IMDb > New York Minute (2004/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
New York Minute
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
New York Minute More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 108 reviews in total 

39 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

Honestly, not THAT bad...

Author: gglader from Chicago, IL
12 May 2004

Taken for what it is, a pre-teen flick featuring the wealthiest 17-years olds in type-cast roles ever, the movie is not terrible. It's no work of art, nor will it be nominated for any awards, but it is entertaining, which is all anyone can expect it to be. It definitely isn't being advertised as anything else.

More than anything, it's silly and allows a girl to giggle at the crazy antics of two sisters caught up in more than they can handle in New York City. A fun story of mayhem and mischief, it is far from the worst movie out this season (have you SEEN "Van Helsing"? I rest my case).

Maybe it's not worth spending $9 on a movie ticket, but it would be a fun rental. :-)

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Great Family Movie

Author: (donna-109) from Annapolis, Maryland
18 June 2004

I thought this was a good movie. Its not fair to compare it to "Mean Girls." Although I like Lindsay Lohan, Mean Girls is intended for a different age group. My daughter is 10 and loved "Freaky Friday", but I feel "Mean Girls" has too much sexual content for that age. "New York Minute" is aimed for the "tween age" group. There aren't enough of these kinds of movies out. Its either cartoon-like movies, which this age thinks are not cool enough for them, or right to sex and violence. The New York Minute is an in-between kind of movie that we need to fill the gap for this age group. The people who are saying "this is so predictable" and "we have already seen that kinda movie before" are not the target audience. Yes, we older ones have seen this plot many times before, but our kids have not. Even if we let them see the movies that are similar, they were based in the 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's, etc., so the trends and such will be harder for them to relate to. Mary Kate and Ashley have not surrendered to pressure to include sex and violence in their movies and I say good for them. This is a fun movie that the whole family can enjoy and get a lot of laughs. If there were more movies like this, maybe our young wouldn't be so prone to grow up so fast, and actually still enjoy being with their families.

Was the above review useful to you?

45 out of 77 people found the following review useful:

It is what it is

10/10
Author: Phoenix from British Columbia
9 May 2004

If you like Mary-Kate and Ashley's previous movies than I'm sure you'll enjoy this one as well. I gave it a 10/10 because it is what it is and shouldn't be judged for anything more.

The Olsen's produce family friendly movies which are enjoyable for what they are. I'm 22 and love their movies because they are fun and innocent. They don't run around in the film in cleavage/midriff bearing shirts or ultra-mini skirts, acting like complete bimbos in order for guys to think they're sexy, like most teenage actors do. In most movies of theirs, one plays a very upstanding, conservative person who dreams of academic achievement and the other is more wild and likes to enjoy life to its fullest.

Why bother seeing it if you hate these kinds of movies? It makes no sense at all why most people who have voted or commented here at imdb even saw it in the first place (most I find didn't go at all).

Think about it... if all you read are sports magazines, why would you pick up a Harlequinn romance?

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

Why did I even bother?

3/10
Author: TheOtherFool from The Netherlands
11 October 2004

My girlfriend has a thing going for the Olsen twins (no, not that kind of thing), and I decided to go along with it and watch New York minute with her. What I got? An easy to digest, easy to forget, silly and rather stupid little movie. Just what I expected.

The twins are divided into the extremely original barbie-wild girl types who decide in the end they truly love each other. You know, after 90 minutes (oh, if it only lasted 1 minute!) of arguing and stuff.

Everybody's happy in this one, so the girls meet some cute guys and even the bad guys have a certain charm (it's Andy everybody! Man, where have you been?). And when the girls get lost in Harlem they're just gonna get their hair cut. Uh-huh.

Only watchable because of Levy and our main man, Mr. Andy Richter. Otherwise: ouch. 3/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 61 people found the following review useful:

Just as bad as I expected it to be

2/10
Author: christian123
25 November 2004

Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen play Jane and Roxy Ryan, twin sisters who couldn't be anything more unlike each other. Jane is a studious over-achiever while Roxy is a wild trouble making rocker. Despite their differences, the two of them spend a wacky day in New York City being chased by a truant officer {Eugene Levy}, a Chinese bootlegging ring, and a couple of cute guys.

I honestly don't understand why the Olsen twins decided to work on this film for their first big screen picture in nearly ten years. The film is very cheesy and very stupid just like their straight to video stuff. It's pretty much a thin story tied together with a bunch of scenes of the Olsen twins running around. Unfortunately, the Olsen twins are really not that interesting or talented. So watching them run around for 90 minutes is not a good thing. They're not funny and all their jokes fall flat. Their jokes don't work because the set up lines are very clunky and the jokes are just so awkward and lame. You would think that after 18 years of acting they would be able to handle it but I guess not.

