IMDb > "Last Comic Standing" (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Last Comic Standing"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Last Comic Standing" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 15 reviews in total 

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Last Comic Standing is not what it appears to be

1/10
Author: Mama-C from Bensalem, PA USA
7 March 2010

I run a group to stop comedian exploitation and I just spent the past 2 months hearing horror stories from comedians who attempted to audition for, "Last Comic Standing." If they don't have a GOOD agent, then they don't even get a chance to audition so more than 80% of the comedians who turn up are rejected before they can show anyone that they have talent! If they do make it to an audition, I was told that it's "pre-determined" if they get a second chance. So what the TV audience sees is NOT the best comics in the US.

If the comics do make it to the show, then most of them don't get IMDb credits. I know this because I did the credits for all 6 seasons of, "Last Comic Standing" and I don't get paid for doing the Producers' job. It's really a disgrace. A month ago, I asked, "Last Comic Standing 7" on Facebook why the Producers aren't giving IMDb credits and I was banned from their Facebook Page!!! I am not a comedian so I do not have a personal stake in this. I just want people to know the truth. I don't like seeing ANYONE getting exploited and that's why I've been helping the comedians. Comedians get exploited on HBO, BET, TvOne and other cable networks but NBC is a BIG THREE network so those in charge should be ashamed of themselves for allowing this exploitation to happen.

Please watch this video of a comedian who was victimized: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RMb4-hyet_Y

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Who are they kidding?

Author: Xanadont
6 July 2004

These comics are just not very funny. Even Jay Mohr's material is pretty lame, and he is supposedly an established comic. I think he's a better actor than stand-up. I usually like him in films. And you know they edit everything down to just the best stuff, so it must be pretty painful to watch an entire taping. It just goes to show stand-up is a very tough thing to master. I know they have to fill up an hour, but the stupid Survivor type stuff is dumb. If the comics they chose were funnier, they could have an entire hour of routines and just vote like American Idol. But then they would have to have a helluva lot more material that was actually funny. It seems to me a stand up should have a solid half hour at least if they want to make a living at it. None of these qualify, except maybe the bald guy with the glasses. He's the only decent one on the show. As for the rest, they are real snoozers.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Best Reality Show On TV

Author: goleafs84 from Seattle, Washington
6 August 2003

Usually I'm not a fan of reality television, but I got into this show after the first episode. I'm a fan of stand-up comedy and this show had many quality comedians.

Dat Phan was energetic and great at physical comedy. I liked how he would sometimes open his act in "pigeon" English, then he would say, "I'm kidding, I speak English". What a great "ice breaker!"

Dave Mordal and "Don" Vos were a laugh riot. I especially loved Dave's idea for a pilot of a bunch of goofy, incompetent terrorists. I was laughing so hard when he described it, even if the "focus group" hated it. It cracked me up when they focused on Rich Vos, always ironing and when he would say "I stink".

I liked Raphie May's "angry" style of comedy and my sides were hurting from laughter when he was taking pot shots at Whitney Houston and Bobby Brown as he went head to head with Rob Cantrell.

Rob Cantrell was just plain goofy and I liked it. When he chose Ralphie, that took a lot of guts going up against the best in the house and you saw the respect he gained from it. I also liked it when he showed us his lava lamp and said this was the brain that told him he was going to be a "super funny comedian."

Cory Kahanie, Tess and Geoff Brown were funny as well. I liked Cory and her stories about her teenage daughter.

The last 2, Sean Kent; I don't really remember much of his stand-up routine, but Tere Joyce, I didn't find funny at all. She wasn't funny in the beginning and her "cha cha cha" I thought was very annoying.

When I look back at this show and the reason why I loved this and couldn't care for the other reality television shows, like any "Survivor" shows or "The Bachelorette" in comparison, because 5 years from now, will you actually remember any of the winners or care if Trista and whoever she chose will still be together? I doubt it.

Five years from now, I can see most of the 10 finalists moving on to bigger and better things in their comedic careers.

No pun intended, but Ralphie in my opinion has the potential of being the next big thing out of the whole group. Dat and Dave as well stood out.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly good!

Author: R B from Chicago
8 July 2003

I've been watching this show for a few weeks now and I'm surprised at how much it manages to keep my interest. Basically semi-famous comics from all over the US compete(d) for a chance to live in a house where one by one they're voted off by one another (standard gist of a reality show). There's all the usual backstabbing and teaming up and wolves-in-sheep-clothing type characters involved, however the genuinely funny contestants really give you a reason to watch. Worth watching at least for the comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Who are they kidding?

Author: Xanadont
6 July 2004

These comics are just not very funny. Even Jay Mohr's material is pretty lame, and he is supposedly an established comic. I think he's a better actor than stand-up. I usually like him in films. And you know they edit everything down to just the best stuff, so it must be pretty painful to watch an entire taping. It just goes to show stand-up is a very tough thing to master. I know they have to fill up an hour, but the stupid Survivor type stuff is dumb. If the comics they chose were funnier, they could have an entire hour of routines and just vote like American Idol. But then they would have to have a helluva lot more material that was actually funny. It seems to me a stand up should have a solid half hour at least if they want to make a living at it. None of these qualify, except maybe the bald guy with the glasses. He's the only decent one on the show. As for the rest, they are real snoozers.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Took 8 seasons to find a formula that is razor-sharp...

