IMDb > Motives (2004) (V) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Motives
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Motives (V) More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 14 reviews in total 

8 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

My thoughts on the movie Motives

Author: Doreatha Melancon (doreatha_mae@yahoo.com) from Redwood City, CA
17 October 2004

I thought that the movie was good. I feel that the story line could have been more developed, in some ways but overall it was a good and well written movie. It has some very interesting twists and turns that are very surprising, but make the movie that much better. Its full of suspense. Its a good mystery thriller.

I believe that is was beautiful to see African American people in a movie like this. Instead of seeing the typical, gangster movie or comedy or a movie showing the black struggle. It was just good to see a mystery, a smart film that was just about how life can be, not so much about race. I hope to see many more movies like this.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie!

9/10
Author: knights7894 from United States
7 April 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I thought this was a well thought out screenplay not at all the run of the mill black film. I was totally surprised at the end. The only hint was the hug scene between the wife and the lawyer friend while Emery was coming from the police station, other than that there was very little foreshadowing. There were a lot of heavy hitters in this one. Vivica did an excellent job.The love scenes were a little corny especially since sexy sexy Shemar was the lover I would have loved to see the love scenes be little more natural. I was also surprised that there was not a love scene between Shemar and Vivica. There was an abundance of mystery in this. I recommend everyone see this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

A Black Bold and the Beautiful Soap Opera

Author: Jamie
19 March 2004

Motives is a souped up soap opera with a restricted rating due to graphic sexual content, more sex with a little violence thrown in . Everyone looked so pretty and the life these fine people lived definately makes you want to covet. It was an interesting film just easily one read like a Soap Opera hyped up in its own melodrama.

Emery Sims played by pretty boy Shamar Moore, is just that, a pretty boy who owns a restaurant business who's very wealthy and respected in the community. When a consensual affair goes wrong along with a murder investigation pending, Sims world begans to spiral down. But as the events unfold Sims begins to question the ones closest to him including his most trusted wife played by Vivica Fox. I thought her perfomance was bland in this movie as they made her into the attractive yet subdued nagging wife.

So yes its been done before and its all acting. Need I say two of Young and the Restless' (Moore and Rowell) were plucked from this sitcom. I also found the beginning subplot unnecessarily used for this story. I do however support the rise of more all star casts of African Americans in films whether their backed independently or not. I just wished that the storylines weren't so confined to stereotypes and overdone material. There's no slighting of the actors because I'm a fan of Fox and Rowell. And let's not forget the knockout performance from Mr. Joe Torrey himself. Just lose the material. You have a potential fan waiting.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

motives

6/10
Author: nthnybayon from detroit michigan
21 April 2006

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I think this movie was OK, not superb but not bad either. Everyone seems to be so attractive in this film and it reminds me of the Bold and the Beautiful. i was most amazed by Shemar Moore in this film because he proved that he is more than a pretty face. I think he is the sexiest guy on this planet for real, i wish he had a younger brother that looked exactly like him. The acting from everyone was great. It was good seeing Keisha Knight Pulliam after such a long time. she has grown up into a Beautiful Black Women and i hope i see her in more movies. Joe Torry was the comedian of the film, he was great. vivica Fox is one talented Beautiful Black women so i wasn't really surprised by her excellent performance. I just hope there will be a part 2. One thing i didn't understand was if vivica was plotting against her husband the whole time or not.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Motives-where has it been??

9/10
Author: trina1979 from United States
8 October 2006

This movie was absolutely superb!! The plot line was very interesting and kept you guessing the whole time. The acting was very well done, I can't believe we hadn't heard about this film before. The end was great and of course, completely a surprise. As I said before, it kept you guessing the whole time. By surprise, I found this film at my local video rental store, never heard of it and decided to give it a try. Boy, did I luck out!! I can't believe that this wasn't in theaters, and if it was, only for a short time with little or no publicity. Give this film a try, it would be well worth your rental fee! My husband did not get to see it all the way through and we plan to watch it again so he can see the whole thing! It would be well worth a look, I would strongly recommend this movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

What was the MOTIVE for making this mess?