The supporting cast aren't much better themselves. Eugene Levy was not funny and it was kind of sad watching him in this movie since you know he is way above this material. Andy Richter gives an embarrassing performance as Bennie. His character is such a stereotype and kind of offensive as well. The rest of the cast don't add anything as well and they just look embarrass to be there. Director Dennie Gordon is no stranger to success. She has some nice hits under her belt but this is one project she shouldn't have made. Her direction is kind of lazy and unfocused. She doesn't really tell a story and just moves the film along kind of messily. I actually used to like the Olsen twins when I was younger and I have just outgrown them. I can understand her fans liking this film but everyone else not familiar with their work should skip New York Minute. In the end, New York Minute is a waste of time and it's a film only the kids will like. Rating 2/10

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

I am stupider for having seen this movie

1/10
Author: unimportant from United States
10 January 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Since I get unlimited rentals from Netflix, I often mix in some stupid movies, sometimes because I feel like watching a lighter movie that doesn't require any thinking, and sometimes just out of morbid curiosity. It was the latter that compelled me to rent "New York Minute" starring the Olsen twins.

"New York Minute" has gotten universally bad reviews from critics, but I considered that the mere fact that the movie starred Mary-Kate and Ashley invited ridicule from people who haven't even seen it. Despite a traumatic experience in my teenage years, when I was repeatedly forced to watch "It Takes Two" (an Olsen twins version of "The Parent Trap") by some kids I frequently babysat, I gave this one a chance. To my surprise, it was even stupider than it looked. Even stupider than the critics led me to believe. Even stupider than "It Takes Two." So stupid that I hardly know where to begin… The interchangeable Olsen twins play, you guessed it, twin sisters. Although they are identical in appearance, they have completely opposite personalities: Jane is the conservative, overachieving twin, while Roxy is a messy, truant punk. Eugene Levy plays a truancy officer who's obsessed with catching Roxy.

Jane and Roxy are both taking a trip into the city -- Jane to deliver a speech for a scholarship contest, and Roxy to go to a concert -- and a predictable case of mistaken identity leads to both twins getting kicked off the train. While they're at the train station, FBI agents descend on a guy trying to hand off what turns out to be a computer chip with pirated music (leading one to wonder why they didn't just e-mail the files or something), causing him to slip said chip into Roxy's purse, resulting in a Chinese-wannabe limo driver chasing the twins through NYC to recover the chip.

During the bizarre chase, Jane accepts a ride from the limo driver because she can't wait 3 hours for the next train, even though she has more than 6 hours to get to her speech. Then Roxy tosses the important chip onto a tray of food, which the dog proceeds to eat. At one point, the twins end up in a sewer, but the scary black people-turned-nice at House of Bling give them multiple free makeovers (despite Jane's tight schedule to get to her speech, she takes the time to try on half a dozen outfits and dance around in each one) and a cab to drive. Meanwhile, the truancy officer commandeers and subsequently wrecks a tourist couple's RV to chase down Roxy, but then gets promoted for busting the pirated music ring.

It all comes together to create possibly the stupidest movie ever made. What's really sad about "New York Minute" is that it was supposed to be a vehicle to show that the Olsen Twins are serious actresses, but it ultimately just shows how undeserving they are of their fame and fortune. (1/10)

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 48 people found the following review useful:

Counting the minutes!!!!

Author: sajeeva sinniah from Sri Lanka
18 October 2004

Well what can you expect from 2 teenagers who have obviously never participated in 'serious' acting and whose credits have been a series of obnoxious TV movies which barely received any good ratings?

Well you can expect the worst and hope for the best. This movie was definitely NOT GOOD - but in comparison to all the Olsen twin's movie's, this stands out. The same typical Olsen sequences of twins with different personalities is well captured even in this movie- and unfortunately i believe that this is the limit. Even before watching this movie,the fact that earning the title of the lowest box office grossing for a film opening in over 3000 theaters, basically leashes the impending movie experience. So well that just reveals that the Olsen twins should just be participators of the modeling industry - as for their contribution to the film industry- well they are cute and they not impressive at all, so let them not contribute...please.

