday, and Jeff Daniels has this amazing way of playing a totally likable A**hole. And let's not forget Jesse Eisenberg and Owen Kline's amazing performance as messed up kids. All of the actors/characters really suck you in, and make you feel like you are experiencing their pain first hand. It is awesome.

Funny, dark, depressing and so accurate, this movie takes you inside the war zone that is a divided family, and magically, you come out unscathed. Watch. Learn. Enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Baumbach takes a major step forward as a filmmaker with this film.

8/10
Author: G K from Mars
11 May 2010

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The film is bitterly funny about divorce, it's even sharper and more original about intellectuals and their discontent. Two teenage boys in 1980s Brooklyn watch with horror as their writer parents' once happy marriage slowly collapses into bitterness. After their split, the boys are coerced into taking sides.

The Squid And The Whale is a coming-of-age story as well as an account of a failing marriage; superlatively well-acted, with Jeff Daniels and Laura Linney in peak form. Director Noah Baumbach also wrote the perceptive, acutely observed and loosely autobiographical script, which is wonderfully literate and witty.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Whale meat again, don't know where, don't know when....

6/10
Author: bobgeorge1 from Cambridgeshire, England
7 August 2007

Noal Baumbach has directed this auto-biopic set in Brooklyn and telling the story of a wrenching divorce. Jeff Daniels as the arrogant, self obsessed downwardly mobile Father is excellent; this film would have been awful with Bill Murray in the lead as it would have been too hard to separate the actor from the character. Laura Linney as the wife is also rather good in playing her gently emotional part as Counterpoint to her husbands Intellectual snobbery.

Its quite difficult to believe that such people exist; I guess that one of the values of film is that it opens up the possibility of other worlds. Brooklyn in 1986 is a complete mystery to me; I know I was in New York in 1981 when I first discovered that people might have a coffee on their way into work. But a world so filled with language I still find slightly unbelievable. Even when playing tennis or table tennis there is an endless aggressive chatter going on.

I am even more in awe knowing that this is a film about the actual Directors life events. I have no experience of divorce; nor of a world of words; nor of children so confident in voicing their opinions. In fact, now I think of it, I have never encountered a squid.

So, quite a success all round. Well, if one is looking at it from across the pond.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Quick word on movie and the special features

9/10
Author: grappleandstrike from United Kingdom
27 June 2007

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As there little to nothing left to add about this film (many of the comments above are excellent), I thought I would include a quick word on the special features of the DVD.

I thought the film was excellent and was superb on the three most important levels to me: acting, writing, and mood. The characters were fantastic in their development and dialogue showing an usual ability to blend the writing and directing in such a way the actors also "get it".

Although the sets were unable to be completely transformed, they managed to convince me of the period and sold it very well.

The Pink Floyd song was great and the more I think of it, the more important that seems to me to the story.

However, a nice surprise with the DVD is the discussion of the film taken from a film festival. I really enjoyed the clip and think it is worth watching if you have only seen the film version and are a fan.

Excellent film and special features, a great DVD to rent.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 24: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history