2/10
Author: crmycoco-31720 from USA
4 February 2017

Unlike some reviewers who didn't like this movie because it has an all black cast, I liked it BECAUSE it had an all black cast that wasn't singing, dancing or rapping, or being portrayed as drug addled ghetto trash. I like seeing black ppl in "normal" stories about lust, murder, money and revenge. However, this is where my praise ends.

THIS MOVIE SUCKED THE HOT AIR OUT OF ALL BALLOONS EVERYWHERE!!!!!

I'm not sure if it was the plot, the sophomoric acting or the lazy direction, but this film sunk to the bottom of cinematic trash and all the king's horses and all the king's men could not save it.

Personally, I think Vivica A. Fox is above this kind of straight to video crap, but if it pays the bills...whatever. Do you boo!

The scenery was beautiful and should be nominated for an Oscar, however.

If you've nothing better to do on a lazy Saturday afternoon...maybe you want to get your taxes done to some background noise...then this might be the film for you. Otherwise, you'd be better off checking out L.A. Confidential or The Devil in the Blue Dress for any kind of cinematic satisfaction.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Good, but not Great, Sexy Urban Suspense Thriller.

7/10
Author: notdefpoetryjam from United States
1 March 2006

This film is the product of a group of talented African American writers and Film makers based out of Atlanta who have collaborated on films such as Trois, Trois : Pandora's Box, The Gospel and Trois : The Escort. The Movie while high on sex appeal with great cinematography and Rain Forest films patented threesome scene, was a bit overdone in its plot there was a bit more intrigue than was necessary for the film. Without giving away too much in the first scene of the film Shemar Moore's character, Emery Simms, our protagonist murders someone, in a poorly shot, cheesy fight scene, which honestly lowered the quality of the of an otherwise well made film. Although they try to integrate this into the rest of the film, the movie could have been executed well without it. Especially since Emery Simms' unabated womanizing draws the viewer in and drives the plot for much of the movie, until it seems to backlash against him

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Entire talented cast!

7/10
Author: dskuku from India
12 January 2006

One of the outcomes of the struggle Black actors in Hollywood obviously face (judging from their relative absence on the screen) is that one can afford to have an entire cast of actors who can actually act. Much that comes out of the mainstream film industry is that a star or two leads of relatively unseasoned, mediocre cast of pretty faces. Films such as this, with a notably soap-operaish plot, brighten the screen and captivate out interests because of the talent of so many talented actors on one screen, in one film. It's was an experience to see seasoned actors play off one another, feeding viewers desire to see what would happen next. And Vivica Fox is just fierce. Shemar Moore and most of the others are fine, too!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Pride comes before a fall

5/10
Author: Matt Kracht (krachtm@yahoo.com) from New York
13 March 2013

The plot: An arrogant businessman tries to hold on to his charmed life after an ill-advised affair threatens to bring down everything.

Motives is a low budget, direct-to-video erotic thriller. Erotic thrillers often end up being half gritty noir and half soft-core porn, and Motives isn't any different. The noir element was fairly straightforward if a bit derivative, with a pretty decent twist at the end. However, the sex scenes were so unconvincing and amateurish that I almost laughed. I've seen better sex scenes in made-for-cable movies back in the 1980s when there was nothing else to watch after midnight.

Motives has an all Black cast, which could be either viewed as a gimmick or an attempt to break out of the stereotypical "Black" movie. I think it's a bit of both, really. It's also got a soundtrack chock full of R&B ballads, which really didn't do anything for me. I prefer heavy metal or classical music. Given the movie's demographics, however, this is probably a better choice than Iron Maiden or Judas Priest.

Though it sometimes degenerates into soap opera melodrama, it always comes back to thriller territory eventually. If you're looking for an original, slick, and sexy thriller, Motives might not be the best choice. If you just want something to pass the time, it'll do.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

We need to have a part II to this great movie.

10/10
Author: boxterbabe1960 from United States
9 July 2007

This was one movie that kept me glued to my seat. I would recommend this as a must see to any movie buff. As a photographer, I loved the use of the lighting,how well it looked against the Atlanta skyline;that included one of the many famous red Georgia sunsets was breathtakingly beautiful. The one scene outside of the jail location shot in the parking garage was dark, mysterious and sinister. That was the turning point in the movie. There were some minor things that were not true to life. However, they did not take away from the quality of the movie.There must be a sequel to this awesome thriller. The cast of actors was an excellent choice.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history