I believe if they should continue acting - get rid of the twin act and surprise people with something new. As for 'New york minute' you can watch it if you just wanna see the twins shake their behinds - but besides - SERIOUSLY...DON'T BOTHER!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Standard Direct to Video Fair on the Big Screen

1/10
Author: Jonnyok98ub from Buffalo, NY
4 May 2004

Review of New York Minute:

I'll be the first to admit that I don't think I was a great choice to review this film. I have absolutely no concept as to what has made these twins, Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, so popular in our current culture. For my tastes, they're a pair of pretty hot girls who happen to look like each other. I can't really judge their acting talents other than the fact that they've played exactly the same roles in everything they've done after Full House. I don't think their acting really makes a difference though.

My major problem with this movie isn't that I don't get who it's aimed at, it is that making the big leap from direct-to-video to the big screen should require a bit more discipline and originality than this movie chooses to explore. New York Minute is the story of (GASP!) a pair of twins, each of whom is very different. Jane Ryan (Ashley Olsen) is a very pretentious, anal retentive Republican, who insists on playing mother for her sister and her father. Roxy Ryan (Mary-Kate Olsen) is the typical rebellious type: she's a drummer who skips school to hang out with friends and go to video shoots. She drives like a crazy women, and generally makes her sister's life a living hell. This juxtaposition between them can only lead to conflict, and indeed, on the trip into New York City from Long Island, they both get booted off the train after making a fool of themselves arguing back and forth. Mayhem ensues.

The plot really isn't an issue to me. Everyone knows going in that this is going to be a vehicle for the two twins to act ridiculous, dumb, ultra cool, and in the end, come together after being separated. This is the same fare they've been passing out on videos for years. The problem with this movie is that they are growing up, and behaving more like young adults their own age. I don't think, however, that 18 year old girls really like this stuff, as it is pretty juvenile in both its sense of humor and its drama. It's like watching Full House for 90 minutes, but switching occasionally over to MTV. At some points it's wholesome and fun, and other times the girls look and behave rather slutty. I don't know if this is appropriate for all the little girls I saw in the theater during the test screening. They are nine and ten years old, and they idolize these twins, but this movie is a little too adult for that idolatry. Some of the basic subplots consist of kidnapping, copying pirated DVDs and music, and breaking into a hotel room. The girls have also come full fledged in accepting their sexuality, and a scene with the two of them in the hotel room, set to No Doubt's `Hey Baby', and shot in slow motion might interest us men, but I don't think it's the right message for the younger audience. Not to say that they can't grow up, but if they want to act their age, they need to make a movie with appropriate themes for an audience who can relate to them.

Without something different to work with, this movie is just a mess. In giving the audience nothing more than another `Olsen Twin' movie, they haven't really done anything that people haven't seen 20 times before. I know that this movie couldn't have been good to me, but at leas it could have been marginally more creative then what they've been producing all these years. At least they didn't try and set the single father up with anyone.

The supporting cast is worthless. Andy Richter and Eugene Levy go through the motions, and for my money, neither of they `boys' is very cute. The ending is a disaster, and even at 90 minutes, the film feels like it goes on for about 20 minutes too long.

All in all, this film is a train wreck, only salvaged by their quirky performances and the occasionally soft-core pornographic moment for the 16-35 year old males. There is no reason to see this, as there are certainly better movies out for kids right now.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

New York Minute or New York Second?

7/10
Author: rohan_g from Australia
7 March 2005

OK about a month ago, the cable company was advertising the crap out NYM and to my surprise, it was a funny movie. What was more amazing the Olsen sisters aren't bad actors. NYM minute wouldn't be the type of movie I would pay $12.00 at the cinema (besides the shame factor), however if you do take the time to watch it, you might be amazed.

I know there are going to be a lot people asking me why do I like this movie? The answer is simple it is easy to follow and it's down right hilarious. Sure NYM wouldn't last a New York Second during the theatrical release, but it is suitable for a quiet night at home.

New York Minute may not be in the same category as House of Sand and Fog or Donnie Darko, but lets not forget it is a comedy.

7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Excellent

10/10
Author: hulk7768 from East Coast
7 October 2004

The Twins are growing up and are doing quite well for them selves. Lets not forget the pressure teen actors/actresses are under. They have been involved in TV series and movies almost from the day they were born. We all know how much pressure Hollywood can put on these young performers. Overall I give the Olsen Twins a 10. You don't find many movies these days that are clean cut. No sex or violence and no swearing which has to be a first these days. Lets not forget these girls are still very young and as they make or get into more movies there acting skills will only improve, but still they deserve a lot of credit. I'd like to see them make more movies and keep that clean cut image, which is very hard to find these days.........

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 11:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards Newsgroup reviews External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history