8/10
Author: A_Different_Drummer from North America
19 July 2014

Like its sister show AGT, LCS took a long time to get the formula right. The first season ended with Dat Phan winning .... whatever the judges were on that year, they should have shared some with the viewers at home. For season 8, the judges (as is the case with AGT) are finally functioning as a team (although one suspects Russell Peters is not quite as well known as he thinks he is, and seems occasionally lost, actually making this reviewer nostalgic for highly photogenic Natasha Legerro).

Unlike the case with Season 1, one suspects that, whoever actually wins, there will be multiple career breaks to go around. Joe Machi, for example, is the kind of creative spirit that most TV comedy show writing teams would kill for; Rod Man has a delivery so unique they could teach it in Comedy School and even then no one would be able to imitate it; and that self-conscious Canadian comic "who looks like a mannequin" comes across as a genuine diamond in the rough. Good TV!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great to see those comics, but gets repetitive

7/10
Author: SnoopyStyle
2 September 2013

This is a reality game show for standup comedians.

They have open auditions, then a panel of judges make their decision. As the number of contestants reduce, the size of the audience increase. Eventually one standup comedian is crowned Last Comic Standing.

It's great fun to see so many standups, both good and bad comics.

It's fun for a few seasons, but it just got repetitive.

It would have been better if they expand the comedy beyond just standup performances.

To have the same style of a comic standing on stage is too static, they need to add more spice.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Last Clown Standing

Author: Videomarathon in the olympics!!! from The Cold North
13 July 2008

Do you like stand up? Then stay away from this...

During the early rounds, there are in fact good comics, but unless they got some cute qualities, they got a snowballs chance. Any controversial material and you are OUT! ...and I think I hurt as much as the discarded comedians, when I see who the crooked judges are letting in.

1 out of my top 4 made it further than the preliminaries. Half+ of the finalists have given me 0 laughs. Several of them have lifted their material elsewhere, something the judges doesn't seem to have problems with.

It is more entertaining than a lot of what else is on TV, but incredibly hard to watch without contemplating what it could have been.

If the producers changed the name of the contest to "Last Clown Standing", all my criticism would loose validity. Maybe an idea?

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Funny reality series.

Author: MovieCriticMarvelfan from california
29 June 2004

Well technically this isnt a reality series, its a contest where 10 contestants compete with each other for a major booking and become the best comic around.

This time around we have "Ant" a funny gay comic, Corey, a black guy who is funny but has a temper. Bonnie McFarlane was pretty and funny but she got voted of the first night.

The competition is pretty funny, however not its getting ugly as it is with people forming alliances to save their own hide.

Nothing more degrading when people start backstabbing others to move a step higher up to a food chain, but apparently thats all these reality series are good for.

Still check it out.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

A well intentioned, but poorly executed entry into the humorless reality genre

Author: liquidcelluloid-1 from www.liquidcelluloid.blog.com
8 August 2004

Network: NBC; Genre: reality/game; Content Rating: TV-14 (for language); Classification: contemporary (Star range: 1 - 4)

Season Reviewed: Complete Series (2 seasons)

At it's concept, 'Last Comic Standing' is a respectable and welcome change of pace from the average network reality show. Finally, I thought. A show that isn't a popularity contest or self-indulgence in dating, but something based on substance and merit. Comics get eliminated by competing in literal head-to-head stand-offs on stage to get the most laughs. And it's a stand-up comedy show, so right there it would seem to have a leg up on the entirely humorless reality genera. However, in execution, 'LCS' is very different and sometimes tedious to watch. Like a dating contest where the entertainment relies of cat-fights, this show is only as entertaining and funny as the comics that are on it and unfortunately, many of them aren't that funny. They aren't that funny but even they upstage host Jay Mohr.

There are certainly comedians on this show that are funny and innovative, but to get to them we have to wade through a lot of bad ones, a lot of limp gags, stale acts and old punch lines. All the black comics talk about getting pulled over by the cops, all the white comics talk about being cops and pulling over black people and all the women talk about boyfriends that can't commit to marriage. Has the stand-up comedy scene really not changed at all in the last 20 or 30 years? The comics that are genuinely talented and innovative (Rob Cantrell, Ralphie May) usually get tossed off the show in the head-to-head matches by the idiots in the audience for someone simpler and more mainstream. In season 1 this ultimately lead to a disappointing ending in which the forced comedian-with-no-sense-of-humor Dat Phan won the whole thing more for his sob story background than doing the same act impersonating his mother over and over and over. The result was so irrevocable and lame for me that I don't care what happens in coming seasons.

There are a lot of unnecessary standard reality show elements here. What does it serve to isolate the comics in a house together? Why are there 'immunity challenges' if only to make it more blatant that NBC executive have no ideas and this show is cut from the exact same unoriginal cloth as 'Survivor'? Still, arguing over who is funniest is a more worthy endeavor than who will "get the guy". Well, I'll give NBC one thing. At least they are keeping this show exactly where reality shows belong - in the dead of summer.

* ½

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history